DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7 – 9, 12, 14, 15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin (US 11,802,574).
With respect to claims 1, 8 and 15, Shin teaches a jacket (Fig.2, Item 100) for use with a compressor (Figs.2 and 3, Item 1) of a heat transfer system (Col.1, Lines 13 – 16), the compressor being configured to operate and emit sound over a frequency band during operation, the jacket comprising an inner wall (Fig.7) configured to surround the compressor, the inner wall comprising a first material (Fig.7, Item 1001) and having a plurality of openings (Fig.7, Items 1001h) configured to attenuate a first volume of a first frequency within the frequency band of the sound (Col.11, Lines 6 – 29); a middle layer (Fig.7, Item 1002) surrounding the inner wall, the middle layer comprising a second material configured to attenuate a second volume of a second frequency within the frequency band of the sound (Col.11, Lines 43 – 54); and an outer layer (Fig.7, Item 1003) surrounding the middle layer.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the Examiner has given little patentable weight to the way in which the compressor is going to be used because it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d - 164 7 (1987).
With respect to claims 2 and 9, Shin teaches wherein the first material is different from the second material (Col.11, Lines 43 – 54).
With respect to claims 5, 12 and 18, Shin teaches further comprising a bottom (Fig.6, Item 130) having an opening configured to receive the compressor (Fig.6, Item 1) when the jacket is disposed thereon; and a pad (Fig.6, Item 150) disposed on the bottom and configured to fit around the opening.
With respect to claims 7, 14 and 20, Shin teaches wherein the outer layer comprises a third material, and the first material, the second material, and the third material are configured to attenuate a third volume of a second frequency band within the frequency band of the sound (Fig.7, Col.11, Lines 6 – 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US 11,802,574) in view of Negoro et al. (JP 2013053815).
With respect to claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 16 and 17, Shin teaches the limitations already discussed in a previous rejection, but fails to particularly disclose wherein the first material comprises a plastic material comprising thermoplastic polyurethane, polyethylene terephthalate, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, thermoplastic elastomers, and combinations thereof or wherein the second material comprises glass wool fiber.
On the other hand, Negoro teaches a jacket (Fig.1, Item 10) for a compressor (Fig.1, Item 1) comprising a first material (Fig.1, Item 14) comprises a plastic material comprising thermoplastic polyurethane, polyethylene terephthalate, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, thermoplastic elastomers, and combinations thereof (Specification: Description-of-Embodiments ¶ [0008]) and wherein a second material (Fig.1, Item 11) comprises glass wool fiber (Specification: Description-of-Embodiments ¶ [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Negoro et al. materials with the Shin design because the materials structural profile would provide a superior sound absorbing characteristic. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claims 6, 13 and 19, Negoro et al. teach wherein the inner wall (Fig.1, Item 11) surrounds a first volume of space and a second volume of space, the first volume of space is configured so as to accommodate the compressor (Fig.1, Item 1), the second volume of space is configured so as to accommodate an accumulator (Fig.1, Item 2) of the heat transfer system, and the first volume is greater than the second volume (Fig.1).
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
September 12, 2026