DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11832062 (US Application No. 18221436). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations of the claims in the present application are anticipated by the scope of the claims in the patent as shown for example in the table below.
18950324
Patent No. 11832062
1. A hearing aid comprising: a user input device; neural network circuitry configured to perform neural network-based real-time separation of speech and noise in an input audio signal by generating in real-time a mask that is applied to the input audio signal; and control circuitry configured to: detect user activation of the user input device; and control, based on the detection of the user activation of the user input device, switching between enabling and disabling of the neural network-based real-time separation of the speech and the noise in the input audio signal by the neural network circuitry.
1. (Currently Amended) A hearing aid system, comprising: a first hearing aid, comprising: a non-programmable first user input device that is not programmable by a user nor by an audiologist; first control circuitry configured to receive a first activation signal from the non-programmable first user input device; one or more microphones; first neural network circuitry configured to denoise audio signals received by the one or more microphones; and first communication circuitry; a second hearing aid, comprising: a second user input device; second control circuitry configured to receive a second activation signal from the second user input device; and second neural network circuitry; and a processing device in operative communication with at least one of the first hearing aid and the second hearing aid over a wireless connection; herein: the first hearing aid is configured to: detect, using the first control circuitry, user activation of the non-programmable first user input device; control, using the first control circuitry and based on the detecting of the user activation of the non-programmable first user input device on the first hearing aid, switching between enabling and disabling the first neural network circuitry; and transmit, using the first communication circuitry, an indication of the enabling or the disabling of the first neural network circuitry to the processing device; and the second hearing aid is configured to: detect, using the second control circuitry, user activation of the second user input device; and control, using the second control circuitry and based on detecting of the user activation of the second user input device, an action different from switching between enabling and disabling of the second neural network circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 13-16, 21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Casper et al (US Publication No. 20240048922).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Casper teaches a hearing aid (para. 0021 lines 1-3, hearing aid) comprising: a user input device; neural network circuitry (Neural Network Engine, NNE, 150) configured to perform neural network-based real-time separation of speech and noise in an input audio signal by generating in real-time a mask (para 0053, NN model) that is applied to the input audio signal (para. 0036, front end receiver, 120); and control circuitry (controller, 130) configured to: detect user activation of the user input device (para. 0042,user input); and control, based on the detection of the user activation of the user input device, switching between enabling and disabling of the neural network-based real-time separation of the speech and the noise in the input audio signal by the neural network circuitry (para.0048, wherein the controller may selects whether to enable the NNE, 150 or DSP, 140 based on the signal to noise ratio, SNR).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Casper teaches the hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the user input device is not programmable by a wearer of the hearing aid (para. 0041-0042, wherein one or more user controlled criteria is used not requiring user input.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Casper teaches the hearing aid of claim 2, wherein the user input device is programmable by an audiologist (para 0041-0042, clinical criteria are guidelines designed for clinicians).
Regarding claims 10 and 21, Casper teaches a hearing aid system, comprising: the hearing aid of claim 1; and a processing device (DSP, 140); wherein: the hearing aid is further configured to transmit to the processing device (140) an indication (155, wherein enhanced digital signal is sent) of the enabling or the disabling of the neural network-based real-time separation of the speech and the noise in the input audio signal.
Regarding claims 13 and 24, Casper teaches the hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the user input device comprises a push button (0042, anticipated by a smartphone), a dial, a rocker switch, a slider switch, a touch-sensitive area, or a microphone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casper.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Casper fails to teach the hearing aid of claim 1, wherein the neural network circuitry is implemented on a single chip in the hearing aid.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is known to create electronic circuitry on a single chip to save space.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to create circuitry with components on an single chip since Applicant's has not disclosed that having the parts solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the single chips configuration in the Casper invention [In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-8, 11-12, 17-19, 23 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
August 21, 2026
/PHYLESHA DABNEY/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2694