DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant is advised to remover “(220)” in line 2 of claim 16.
Appropriate correction is required.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in IN on 03/13/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN 202441018160 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 2, 5, 7 – 11, 14, 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISTALA et al. US 2022/0147672 (hereinafter NISTALA) in view of Sahu et al. US 12,536,202 (hereinafter Sahu).
Regarding claim 1, NISTALA teaches: a method for mitigating data drift in an industrial plant, comprising:
monitoring, by a processor, one or more process parameters associated with an industrial plant ([0034] - - recording operations data, e.g. temperature & etc.);
detecting, by the processor, a drift in the one or more process parameters based on a deviation from one or more predefined process parameters ([0008] - - determine drift of models using key performance parameters related to the industrial manufacturing plant);
determining, by the processor, one or more drift context and one or more process context based on the drift and the one or more process parameters ([0005] - - changes in raw materials is drift context; changes in operating strategy of the plant is process context);
determining, by the processor, a sampling strategy from a plurality of sampling strategies based on the one or more drift context and the one or more process context for sampling the one or more process parameters ([0066] - - data preprocess method is a sampling strategy; [0073], [0074] - - the optimum combination of past and current for each model is identified via an optimization method; the optimization method is a sampling strategy); and
training, by the processor, a second AI model based on the sampling strategy for mitigating data drift ([0071] - - model re-tunning);
wherein the second AI model is configured to control one or more processes in the industrial plant ([0040] - - the prediction from the models aid the operator to control the operation of the plant).
But NISTALA does not explicitly teach:
determining, by the processor, a sampling strategy from a plurality of sampling strategies using a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) model;
However, Sahu teaches:
determining, by the processor, a sampling strategy from a plurality of sampling strategies using a first Artificial Intelligence (AI) model (C14, L44-47 - - select the smart sampling algorithm using machine learning models);
NISTALA and Sahu are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to training AI models.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by NISTALA, and incorporating determining sampling algorithm using an AI model, as taught by Sahu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide efficient algorithmic sampling, as suggested by Sahu (C1, L18-19).
Claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sahu further teaches: the first AI model is trained using one of: a Reinforcement Learning (RL) process, a rule-based system, and a genetic algorithm (C14, L44-47 - - select the smart sampling algorithm using machine learning models; machine learning model is trained using reinforcement learning process).
NISTALA and Sahu are combinable for the same rationale as set forth.
Claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
NISTALA further teaches: comparing, by the processor, a performance metric of the second AI model with a predefined performance metric ([0064] - - MQI of model is a performance metric of second AI model); and
generating, by the processor, at least one new sampling strategy when the performance metric of the second AI model is less than the predefined performance metric ([0064] - - trigger adaptive learning process when MQI is below the predefined MQI threshold; [0066] - - adaptive learning process includes preprocess second set of data, this is a new sampling strategy).
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sahu further teaches: the plurality of sampling strategies include at least one of: a random sampling strategy (C3, L32-35 - - a smart stratified random sampling algorithm), a stratified sampling strategy (C3, L32-35 - - a smart stratified random sampling algorithm), a systematic sampling strategy (C3, L32-35 - - a smart local pivotal method sampling algorithm), a biased representative sampling strategy, and an event-driven sampling strategy.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
NISTALA further teaches: the one or more drift context comprises information related to a type of drift ([0005] - - changes in raw materials is drift context, it is information related to a type of drift).
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
NISTALA further teaches: the one or more process context is/are based on a type of industrial plant and process conditions associated with the industrial plant ([0005] - - changes in operating strategy of the plant is process context; operating strategy is based on type of plant and process conditions).
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Sahu further teaches: to determine the sampling strategy from the plurality of sampling strategies selected from a group consisting of: a random sampling strategy (C3, L32-35 - - a smart stratified random sampling algorithm), a stratified sampling strategy (C3, L32-35 - - a smart stratified random sampling algorithm), a systematic sampling strategy (C3, L32-35 - - a smart local pivotal method sampling algorithm), a biased representative sampling strategy, and an event-driven sampling strategy.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISTALA et al. US 2022/0147672 (hereinafter NISTALA) in view of Sahu et al. US 12,536,202 (hereinafter Sahu) and further in view of PHAM et al. US 2020/0175418 (hereinafter PHAM).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of NISTALA and Sahu teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
NISTALA further teaches:
providing, by the processor, training data comprising a plurality of drift context and a plurality of process context ([0058] - - the second set of data);
configuring, by the processor, to train the second AI model using at least one sampling strategy ([0066], [0067] - - train the machine learning model); and
Sahu further teaches:
configuring, by the processor, the first AI model to train the second AI model using at least one sampling strategy from a plurality of predefined sampling strategies on the training data (C14, L44-47 - - select the smart sampling algorithm using machine learning models);
But the combination of NISTALA and Sahu does not explicitly teach:
selecting, by the processor, an optimal sampling strategy based on a performance metric of the second AI model for each combination of drift context and process context in the training data.
However, PHAM teaches:
selecting, by the processor, an optimal sampling strategy based on a performance metric of the second AI model for each combination of drift context and process context in the training data ([0057], [0032], recommend the highest ranked sampling techniques based on the average performance values; performance value is a measure of efficacy of a model trained with the dataset).
NISTALA, Sahu and PHAM are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to training AI models.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by the combination of NISTALA and Sahu, and incorporating selecting sampling algorithm based on model performance, as taught by PHAM.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve data sampling, as suggested by PHAM ([0002]).
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116