Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status Rejections
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(b) because they are incomplete. 37 CFR 1.83(b) reads as follows:
When the invention consists of an improvement on an old machine the drawing must when possible exhibit, in one or more views, the improved portion itself, disconnected from the old structure, and also in another view, so much only of the old structure as will suffice to show the connection of the invention therewith.
Figures 2-11 it is not clear how the carrier storage device move into the first rotating carriage and second rotating carriage. The port entrance regions 1 and 2 describe how it could receive the carrier but not how the rotating carriages would work with the coupling arms and motors not being clearly shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 4, 6-7, 9-13, 16-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochanneck (US 4232988) in view Doherty et al. (US 9881823).
Regarding claim 1:
Kochanneck discloses a carrier storage device, comprising:
a plurality of first ports (1a’) disposed in a first region having a ring shape, wherein each of the plurality of first ports is configured to accommodate a corresponding carrier therein (FIG. 1);
a first rotating carriage (1a) coupled to each of the plurality of first ports and configured to rotatably move the plurality of first ports;
a plurality of second ports (1b’) disposed in a second region having a ring shape that is located in the vertical plane, the second region being disposed in a space formed by the ring shape of the first region, wherein each of the plurality of second ports is configured to accommodate a corresponding carrier (FIG. 1);
and a second rotating carriage (1b) coupled to each of the plurality of second ports and configured to rotatably move the plurality of second ports, wherein a first opening (2a) is provided between two adjacent first ports of the plurality of first ports, wherein the opening is configured to receive a transport container.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose a ring shape that is located in a vertical plane (202).
On the other hand, Doherty et al. teach a ring shape that is located in a vertical plane.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to arrange the horizontal orientation of the carousels into a vertical plane. Doherty demonstrates that horizontal and vertical orientations were known alternatives for these mechanisms. Doing so would be a predictable variation to accommodate the spatial requirements of the system and that the mechanism would continue to perform its intended function. Kochanneck also doesn’t specify why the system needs to be in a horizontal orientation only.
Regarding claim 2:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the carrier storage device wherein the transport container is configured to unload the carrier from a port from among the plurality of first ports and the plurality of second ports, or to load the carrier into the port.
On the other hand, Doherty et al. teach the carrier storage device wherein the transport container (110) is configured to unload the carrier from a port from among the plurality of first ports and the plurality of second ports, or to load the carrier into the port (111).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the transport container. Doing so would enable contained transportation of articles.
Regarding claim 4:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage device wherein the first rotating carriage includes a belt that is configured to be rotatably moved, and a coupling arm that couples the belt to each of the plurality of first ports.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the first rotating carriage. Doing so would enable the articles to be rotated effectively along the outer ring.
Regarding claim 6:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage device wherein a width of the opening (14) is equal to or greater than a width of the transport container.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to have the width of the opening. Doing so would enable the article to be entered into the rings of the storage system.
Regarding claim 7:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck further disclose the carrier storage device wherein the first rotating carriage is configured to be driven by a first motor (6, 1a), the second rotating carriage is configured to be driven by a second motor (6, 1b), and the first motor and the second motor are driven independently from each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the motors. Doing so would enable the articles to be rotated on the first and second rings independently.
Regarding claim 9:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage device wherein a second opening is provided between two adjacent second ports of the plurality of second ports (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the second opening. Doing so would enable access to the second ring of the carrier storage device.
Regarding claim 10:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 9.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage device further comprising one or more third ports (1c’) disposed in a central portion of the ring shape of the second region.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include one or more third ports. Doing so would enable more articles being carried in the carrier storage device.
Regarding claim 11:
Kochanneck disclose a carrier storage system, comprising:
a plurality of first ports disposed in a first region having a ring shape in a vertical plane, wherein each of the plurality of first ports is configured to accommodate a corresponding carrier therein;
a first rotating carriage coupled to each of the plurality of first ports and configured to rotatably move the plurality of first ports;
a plurality of second ports disposed in a second region having a ring shape, the second region being disposed in a central portion of the ring shape of the first region, wherein each of the plurality of second ports is configured to accommodate a corresponding carrier;
and a second rotating carriage coupled to each of the plurality of second ports and configured to rotatably move the plurality of second ports, wherein an opening is provided between two adjacent first ports of the plurality of first ports, wherein the opening is configured to receive the first transport container.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the carrier storage system comprising:
a first transport rail extending in a horizontal direction;
a first transport container configured to move along the first transport rail and to transport a carrier;
a plurality of first ports disposed in a first region having a ring shape in a vertical plane.
On the other hand, Doherty et al. teach the carrier storage system comprising:
a first transport rail (208) extending in a horizontal direction;
a first transport container (205) configured to move along the first transport rail and to transport a carrier;
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the carrier storage system. Doing so would enable the transport container to be transported overhead between different locations.
Regarding claim 12:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 11.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage system wherein the first transport container is configured to move in the vertical direction (12), and to unload the carrier from a port from among the plurality of first ports and the plurality of second ports, or to load the carrier into the port.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include first transport container is configured to move in the vertical direction. Doing so would enable articles positioned vertically in the carrier storage system.
Regarding claim 13:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 11.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage system wherein the first transport container is configured to pass through the opening (14), and to unload the carrier from second port of the plurality of second ports or to load the carrier into the second port.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the first transport container is configured to pass through the opening. Doing so would enable the carrier to be transported into the a port among the plurality of the first and second ports.
Regarding claim 16:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 11.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage device wherein a second opening is provided between two other adjacent first ports of the plurality of first ports (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the second opening. Doing so would enable access of an article being moved between rings.
Regarding claim 17:
Kochanneck discloses a method for transporting a carrier, comprising:
identifying whether a target port is a first port disposed in a first region of the carrier storage device or a second port disposed in a second region of the carrier storage device (7), and the second region is a ring-shaped region disposed in a central portion of the ring shape of the first region;
based on the identifying, determining a rotation amount of a first rotating carriage coupled to the first port and a second rotating carriage coupled to the second port (7a);
based on the determining, aligning the target port with the transport container by rotating at least one of the first rotating carriage and the second rotating carriage (7b);
and by the transport container, unloading a carrier disposed on the target port or loading the carrier onto the target port.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the limitations in the method including for transporting a carrier, comprising:
moving a transport container to a position above a carrier storage device;
identifying whether a target port is a first port disposed in a first region of the carrier storage device or a second port disposed in a second region of the carrier storage device, wherein the first region is a ring-shaped region in a vertical plane.
On the other hand, Doherty et al. teach the limitations for the method for transporting a carrier, comprising:
moving a transport container to a position above a carrier storage device (204);
identifying whether a target port is a first port disposed in a first region of the carrier storage device or a second port disposed in a second region of the carrier storage device, wherein the first region is a ring-shaped region in a vertical plane (202).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the method with these limitations. Doing so would enable the transport container to identify the correct port to be targeted.
Regarding claim 18:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 17.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage system wherein the aligning includes, based on the target port being the first port, rotating the first rotating carriage to align the target port with the transport container (page 4, lines 18-26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the aligning for the carrier storage system. Doing so would enable the carrier storage system to match up the articles properly to intended location.
Regarding claim 19:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 17.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage system wherein the aligning the target port includes, based on the target port being the second port: rotating the first rotating carriage to align an opening provided in the first region with the transport container; and rotating the second rotating carriage to align the target port with the opening (page 4, lines 18-34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include the aligning for the carrier storage system for the second port. Doing so would enable the carrier storage system to match up the carrier to opening to the second port.
Regarding claim 20:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 17.
Kochanneck further discloses the carrier storage system wherein the first rotating carriage and the second rotating carriage are driven independently from each other (page 3, lines 54-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. to include carriages operating independently. Doing so would enable ports to hold different articles and be accessed as needed.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochanneck (US 4232988) in view Doherty et al. (US 9881823) and Sai et al. (US 20190375593).
Regarding claim 3:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the carrier storage device wherein each of the plurality of first ports includes a bottom on which the corresponding carrier is seated, a side surface connected to the bottom and surrounding the corresponding carrier, and an opening opposite to the bottom.
On the other hand, Sai et al. teach the carrier storage (90) device wherein each of the plurality of first ports includes a bottom on which the corresponding carrier is seated (50), a side surface connected to the bottom and surrounding the corresponding carrier, and an opening opposite to the bottom ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. and Sai et al. to include carrier storage device with these limitations. Doing so would enable the carrier from having appropriate structure to be able to transported effectively.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochanneck (US 4232988) in view Doherty et al. (US 9881823) and Siegler (DE 3825401).
Regarding claim 5:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 4.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the carrier storage device wherein the coupling arm includes a first arm and a second arm, one end of the first arm and one end of the second arm are coupled to the same position in a first port from among the plurality of first ports, and the other end of the first arm and the other end of the second arm are respectively coupled to different positions on the belt.
On the other hand, Siegler teaches the carrier storage device wherein the coupling arm includes a first arm and a second arm, one end of the first arm (14) and one end of the second arm (5) are coupled to the same position in a first port from among the plurality of first ports, and the other end of the first arm and the other end of the second arm are respectively coupled to different positions on the belt (11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. and Siegler et al. to include the coupling arm. Doing so would enable ports to be coupled together along the belt for easier rotation.
Regarding claim 15:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 11.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the carrier storage system wherein the first rotating carriage includes a first belt that is configured to rotatably move, and a first coupling arm coupling the first belt to each of the plurality of first ports, and the second rotating carriage includes a second belt that is configured to rotatably move, and a second coupling arm coupling the second belt to each of the plurality of second ports.
On the other hand, Siegler teaches the carrier storage system wherein the first rotating carriage includes a first belt that is configured to rotatably move, and a first coupling arm (14) coupling the first belt (11) to each of the plurality of first ports, and the second rotating carriage includes a second belt that is configured to rotatably move, and a second coupling arm coupling the second belt to each of the plurality of second ports (MPEP 2144.04 VI.B – duplication of parts).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. and Siegler et al. to include the coupling arms in the two rotating carriages. Doing so would enable ports to be coupled together along the belt for easier rotation across the first and second rings.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochanneck (US 4232988) in view Doherty et al. (US 9881823) and Kawai et al. (US 20200168495).
Regarding claim 8:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage device of claim 1.
Kochanneck doesn’t disclose the carrier storage device further comprising a sealing member surrounding the first rotating carriage and the second rotating carriage.
On the other hand, Kawai et al. teach the carrier storage device further comprising a sealing (3) member surrounding the first rotating carriage (0013) and the second rotating carriage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. and Siegler et al. to include the sealing member. Doing so would enable articles being contained from contamination in the carrier storage device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kochanneck (US 4232988) in view Doherty et al. (US 9881823) and Lin et al. (US 20210391201).
Regarding claim 14:
Kochanneck and Doherty et al. disclose the carrier storage system of claim 11.
Kochanneck don’t disclose the carrier storage system further comprising: a second transport rail disposed on one side of the first transport rail; and a second transport container configured to move along the second transport rail and to transport the carrier.
On the other hand, Doherty et al. teach the carrier storage system further comprising: a second transport rail disposed on one side of the first transport rail (0201); and a second transport container configured to move along the second transport rail and to transport the carrier (0202).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kochanneck in view of Doherty et al. and Kawai et al. to include the carrier storage system have first and second transport rails. Doing so would enable move containers to be transported effectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Yamamoto (US 7731470) and Moran (WO 2005004209) disclose other configurations
for the carrier storage system.
/ELIA AHADI/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652