DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 31, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0274680 to Ye et al., hereinafter referred to as Varela, in view of US 2022/0248543 to Bangera et al., hereinafter referred to as Bangera.
In reference to claim 11, Ye as modified by Bangera discloses the claimed invention.
Ye discloses a pump assembly (141/142) insertably/removably connected to a housing (10). Ye fails to disclose the pump assembly comprising: a movable portion that is positioned outside the housing in a state of being inserted into the housing and is displaceable between a first position and a second position; and a restriction portion that restricts movement of the movable portion to the first position when the movable portion is positioned in the second position.
Bangera teaches that in the comparable/analagous art of attaching and removing connecting modules (114) to engage and disengage with a computing resource (100), it is a known technique to include a movable portion (216) that is positioned outside a housing (102) in a state of being inserted (as illustrated in figure 6b) into the housing and is displaceable between a first position (as seen in figure 2 and 3b) and a second position (as seen in figure 1 and 3a); and a restriction portion (240) that restricts movement of the movable portion (216) to the first position when the movable portion is positioned in the second position (as seen in figure 1 and 3A). Bangera teaches that this method allows a user-friendly connecting module which reduces effort and time to be invested by the user to install or remove the connecting module from computing resources [0004]. One skilled in the art would recognize that the connecting lever and actuator of Bangera would be applicable to a wide number of applications where a module includes a body configured to engage and disengage with a computing resource, where a front side of the body is accessible to a user and a rear side is configured to releasably couple with the computing resource [0005]. One skilled in the art would understand that such a locking mechanism could be applied to the pump assembly of Ye in the same way and the results would have been predictable (easy connection/disconnection of the pump assembly to the server). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify Ye by Bangera such that, the pump assembly included a movable portion that is positioned outside the housing in a state of being inserted into the housing and is displaceable between a first position and a second position; and a restriction portion that restricts movement of the movable portion to the first position when the movable portion is positioned in the second position, since the nature of the problem of complicated assembly and disassembly of connecting modules to a server may lead inventors to look at references relating to possible solutions to that problem.
In reference to claim 12, Ye as modified by Bangera discloses the claimed invention.
Bangera teaches the restriction portion (240) includes an operation portion (310) displaceable between a third position (as see in figure 3a) and a fourth position (as seen in figure 3b), and when the operation portion moves from the third position (Fig. 3a) to the fourth position (figure 3b), a state where movement of the movable portion (216) to the first position is restricted is released, see figure 3b. Accordingly, when Ye is modified to include the locking assembly and restriction portion (240) of Bangera as applied in claim 11 supra, the limitations of claim 12 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 13, Ye as modified by Bangera discloses the claimed invention.
Bangera teaches the restriction portion (240) restricts movement of the movable portion (216) to the first position by the operation portion (310) moving from the fourth position (figure 3b) to the third position (figure 3a) along with movement of the movable portion from the first position (figure 3b) to the second position (figure 3a), via element 314. Accordingly, when Ye is modified to include the locking assembly and restriction portion (240) of Bangera as applied in claim 11 supra, the limitations of claim 13 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 14, Ye as modified by Bangera discloses the claimed invention.
Bangera teaches the restriction portion (240) includes an elastic portion (318) to bias the operation portion (310) in a direction from the fourth position (figure 3b) toward the third position (3a). Accordingly, when Ye is modified to include the locking assembly and restriction portion (240) of Bangera as applied in claim 11 supra, the limitations of claim 14 would be met by the combination.
In reference to claim 15, Ye as modified by Bangera discloses the claimed invention.
Ye fails to disclose the housing includes a protrusion portion protruding in a direction intersecting an insertion/removal direction of the pump assembly. However Bangera teaches that in the comparable art of attaching and removing a connecting module (114) to engage and disengage with a computing resource (100), it is a known technique to have the housing (102) include a protrusion portion (402) protruding in a direction (up/down) intersecting an insertion/removal (in/out) direction of the connection assembly; and the movable portion (216) includes an opposing portion (406) positioned on a deeper side in an insertion direction (in/out) of the pump assembly relative to the protrusion portion and opposing the protrusion portion in the insertion/removal direction in a state where the pump assembly is inserted into the housing and the movable portion is positioned in the second position (see figure 5 and [0050]). Bangera teaches that this method allows a user to lock the lever and connecting module into the inserted position. One skilled in the art would recognize that this connecting lever and actuator would be applicable to a wide number of applications where a module includes a body configured to engage and disengage with a computing resource, where a front side of the body is accessible to a user and a rear side is configured to releasably couple with the computing resource [0005]. One skilled in the art would understand that such a locking mechanism could be applied to the pump assembly of Ye in the same way and the results would have been predictable (locking the pump assembly in the engaged position). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, to modify Ye by Bangera such that, the housing includes a protrusion portion protruding in a direction intersecting an insertion/removal direction of the pump assembly; and the movable portion includes an opposing portion positioned on a deeper side in an insertion direction of the pump assembly relative to the protrusion portion and opposing the protrusion portion in the insertion/removal direction in a state where the pump assembly is inserted into the housing and the movable portion is positioned in the second position, since the nature of the problem of securing the pump assembly to the server may lead inventors to look at references relating to possible solutions to that problem.
In reference to claim 16, Ye as modified by Bangera discloses the claimed invention.
Bangera discloses the movable portion (216) is displaceable between the first position (fig. 3b) and the second position (3a) by rotating about a rotation axis (226, see figure 2a) extending along a direction (up/down) intersecting the insertion/removal (in/out) direction; and the opposing portion (406) changes from a state of opposing the protrusion portion in the insertion/removal direction to a state of not opposing the protrusion portion in the insertion/removal direction by the movable portion moving from the second position to the first position in a state where the pump assembly is inserted into the housing. Accordingly, when Ye is modified to include the locking assembly and restriction portion (240) of Bangera as applied in claim 11 supra, the limitations of claim 16 would be met by the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2021/0352830 to Varela showing that locking a pump unit to a server tray is a known problem to be solved in the industry [0117-0118].
/CASSEY D BAUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763