DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This office action is in response to application with case number 18/950,361 filed on 11/18/2024, in which claims 1-5 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-017654, filed on 02/08/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 11/18/2024 has/have been received and considered.
Examiner Notes
5. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1, and 3-5
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi (US-20230202479-A1) in view of Wray et al. (US-20220274623-A1) and further in view of Inoue et al. (US-20150019082-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Horiguchi discloses a driver assistance control device for a vehicle that is equipped with a controller that executes, as driver assistance control, at least one of (Horiguchi, in at least Figs. 1-2, [0029-0030], discloses a driving assistance apparatus 1 [i.e., a driver assistance control device] includes a camera unit 10 fixed to the upper middle of a front part in a vehicle compartment of a vehicle M. The camera unit 10 includes a stereo camera 11, an image processing unit (IPU) 12, an image recognition unit (image recognition ECU) 13, and a traveling control unit (traveling ECU) 14 [i.e., a controller])
steering assistance control for determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of an own vehicle based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle, and performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0039 & 0049-0050], discloses the traveling ECU 14 is coupled, via an in-vehicle communication line such as a controller area network (CAN), to various control units including a power steering control unit (PS ECU) 25 [i.e., steering assistance control]. The electric power steering motor 35 imparts a steering torque to a steering mechanism using a rotary power of the motor. The PS ECU 25 drives and control the electric power steering motor 35 on the basis of a control signal from the traveling ECU 14 or a detection signal from the various sensors [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. The PS ECU 25 thus generates the steering torque for the steering mechanism. In addition, the PS ECU 25 outputs, to the traveling ECU 14, signals of factors including the steering torque and a steering angle detected by the various sensors), and
acceleration assistance control for determining a target acceleration for automatically changing an actual acceleration of the own vehicle based on at least the traveling situation, and for performing acceleration assistance for controlling the actual acceleration such that the actual acceleration of the own vehicle matches the target acceleration (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064-0065 & 0082], discloses the traveling ECU 14 [implies acceleration assistance control] performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and the target vehicle speed Vt [i.e., based on at least the traveling situation]. This enables the traveling ECU 14 to basically cause the own vehicle M to travel to follow the preceding vehicle, in a state in which an inter-vehicle distance L is kept at the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and a vehicle speed V is kept at the target vehicle speed Vt. The traveling ECU 14 sets a target acceleration rate [i.e., determining a target acceleration] at on the basis of the newly set target vehicle speed Vt (and the current vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M)), wherein the controller is configured to (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, the traveling ECU 14),
when configured to execute the steering assistance control (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0039 & 0049-0050], discloses the traveling ECU 14 is coupled, via an in-vehicle communication line such as a controller area network (CAN), to various control units including a power steering control unit (PS ECU) 25 [i.e., steering assistance control]),
when configured to execute the acceleration assistance control (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064], discloses the traveling ECU 14 [implies acceleration assistance control] performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and the target vehicle speed Vt), (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0082], discloses the traveling ECU 14 sets a target acceleration rate at on the basis of the newly set target vehicle speed Vt (and the current vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M). The traveling ECU 14 accelerates the own vehicle M to the target vehicle speed Vt on the basis of the target acceleration rate [i.e., target acceleration]).
Horiguchi is silent on learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned,
learn an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle, based on acceleration and deceleration operations by the driver,
based on the acceleration preference level that is learned.
However, Wray teaches learn an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle, based on acceleration and deceleration operations by the driver, and based on the acceleration preference level that is learned (Wray, in at least [0059], teaches the vehicle controller 3040 is configured to determine a learning goal. The learning goal is based on incomplete or missing data that could be used to improve one or more AI subsystems of the vehicle. A learning goal is to obtain a driver preference such as “Obtain driver acceleration preference” [i.e., learn an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi in view of Wray with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver acceleration preference and set the target acceleration rate based on the learned acceleration preference and the combination would provide for providing an incentive for a driver to improve power systems, safety systems, and autonomous driving systems (Wray, see at least [0003]).
Horiguchi, as modified by Wary, does not teach learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned.
However, Inoue teaches learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned (Inoue, in at least [0062], teaches the steering characteristics which vary depending on the driver's sex, physical characteristics, personality, preference, or individual specific circumstances are learned [i.e., learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver] and used to set the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device. Preferably, the cutoff frequency is set according to the maximum output frequency of the driver [i.e., based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned]. If the driver is weak, the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device is changed to the lower frequency side. It is therefore possible to increase the frequency band in which the steering input is treated as the disturbance as much as possible without reducing the accuracy of the overriding determination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi, as modified by Wary, in view of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver steering preference and set the steering characteristics based on the learned user preference and set the cutoff frequency (or the steering intensity) to the maximum output frequency of the driver and the combination would provide for changing characteristics of steering force, such as the dead zone, on the basis of a driver's private unique information (Inoue, see at least [0006]).
In regard to claim 3
, Horiguchi, as modified by Wary and Inoue, teaches the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to perform, as the acceleration assistance control, following traveling in which the own vehicle is caused to follow a preceding vehicle that is travelling immediately ahead of the own vehicle, so as to maintain a predetermined inter-vehicle distance between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, and also, when the preceding vehicle is no longer present in a state in which the own vehicle is being caused to perform following traveling of the preceding vehicle, perform the acceleration assistance until speed of the own vehicle reaches a predetermined target vehicle speed (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064-0065], discloses in the follow-up traveling control [i.e., following traveling in which the own vehicle is caused to follow a preceding vehicle that is travelling immediately ahead of the own vehicle], the traveling ECU 14 sets a target inter-vehicle distance Lt and a target vehicle speed Vt on the basis of a vehicle speed Vl of the preceding vehicle. The traveling ECU 14 performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt [i.e., a predetermined inter-vehicle distance between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle] and the target vehicle speed Vt. This enables the traveling ECU 14 to basically cause the own vehicle M to travel to follow the preceding vehicle, in a state in which an inter-vehicle distance L is kept at the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and a vehicle speed V is kept at the target vehicle speed Vt. In contrast, in a case where no preceding vehicle is recognized ahead of the own vehicle M [i.e., when the preceding vehicle is no longer present in a state in which the own vehicle] by the image recognition ECU 13, the traveling ECU 14 performs a constant-speed traveling control as a part of the adaptive cruise control. In the constant-speed traveling control, the traveling ECU 14 sets the set vehicle speed Vs inputted by the driver as the target vehicle speed Vt [i.e., a predetermined target vehicle speed]. The traveling ECU 14 may perform the acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target vehicle speed Vt. This enables the traveling ECU 14 to keep the vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M at the set vehicle speed Vs.)
In regard to claim 4
, Horiguchi discloses a driver assistance control method that executes (Horiguchi, in at least Figs. 3-6, discloses several flowcharts. Examiner notes, a flowchart represents a method), as driver assistance control, at least one of steering assistance control for determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of an own vehicle based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle, and performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0039 & 0049-0050], discloses the traveling ECU 14 is coupled, via an in-vehicle communication line such as a controller area network (CAN), to various control units including a power steering control unit (PS ECU) 25 [i.e., steering assistance control]. The electric power steering motor 35 imparts a steering torque to a steering mechanism using a rotary power of the motor. The PS ECU 25 drives and control the electric power steering motor 35 on the basis of a control signal from the traveling ECU 14 or a detection signal from the various sensors [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. The PS ECU 25 thus generates the steering torque for the steering mechanism. In addition, the PS ECU 25 outputs, to the traveling ECU 14, signals of factors including the steering torque and a steering angle detected by the various sensors), and acceleration assistance control for determining a target acceleration for automatically changing an actual acceleration of the own vehicle based on at least the traveling situation, and for performing acceleration assistance for controlling the actual acceleration such that the actual acceleration of the own vehicle matches the target acceleration (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064-0065 & 0082], discloses the traveling ECU 14 [implies acceleration assistance control] performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and the target vehicle speed Vt [i.e., based on at least the traveling situation]. This enables the traveling ECU 14 to basically cause the own vehicle M to travel to follow the preceding vehicle, in a state in which an inter-vehicle distance L is kept at the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and a vehicle speed V is kept at the target vehicle speed Vt. The traveling ECU 14 sets a target acceleration rate [i.e., determining a target acceleration] at on the basis of the newly set target vehicle speed Vt (and the current vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M)), the driver assistance control method comprising:
when executing the steering assistance control (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0039 & 0049-0050], discloses the traveling ECU 14 is coupled, via an in-vehicle communication line such as a controller area network (CAN), to various control units including a power steering control unit (PS ECU) 25 [i.e., steering assistance control]), l
when executing the acceleration assistance control (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064], discloses the traveling ECU 14 [implies acceleration assistance control] performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and the target vehicle speed Vt), (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0082], discloses the traveling ECU 14 sets a target acceleration rate at on the basis of the newly set target vehicle speed Vt (and the current vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M). The traveling ECU 14 accelerates the own vehicle M to the target vehicle speed Vt on the basis of the target acceleration rate [i.e., target acceleration]).
Horiguchi is silent on earning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned;
learning an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle, based on acceleration and deceleration operations by the driver,
based on the acceleration preference level that is learned.
However, Wray teaches learning an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle, based on acceleration and deceleration operations by the driver, and based on the acceleration preference level that is learned (Wray, in at least [0059], teaches the vehicle controller 3040 is configured to determine a learning goal. The learning goal is based on incomplete or missing data that could be used to improve one or more AI subsystems of the vehicle. A learning goal is to obtain a driver preference such as “Obtain driver acceleration preference” [i.e., learn an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi in view of Wray with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver acceleration preference and set the target acceleration rate based on the learned acceleration preference and the combination would provide for providing an incentive for a driver to improve power systems, safety systems, and autonomous driving systems (Wray, see at least [0003]).
Horiguchi, as modified by Wary, does not teach learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned.
However, Inoue teaches learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned (Inoue, in at least [0062], teaches the steering characteristics which vary depending on the driver's sex, physical characteristics, personality, preference, or individual specific circumstances are learned [i.e., learn a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver,] and used to set the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device. Preferably, the cutoff frequency is set according to the maximum output frequency of the driver [i.e., based on steering operations performed by the driver, and change a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned]. If the driver is weak, the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device is changed to the lower frequency side. It is therefore possible to increase the frequency band in which the steering input is treated as the disturbance as much as possible without reducing the accuracy of the overriding determination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi, as modified by Wary, in view of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver steering preference and set the steering characteristics based on the learned user preference and set the cutoff frequency (or the steering intensity) to the maximum output frequency of the driver and the combination would provide for changing characteristics of steering force, such as the dead zone, on the basis of a driver's private unique information (Inoue, see at least [0006]).
In regard to claim 5
, Horiguchi discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program that is executed by a computer installed in an own vehicle (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, [0168], discloses at least one processor is configurable, by reading instructions from at least one machine readable non-transitory tangible medium, to perform all or a part of functions of each of the image recognition ECU 13 and the traveling ECU 14),
the program causing the computer to execute, as driver assistance control, at least one of steering assistance control for determining a steering control amount for automatically changing an actual steering angle of the own vehicle based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle, and performing steering assistance for changing the actual steering angle based on the steering control amount (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0039 & 0049-0050], discloses the traveling ECU 14 is coupled, via an in-vehicle communication line such as a controller area network (CAN), to various control units including a power steering control unit (PS ECU) 25 [i.e., steering assistance control]. The electric power steering motor 35 imparts a steering torque to a steering mechanism using a rotary power of the motor. The PS ECU 25 drives and control the electric power steering motor 35 on the basis of a control signal from the traveling ECU 14 or a detection signal from the various sensors [i.e., based on at least a traveling situation of the own vehicle]. The PS ECU 25 thus generates the steering torque for the steering mechanism. In addition, the PS ECU 25 outputs, to the traveling ECU 14, signals of factors including the steering torque and a steering angle detected by the various sensors), and acceleration assistance control for determining a target acceleration for automatically changing an actual acceleration of the own vehicle based on at least the traveling situation, and for performing acceleration assistance for controlling the actual acceleration such that the actual acceleration of the own vehicle matches the target acceleration (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064-0065 & 0082], discloses the traveling ECU 14 [implies acceleration assistance control] performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and the target vehicle speed Vt [i.e., based on at least the traveling situation]. This enables the traveling ECU 14 to basically cause the own vehicle M to travel to follow the preceding vehicle, in a state in which an inter-vehicle distance L is kept at the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and a vehicle speed V is kept at the target vehicle speed Vt. The traveling ECU 14 sets a target acceleration rate [i.e., determining a target acceleration] at on the basis of the newly set target vehicle speed Vt (and the current vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M)), and
the program further causing the computer to execute (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, [0168], discloses at least one processor is configurable, by reading instructions [i.e., program] from at least one machine readable non-transitory tangible medium, to perform all or a part of functions of each of the image recognition ECU 13 and the traveling ECU 14),
when executing the steering assistance control (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0039 & 0049-0050], discloses the traveling ECU 14 is coupled, via an in-vehicle communication line such as a controller area network (CAN), to various control units including a power steering control unit (PS ECU) 25 [i.e., steering assistance control]),
when executing the acceleration assistance control (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0064], discloses the traveling ECU 14 [implies acceleration assistance control] performs an acceleration or deceleration control for the own vehicle M on the basis of the target inter-vehicle distance Lt and the target vehicle speed Vt), (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0082], discloses the traveling ECU 14 sets a target acceleration rate at on the basis of the newly set target vehicle speed Vt (and the current vehicle speed V of the own vehicle M). The traveling ECU 14 accelerates the own vehicle M to the target vehicle speed Vt on the basis of the target acceleration rate [i.e., target acceleration]).
Horiguchi is silent on learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned,
learning an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle, based on acceleration and deceleration operations by the driver,
based on the acceleration preference level that is learned.
However, Wray teaches learning an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle, and based on acceleration and deceleration operations by the driver, and based on the acceleration preference level that is learned (Wray, in at least [0059], teaches the vehicle controller 3040 is configured to determine a learning goal. The learning goal is based on incomplete or missing data that could be used to improve one or more AI subsystems of the vehicle. A learning goal is to obtain a driver preference such as “Obtain driver acceleration preference” [i.e., learning an acceleration preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding acceleration by the driver of the own vehicle]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi in view of Wray with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver acceleration preference and set the target acceleration rate based on the learned acceleration preference and the combination would provide for providing an incentive for a driver to improve power systems, safety systems, and autonomous driving systems (Wray, see at least [0003]).
Horiguchi, as modified by Wary, does not teach learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned.
However, Inoue teaches learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver, and changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned (Inoue, in at least [0062], teaches the steering characteristics which vary depending on the driver's sex, physical characteristics, personality, preference, or individual specific circumstances are learned [i.e., learning a steering preference level indicating a degree of preference regarding steering by a driver of the own vehicle, based on steering operations performed by the driver] and used to set the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device. Preferably, the cutoff frequency is set according to the maximum output frequency of the driver [i.e., based on steering operations performed by the driver, and changing a degree of intensity of the steering assistance by determining the steering control amount based on the steering preference level that is learned]. If the driver is weak, the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device is changed to the lower frequency side. It is therefore possible to increase the frequency band in which the steering input is treated as the disturbance as much as possible without reducing the accuracy of the overriding determination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi, as modified by Wary, in view of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver steering preference and set the steering characteristics based on the learned user preference and set the cutoff frequency (or the steering intensity) to the maximum output frequency of the driver and the combination would provide for changing characteristics of steering force, such as the dead zone, on the basis of a driver's private unique information (Inoue, see at least [0006]).
8. Claim(s) 2
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horiguchi (US-20230202479-A1) in view of Wray et al. (US-20220274623-A1) and further in view of Inoue et al. (US-20150019082-A1) and further in view of Tekada et al. (US-20090024279-A1).
In regard to claim 2
, Horiguchi, as modified by Wary and Inoue, teaches the driver assistance control device according to claim 1, wherein
the controller is configured to execute, as the steering assistance control, lane keeping control for changing the steering control amount such that the own vehicle travels along a predetermined target travel line set in a lane in which the own vehicle is traveling (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0066], discloses the lane keep control and the lane departure prevention control is basically performed on the basis of the traveling environment information received from one or both of the image recognition ECU 13 and the locator unit 36. The traveling ECU 14 performs the lane keep control and the lane departure prevention control for a lane on which the own vehicle M travels, on the basis of information such as lane line information included in the traveling environment information. This enables the traveling ECU 14 to keep the own vehicle M at the middle of the lane [i.e., a predetermined target travel line set in a lane]), and
the controller is further configured to (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, the traveling ECU 14)
acquire a road curvature (CL) that is a curvature of the target traveling line, a lateral deviation (DL) that is a distance in a lane width direction between the target travel line and the own vehicle (Horiguchi, in at least Fig. 1, and [0033-0034], discloses on the basis of the distance image information, received from the IPU 12, the image recognition ECU 13 determines a road curvature [1/m] [i.e., acquire a road curvature (CL)] of each of lane lines that define left and right of a lane on which the own vehicle M travels along an own-vehicle traveling course. The image recognition ECU 13 calculates, the middle of the lane and an own vehicle lateral position deviation [i.e., a lateral deviation (DL)], on the basis of the curvature of each of the left and right lane lines and the lane width), and
Further, Inoue teaches change the degree of intensity of the steering assistance, in accordance with the steering preference level (Inoue, in at least [0062], teaches the steering characteristics which vary depending on the driver's sex, physical characteristics, personality, preference, or individual specific circumstances are learned and used to set the cutoff frequency of the first filtering device. Preferably, the cutoff frequency is set according to the maximum output frequency of the driver [i.e., change the degree of intensity of the steering assistance, in accordance with the steering preference level]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi, as modified by Wary and Inoue, in view of Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – vehicle systems – and learn the driver steering preference and set the steering characteristics (or the steering intensity) based on the user preference and the combination would provide for changing characteristics of steering force, such as the dead zone, on the basis of a driver's private unique information (Inoue, see at least [0006]).
Horiguchi, as modified by Wary and Inoue, is silent on a yaw angle deviation (θL) that is an angle between a tangential direction of the target traveling line and a traveling direction of the own vehicle, and calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control, based on
a first term (K1⋅CL) that is a product of the road curvature (CL) and a first gain (K1),
a second term (K2⋅DL) that is a product of the lateral deviation (DL) and a second gain (K2), and
a third term (K3⋅θL) that is a product of the yaw angle deviation (θL) and a third gain (K3), and
change the first gain, the second gain, and the third gain.
However, Tekada teaches a yaw angle deviation (θL) that is an angle between a tangential direction of the target traveling line and a traveling direction of the own vehicle, and calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control (Tekada, in at least Fig. 2, [0060 & 0101], teaches in-lane running support controller 25 reads the in-lane running support information (vehicle yaw angle .phi.r with respect to the running lane [i.e., a yaw angle deviation (θL) that is an angle between a tangential direction of the target traveling line and a traveling direction of the own vehicle], lateral displacement X from the lane center, and curvature .rho. of the running lane) computed by surroundings recognition part 22, and the operation signal of direction indicating switch 23. When process flow goes to step S109, in-lane running support controller 25 computes target yaw moment Ms [i.e., calculate the steering control amount in the lane keeping control] generated in the vehicle), based on
a first term (K1⋅CL) that is a product of the road curvature (CL) and a first gain (K1) (Tekada, in at least Fig. 2, and [0071], teaches in step S102, step S102 computes target turning angle .theta.opt by multiplying said lateral displacement gain KL, yaw angle gain KY, curvature gain KR [i.e., first gain (K1)]and turning angle gain KD by said vehicle parameters (lateral displacement X from the lane center, yaw angle .phi.r, curvature .rho. of the running lane [i.e., road curvature (CL)] and turning angle .theta.t), respectively, followed by adding the products),
a second term (K2⋅DL) that is a product of the lateral deviation (DL) and a second gain (K2) (Tekada, in at least Fig. 2, and [0071], teaches in step S102, step S102 computes target turning angle .theta.opt by multiplying said lateral displacement gain KL [i.e., second gain (K2)], yaw angle gain KY, curvature gain KR and turning angle gain KD by said vehicle parameters (lateral displacement X from the lane center [i.e., lateral deviation (DL)], yaw angle .phi.r, curvature .rho. of the running lane and turning angle .theta.t), respectively, followed by adding the products), and
a third term (K3⋅θL) that is a product of the yaw angle deviation (θL) and a third gain (K3) (Tekada, in at least Fig. 2, and [0071], teaches in step S102, step S102 computes target turning angle .theta.opt by multiplying said lateral displacement gain KL, yaw angle gain KY [i.e., third gain (K3)], curvature gain KR and turning angle gain KD by said vehicle parameters (lateral displacement X from the lane center, yaw angle .phi.r [i.e., yaw angle deviation (θL)], curvature .rho. of the running lane and turning angle .theta.t), respectively, followed by adding the products), and
change the first gain, the second gain, and the third gain to change the degree of intensity of the steering assistance, in accordance with the steering preference level (Tekada, in at least Figs. 3-5, [0012-0014] teaches lateral displacement gain KL, yaw angle gain KY, curvature gain KR are set based on the vehicle speed [implies change the first gain, the second gain, and the third gain]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Horiguchi, as modified by Wary and Inoue, in view of Tekada with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – Vehicle systems – and change steering characteristics by changing the lateral displacement gain, yaw angle gain, and curvature gain KR and the combination would provide for providing an improved feel for a driver of a vehicle (Tekada, see at least [0006]).
Conclusion
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661