DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzman Trevino et al. (U.S. 2022/0307454) in view of Tiberghien et al. (U.S. 2013/0319558).
Regarding claim 1, Guzman Trevino discloses a joint (60) comprising: a base (11, 40, 21) defining a spherical cavity, an opening (16), and an outlet 25 (see Figure 3; see paragraph 0037); a plug connector (12, 10) comprising a ball head (12) rotatably placed in the spherical cavity and a tube (10) extending through the opening (16), and the plug connector (12, 10) defining a tunnel communicating with the outlet (see paragraph 0037; see Figure 3); wherein a diameter of the opening (16) is smaller than a diameter of the spherical cavity and the diameter of the opening (16) is larger than a diameter of the tube 10 (see Figure 3).
Guzman Trevino fails to disclose a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet.
Tiberghien teaches a connector comprising a core-stem (8) positioned in a tunnel (see Figure 1); and a check valve (3b, 3f) comprising a block (3b) and a spring 3f (see paragraph 0048; see Figure 1); the block (3b) surrounds the core-stem (8) and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem (8) and a tube (3a), when a plug (2a) is inserted into the tube (3a), the plug (2a) pushes the block (3b) out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug (2a) with the tunnel and the spring (3f) is compressed, and when the plug (2a) is pulled out of the tube (3a), the spring (3f) pushes the block (3b) back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet (see Figures 1 and 5; see paragraphs 0048, 0077-0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Guzman Trevino to provide a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet, as taught by Tiberghien. Doing so would prevent back flow when disconnected.
Regarding claim 3, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the base (11, 40, 21) comprises a socket (40, 21) and a cover (11), the outlet (25) is formed by the socket (40, 21), the opening (16) is formed by the cover (11), the spherical cavity is formed by the socket (40, 21) and the cover 11 (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the socket (40, 21) further comprises a pipe (21), the pipe (21) is communicated with the tunnel, and the outlet (25) is formed on an end of the pipe (21) away from the socket 40, 21 (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Guzman Trevino discloses a chassis 20 (see paragraph 0035; see Figure 2); and a joint (60) located on the chassis 20 (see Figure 2; see paragraph 0035); the joint (60) comprising: a base (11, 40, 21) defining a spherical cavity, an opening (16), and an outlet 25 (see Figure 3; see paragraph 0037); a plug connector (12, 10) comprising a ball head (12) rotatably placed in the spherical cavity and a tube (10) extending through the opening (16), and the plug connector (12, 10) defining a tunnel communicating with the outlet (see paragraph 0037; see Figure 3); wherein a diameter of the opening (16) is smaller than a diameter of the spherical cavity and the diameter of the opening (16) is larger than a diameter of the tube 10 (see Figure 3).
Regarding “a server”, please note that the limitation has not been given patentable weight because a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause.
Guzman Trevino fails to disclose a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet.
Tiberghien teaches a connector comprising a core-stem (8) positioned in a tunnel (see Figure 1); and a check valve (3b, 3f) comprising a block (3b) and a spring 3f (see paragraph 0048; see Figure 1); the block (3b) surrounds the core-stem (8) and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem (8) and a tube (3a), when a plug (2a) is inserted into the tube (3a), the plug (2a) pushes the block (3b) out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug (2a) with the tunnel and the spring (3f) is compressed, and when the plug (2a) is pulled out of the tube (3a), the spring (3f) pushes the block (3b) back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet (see Figures 1 and 5; see paragraphs 0048, 0077-0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Guzman Trevino to provide a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet, as taught by Tiberghien. Doing so would prevent back flow when disconnected.
Regarding claim 10, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the base (11, 40, 21) comprises a socket (40, 21) and a cover (11), the outlet (25) is formed by the socket (40, 21), the opening (16) is formed by the cover (11), the spherical cavity is formed by the socket (40, 21) and the cover 11 (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the socket (40, 21) further comprises a pipe (21), the pipe (21) is communicated with the tunnel, and the outlet (25) is formed on an end of the pipe (21) away from the socket 40, 21 (see Figure 3).
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzman Trevino in view of Tiberghien in further view of Onishi et al. (U.S. 2009/0205687).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the ball head defines a first seal-ring groove, the first seal-ring groove is configured for positioning a first seal-ring, the first seal-ring is compressed by an interior surface of the base and an exterior surface of the ball head.
Onishi teaches a connector wherein a ball head defines a first seal-ring groove, the first seal-ring groove is configured for positioning a first seal-ring (47), the first seal-ring (47) is compressed by an interior surface of a base and an exterior surface of the ball head (see Figure 14; see paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Guzman Trevino to provide wherein the ball head defines a first seal-ring groove, the first seal-ring groove is configured for positioning a first seal-ring, the first seal-ring is compressed by an interior surface of the base and an exterior surface of the ball head. Doing so would provide prevent leakage (see paragraph 0104), as recognized by Onishi.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzman Trevino in view of Monfarad (U.S. 2004/0163403), in further view of Tiberghien.
Regarding claim 15, Guzman Trevino discloses a chassis 20 (see paragraph 0035; see Figure 2); and a joint (60) located on the chassis 20 (see Figure 2; see paragraph 0035); the joint (60) comprising: a base (11, 40, 21) defining a spherical cavity, an opening (16), and an outlet 25 (see Figure 3; see paragraph 0037); a plug connector (12, 10) comprising a ball head (12) rotatably placed in the spherical cavity and a tube (10) extending through the opening (16), and the plug connector (12, 10) defining a tunnel communicating with the outlet (see paragraph 0037; see Figure 3); wherein a diameter of the opening (16) is smaller than a diameter of the spherical cavity and the diameter of the opening (16) is larger than a diameter of the tube 10 (see Figure 3).
Guzman Trevino fails to disclose a computing system comprising: a rack comprising a plurality of plugs; a plurality of servers placed in the rack, each of the plurality of servers comprising: a chassis; a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet.
Monfarad teaches connectors for a computing system comprising: a rack comprising a plurality of plugs; a plurality of servers placed in the rack, each of the plurality of servers comprising: a chassis (see paragraphs 0040-0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Guzman Trevino to provide a computing system comprising: a rack comprising a plurality of plugs; a plurality of servers placed in the rack, each of the plurality of servers comprising: a chassis, as taught by Monfarad. Doing so would utilize the joint in a known alternative manner.
The combination fails to teach a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet.
Tiberghien teaches a connector comprising a core-stem (8) positioned in a tunnel (see Figure 1); and a check valve (3b, 3f) comprising a block (3b) and a spring 3f (see paragraph 0048; see Figure 1); the block (3b) surrounds the core-stem (8) and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem (8) and a tube (3a), when a plug (2a) is inserted into the tube (3a), the plug (2a) pushes the block (3b) out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug (2a) with the tunnel and the spring (3f) is compressed, and when the plug (2a) is pulled out of the tube (3a), the spring (3f) pushes the block (3b) back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet (see Figures 1 and 5; see paragraphs 0048, 0077-0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Guzman Trevino to provide a core-stem positioned in the tunnel; and a check valve comprising a block and a spring; the block surrounds the core-stem and is configured for blocking a loop-inlet formed between the core-stem and the tube, when a plug is inserted into the tube, the plug pushes the block out of the loop-inlet to communicate the plug with the tunnel and the spring is compressed, and when the plug is pulled out of the tube, the spring pushes the block back into the loop-inlet to block the loop-inlet, as taught by Tiberghien. Doing so would prevent back flow when disconnected.
Regarding claim 17, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, and further teaches wherein the base (11, 40, 21) comprises a socket (40, 21) and a cover (11), the outlet (25) is formed by the socket (40, 21), the opening (16) is formed by the cover (11), the spherical cavity is formed by the socket (40, 21) and the cover 11 (see Figure 3).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guzman Trevino in view of Monfarad, in further view of Tiberghien, in further view of Onishi.
Regarding claims 16, Guzman Trevino as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the ball head defines a first seal-ring groove, the first seal-ring groove is configured for positioning a first seal-ring, the first seal-ring is compressed by an interior surface of the base and an exterior surface of the ball head.
Onishi teaches a connector wherein a ball head defines a first seal-ring groove, the first seal-ring groove is configured for positioning a first seal-ring (47), the first seal-ring (47) is compressed by an interior surface of a base and an exterior surface of the ball head (see Figure 14; see paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Guzman Trevino to provide wherein the ball head defines a first seal-ring groove, the first seal-ring groove is configured for positioning a first seal-ring, the first seal-ring is compressed by an interior surface of the base and an exterior surface of the ball head. Doing so would provide prevent leakage (see paragraph 0104), as recognized by Onishi.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wada (U.S. 2017/0336005) discloses a coupling comprising a ball head with a valve within.
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753