DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation Under - 35 USC § 112(f)
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
graphics rendering logic in claims 17-20
Double Patenting
Against Patent US 10,885,696
Claims 1-17, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 18, 3, 7, 7, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 1, 1, 1 respectively or consecutively of U.S. Patent No. 10,885,696.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the corresponding claims of the patent because the subject matters are same and the claims of the instant application are an obvious variant of the Patent. Furthermore, scope of the claims in the instant application are met and encompassed by the corresponding claims of the Patent.
The apparent difference in the claims’ recitation as listed above is simply emanating from the way or choice of wording used in reciting the claims, but the material recited therein is considered substantively equivalent, met and encompassed by the respective claims of the Patent.
Against Patent US 10,565,772
Claims 1-17, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 1, 1, 1 respectively or consecutively of U.S. Patent No. 10,565,772.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the subject matters are same and the claims of the instant application are an obvious variant of the Patent. Furthermore, scope of the claims in the instant application are met and encompassed by the corresponding claims of the Patent.
The apparent difference in the claims’ recitation as listed above is simply emanating from the way or choice of wording used in reciting the claims, but the material recited therein is considered substantively equivalent, met and encompassed by the respective claims of the Patent.
Against Patent US 11,348,302
Claims 1-17, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 5, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 1, 1, 1 respectively or consecutively of U.S. Patent No. 11,348,302.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, the subject matters are same and the claims of the instant application are an obvious variant of the Patent. Furthermore, scope of the claims in the instant application are met and encompassed by the corresponding claims of the Patent.
The apparent difference in the claims’ recitation as listed above is simply emanating from the way or choice of wording used in reciting the claims, but the material recited therein is considered substantively equivalent, met and encompassed by the respective claims of the Patent.
Against Patent US 11,710, 268
Claims 1-17, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 2, 5, 5, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 1, 1, 1 respectively or consecutively of U.S. Patent No. 11,710, 268.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the corresponding claims of the patent because the subject matters are same and the claims of the instant application are an obvious variant of the Patent. Furthermore, scope of the claims in the instant application are met and encompassed by the corresponding claims of the Patent.
The apparent difference in the claims’ recitation as listed above is simply emanating from the way or choice of wording used in reciting the claims, but the material recited therein is considered substantively equivalent, met and encompassed by the respective claims of the Patent.
Against Patent US 12, 148, 084
Claims 1-17, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 17, 3, 3, 6, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 12, 13, 14, 1, 1, 1 respectively or consecutively of U.S. Patent No. 12, 148, 084.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from the corresponding claims of the patent because the subject matters are same and the claims of the instant application are an obvious variant of the Patent. Furthermore, scope of the claims in the instant application are met and encompassed by the corresponding claims of the Patent.
The apparent difference in the claims’ recitation as listed above is simply emanating from the way or choice of wording used in reciting the claims, but the material recited therein is considered substantively equivalent, met and encompassed by the respective claims of the Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-13, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morphet (US 20140333619 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Morphet discloses a method of processing graphics data (abstract, claim 9 and dependents), the method comprising rendering geometry, in a graphics processing system (That is, when the system begins to render small parts of the screen (called macro tiles) before the whole image has been stored in the display list memory. The rendering of a macro tile is known as a "partial render" and typically renders only a fraction of the number of objects that will eventually be rendered in that macro tile, ¶0065, Graphics processing system of fig. 1, ¶0002.), using a rendering function which is controlled in dependence on an indication suggestive of a cost of rendering (The parameter management system allows the display list memory associated with the macro tile to be released and used for the storage of further objects. This allows scenes of arbitrary complexity to be rendered in a finite amount of memory space, ¶0065.
The tile accelerator works by calculating the set of tiles in which each object must be rendered, and adding the object to each of those tiles by writing an object pointer into the appropriate list. In a basic system a single copy of the parameter data is written to the display list memory, but in a system using parameter management a copy of the data must be written for each macro tile in which the object is to be rendered. This arrangement is shown in the lower part of FIG. 2, ¶0067.
The enhancement therefore makes it possible to render arbitrarily complex scenes with reasonable efficiency while using only a limited amount of display list memory, ¶0006. This allows scenes of arbitrary complexity to be rendered in a finite amount of memory space, ¶0065).
Regarding claim 2, Morphet discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the geometry is in a region of a rendering space (Title, claim 1 preamble).
Regarding claim 3, Morphet discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the rendering space is sub-divided into a plurality of regions, wherein each region is a tile (An apparatus and a method for generating 3-dimensional computer graphic images. The image is first sub-divided into a plurality of rectangular areas. A display list memory is loaded with object data for each rectangular area. The image and shading data for each picture element of each rectangular area are derived from the object data in the image synthesis processor and a texturizing and shading processor, Abstract
That is, when the system begins to render small parts of the screen (called macro tiles) before the whole image has been stored in the display list memory. The rendering of a macro tile is known as a "partial render" and typically renders only a fraction of the number of objects that will eventually be rendered in that macro tile, ¶0065
The parameter management system allows the display list memory associated with the macro tile to be released and used for the storage of further objects. This allows scenes of arbitrary complexity to be rendered in a finite amount of memory space, ¶0065.
The tile accelerator works by calculating the set of tiles in which each object must be rendered, and adding the object to each of those tiles by writing an object pointer into the appropriate list. In a basic system a single copy of the parameter data is written to the display list memory, but in a system using parameter management a copy of the data must be written for each macro tile in which the object is to be rendered. This arrangement is shown in the lower part of FIG. 2, ¶0067).
Regarding claim 4, Morphet discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising determining for the region, what geometry is present in the region (The tile accelerator works by calculating the set of tiles in which each object must be rendered, and adding the object to each of those tiles by writing an object pointer into the appropriate list. In a basic system a single copy of the parameter data is written to the display list memory, but in a system using parameter management a copy of the data must be written for each macro tile in which the object is to be rendered. This arrangement is shown in the lower part of FIG. 2, ¶0067).
Regarding claim 5, Morphet discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
generating a control stream for the region of the rendering space indicating what geometry is present in the region (In FIG. 1, the Tile Accelerator 2 is the part of the system that processes the input data, performs the tiling calculations, and writes object parameter and pointer data to the display list memory 4. The layout of data in the display list memory is as shown in FIG. 2, ¶0004
Culling in the Tile Accelerator operates when parameter management is active. That is, when the system begins to render small parts of the screen (called macro tiles) before the whole image has been stored in the display list memory. The rendering of a macro tile is known as a "partial render" and typically renders only a fraction of the number of objects that will eventually be rendered in that macro tile. The parameter management system allows the display list memory associated with the macro tile to be released and used for the storage of further objects. This allows scenes of arbitrary complexity to be rendered in a finite amount of memory space, ¶0065
The tile accelerator works by calculating the set of tiles in which each object must be rendered, and adding the object to each of those tiles by writing an object pointer into the appropriate list. In a basic system a single copy of the parameter data is written to the display list memory, but in a system using parameter management a copy of the data must be written for each macro tile in which the object is to be rendered. This arrangement is shown in the lower part of FIG. 2, ¶0067); and
identifying what geometry is present in the region using the control stream
for the region (ibid, ¶0004, 0065-0067);
wherein the cost indication is included in the control stream for the region (The enhancement therefore makes it possible to render arbitrarily complex scenes with reasonable efficiency while using only a limited amount of display list memory, ¶0006
The tile accelerator works by calculating the set of tiles in which each object must be rendered, and adding the object to each of those tiles by writing an object pointer into the appropriate list, ¶0065).
Regarding claim 11, Morphet discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the rendering function is controlled by controlling one or more rendering operations applied to geometry at sample positions within the rendering space (The image and shading data for each picture element of each rectangular area are derived from the object data in the image synthesis processor and a texturizing and shading processor. A depth range generator derives a depth range for each rectangular area from the object data as the imaging and shading data is derived, Abstract. Also see ¶0065-0072), wherein said controlling one or more rendering operations comprises one or more of:
controlling filtering operations used for processing geometry;
controlling ray tracing parameters including one or more of a number of ray
bounces to be processed and a clipping distance for rays, when the rendering comprises applying a ray tracing technique; and
controlling shading effects which are applied to geometry (ibid, The image and shading data for each picture element of each rectangular area are derived from the object data in the image synthesis processor and a texturizing and shading processor. A depth range generator derives a depth range for each rectangular area from the object data as the imaging and shading data is derived, Abstract. Also see ¶0065-0072).
Regarding claim 12, Morphet discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the rendering function is controlled in order to satisfy one or more rendering constraints (rendering function is controlled in order to satisfy one or more rendering constraints according to parameters and conditions/constraints set forth in tables 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 13, Morphet discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more rendering constraints include one or more of:
a constraint on the timing at which respective portions of an image are rendered; and
a constraint on the timing at which an image is rendered (The effect is that of a delay, between determining that an object can be culled, and the time when that object would actually have been rendered in the ISP. Any change in the state of the ISP between the culling test and the actual rendering time could cause the culled object to become visible again, and thus cause an error in the rendered image, ¶0058).
Regarding claim 16, Morphet discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the indication is a cost indication suggestive of a cost of rendering a region of a rendering space (abstract, ¶0065-0072).
Regarding claim(s) 17, although wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the claim(s) 1 as described above (rendering logic is understood implemented in graphics renderer claim 1, system of fig. 1 except ISP 6+8).
Regarding claim 18, Morphet discloses the graphics rendering logic of claim 17, further configured to output rendered image values for storing in memory (Abstract, ¶0065-0069; ).
Regarding claim 19, Morphet discloses a graphics processing unit (fig. 4) comprising the rendering logic of claim 17 (rendering logic is understood implemented in graphics renderer claim 1, system of fig. 1 except ISP 6+8) and a frame buffer configured to store image values rendered by the rendering logic for outputting to a display (When all the objects in the tile have been processed, the ISP 6 sends the visible surface information to the Texturing and Shading Processor (TSP) 10 where it is textured and shaded before being sent to a frame buffer for display, ¶0005).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morphet in view of Ling (US 20170200253 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Morphet discloses the method of claim 1, except, further comprising controlling the rendering function by controlling, in dependence on the indication, a number of samples per pixel that are processed during rendering.
However, Ling discloses systems and methods for improving rendering performance of graphics processors (Abstract), wherein the graphics processor 100 may also have the option to increase the number of samples per pixel when appropriate. For example, suppose the graphics processor 100 continues to use the framebuffer set 104 to render the frames, and further suppose that the frames become less complex to render (e.g., with reduced depth-complexity), down to a point where a frame 204 took less time to render than a configurable lower threshold (may be system-determined or user-defined). The graphics processor 100 may then decide to increase the number of samples per pixel starting at a subsequent frame 206. In this manner, the graphics processor 100 may eventually work back to using the default framebuffer set 102 with the most samples per pixel if the rendering performance allows for it to happen (¶0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Morphet with the teaching of Ling of improving rendering performance of graphics processors by increasing the number of samples per pixel during rendering to reduce complexity in the tiles of Morphet, to obtain, controlling the rendering function by controlling, in dependence on the indication, a number of samples per pixel that are processed during rendering, because, combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious (see MPEP §2143.I).
Regarding claim 20, Morphet discloses see substantively similar claim 1 rejection above).
Morphet is not found discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform method steps described above.
However, Ling discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform a specified method step (abstract, ¶0003, 0004, ¶0041, claim 1 and dependents).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to implement the computing system of Morphet using the teaching of Ling, to obtain, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to perform a specified method step, because. combining prior art elements ready to be improved according to known method to yield predictable results is obvious (see MPEP §2143.I).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein the geometry comprises primitives which lie in a region of a rendering space and the method further comprising determining an edge indication for the region which provides an indication of the extent to which primitive edges are included in the region, and wherein the number of samples per pixel that are processed during rendering for the region is controlled in dependence on the determined edge indication for the region.
Regarding claim 8, prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein, if the number of samples per pixel is controlled to be fewer than one sample per pixel then for some pixels a sample is not rendered, and further comprising determining values for unrendered pixels by combining nearby rendered pixel values.
Regarding claim 10, prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein the rendering function is controlled by controlling a
number of samples per pixel that are processed in a hidden surface removal operation and independently controlling a number of samples per pixel processed in a texturing/shading operation.
Regarding claim 14, prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
wherein the one or more rendering constraints include a target frame rate at which images are rendered, and wherein the rendering function is controlled in dependence on the indication such that the images are rendered at a rate that satisfies the target frame rate.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the geometry is in a rendering space that is sub-divided into a plurality of regions, the one or more rendering constraints include a timing constraint for rendering a line of regions, and wherein the rendering function is controlled in dependence on the indication such that lines of regions are rendered at a rate that satisfies the timing constraint.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aymeric et al. (US 20150084794 );
Chirde (US 20140184637)
/NURUN FLORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619