DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a decoder coupled to the memory in claims 1-7, a decoder in claims 17-20.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: computer, a tablet PC, a PDA, a mobile communication device, a web appliance, a set-top box (STB), an embedded system and/or any machine capable of executing a set of instructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 14, 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CA 2729771 A1 WATANABE TAKASHI et al. (hereafter Watanabe), and further in view of US 20080193024 A1 Lee; Suh-Ho et al. (hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses A system (Fig.11) comprising: a memory configured to store image data (P.14th, Lines 14-27); and a decoder coupled to the memory and configured to(Fig.11, P.14th, Lines 14-27): apply a luma deblocking filter to the image data using a first set of filter coefficients (Fig.12, P.22nd line 27-P.23rd line 6, P.14th lines 3-4); and apply a chroma deblocking filter to the image data using a second set of filter coefficients (Fig.12, P.22nd line 27-P.23rd line 6, P.14th lines 6-10).
Watanabe fails to disclose the second set of filter coefficients includes a subset of the first set of filter coefficients.
However, Lee teaches wherein the second set of filter coefficients includes a subset of the first set of filter coefficients (Figs.4, [14], [46], the filtering (e.g. circled point) on luminance components for MB of Fig,4A taking place more than on chrominance components of Fig.4B indicates the number of filtering coefficients for luminance components is more than that of the chrominance components, and both filtering coefficients are sharing at least for some of components, meaning at least part of or subset of filtering coefficients for luminance components are used as filtering coefficients for chrominance components ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to modify the system disclosed by Watanabe to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Lee, in order to provide a deblock filter capable of reducing hardware complexity in a system for processing image signals, as identified by Lee.
Regarding claims 6, 14, Lee teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the decoder is configured to apply the chroma deblocking filter to an edge in the image data between a first inter-predicted block and a second inter-predicted block ([46], [53]).
Regarding claims 7, 15, Lee teaches The system of claim 1, further comprising a display, wherein the decoder is configured to produce filtered image data using the luma deblocking filter and the chroma deblocking filter, and wherein the display is configured to present a video based on the filtered image data ([81], [91]).
Regarding claim 9, see the rejection for claim 1.
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-13, 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Watanabe, in view of Lee, and further in view of US 20100202262 A1 Adams; Dale Richard et al. (hereafter Adams).
Regarding claims 2, 10, Watanabe discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the first set of filter coefficients includes a first coefficient (Fig.10), and Lee teaches wherein the decoder is configured to apply the luma deblocking filter to an edge between a first block and a second block in the image data by ([23]-[24]): Adams teaches subtracting a first luma sample in the first block from a second luma sample in the second block to produce a first luma difference value; and multiplying the first coefficient by the first luma difference value ([35], [289]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill Adams in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to having all the references Watanabe, Lee and Adams before him/her, to modify the system disclosed by Watanabe to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Lee and Adams, in order to provide a deblock filter capable of reducing hardware complexity in a system for processing image signals, as identified by Lee, and systems and methods for block noise detection and filtering, as identified by Adams.
Regarding claims 3, 11, Adams teaches The system of claim 2, wherein the decoder is configured to apply the chroma deblocking filter to the edge by: subtracting a first chroma sample in the first block from a second chroma sample in the second block to produce a first chroma difference value; and multiplying the first coefficient by the first chroma difference value ([290]-[292], [301]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, Adams teaches The system of claim 3, wherein the first set of filter coefficients includes a second coefficient, and wherein the decoder is configured to apply the luma deblocking filter to the edge by: subtracting a third luma sample in the first block from a fourth luma sample in the second block to produce a second luma difference value; and multiplying the second coefficient by the second luma difference value ( [287], [290]-[292]).
Regarding claims 5, 13, Adams teaches The system of claim 4, wherein the decoder is configured to apply the chroma deblocking filter to the edge by: subtracting a third chroma sample in the first block from a fourth chroma sample in the second block to produce a second chroma difference value; and multiplying the second coefficient by the second chroma difference value( [290]-[292], [301]).
Regarding claims 8, 16, Adams teaches The system of claim 7, wherein the display includes a liquid crystal display configured to present the video ([329]).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Watanabe, in view of Lee, and further in view of US 20090002379 A1 Baeza; Juan Carlos et al. (hereafter Baeza).
Regarding claim 17, see the rejection for claim 1. And Baeza teaches a display coupled to the decoder and configured to present a video based on the luma filtered data and the chroma filtered data ([169], [667]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill Adams in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to having all the references Watanabe, Lee and Baeza before him/her, to modify the system disclosed by Watanabe to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Lee and Baeza, in order to provide a deblock filter capable of reducing hardware complexity in a system for processing image signals, as identified by Lee, and systems and to increase decoding speed to facilitate real time decoding, or to reduce computational complexity in scenarios such as those with processing power constraints and/or delay constraints, as identified by Baeza.
Regarding claim 18, see the rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 19, see the rejections for claims 2, 3.
Regarding claim 20, see the rejections for claims 4, 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20110274158 A1, AU 2011239142 B2, JP 2014099672 A.
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487