DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations “each inner vane has a flared shape centered on the central axis, diverging from the outer face towards the inner side” as recited in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the reference character “40B” has been used to designate a distinct structure compared to “40A”, “40C”, “40D”, “40E”, and “40F” in Fig. 1.
4. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(q) because the following reference characters are not properly underlined.
· “-35-“ should be amended to read “35” in Fig. 1.
· “-V2-“ should be amended to read “V2” in Fig. 2.
· “-32-“ should be amended to read “32” in Fig. 3.
· “-34-“ should be amended to read “34” in Fig. 3.
Specification
5. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· “the other openings 37 and 38..” should be amended to read “the other openings 37 and 38.” in para [0052], line 2.
· “the inner side 33” should be amended to read “the inner side 31” in para [0064], line 4.
· “wheel cap A” should be amended to read “wheel cap 3” in para [0074], line 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
6. The claim 11 is objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
· “a forward rotation direction R” should be amended to read “a forward rotation direction (R)” in line 3.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
· The limitation “each inner vane has a flared shape centered on the central axis, diverging from the outer face towards the inner side” as recited in claim 2 is not described by the specification nor shown in the drawings.
10. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
· Claim 2 recites the limitation "the peripheral part" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, the limitation “each inner vane has a flared shape centered on the central axis, diverging from the outer surface towards the inner side” is unclear what structural characteristics define the recited “flared shape” and what structure is intended to be “diverging” from the outer face towards the inner side. Further, no objective reference point is provided for determining the degree or extent of the alleged divergence. Applicant may amend the claim to recite an objective structural relationship, such as an angle relative to the central axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claims 1, 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Palpacuer et al (FR3011769A1; hereinafter “Palpacuer”).
Regarding claim 1, Palpacuer discloses a wheel cap 20, comprising: an inner side (Refer to the inner side in the below annotated Fig. 2), for attaching the wheel cap 20 to a wheel rim 11 of a wheel 10; a peripheral edge 22 (Refer to the peripheral edge in the below annotated Fig. 1), coaxial with a central axis (Refer to the central axis in the below annotated Fig. 1) of the wheel cap 20; an outer face (Refer to the outer face in the below annotated Fig. 1), opposite to the inner side, wherein the outer face is delineated by the peripheral edge and comprises a peripheral portion and a central portion (Refer to the peripheral and central portion in the below annotated Fig. 1), centered on the central axis; and openings, connecting the peripheral portion to the inner side (Refer to the opening in the below annotated Fig. 1); wherein the outer face is concave (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 1; “The hubcap blades can advantageously be inclined at an angle between 3° and 13° relative to the general plane of the hubcap” per para [0015]; This demonstrates that the peripheral portion is recessed inwardly relative to the peripheral edge and that the central portion recessed inwardly relative to the peripheral portion, as the blades are inclined from the central portion toward the peripheral edge), so that: the central portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral portion along the central axis; and the peripheral portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral edge along the central axis.
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Palpacuer
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Palpacuer
Regarding claim 9, Palpacuer discloses the wheel cap 20 further comprises inner blades 25 arranged at the inner side and protruding inwardly (Fig. 2; The blades 25 are protruding inwardly along the central axis).
Regarding claim 10, Palpacuer discloses the inner side comprises a peripheral inner face (Refer to the peripheral inner face in the below annotated Fig. 2), centered on the central axis, delineated peripherally by the peripheral edge and centrally by the openings; and the inner blades protrude inwardly from the peripheral inner face (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 2).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Palpacuer
Regarding claim 11, Palpacuer discloses each inner blade 25 is oriented radially relative to the central axis (Figs. 1 and 2), and extends from the peripheral edge towards the central axis (Figs. 1 and 2) and wherein each inner blade 25 comprises an intrados oriented in a forward rotation direction R of the wheel cap, and an extrados oriented opposite (Refer to the intrados and extrados in the below annotated Fig. 1), wherein each inner blade 25 is curved (Para [0015]) so that the intrados is concave and the extrados is convex (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 1).
Examiner’s annotated Fig.1 of Palpacuer
14. Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fattouche (US11254160B2).
Regarding claim 1, Fattouche discloses a wheel cap 100 (Fig. 3; Col. 8, lines 39-62), comprising: an inner side (Refer to the inner side in the below annotated Fig. 4a), for attaching the wheel cap 100 to a wheel rim of a wheel (Figs. 1A and 1B; Col. 8, lines 59-62); a peripheral edge (Refer to the peripheral edge in the below annotated Fig. 4A), coaxial with a central axis (Refer to the central axis in the below annotated Fig. 8A; Col. 14, lines 6-18) of the wheel cap; an outer face (Refer to the outer face in the below annotated Fig. 8A), opposite to the inner side, wherein the outer face is delineated by the peripheral edge (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 8A) and comprises a peripheral portion and a central portion (Refer to the peripheral portion and central portion in the below annotated Fig. 8A), centered on the central axis; and openings (Refer to the opening in the below annotated Fig. 8A), connecting the peripheral portion to the inner side (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 4A and 8A); wherein the outer face is concave, so that: the central portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral portion along the central axis (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 8A; Col. 8, lines 50-54); and the peripheral portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral edge along the central axis (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 8A).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4A of Fattouche
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 8A of Fattouche
Regarding claim 9, Fattouche discloses the wheel cap 100 further comprises inner blades (Refer to the inner blade in the below annotated Fig. 4A) arranged at the inner side and protruding inwardly (Fig. 4A; The blades 55 are protruding inwardly along the central axis).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4A of Fattouche
15. Claims 1 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Reynolds et al (GB2109317A; hereinafter “Reynolds”).
Regarding claim 1, Reynolds discloses a wheel cap 3, comprising: an inner side (Refer to the inner side in the below annotated Fig. 2), for attaching the wheel cap 3 to a wheel rim (Refer to the rim in the below annotated Fig. 2) of a wheel 2; a peripheral edge (Refer to the peripheral edge in the below annotated Fig. 2), coaxial with a central axis (Refer to the central axis in the below annotated Fig. 2) of the wheel cap; an outer face (Refer to the outer face in the below annotated Fig. 2), opposite to the inner side, wherein the outer face is delineated by the peripheral edge (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 2) and comprises a peripheral portion and a central portion (Refer to the peripheral portion and central portion in the below annotated Fig. 2), centered on the central axis; and openings, connecting the peripheral portion to the inner side (Fig. 1; Refer to the opening in the below annotated Fig. 2); wherein the outer face is concave (Fig. 2), so that: the central portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral portion along the central axis (Refer to the central portion and peripheral portion in the below annotated Fig. 2); and the peripheral portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral edge along the central axis (Refer to the peripheral portion and peripheral edge in the below annotated Fig. 2).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Reynolds
Regarding claim 12, Reynolds discloses the outer face has a parabolic shape centered on the central axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Reynolds discloses a wheel 2, comprising: the wheel cap 3 of claim 1; and a wheel rim (Refer to the rim in the below annotated Fig. 2), comprising a central outer boss (Refer to the central outer boss in the below annotated Fig. 2), wherein the wheel cap 3 is attached to the wheel rim by means of the inner side of the wheel cap 3 being attached to the central outer boss of the wheel rim (Page 2, Col. 2, lines 10-21; Refer to the below annotated Fig. 2).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Reynolds
Regarding claim 14, Reynolds discloses the wheel rim comprises an outer peripheral rim (Examiner interprets the claimed “outer peripheral rim” as a peripheral annular portion of the wheel and not necessarily as the axially outermost portion thereof) centered on the central axis, wherein an annular gap (Refer to the annular gap in the below annotated Fig. 2) is defined between the peripheral edge and the outer peripheral rim.
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Reynolds
Regarding claim 15, Reynolds discloses a truck, comprising the wheel of claim 13 (Abstract; Page 1, lines 5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
19. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hel (FR2548968A1) in view of Palpacuer (FR3003200A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hel discloses a wheel cap 1 (Fig. 1), comprising: an inner side (Refer to the inner side in the below annotated Fig. 2), for attaching the wheel cap 1 to a wheel rim 4 of a wheel; a peripheral edge (Refer to the peripheral edge in the below annotated Fig. 1), coaxial with a central axis (Refer to the central axis in the below annotated Fig. 2) of the wheel cap 1; an outer face (Refer to the outer face in the below annotated Fig. 2), opposite to the inner side, wherein the outer face is delineated by the peripheral edge and comprises a peripheral portion (Refer to the peripheral portion in the below annotated Fig. 2) and a central portion (Refer to the central portion in the below annotated Fig. 2), centered on the central axis; and openings (7 and 8 “openings”; Para [0003]; Refer to the openings in the below annotated Fig. 2; Fig. 4), connecting the peripheral portion to the inner side (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 2),
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Hel
but fails to disclose the outer face is concave, so that: the central portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral portion along the central axis; and the peripheral portion is recessed inwards relative to the peripheral edge along the central axis.
Palpacuer, however, teaches a profile of an outer face of a wheel cap 2 is concave (Para [0005]; Fig. 1; Refer to the below annotated Fig. 1).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Palpacuer
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the wheel cap of Hel by substituting its convex outer face for the concave outer face, as taught by Palpacuer, such wheel cover profile is well known in the art for providing a suitable wheel cover configuration while maintaining desirable airflow characteristics and cooling performance of the wheel assembly.
Hel further fails to disclose the openings include central openings having a diffuser shape which opens towards the inner side of the wheel cap and diverges from the outer face to the inner side as recited in claim 8.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the wheel cap of Hel by substituting its converging opening profile for the diffuser-shaped opening profile as a matter of routine optimization of airflow characteristics with the motivation to promote a wider distribution of airflow through the wheel cap openings and thereby improve cooling of the wheel assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Hel further discloses at least one of the openings is an arcuate opening, which has an arcuate shape centered on the central axis (7 and 8 “openings”; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Hel further discloses the arcuate opening comprises: a first orthoradial end; a second orthoradial end; a peripheral side, connecting the first orthoradial end to the second orthoradial end, wherein the peripheral side has an arcuate shape centered on the central axis; and a central side, connecting the first orthoradial end to the second orthoradial end; wherein the central side has an arcuate shape centered on the central axis (Refer to the peripheral side, central side, first orthoradial end, and second orthoradial end in the below annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4 of Hel
Regarding claim 6, Hel further discloses at least one of the openings is a first peripheral opening and at least one of the openings is a second peripheral opening (Refer to the first and second peripheral openings in the below annotated Fig. 4), the first peripheral opening being positioned between the peripheral edge (Refer to the peripheral edge in the below annotated Fig. 4) and the second peripheral opening, so that the first peripheral opening and the second peripheral opening are radially successive relative to the central axis, wherein the second peripheral opening is recessed inwards relative to the first peripheral opening (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4 of Hel
Regarding claim 12, Hel further discloses the outer face has a parabolic shape centered on the central axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Hel further discloses a wheel (Fig. 2), comprising: the wheel cap 1 of claim 1; and a wheel rim 4, comprising a central outer boss (Refer to the central outer boss in the below annotated Fig. 2), wherein the wheel cap 1 is attached to the wheel rim 4 by means (6 “fixing element”; Fig. 2; “the central disc has in its centre a circular cutout allowing the passage of a fixing element 6 to the centre of the wheel by clipping, claw or staple” per Para [0005] of the inner side (Refer to the inner side in the below annotated Fig. 2) of the wheel cap 1 being attached to the central outer boss of the wheel rim 4 (Although the below annotated Fig. 2 does not explicitly identify a central outer boss of the wheel rim, the fixing element is shown as being secured to the wheel rim. As such, the fixing element necessarily interfaces with and is supported by a central outer boss portion of the wheel rim. Accordingly, the central outer boss is inherently disclosed).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Hel
Regarding claim 14, Hel discloses the wheel rim 4 comprises an outer peripheral rim (Refer to the outer peripheral rim in the below annotated Fig. 2) centered on the central axis, wherein an annular gap is defined between the peripheral edge and the outer peripheral rim (Refer to the annular gap in the below annotated Fig. 2).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Hel
Regarding claim 15, Hel discloses a truck, comprising the wheel of claim 13 (The recitation of a truck merely identifies an intended use of the claimed wheel and does not further limit the structure of the wheel. Hel discloses the wheel that is capable of use in a truck. Accordingly, the limitation is met).
Allowable Subject Matter
20. Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
21. Claims 3 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
22. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose wheel covers configured to direct airflow for cooling brake components.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615