DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
2. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
4. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been addressed in the new rejection outlined below.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 4-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
6. Applicant argues dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claims.
7. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claim(s) 1, and 5-9
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamaguchi et al. (JP-2020152137-A).
In regard to claim 1
, Hamaguchi discloses a driver assistance control device for a vehicle comprising a controller configured to provide (See at least Fig. 1, and [0001 & 0018 & 0034]: this invention relates to a driver assistance device [i.e., a driver assistance control device] that assists the driver in operating the vehicle [i.e., for a vehicle]. The driver assistance system includes a driver assistance ECU 10 [i.e., a controller], a meter ECU 20, an electric power steering ECU 30, an engine ECU 40, a brake ECU 50, and a navigation ECU 60. Hereafter, the electric power steering ECU 30 will be referred to as the EPS ECU (Electric Power Steering ECU) 30):
steering assistance control for determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of an own vehicle based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle, and for performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0054-0056]: in step S16, the driver assistance ECU 10 acquires the actual steering angle θs detected by the steering angle sensor [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. Next, in step S17, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the difference between the driver-predicted steering angle θ(t) and the actual steering angle θs (steering angle difference Δθ = |θ(t) - θs|) [i.e., determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of an own vehicle] and determines whether the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref. If the driver assistance ECU 10 determines that the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref (S17: Yes), it proceeds to step S18 to provide driver assistance according to the steering angle difference Δθ. In this case, the driver assistance ECU 10 transmits a steering command to the EPS ECU 30 that generates steering torque in a direction that reduces the steering angle difference Δθ [i.e., performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount]. The EPS ECU 30 drives the steering motor 32 in accordance with the steering command to generate steering torque. This corrects the direction of travel of the vehicle);
wherein the controller is configured to (See at least Fig. 1, and [0023]: the driver assistance ECU 10 is a central control device that provides driver assistance, and it performs steering assistance control):
learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on a history of how gradually steering operations have been performed by the driver or how sharply steering operations have been performed by the driver (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0050 & 0068-0070]: in step S13, the driver assistance ECU 10 reads the driver's parameter values. The driver assistance ECU 10 has a database that stores values representing the steering characteristics of each driver, i.e., parameter values, and it reads the parameter values of the driver (owner) of its own vehicle by referring to this database. The database stores at least the parameter values of the vehicle's owner. These parameter values are determined by the driver assistance ECU 10 learning while the vehicle is in motion [i.e., learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle]. The parameter values are set by learning based on the driver's driving operation history. In step S121, it acquires the vehicle's driving trajectory, steering history [i.e., based on a history of how gradually steering operations have been performed by the driver or how sharply steering operations have been performed by the driver], and vehicle speed. The driving trajectory represents the change in the vehicle's position at each predetermined calculation cycle, and the steering history represents the steering angle (steering angle in the driving trajectory) at each predetermined calculation cycle. Next, in step S122, the driver assistance ECU 10 estimates parameter values based on the vehicle's driving trajectory, steering history, and vehicle speed. Examiner notes, steering history of a driver represents how gradually steering operations have been performed by the driver or how sharply steering operations have been performed by the driver), and
change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering learned preference level (See at least Fig. 1, and [0082-0083]: in step S15, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the driver-predicted steering angle δ(t) and then proceeds to step S20. In step S20, the driver assistance ECU 10 sets the calculated driver predicted steering angle δ(t) as the target steering angle δ* (δ* = δ(t)) [i.e., change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance], and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle δ* to the EPS ECU 30. When the EPS ECU 30 receives a steering command, it drives the steering motor 32 so that the actual steering angle θs follows the target steering angle δ*. This enables automatic steering that makes the actual rudder angle θs follow the target rudder angle δ*. Examiner notes, as mentioned above in regard to the previous limitations, the steering angle is changed based on the steering history of an individual driver. Providing steering assistance and changing the angle based on the steering history of a driver is changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering learned preference level).
In regard to claim 5
, Hamaguchi discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program that is executed by a computer installed in an own vehicle, the program causing the computer to execute, as driver assistance control, a steering assistance control (See at least Fig. 1, and [0001 & 0018-0019 & 0034]: this invention relates to a driver assistance device [i.e., a steering assistance control] that assists the driver in operating the vehicle [i.e., an own vehicle]. These ECUs are Electric Control Units (ECUs) that primarily consist of a microcomputer [i.e., a computer]. A microcomputer includes a CPU, ROM, RAM, non-volatile memory [i.e., a non-transitory storage medium], and interface I/F, etc. The CPU implements various functions by executing instructions (programs, routines) stored in ROM [i.e., a program that is executed]. The driver assistance system includes a driver assistance ECU 10, a meter ECU 20, an electric power steering ECU 30, an engine ECU 40, a brake ECU 50, and a navigation ECU 60. Hereafter, the electric power steering ECU 30 will be referred to as the EPS ECU (Electric Power Steering ECU) 30), wherein:
the steering assistance control is for (See at least Fig. 1, and [0023]: the driver assistance ECU 10 is a central control device that provides driver assistance, and it performs steering assistance control):
determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of the own vehicle based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle, and for performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0054-0056]: in step S16, the driver assistance ECU 10 acquires the actual steering angle θs detected by the steering angle sensor [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. Next, in step S17, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the difference between the driver-predicted steering angle θ(t) and the actual steering angle θs (steering angle difference Δθ = |θ(t) - θs|) [i.e., determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of the own vehicle] and determines whether the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref. If the driver assistance ECU 10 determines that the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref (S17: Yes), it proceeds to step S18 to provide driver assistance according to the steering angle difference Δθ. In this case, the driver assistance ECU 10 transmits a steering command to the EPS ECU 30 that generates steering torque in a direction that reduces the steering angle difference Δθ [i.e., performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount]. The EPS ECU 30 drives the steering motor 32 in accordance with the steering command to generate steering torque. This corrects the direction of travel of the vehicle);
learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on a history of how gradually steering operations have been performed by the driver or how sharply steering operation have been performed by the driver (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0050 & 0068-0070]: in step S13, the driver assistance ECU 10 reads the driver's parameter values. The driver assistance ECU 10 has a database that stores values representing the steering characteristics of each driver, i.e., parameter values, and it reads the parameter values of the driver (owner) of its own vehicle by referring to this database. The database stores at least the parameter values of the vehicle's owner. These parameter values are determined by the driver assistance ECU 10 learning while the vehicle is in motion [i.e., learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle]. The parameter values are set by learning based on the driver's driving operation history. In step S121, it acquires the vehicle's driving trajectory, steering history [i.e., based on a history of how gradually steering operations have been performed by the driver or how sharply steering operations have been performed by the driver], and vehicle speed. The driving trajectory represents the change in the vehicle's position at each predetermined calculation cycle, and the steering history represents the steering angle (steering angle in the driving trajectory) at each predetermined calculation cycle. Next, in step S122, the driver assistance ECU 10 estimates parameter values based on the vehicle's driving trajectory, steering history, and vehicle speed. Examiner notes, steering history of a driver represents how gradually steering operations have been performed by the driver or how sharply steering operations have been performed by the driver); and
changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level (See at least Fig. 1, and [0082-0083]: in step S15, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the driver-predicted steering angle δ(t) and then proceeds to step S20. In step S20, the driver assistance ECU 10 sets the calculated driver predicted steering angle δ(t) as the target steering angle δ* (δ* = δ(t)) [i.e., changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance], and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle δ* to the EPS ECU 30. When the EPS ECU 30 receives a steering command, it drives the steering motor 32 so that the actual steering angle θs follows the target steering angle δ*. This enables automatic steering that makes the actual rudder angle θs follow the target rudder angle δ*. Examiner notes, as mentioned above in regard to the previous limitations, the steering angle is changed based on the steering history of an individual driver. Providing steering assistance and changing the angle based on the steering history of a driver is changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering learned preference level).
In regard to claim 6
, Hamaguchi discloses the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine the steering preference level using the learned steering preference level of only the driver (See at least Fig. 1, and [0023 & 0032 & 0074]: the steering assistance control is a type of driver assistance control that, based on the individual driver's steering characteristics and the road shape, deflects the vehicle to follow a driving line that suits the driver's driving style. The driver assistance ECU 10 has a database that stores parameter values related to the steering operation style (steering operation characteristics of the present invention) for each individual driver. The driver assistance ECU 10 reads the parameter values corresponding to the driver detected by the driver detector 15 from this database and performs the steering assistance control. The driver's steering characteristics is learned, and the results of that learning is used to provide driving assistance [i.e., to determine the steering preference level using the learned steering preference level of only the driver]).
In regard to claim 7
, Hamaguchi discloses the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein the learned steering preference level includes only a preference level of the driver (See at least Fig. 1, and [0023 & 0032 & 0074]: the steering assistance control is a type of driver assistance control that, based on the individual driver's steering characteristics and the road shape, deflects the vehicle to follow a driving line that suits the driver's driving style. The driver assistance ECU 10 has a database that stores parameter values related to the steering operation style (steering operation characteristics of the present invention) for each individual driver. The driver assistance ECU 10 reads the parameter values corresponding to the driver detected by the driver detector 15 from this database and performs the steering assistance control. The driver's steering characteristics is learned, and the results of that learning is used to provide driving assistance. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the database stores parameter values related to the steering operation style for each individual driver and changes the steering assist for each driver. That means, the learned steering preference level includes only a preference level of the driver).
In regard to claim 8
, Hamaguchi discloses the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein the learned steering preference level is not learned from steering operations by another driver (See at least Fig. 1, and [0023 & 0032 & 0074]: the steering assistance control is a type of driver assistance control that, based on the individual driver's steering characteristics and the road shape, deflects the vehicle to follow a driving line that suits the driver's driving style. The driver assistance ECU 10 has a database that stores parameter values related to the steering operation style (steering operation characteristics of the present invention) for each individual driver. The driver assistance ECU 10 reads the parameter values corresponding to the driver detected by the driver detector 15 from this database and performs the steering assistance control. The driver's steering characteristics is learned, and the results of that learning is used to provide driving assistance. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, the database stores parameter values related to the steering operation style for each individual driver and changes the steering assist for each driver. That means, the learned steering preference level is learned from operation of the recognized driver and not learned from steering operations by another driver).
In regard to claim 9
, Hamaguchi discloses the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to provide, as the steering assistance control, lane keeping control for changing the steering control amount such that the own vehicle moves toward a target travel line set in a lane in which the own vehicle is traveling (See at least [0002]: one example of driver assistance control implemented by driver assistance systems is lane tracing assist control (LTA control) [i.e., lane keeping control]. When the driver assistance system performs LTA control, it sets the target driving line to the center of the lane, which is the midpoint between the left and right white lines, based on the white line information detected by the camera sensor. The driver assistance system calculates a target steering angle for the vehicle to travel along the target driving line based on the angle of deviation between the direction of the target driving line and the direction of travel of the vehicle, the amount of deviation in the width direction of the vehicle's center of gravity relative to the target driving line, and the curvature of the target driving line, and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle to the electric power steering ECU [i.e., changing the steering control amount such that the own vehicle moves toward a target travel line set in a lane in which the own vehicle is traveling]. The electric power steering ECU [i.e., the controller] controls the steering angle of the steering wheels according to the steering command. This allows the vehicle to travel along a target driving line).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaguchi (US-20230202479-A1) in view of Takeda et al. (US-20090024279-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Hamaguchi discloses the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein
the controller is configured to provide, as the steering assistance control, lane keeping control for changing the steering control amount such that the own vehicle travels along a target travel line set in a lane in which the own vehicle is traveling (See at least Fig. 1, and [0002 & 0023]: one example of driver assistance control implemented by driver assistance systems is lane tracing assist control (LTA control) [i.e., lane keeping control]. When the driver assistance system performs LTA control, it sets the target driving line to the center of the lane, which is the midpoint between the left and right white lines, based on the white line information detected by the camera sensor. The driver assistance system calculates a target steering angle for the vehicle to travel along the target driving line based on the angle of deviation between the direction of the target driving line and the direction of travel of the vehicle, the amount of deviation in the width direction of the vehicle's center of gravity relative to the target driving line, and the curvature of the target driving line, and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle to the electric power steering ECU [i.e., changing the steering control amount such that the own vehicle moves toward a target travel line set in a lane in which the own vehicle is traveling]. The electric power steering ECU controls the steering angle of the steering wheels according to the steering command. This allows the vehicle to travel along a target driving line. The driver assistance ECU 10 [i.e., the controller] is a central control device that provides driver assistance, and it performs steering assistance control), and
the controller is further configured to (See at least Fig. 1, and [0023]: the driver assistance ECU 10 is a central control device that provides driver assistance, and it performs steering assistance control)
acquire a road curvature (CL) that is a curvature of the target traveling line (See at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026]: the driver assistance ECU 10 is connected to a camera sensor 11, a radar sensor 12, a buzzer 13, a setting control device 14, and a driver detector 15. The camera sensor 11 includes a camera unit and an image processing unit that analyzes image data captured by the camera unit. The camera sensor 11 (camera unit) captures the scenery in front of the vehicle. The camera sensor 11 (image processing unit) recognizes the white lines on the road and three-dimensional objects in front of the vehicle based on the captured image, and supplies this information (white line information, three-dimensional object information) to the driver assistance ECU 10 at predetermined intervals. White line information represents the relative positional relationship (including orientation) between the vehicle and the white line, as well as the curvature of the white line [i.e., acquire a road curvature (CL) that is a curvature of the target traveling line]. Three-dimensional object information refers to information that represents the type of three-dimensional object detected in front of the vehicle, the size of the object, and the relative position of the object to the vehicle), a lateral deviation (DL) that is a distance in a lane width direction between the target travel line and the own vehicle (See at least Fig. 1, and [0002]: the driver assistance system calculates a target steering angle for the vehicle to travel along the target driving line based on the angle of deviation between the direction of the target driving line and the direction of travel of the vehicle, the amount of deviation in the width direction of the vehicle's center of gravity relative to the target driving line [i.e., a lateral deviation], and the curvature of the target driving line, and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle to the electric power steering ECU. The electric power steering ECU controls the steering angle of the steering wheels according to the steering command), and a yaw angle deviation (θL) that is an angle between a tangential direction of the target traveling line and a traveling direction of the own vehicle, and calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control (See at least Fig. 1, and [0002]: the driver assistance system calculates a target steering angle for the vehicle to travel along the target driving line [i.e., calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control] based on the angle of deviation between the direction of the target driving line and the direction of travel of the vehicle [i.e., a yaw angle deviation (θL)], the amount of deviation in the width direction of the vehicle's center of gravity relative to the target driving line, and the curvature of the target driving line, and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle to the electric power steering ECU. The electric power steering ECU controls the steering angle of the steering wheels according to the steering command),
(See at least Fig. 1, and [0082-0083]: in step S15, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the driver-predicted steering angle δ(t) and then proceeds to step S20. In step S20, the driver assistance ECU 10 sets the calculated driver predicted steering angle δ(t) as the target steering angle δ* (δ* = δ(t)) [i.e., change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance], and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle δ* to the EPS ECU 30. When the EPS ECU 30 receives a steering command, it drives the steering motor 32 so that the actual steering angle θs follows the target steering angle δ*. This enables automatic steering that makes the actual rudder angle θs follow the target rudder angle δ*. Examiner notes, as mentioned above in regard to the previous limitations, the steering angle is changed based on the steering history of an individual driver. Providing steering assistance and changing the angle based on the steering history of a driver is changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering learned preference level).
While Hamaguchi discloses he driver assistance system calculates a target steering angle for the vehicle to travel along the target driving line (See at least [0002]), Hamaguchi does not explicitly disclose calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control, based on
a first term (K1⋅CL) that is a product of the road curvature (CL) and a first gain (K1),
a second term (K2⋅DL) that is a product of the lateral deviation (DL) and a second gain (K2), and
a third term (K3⋅θL) that is a product of the yaw angle deviation (θL) and a third gain (K3), and
change the first gain, the second gain, and the third gain.
However, Takeda teaches calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control, based on (See at least Fig. 2, [0060 & 0101]: in-lane running support controller 25 reads the in-lane running support information (vehicle yaw angle .phi.r with respect to the running lane, lateral displacement X from the lane center, and curvature .rho. of the running lane) computed by surroundings recognition part 22, and the operation signal of direction indicating switch 23. When process flow goes to step S109, in-lane running support controller 25 computes target yaw moment Ms [i.e., calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control] generated in the vehicle)
a first term (K1⋅CL) that is a product of the road curvature (CL) and a first gain (K1) (See at least Fig. 2, and [0071]: in step S102, step S102 computes target turning angle .theta.opt by multiplying said lateral displacement gain KL, yaw angle gain KY, curvature gain KR [i.e., first gain (K1)]and turning angle gain KD by said vehicle parameters (lateral displacement X from the lane center, yaw angle .phi.r, curvature .rho. of the running lane [i.e., road curvature (CL)] and turning angle .theta.t), respectively, followed by adding the products),
a second term (K2⋅DL) that is a product of the lateral deviation (DL) and a second gain (K2) (See at least Fig. 2, and [0071]: in step S102, step S102 computes target turning angle .theta.opt by multiplying said lateral displacement gain KL [i.e., second gain (K2)], yaw angle gain KY, curvature gain KR and turning angle gain KD by said vehicle parameters (lateral displacement X from the lane center [i.e., lateral deviation (DL)], yaw angle .phi.r, curvature .rho. of the running lane and turning angle .theta.t), respectively, followed by adding the products), and
a third term (K3⋅θL) that is a product of the yaw angle deviation (θL) and a third gain (K3) (See at least Fig. 2, and [0071]: in step S102, step S102 computes target turning angle .theta.opt by multiplying said lateral displacement gain KL, yaw angle gain KY [i.e., third gain (K3)], curvature gain KR and turning angle gain KD by said vehicle parameters (lateral displacement X from the lane center, yaw angle .phi.r [i.e., yaw angle deviation (θL)], curvature .rho. of the running lane and turning angle .theta.t), respectively, followed by adding the products), and
change the first gain, the second gain, and the third gain to change the degree of intensity of the steering assistance, in accordance with the steering preference level (See at least Figs. 3-5, [0012-0014]: lateral displacement gain KL, yaw angle gain KY, curvature gain KR are set based on the vehicle speed [change the first gain, the second gain, and the third gain]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Hamaguchi in view of Takeda with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and change steering characteristics by changing the lateral displacement gain, yaw angle gain, and curvature gain KR and the combination would provide for providing an improved feel for a driver of a vehicle (Takeda, see at least [0006]).
12. Claim(s) 4
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamaguchi (US-20230202479-A1) in view of Nakamura (US-20250178663-A1).
In regard to claim 4
, Hamaguchi discloses a driver assistance control method, the method comparing the steps of (See at least Figs. 4-6, and [0048 & 0069 & 0081]: Figure 4 shows the steering assistance control routine [i.e., a driver assistance control method] performed by the driver assistance ECU 10. Figure 5 shows a part of the steering assistance control routine. Figure 6 is a flowchart showing the steering assistance control routine):
performing steering assistance control (See at least Fig. 1, and [0056]: the driver assistance ECU 10 transmits a steering command to the EPS ECU 30 that generates steering torque in a direction that reduces the steering angle difference Δθ [i.e., performing steering assistance control]. The EPS ECU 30 drives the steering motor 32 in accordance with the steering command to generate steering torque. This corrects the direction of travel of the vehicle), including:
determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of an own vehicle based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0054-0056]: in step S16, the driver assistance ECU 10 acquires the actual steering angle θs detected by the steering angle sensor [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. Next, in step S17, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the difference between the driver-predicted steering angle θ(t) and the actual steering angle θs (steering angle difference Δθ = |θ(t) - θs|) [i.e., determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of an own vehicle] and determines whether the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref. If the driver assistance ECU 10 determines that the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref (S17: Yes), it proceeds to step S18 to provide driver assistance according to the steering angle difference Δθ. In this case, the driver assistance ECU 10 transmits a steering command to the EPS ECU 30 that generates steering torque in a direction that reduces the steering angle difference Δθ. The EPS ECU 30 drives the steering motor 32 in accordance with the steering command to generate steering torque. This corrects the direction of travel of the vehicle);
performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0054-0056]: in step S16, the driver assistance ECU 10 acquires the actual steering angle θs detected by the steering angle sensor [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. Next, in step S17, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the difference between the driver-predicted steering angle θ(t) and the actual steering angle θs (steering angle difference Δθ = |θ(t) - θs|) and determines whether the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref. If the driver assistance ECU 10 determines that the steering angle difference Δθ is greater than the threshold Δθref (S17: Yes), it proceeds to step S18 to provide driver assistance according to the steering angle difference Δθ. In this case, the driver assistance ECU 10 transmits a steering command to the EPS ECU 30 that generates steering torque in a direction that reduces the steering angle difference Δθ [i.e., performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount]. The EPS ECU 30 drives the steering motor 32 in accordance with the steering command to generate steering torque. This corrects the direction of travel of the vehicle);
learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on (See at least Figs. 1-6, and [0050 & 0068-0070]: in step S13, the driver assistance ECU 10 reads the driver's parameter values. The driver assistance ECU 10 has a database that stores values representing the steering characteristics of each driver, i.e., parameter values, and it reads the parameter values of the driver (owner) of its own vehicle by referring to this database. The database stores at least the parameter values of the vehicle's owner. These parameter values are determined by the driver assistance ECU 10 learning while the vehicle is in motion [i.e., learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle]. The parameter values are set by learning based on the driver's driving operation history. In step S121, it acquires the vehicle's driving trajectory, steering history [i.e., based on … steering operations performed by the driver], and vehicle speed. The driving trajectory represents the change in the vehicle's position at each predetermined calculation cycle, and the steering history represents the steering angle (steering angle in the driving trajectory) at each predetermined calculation cycle. Next, in step S122, the driver assistance ECU 10 estimates parameter values based on the vehicle's driving trajectory, steering history, and vehicle speed); and
changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering learned preference level that is learned (See at least Fig. 1, and [0082-0083]: in step S15, the driver assistance ECU 10 calculates the driver-predicted steering angle δ(t) and then proceeds to step S20. In step S20, the driver assistance ECU 10 sets the calculated driver predicted steering angle δ(t) as the target steering angle δ* (δ* = δ(t)) [i.e., changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance], and transmits a steering command representing this target steering angle δ* to the EPS ECU 30. When the EPS ECU 30 receives a steering command, it drives the steering motor 32 so that the actual steering angle θs follows the target steering angle δ*. This enables automatic steering that makes the actual rudder angle θs follow the target rudder angle δ*. Examiner notes, as mentioned above in regard to the previous limitations, the steering angle is changed based on the steering history of an individual driver. Providing steering assistance and changing the angle based on the steering history of a driver is changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering learned preference level).
Hamaguchi is silent on a history of angular acceleration used for steering operations.
However, Nakamura teaches a history of angular acceleration used for steering operations (See at least Figs. 1-2, and [0128 & 0144]: a microcomputer 510 acquires information on a mode selected by mode selection switch 650 to acquire the information related to the driving skill of a driver. It is possible for microcomputer 510 to include, as the driving skill information acquisition section, a functional section that obtains an index value of the driving skill from a steering operation by a driver, and a history of lateral acceleration, front-rear acceleration [i.e., a history of angular acceleration], or the like generated through the steering operation. Examiner notes, a history of angular acceleration is calculated based on the history of lateral and front-rear accelerations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Hamaguchi in view of Nakamura with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and include and use the history of the lateral and front-rear accelerations for learning the steering preference level of the driver and the combination would provide for increasing the steering easiness or increasing the steering accuracy (Nakamura, see at least [0008]).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wray et al. (US-20220274623-A1) teaches a vehicle controller which is configured to determine a learning goal, where the learning goal is to obtain a driver preference such as “Obtain driver acceleration preference.”
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661 /MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661