DETAILED ACTION
The present application filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is incompliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 11/18/2024 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWard et al (US 2008/0049344, of record) in view of Watson et al. (US 20120150387) and further in view of Pertsel et al. (US 9598015).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, DeWard et al teaches a vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising:
a mirror mount (115, and mounting plate 120; Fig. 7, along with [0046]) configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of a vehicle (Figs 6-7, interior rearview mirror assembly, [0020-0021]),
a mirror head (Reflective element 14 is adjustably positioned at or partially in mirror casing 12 and is adjustable via an actuator 18, [0026]; mirror casing may be adjustably or movably mounted at the vehicle windshield, and may be generally vertically movable along the windshield, [0029]; housing 112, reflective element 114 in front, Figs. 6-8 along with [0047]) accommodating a mirror reflective element (see FIGS. 6-8, reflective element 114, [0047]), wherein the mirror head is adjustable about the mirror mount (Mounting structure includes a mounting ball 115b extending from base portion 115a, [0048]; mirror casing may be adjustably or movably mounted at the vehicle windshield [0029], reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051]),
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (A rearview mirror system for a vehicle includes an interior rearview mirror, [abstract]), the mirror head is adjustable relative to the mirror mount by a driver of the vehicle to adjust the mirror reflective element to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051], user actuatable controls or inputs may be provided at the mirror assembly or elsewhere in the vehicle to allow the user or driver to adjust the orientation of the reflective element at any time as desired , [0009], [0046], the driver of the vehicle may adjust the reflective element to provide the desired rearward field of view, [0057]);
an actuator (Actuator 118, [0050]), wherein the actuator comprises a mirror-attaching portion and a mount-attaching portion, (Mounting plate 120 engages actuator 118 to adjustably mount reflective element 114, the mounting plate 120 is attached to the mounting structure 115 and adjustably engages actuator 118 [0050]), and
wherein the actuator comprises a pair of motors operable to rotatably drive respective gears (Actuator 118 may comprise any suitable electrical actuator that is operable to adjust the reflective element about one or more axes, such as an actuator utilizing aspects of the actuators discussed above, actuator 118 includes actuator housing 122, which may be fixedly secured to reflective element 114 and mirror casing 112,, and attachment elements or positioning elements 124a, 124b, which extend from housing 122 and pivotally engage or attach to the rear of the mounting plate 120 (such as at the receiving elements 120d at the rear of mounting plate 120), and which may be longitudinally adjustable to extend/retract to adjust the position or orientation of actuator 118 and reflective element 114 relative to mounting structure 115. In the illustrated embodiment, the reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator. Optionally, the housing may be fixedly mounted to or attached to the mounting plate and/or support structure (such as at a preset or preselected orientation), whereby the reflective element may be adjusted relative to the housing and the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051]), and
wherein, when the gears are rotatably driven, the gears impart pivotal movement of the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator relative to the mount-attaching portion and the mirror mount (Actuator 118 may comprise any suitable electrical actuator that is operable to adjust the reflective element about one or more axes, such as an actuator utilizing aspects of the actuators discussed above … actuator 118 includes actuator housing 122 (which may be fixedly secured to reflective element 114 and mirror casing 112), and attachment elements or positioning elements 124a, 124b, which extend from housing 122 and pivotally engage or attach to the rear of the mounting plate 120, [0051]; housing 122 contain a pair of motors 126 and associated gearing 128; for driving the positioning element or elements 124a, 124b relative to housing 122, such as in a manner similar to that known in the art of exterior mirror actuators, electrical motor 126 is operable to rotatably drive a worm gear 126a, which in turn rotatably drives a spur gear 128a of gearing 128. Rotation of spur gear 128a imparts a corresponding rotation of another worm gear 128b that rotatably drives another spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b to impart a translational movement of the positioning elements in either direction [0052]),
wherein the mirror head accommodates a driver-monitoring camera, and wherein the driver-monitoring camera is operable to capture image data (the mounting structure and/or mirror casing may support one or more imaging sensors or cameras and may fixedly support them with the cameras set with a desired or appropriate forward and/or rearward field of view. [0062]),
wherein the driver-monitoring camera moves in tandem with the mirror head when, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjusted relative to the mirror mount to adjust the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle; (mirror casing may support one or more imaging sensors or cameras, and may fixedly support them with the cameras set with a desired or appropriate forward and/or rearward field of view. [0062], reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051]),
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (an interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at an attachment element adhered to an inner surface of the vehicle windshield, [abstract]), and with the mirror head positioned relative to the mirror mount to provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle, (mounted at an attachment element adhered to an inner surface of the vehicle windshield, [abstract], Figs, 3, 6 and 7),
In another embodiment, as shown in Fig. 5: DeWard et al teaches a back plate having a front side and a rear side separated by a thickness of the back plate (backing plate 24 having a front side and a rear side separated by a thickness of the back plate, [0030]),
wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at the front side of the back plate (see Fig. 5, reflective element 14 and back plate 24; [0030]),
an actuator (Actuator 18, [0035]), wherein the actuator comprises a mirror-attaching portion and a mount-attaching portion, (actuator 18, elements 18b, 18c, which extend from housing and pivotally attach to the rear of the reflective element 14, mirror mounting structure 15, [0026] Mounting plate 120 engages actuator 118 to adjustably mount reflective element 114, the mounting plate 120 is attached to the mounting structure 115 and adjustably engages actuator 118 [0050]), and
wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate (see Fig. 5, actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a and attachment elements or positioning elements 18b, 18c, mirror-attaching portion 18b, 18c of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate, [0035], Fig. 5), and
wherein the mount-attaching portion is attached at the mirror mount (mounting structure 15, Fig. 5), wherein the actuator comprises a pair of motors operable to rotatably drive respective gears (actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a, housing 18a may include one or more motors and associated gearing for driving and/or extending and/or retracting the positioning element or elements 18b, 18c, [0035]), and
wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate (see Fig. 5, actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a and attachment elements or positioning elements 18b, 18c, mirror-attaching portion 18b, 18c of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate, [0035], Fig. 5), and
wherein the mount-attaching portion is attached at the mirror mount (mounting structure 15, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the rearview mirror assembly of DeWard presented in Figs. 6-8 to include an actuator with a back plate having a front side and a rear side separated by a thickness of the back plate, wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at the front side of the back plate, wherein the actuator comprises a mirror-attaching portion and a mount-attaching portion, and wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator is directly attached at the rear side of the back plate, as taught by DeWard and presented in Fig. 5, and [0034-0037] for the predictable advantage of adding back plate on the mirror for safety and actuating the back plate directly to move the mirror to have a simple, secure mechanism for mirror movement as shown in Fig. 5.
DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach (i) the driver-monitoring camera 16views the driver of the vehicle and (ii) the driver-monitoring camera captures image data for a driver monitoring system of the vehicle; and wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle, and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera, the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver- monitoring camera.
DeWard and Watson both teach rearview mirror assembly of vehicles.
Watson teaches (i) the driver-monitoring camera views the driver of the vehicle (a system for monitoring a vehicle driver is provided. The system is configured to receive and improve the quality of image data used to determine the condition of a vehicle driver, [0004]; the camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; controller 300 is used in a system for monitoring a vehicle driver, [0023]) and (ii) the driver-monitoring camera captures image data for a driver monitoring system of the vehicle (system is configured to receive the image data … camera positioned to detect image data of the vehicle driver, [0004]; camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; face and eye tracking performed by the camera 302, [0025]); and wherein, with the driver-monitoring camera mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (see camera 30 and/or 32 in Fig. 1A), and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera, (camera 30 and/or 32 provide the system controller 40 with signals containing consecutive frames of image data. This image data can then be analyzed by system controller 40 to obtain biological parameters, such as a heart rate or a respiration rate, derived from sensed biological measures of the driver 12, [0017]; computer for processing steps [0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the rearview mirror assembly of DeWard to include (i) the driver-monitoring camera 16views the driver of the vehicle and (ii) the driver-monitoring camera captures image data for a driver monitoring system of the vehicle; and wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle, and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera, as taught by Watson for the predictable advantage of designing a camera-based system located in a vehicle, along with other vehicle systems, to obtain the accurate biological measures needed to monitor the driver's performance and the condition based on the received image data using optical techniques, [0003-0004].
The modified DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver-monitoring camera.
DeWard and Pertsel both teach rearview assembly of vehicles.
Pertsel teaches the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver- monitoring camera, ("The control signal may be used to adjust one or more mirrors of the vehicle." [Summary of the Invention], automated vehicle mirror assembly using an in-car camera system to locate a driver's facial/eye positioning and adjusts the mirror head via an actuator. See the citations below: an automatic mirror adjustment using an in-car camera system, processor may be configured to generate a control signal in response to a determined field of view of the driver. The control signal may be used to adjust one or more mirrors of the vehicle. The field of view may be determined based on (i) the video signal and (ii) the status information [abstract and field of invention]; The invention provides automatic mirror adjustment that may (i) determine a field of view of a driver, (ii) adjust vehicle mirrors based on characteristics of each driver... (iv) estimate a location of eyes of a driver... [and] activate an actuator to adjust the mirror head/reflective element, [summary of invention]; Correct alignment of the rear or side view mirrors based on a seating position, height, and distance from the mirrors of the driver, [C-1, L-19-21]; The camera system 100 may send the signal control to each of the mirrors 154a-154c to adjust the positioning and/or orientation. (C-3, L-65-67]; camera system may be implemented to calculate positioning/orientation of the mirrors for the vehicle. The calculated positioning/orientation of the mirrors may be based on the FOVs of the driver of the vehicle, [C-4, L-1-6]; The camera system may interface with other systems of the automobile to align each of the mirrors … positioning of the mirrors may be calculated based on characteristics of the driver height, preferences, etc.[C-4, L-15-24]; The capture device 102 may capture video image data, e.g., from the lens 112 .[C-4, L-50]; capture device may receive light from the lens. The lens may be directed at the driver, [C-4, L-57-60]; The processor may generate the signal control in response to the determined FOVs .., the signal control may be used by the mirrors to adjust the orientation of the mirrors, [C-6, L-39-60]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified rearview mirror assembly of DeWard to actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver-monitoring camera, as taught by Pertsel for the predictable advantage of designing a camera-based system to automatic mirror adjustment using an in-car camera system and continually evaluate mirror alignment, as Pertsel teaches in field and summary of invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 1 and 16 (see above), wherein, with the mirror reflective element positioned to provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (the reflective element may be adjusted to adapt the rearward field of view for the particular driver of the vehicle., [0036]), Watson teaches a target position of the face of the driver of the vehicle within the field of view of the driver- monitoring camera is determined via processing of image data captured by the driver- monitoring camera to determine the position of the face of the driver of the vehicle within the field of view of the driver-monitoring camera (the camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; controller 300 is used in a system for monitoring a vehicle driver, [0023]; system is configured to receive the image data … camera positioned to detect image data of the vehicle driver, [0004]; camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; face and eye tracking performed by the camera 302, [0025], camera 30 and/or 32 provide the system controller 40 with signals containing consecutive frames of image data. This image data can then be analyzed by system controller 40 to obtain biological parameters, such as a heart rate or a respiration rate, derived from sensed biological measures of the driver 12, [0017]; computer for processing steps [0045]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 2 and 17 (see above), wherein the determined target position is stored into memory, (A driver or user of the vehicle may set one or more memory positions for the reflective element to provide the particular driver with the preferred or appropriate rearward field of view, [0009], .. memory positions may be stored at the control or may be accessible by the control [0038]).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 2 and 17(see above), wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (see the title of the invention and Fig. 3), and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera (The image processor for processing the images captured by the imaging device or devices, [0064]). Watson teaches the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle at the determined target position within the field of view of the driver-monitoring camera (the camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; controller 300 is used in a system for monitoring a vehicle driver, [0023]; system is configured to receive the image data … camera positioned to detect image data of the vehicle driver, [0004]; camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; face and eye tracking performed by the camera 302, [0025], camera 30 and/or 32 provide the system controller 40 with signals containing consecutive frames of image data. This image data can then be analyzed by system controller 40 to obtain biological parameters, such as a heart rate or a respiration rate, derived from sensed biological measures of the driver 12, [0017]; computer for processing steps [0045]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 1 (see above), wherein the actuator comprises a pair of gear elements that are orthogonal to one another, and wherein each of the gear elements is movably received at the mirror-attaching portion and has an end attached at the mount-attaching portion, and wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective gear elements along respective paths relative to the mirror-attaching portion (see the positions of gears and motors in Figs. 6-11, motors and gears, [0020-0025]; mounting plate 120 is adjustably engages actuator 118, pair of motors 126 and associated gearing 128 for driving and/or extending and/or retracting the positioning element or elements 124a, 124b relative to housing 122, each electrical motor 126 is operable to rotatably drive a worm gear 126a, which in turn rotatably drives a spur gear 128a of gearing 128. Rotation of spur gear 128a imparts a corresponding rotation of another worm gear 128b that rotatably drives another spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b; [0047-0053]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 5 (see above), wherein the actuator comprises a memory element that tracks location of respective gear elements relative to the mirror-attaching portion to provide a memory position function of the mirror head (A driver or user of the vehicle may set one or more memory positions for the reflective element to provide the particular driver with the preferred or appropriate rearward field of view. The control and actuator may selectively move or adjust the reflective element to an appropriate memory position in response to other subsequent ignitions of the vehicle, [0009]; the driver or user of the vehicle may set one or more memory positions for the reflective element to provide the particular driver with the preferred or appropriate rearward field of view. Such memory positions may be stored at the control or may be accessible by the control so that the control may actuate the actuator to set the reflective element at the appropriate orientation when a driver elects a particular memory position, [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 7, (see above), wherein the gears of the actuator comprise respective clutch subassemblies and at least a portion of each respective clutch subassembly rotates responsive to movement of the respective gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion (Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b to impart a translational movement of the positioning elements in either direction, [0052]; The clutch device 130 of actuator 118 allows for relative rotation between the first and second spur gears 130a, 130b to allow for manual movement of the mirror casing and reflective element without affecting or rotating the gears and motors of the actuator. The clutch device also functions to limit or reduce or substantially precludes undesirable clunking sounds, [0053]).
Regarding claim 12, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 7, (see above). wherein the memory position function operates to electronically track and store in memory the location of each gear element relative to the body portion and, responsive to an input, operates the actuator to pivot the mirror head to the stored location (a memory function to allow for positioning of the reflective element to a stored orientation actuator 118 may include a memory element or device 132 at or near or associated with each positioning element 124a, 124b so that the control of the actuator can determine the present location of the mirror reflective element and can actuate the mirror actuator to adjust the reflective element orientation to a preselected or stored orientation, [0054]; It is knows to art that a potentiometer is a passive electronic component; Such memory elements 132 at or near or associated with the positioning elements 124a, 124b allow the mirror assembly to determine the location of the mirror reflective element memory elements 132 at or near or associated with the positioning elements 124a, 124b allow the mirror assembly to determine the location of the mirror reflective element and adjust the reflective element to a stored position see along paragraphs [0054], [0009], [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 1, (see above), wherein the gears rotate about axes that are orthogonal to one another (see Figs. 10-11, worm gear 126a, spur gear 128a, worm gear 128b, spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. 126a orthogonal to 128a; [0052]).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 13 or 16, (see above), wherein the gears rotate about axes that are parallel to the rear side of the back plate (Fig. 6 shows positioning element or elements 124a, 124b, mirror back plate, Motors 126 and gearing 128 with gears. Fig. 10 shows motor 126 is operable to rotatably drive a worm gear 126a, which in turn rotatably drives a spur gear 128a of gear 128. Rotation of spur gear 128a imparts a corresponding rotation of another worm gear 128b that rotatably drives another spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b, [0052]. Fig. 6 in view of Figs. 10-11 show some gears rotate about axes that are parallel to the rear side of the back plate).
Regarding claim 15, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 1, (see above), wherein the mirror- attaching portion of the actuator comprises a housing that houses the gears and the motors, (actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a, Housing 18a may include one or more motors and associated gearing, [0035], Fig. 5)
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWard et al (US 2008/0049344, of record) in view of Watson et al. (US 20120150387) and Pertsel et al. (US 9598015), and further in view of LaCross et al. (US 2018/0251069, of record)
Regarding claim 9, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 8, (see above). Modified DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the memory element comprises memory pods that engage the respective rotatable portions of the clutch subassemblies to electronically track location of each gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion.
DeWard and LaCross are related because both teach vehicular rearview mirrors.
LaCross teaches the memory element comprises memory pods that engage the respective rotatable portions of the clutch subassemblies to electronically track location of each gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion (the memory feature may comprise a geared memory pod 132 that engages the end of one of the ball interface gears (see FIGS. 42-44, 47 and 51), The geared memory pod (rotary potentiometer) thus can be directly connected to the ball interface gear. Having a direct connection between the memory and the gear that drives the ball prevents the possibility of the memory getting out of sync with the rest of the actuator. memory pod at the end of each of the ball interface gears, whereby the two memory pods would determine and save the various set positions of the actuator, [0105]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of DeWard to include memory pods that engage the respective rotatable portions of the clutch subassemblies to electronically track location of each gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion, as taught by LaCross for the predictable advantage of removing some play or looseness from the system and lead to more accurate positioning, as taught by LaCross in [0105].
Regarding claim 10, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 9, (see above), LaCross teaches the memory pods comprise respective elements that engage the respective rotatable portions of the respective clutch subassemblies, (geared memory pod 132 that engages the end of one of the ball interface gears (see FIGS. 42-44, 47 and 51), actuator would include a memory pod at the end of each of the ball interface gears, whereby the two memory pods would determine and save the various set positions of the actuator, [0105]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 7, (see above). Modified DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the memory element comprises an electrically conductive wiper element at each gear element, and wherein the electrically conductive wiper element engages a respective electrically conductive memory pad adjacent the respective gear element and moves along the respective electrically conductive memory pad when the mirror head is adjusted to electronically track location of the respective gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion.
DeWard and LaCross are related because both teach vehicular rearview mirrors.
LaCross teaches the memory the memory element comprises an electrically conductive wiper element at each gear element, and wherein the electrically conductive wiper element engages a respective electrically conductive memory pad adjacent the respective gear element and moves along the respective electrically conductive memory pad when the mirror head is adjusted to electronically track location of the respective gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion, (the memory function may comprise a rotary wiper or a potentiometer and a gear element that rotates with each gear 125a, 125b and stores the degree of rotation for the desired or set position. .. the memory feature may comprise a geared memory pod 132 that engages the end of one of the ball interface gears (see FIGS. 42-44, 47 and 51). memory pod at one of the ball interface gears, the actuator would include a memory pod at the end of each of the ball interface gears, The geared memory pod (rotary potentiometer) thus can be directly connected to the ball interface gear. It is known to art that a potentiometer is made of electrically conductive variable resistor in which the resistance is varied to control the flow of electric current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of DeWard to include the memory element comprises an electrically conductive wiper element at each gear element, and wherein the electrically conductive wiper element engages a respective electrically conductive memory pad adjacent the respective gear element and moves along the respective electrically conductive memory pad when the mirror head is adjusted to electronically track location of the respective gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion relative to the body portion, as taught by LaCross for the predictable advantage of having a direct connection between the memory and the gear that drives the ball prevents the possibility of the memory getting out of sync with the rest of the actuator, as LaCross teaches in [0105].
Claims 6 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWard et al (US 2008/0049344, of record) in view of Watson et al. (US 20120150387) and Pertsel et al. (US 9598015), and further in view of Foote et al. (US 2011/0194203).
Regarding claim 6, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 5 (see above),
Modified DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach, wherein the gear elements comprise respective arcuate gear elements, and wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective arcuate gear elements along respective arcuate paths relative to the mirror-attaching portion, and wherein the arcuate gear elements protrude through respective apertures through a housing of the actuator to attach at the mount-attaching portion.
DeWard and Foote are related because both teach vehicular rearview mirror.
Foote teaches wherein the gear elements comprise respective arcuate gear elements, and wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective arcuate gear elements along respective arcuate paths relative to the mirror-attaching portion, and wherein the arcuate gear elements protrude through respective apertures through a housing of the actuator to attach at the mount-attaching portion (Gear element 128b engages the toothed portion 121c of arcuate element 121b, whereby rotation of the output shaft and worm gear 126b of motor 126a imparts a rotation of gear element 128a to drive arcuate element 121b in one direction, [0029]; The arcuate tilting element 121b of base portion or element 121 is engaged by the tilting gear mechanism of tilting actuator assembly 122, of which gear element 128b engages the gear profile or teeth 121c established at and along the arcuate projection, [0029-0031] [Fig. 7]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of DeWard wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective arcuate gear elements along respective arcuate paths relative to the mirror-attaching portion, and wherein the arcuate gear elements protrude through respective apertures through a housing of the actuator to attach at the mount-attaching portion, as taught by Foote for the predictable advantage of its known benefit of transmitting rotational power between intersecting or non-parallel shafts, for smoother operation, higher load capacities, and greater tolerance for misalignments than traditional straight-cut gears.
Regarding claim 21, DeWard et al teaches vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly, the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly comprising: a mirror mount (115, and mounting plate 120; Fig. 7, along with [0046]) configured to mount the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly at an interior portion of a vehicle (Figs 6-7, interior rearview mirror assembly, [0020-0021]),
a mirror head (Reflective element 14 is adjustably positioned at or partially in mirror casing 12 and is adjustable via an actuator 18, [0026]; mirror casing may be adjustably or movably mounted at the vehicle windshield, and may be generally vertically movable along the windshield, [0029]; housing 112, reflective element 114 in front, Figs. 6-8 along with [0047]) accommodating a mirror reflective element (see FIGS. 6-8, reflective element 114, [0047]), wherein the mirror head is adjustable about the mirror mount (Mounting structure includes a mounting ball 115b extending from base portion 115a, [0048]; mirror casing may be adjustably or movably mounted at the vehicle windshield [0029], reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051]),
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (A rearview mirror system for a vehicle includes an interior rearview mirror, [abstract]), the mirror head is adjustable relative to the mirror mount by a driver of the vehicle to adjust the mirror reflective element to provide a rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051], user actuatable controls or inputs may be provided at the mirror assembly or elsewhere in the vehicle to allow the user or driver to adjust the orientation of the reflective element at any time as desired , [0009], [0046], the driver of the vehicle may adjust the reflective element to provide the desired rearward field of view, [0057]);
an actuator (Actuator 118, [0050]), wherein the actuator comprises a mirror-attaching portion and a mount-attaching portion, (Mounting plate 120 engages actuator 118 to adjustably mount reflective element 114, the mounting plate 120 is attached to the mounting structure 115 and adjustably engages actuator 118 [0050]; actuator 18, elements 18b, 18c, which extend from housing and pivotally attach to the rear of the reflective element 14, mirror mounting structure 15, [0026], Mounting plate 120 engages actuator 118 to adjustably mount reflective element 114, the mounting plate 120 is attached to the mounting structure 115 and adjustably engages actuator 118 [0050]), and wherein the mount-attaching portion is attached at the mirror mount (see Fig. 5, 18b-c and 15, see Fig. 6, attaching portion of 115 and attaching portion of 114);
wherein the actuator comprises a pair of motors (Figs. 6 and 10, pair of motors 126) operable to rotatably drive respective gears (see Figs. 6 and 10; Actuator 118 may comprise any suitable electrical actuator that is operable to adjust the reflective element about one or more axes, such as an actuator utilizing aspects of the actuators discussed above, actuator 118 includes actuator housing 122, which may be fixedly secured to reflective element 114 and mirror casing 112,, and attachment elements or positioning elements 124a, 124b, which extend from housing 122 and pivotally engage or attach to the rear of the mounting plate 120 (such as at the receiving elements 120d at the rear of mounting plate 120), and which may be longitudinally adjustable to extend/retract to adjust the position or orientation of actuator 118 and reflective element 114 relative to mounting structure 115. In the illustrated embodiment, the reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator. Optionally, the housing may be fixedly mounted to or attached to the mounting plate and/or support structure (such as at a preset or preselected orientation), whereby the reflective element may be adjusted relative to the housing and the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator. [0051], a pair of motors 126 and associated gearing 128 for driving and/or extending and/or retracting the positioning element or elements 124a, 124b relative to housing 122, such as in a manner similar to that known in the art of exterior mirror actuators. Motors 126 and gearing 128 are received within the housing 122 and operate to move the positioning elements 124a, 124b. In the illustrated embodiment (and as best shown in FIGS. 10 and 11), each electrical motor 126 is operable to rotatably drive a worm gear 126a, which in turn rotatably drives a spur gear 128a of gearing 128. Rotation of spur gear 128a imparts a corresponding rotation of another worm gear 128b that rotatably drives another spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b to impart a translational movement, [0052]), and wherein the gears rotate about axes that are orthogonal to one another (see Figs. 10-11, worm gear 126a, spur gear 128a, worm gear 128b, spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. 126a orthogonal to 128a; [0052]),
wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator comprises a housing that houses the gears and the motors (actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a, Housing 18a may include one or more motors and associated gearing, [0035], Fig. 5, see housing 112b in Fig. 10),
wherein the mirror head accommodates a driver-monitoring camera, and wherein the driver-monitoring camera is operable to capture image data (the mounting structure and/or mirror casing may support one or more imaging sensors or cameras and may fixedly support them with the cameras set with a desired or appropriate forward and/or rearward field of view. [0062]),
wherein the driver-monitoring camera moves in tandem with the mirror head when, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle, the mirror head is adjusted relative to the mirror mount to adjust the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle; (mirror casing may support one or more imaging sensors or cameras, and may fixedly support them with the cameras set with a desired or appropriate forward and/or rearward field of view. [0062], reflective element and housing may move together relative to the support structure in response to actuation of the actuator, [0051]),
wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (an interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at an attachment element adhered to an inner surface of the vehicle windshield, [abstract]), and with the mirror head positioned relative to the mirror mount to provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle, (mounted at an attachment element adhered to an inner surface of the vehicle windshield, [abstract], Figs, 3, 6 and 7). In another embodiment, as shown in Fig. 5: DeWard et al teaches a back plate having a front side and a rear side separated by a thickness of the back plate (backing plate 24 having a front side and a rear side separated by a thickness of the back plate, [0030]), wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at the front side of the back plate (see Fig. 5, reflective element 14 and back plate 24; [0030]),
an actuator (Actuator 18, [0035]), wherein the actuator comprises a mirror-attaching portion and a mount-attaching portion, (actuator 18, elements 18b, 18c, which extend from housing and pivotally attach to the rear of the reflective element 14, mirror mounting structure 15, [0026]), and
wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate (see Fig. 5, actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a and attachment elements or positioning elements 18b, 18c, mirror-attaching portion 18b, 18c of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate, [0035], Fig. 5), and
wherein the mount-attaching portion is attached at the mirror mount (mounting structure 15, Fig. 5), wherein the actuator comprises a pair of motors operable to rotatably drive respective gears (actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a, housing 18a may include one or more motors and associated gearing for driving and/or extending and/or retracting the positioning element or elements 18b, 18c, [0035]), and
wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate (see Fig. 5, actuator 18 includes an actuator housing 18a and attachment elements or positioning elements 18b, 18c, mirror-attaching portion 18b, 18c of the actuator is attached at the rear side of the back plate, [0035], Fig. 5), and
wherein the mount-attaching portion is attached at the mirror mount (mounting structure 15, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the rearview mirror assembly of DeWard presented in Figs. 6-8 to include an actuator with a back plate having a front side and a rear side separated by a thickness of the back plate, wherein the mirror reflective element is attached at the front side of the back plate, wherein the actuator comprises a mirror-attaching portion and a mount-attaching portion, and wherein the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator is directly attached at the rear side of the back plate, as taught by DeWard and presented in Fig. 5, and [0034-0037] for the predictable advantage of adding back plate on the mirror for safety and actuating the back plate directly to move the mirror to have a simple, secure mechanism for mirror movement as shown in Fig. 5.
DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach (i) the driver-monitoring camera views the driver of the vehicle and (ii) the driver-monitoring camera captures image data for a driver monitoring system of the vehicle; and wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle, and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera, the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver- monitoring camera.
DeWard and Watson both teach rearview mirror assembly of vehicles.
Watson teaches (i) the driver-monitoring camera views the driver of the vehicle (a system for monitoring a vehicle driver is provided. The system is configured to receive and improve the quality of image data used to determine the condition of a vehicle driver, [0004]; the camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; controller 300 is used in a system for monitoring a vehicle driver, [0023]) and (ii) the driver-monitoring camera captures image data for a driver monitoring system of the vehicle (system is configured to receive the image data … camera positioned to detect image data of the vehicle driver, [0004]; camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; face and eye tracking performed by the camera 302, [0025]); and wherein, with the driver-monitoring camera mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (see camera 30 and/or 32 in Fig. 1A), and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera, (camera 30 and/or 32 provide the system controller 40 with signals containing consecutive frames of image data. This image data can then be analyzed by system controller 40 to obtain biological parameters, such as a heart rate or a respiration rate, derived from sensed biological measures of the driver 12, [0017]; computer for processing steps [0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the rearview mirror assembly of DeWard to include (i) the driver-monitoring camera 16views the driver of the vehicle and (ii) the driver-monitoring camera captures image data for a driver monitoring system of the vehicle; and wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle, and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera, as taught by Watson for the predictable advantage of designing a camera-based system located in a vehicle, along with other vehicle systems, to obtain the accurate biological measures needed to monitor the driver's performance and the condition based on the received image data using optical techniques, [0003-0004].
The modified DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver-monitoring camera.
DeWard and Pertsel both teach rearview assembly of vehicles.
Pertsel (US 9598015) teaches the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver- monitoring camera, (Pertsel teaches an automated vehicle mirror assembly using an in-car camera system to locate a driver's facial/eye positioning and adjusts the mirror head via an actuator. See the citations below: an automatic mirror adjustment using an in-car camera system, processor may be configured to generate a control signal in response to a determined field of view of the driver. The control signal may be used to adjust one or more mirrors of the vehicle. The field of view may be determined based on (i) the video signal and (ii) the status information [abstract and field of invention]; The invention provides automatic mirror adjustment that may (i) determine a field of view of a driver, (ii) adjust vehicle mirrors based on characteristics of each driver... (iv) estimate a location of eyes of a driver... [and] activate an actuator to adjust the mirror head/reflective element, [summary of invention]; Correct alignment of the rear or side view mirrors based on a seating position, height, and distance from the mirrors of the driver, [C-1, L-19-21]; The camera system 100 may send the signal control to each of the mirrors 154a-154c to adjust the positioning and/or orientation. (C-3, L-65-67]; camera system may be implemented to calculate positioning/orientation of the mirrors for the vehicle. The calculated positioning/orientation of the mirrors may be based on the FOVs of the driver of the vehicle, [C-4, L-1-6]; The camera system may interface with other systems of the automobile to align each of the mirrors … positioning of the mirrors may be calculated based on characteristics of the driver height, preferences, etc.[C-4, L-15-24]; The capture device 102 may capture video image data, e.g., from the lens 112 .[C-4, L-50]; capture device may receive light from the lens. The lens may be directed at the driver, [C-4, L-57-60]; The processor may generate the signal CONTROL in response to the determined FOVs .., the signal CONTROL may be used by the mirrors to adjust the orientation of the mirrors, [C-6, L-39-60]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified rearview mirror assembly of DeWard to actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle within a field of view of the driver-monitoring camera, as taught by Pertsel for the predictable advantage of designing a camera-based system to automatic mirror adjustment using an in-car camera system and continually evaluate mirror alignment, as Pertsel teaches in field and summary of invention.
Modified DeWard doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the actuator comprises a pair of arcuate gear elements, and wherein each of the arcuate gear elements protrudes through a respective aperture through the housing of the actuator to attach at the mount-attaching portion; wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective arcuate gear elements along respective arcuate paths relative to the mirror- attaching portion to impart pivotal movement of the mirror-attaching portion of the actuator relative to the mount-attaching portion and the mirror mount;
DeWard and Foote are related because both teach vehicular rearview mirror.
Foote teaches wherein the gear elements comprise respective arcuate gear elements, and wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective arcuate gear elements along respective arcuate paths relative to the mirror-attaching portion, and wherein the arcuate gear elements protrude through respective apertures through a housing of the actuator to attach at the mount-attaching portion (Gear element 128b engages the toothed portion 121c of arcuate element 121b, whereby rotation of the output shaft and worm gear 126b of motor 126a imparts a rotation of gear element 128a to drive arcuate element 121b in one direction, [0029]; The arcuate tilting element 121b of base portion or element 121 is engaged by the tilting gear mechanism of tilting actuator assembly 122, of which gear element 128b engages the gear profile or teeth 121c established at and along the arcuate projection, [0029-0031] [Fig. 7]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the modified device of DeWard wherein the gears, when rotatably driven by the respective motors, move the respective arcuate gear elements along respective arcuate paths relative to the mirror-attaching portion, and wherein the arcuate gear elements protrude through respective apertures through a housing of the actuator to attach at the mount-attaching portion, as taught by Foote for the predictable advantage of its known benefit of transmitting rotational power between intersecting or non-parallel shafts, for smoother operation, higher load capacities, and greater tolerance for misalignments than traditional straight-cut gears.
Regarding claim 22, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 21 (see above), wherein, with the mirror reflective element positioned to provide the rearward view for the driver of the vehicle (the reflective element may be adjusted to adapt the rearward field of view for the particular driver of the vehicle., [0036]). Watson teaches a target position of the face of the driver of the vehicle within the field of view of the driver- monitoring camera is determined via processing of image data captured by the driver- monitoring camera to determine the position of the face of the driver of the vehicle within the field of view of the driver-monitoring camera (the camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; controller 300 is used in a system for monitoring a vehicle driver, [0023]; system is configured to receive the image data … camera positioned to detect image data of the vehicle driver, [0004]; camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; face and eye tracking performed by the camera 302, [0025], camera 30 and/or 32 provide the system controller 40 with signals containing consecutive frames of image data. This image data can then be analyzed by system controller 40 to obtain biological parameters, such as a heart rate or a respiration rate, derived from sensed biological measures of the driver 12, [0017]; computer for processing steps [0045]).
Regarding claim 23, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 22 (see above), wherein the determined target position is stored into memory, (A driver or user of the vehicle may set one or more memory positions for the reflective element to provide the particular driver with the preferred or appropriate rearward field of view, [0009], .. memory positions may be stored at the control or may be accessible by the control [0038]).
Regarding claim 24, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 22 (see above), wherein, with the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly mounted at the interior portion of the vehicle (see the title of the invention and Fig. 3), and at least in part responsive to processing of image data captured by the driver-monitoring camera (The image processor for processing the images captured by the imaging device or devices, [0064]). Watson teaches the actuator adjusts the mirror head relative to the mirror mount to position the face of the driver of the vehicle at the determined target position within the field of view of the driver-monitoring camera (the camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; controller 300 is used in a system for monitoring a vehicle driver, [0023]; system is configured to receive the image data … camera positioned to detect image data of the vehicle driver, [0004]; camera 30 and/or 32 has a clear view of the driver 12's face and/or body so that the camera 30 and/or 32 is capable of detecting image data of the vehicle driver, [0017]; face and eye tracking performed by the camera 302, [0025], camera 30 and/or 32 provide the system controller 40 with signals containing consecutive frames of image data. This image data can then be analyzed by system controller 40 to obtain biological parameters, such as a heart rate or a respiration rate, derived from sensed biological measures of the driver 12, [0017]; computer for processing steps [0045]).
Regarding claim 25, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 21 (see above), wherein the actuator comprises a memory element that tracks location of respective gear elements relative to the mirror-attaching portion to provide a memory position function of the mirror head (A driver or user of the vehicle may set one or more memory positions for the reflective element to provide the particular driver with the preferred or appropriate rearward field of view. The control and actuator may selectively move or adjust the reflective element to an appropriate memory position in response to other subsequent ignitions of the vehicle, [0009]; the driver or user of the vehicle may set one or more memory positions for the reflective element to provide the particular driver with the preferred or appropriate rearward field of view. Such memory positions may be stored at the control or may be accessible by the control so that the control may actuate the actuator to set the reflective element at the appropriate orientation when a driver elects a particular memory position, [0038]).
Regarding claim 26, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 25, (see above), wherein the gears of the actuator comprise respective clutch subassemblies and at least a portion of each respective clutch subassembly rotates responsive to movement of the respective gear element relative to the mirror-attaching portion (Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b to impart a translational movement of the positioning elements in either direction, [0052]; The clutch device 130 of actuator 118 allows for relative rotation between the first and second spur gears 130a, 130b to allow for manual movement of the mirror casing and reflective element without affecting or rotating the gears and motors of the actuator. The clutch device also functions to limit or reduce or substantially precludes undesirable clunking sounds, [0053]).
Regarding claim 27, the modified DeWard teaches the vehicular interior rearview mirror assembly according to claim 21, (see above), wherein the gears rotate about axes that are parallel to the rear side of the back plate (Fig. 6 shows positioning element or elements 124a, 124b, mirror back plate, Motors 126 and gearing 128 with gears. Fig. 10 shows motor 126 is operable to rotatably drive a worm gear 126a, which in turn rotatably drives a spur gear 128a of gear 128. Rotation of spur gear 128a imparts a corresponding rotation of another worm gear 128b that rotatably drives another spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d. Rotation of spur gear 128c and worm gear 128d further rotatably drives a first spur gear 130a of a clutch device or mechanism 130, which has a second spur gear 130b that engages teeth along the respective positioning elements 124a, 124b, [0052]. Fig. 6 in view of Figs. 10-11 show some gears rotate about axes that are parallel to the rear side of the back plate).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boddy et al. (US 5477390, of record), Esser. (US 20210213880), Kuester et al. (US 20160250972, of record) and Zhou et al. (US 20150294169) disclose RVM include a casing member, motor, actuator, mirror head and rotational driving of the gears.
While the prior art of record discloses a pair of motors, their orientation differs from that shown in the instant application. Furthermore, the structural details of the memory pod explained in the specification differentiate the claimed invention from the prior art
/R.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872