DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the election filed on 6/4/26.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species 1 (claims 1-4, 9, 12, and 14) in the reply filed on 6/4/26 is acknowledged.
With regards to the Groups election. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “The claims are drawn to closely related aspects of a single inventive concept and share common technical features. For instance, independent claims 1, 9, and 15 all include the features of a "multi-level, bi-directional AC-DC converter comprising first and second switching devices of a corresponding first and second pair of switches, the first and second switching devices coupled to a first inductor, through which inductor current flows", with claims 1 and 9 of Group I and claims 15 and 18 of Group II further including the resonant branch features including a circuit component. Applicant respectfully submits that it would not impose a serious burden on the Examiner to consider the above-identified combination/subcombination in the single application, particularly since the search would necessarily include substantive features common to both groups as reflected, for instance, in FIG. 7A. Accordingly, Applicant believes that the examination of all pending claims would not present a serious search or examination burden. Reconsideration and withdrawal of this Restriction/Election Requirement is respectfully requested.”
This is not found persuasive because the inventions of group I and II are related as combination and subcombination and that the combination does not require a “varying a frequency and imposing a phase shift between pulses configured for driving the first and second switching devices; and based on a phase shift of less than 180°, balancing a voltage of the first capacitor by alternating lead-lag switching between the first and second switching devices after every switching cycle” (in claim 15). This feature is not common to both group I and II. Therefore, it would impose a series search and/or examination burden.
With regards to the Species election. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “It is respectfully submitted that it should be no serious burden on the Examiner to examine all of the claims directed to Species 1-Species 12. Specifically, Species 1- Species 12 recite similar technical features. Species 1 is elected to be examined. The technical field of Species 2-12 has corresponding technical features, which will be encompassed in the search of the elected species. For instance, Species 1 covers claims 1-4, 9, 12, 14, and 17-19. However, support for claims 5-8 and 10 may be found in FIGS. 18A-18B, which like Species 1, also involves a multi-level, bi-directional AC-DC converter with a resonant branch and a circuit component. Claim 11 finds support in FIG. 20, which involves the converter of FIG. 18A. As another example, the Office Action (page 4) includes the redundant states of FIGS. 6A-6B, with redundant state issues reflected in FIG. 10A (supporting claim 13) and FIG. 15B (supporting claim 16). Also, claim 15 finds support in FIG. 25, which as disclosed in paragraph [0095], reflects features common to any search in Species 1 including a "multi-level, bi-directional AC- DC converter comprising first and second switching devices of a corresponding first and second pair of switches, the first and second switching devices coupled to a first inductor, through which inductor current flows", and resonant branch features including a circuit component. Therefore, examination of these Species together in one application would not place a serious burden on the Examiner since the search area of Species 1 covers that of Species 2-12. Reconsideration and withdrawal of this Restriction/Election Requirement are respectfully requested.”
This is not found persuasive because the Species 1 (Fig. 6A-B, 7A-B) and Species 8-12 (Fig. 18A-B, 20, 10A, 15B, and 25) are disclosed with different configurations and methods of operation, even though they are directed to a multi-level, bi-directional AC-DC converter. Therefore, examination of these Species together in on application would place a series burden on the Examiner since the search area of Species 1 does not covers Species 2-12.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 9 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “using integrated triangular plus trapezoidal conduction modulation” should be replaced with “using an integrated triangular plus trapezoidal conduction modulation”.
Claim 14, recites “implementing modulation transition based on trajectory control” should be replaced with “an implementing modulation transition based on a trajectory control”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingyn Huang (99% efficient 2.5-KW Four-Level Flying Capacitor Multilevel GaN Totem-Pole PFC. Cited in the IDS filed on 11/18/24) in view Xin Wu (10 kVac/270 Vdc Medium-Voltage-Connecting Power Supply for Data Centers. Cited in the IDS filed on 11/18/24).
Regarding claim 1: Huang disclsoes a multi-level, bi-directional AC-DC converter (i.e. figure 2), comprising:
a first inductor (i.e. L); and
at least two pairs of switches (i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b) arranged in a branch (i.e. brand of i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b) and coupled to the first inductor (i.e. L), the at least two pairs of switches (i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b) coupled to at least one circuit component (i.e. C1),
but does not specifically disclose a resonant branch comprising a second inductor and a first capacitor, at least two pairs of switches coupled to the first inductor and the resonant branch.
Wu discloses a power converter (i.e. figure: 2b) comprising a resonant branch (i.e. series connected inductor and capacitor that connected between the switches) comprising a second inductor (i.e. inductor) and a first capacitor (i.e. capacitor), the switches brand (i.e. left half switches) coupled to the first inductor (i.e. L for Vin) and the resonant branch (i.e. series connected inductor and capacitor that connected between the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Huang’s invention with the power converter as disclose by Xu to have at least two pairs of switches coupled to the first inductor and the resonant branch, because it reduces power conversion stages and cable cost, and improving system efficiency.
Regarding claim 2: Huang discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose the second inductor and the first capacitor of the resonant branch are arranged in series.
Wu discloses a power converter (i.e. figure: 2b) comprising the second inductor and the first capacitor of the resonant branch are arranged in series (i.e. series connected inductor and capacitor that connected between the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Huang’s invention with the power converter as disclose by Xu, because it reduces power conversion stages and cable cost, and improving system efficiency.
Regarding claim 3: Huang disclsoes (i.e. figure 2) wherein the multi-level, bi-directional AC-DC converter comprises a multi-level, power factor correction (PFC) converter comprising at least one flying capacitor (i.e. flying capacitor C1 in circuit configuration of figure 2), wherein the at least one circuit component comprises a second capacitor (i.e. capacitor C1) arranged with the at least two pairs of switches (i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b) as a flying capacitor arrangement (i.e. arrangement of C1), and the at least two pairs of switches (i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b) comprises an inner complimentary pair and an outer complimentary pair (i.e. pair of i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b).
Regarding claim 4: Huang disclsoes (i.e. figure 2) wherein the multi-level converter is configured as an N-level, flying capacitor, multi-level converter, wherein N is greater than or equal to 3 (i.e. see configuration of figure 2 of the multi-level converter).
8. Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingyn Huang (99% efficient 2.5-KW Four-Level Flying Capacitor Multilevel GaN Totem-Pole PFC. Cited in the IDS filed on 11/18/24) in view Xin Wu (10 kVac/270 Vdc Medium-Voltage-Connecting Power Supply for Data Centers. Cited in the IDS filed on 11/18/24) and Lan Haogan (CN 117118227. Also, see English translation).
Regarding claim 9: Huang disclsoes a modulation method for a multi-level, bi-directional AC-DC converter (i.e. figure 2) comprising first and second switching devices of a corresponding first and second pair of switches (i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b), the first and second switching devices (i.e. S1a-b, S2a-b, S3a-b) coupled to a first inductor (i.e. L), through which inductor current flows (i.e. current of L),
but does not specifically disclose a resonant branch, the resonant branch comprising a second inductor and a first capacitor; the method comprising: modulating the inductor current using integrated triangular plus trapezoidal conduction modulation; and zero voltage switching the first and second switching devices based on the integrated triangular plus trapezoidal conduction modulation of the inductor current.
Wu discloses a power converter (i.e. figure: 2b) comprising a resonant branch (i.e. series connected inductor and capacitor that connected between the switches), the resonant branch comprising a second inductor (i.e. inductor between the switches) and a first capacitor (i.e. capacitor between the switches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Huang’s invention with the power converter as disclose by Xu, because it reduces power conversion stages and cable cost, and improving system efficiency.
Haogan discloses a power converter (i.e. figures 1-3 and 5) comprising modulating the inductor current using integrated triangular plus trapezoidal conduction modulation (i.e. waveform of figure 2 and/or 5); and zero voltage switching the first and second switching devices (i.e. S1-S4) based on the integrated triangular plus trapezoidal conduction modulation of the inductor current (i.e. current IL) (i.e. ¶ 20-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Huang’s invention with the power converter as disclose by Haogan, because it can handle different load sizes and has a simple topology, effectively solving the problem of complex auxiliary circuits. The use of trapezoidal waves instead of traditional triangular waves reduces the peak inductor current and ripple.
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qingyn Huang (99% efficient 2.5-KW Four-Level Flying Capacitor Multilevel GaN Totem-Pole PFC. Cited in the IDS filed on 11/18/24) in view Xin Wu (10 kVac/270 Vdc Medium-Voltage-Connecting Power Supply for Data Centers. Cited in the IDS filed on 11/18/24) and Lan Haogan (CN 117118227. Also, see English translation) and further in view of Young et al. (US 20170237339).
Regarding claim 14: Huang discloses the limitation of the claim(s) as discussed above, but does not specifically disclose implementing modulation transition based on trajectory control based on a mode change.
Young et al. disclose a power supply comprising (i.e. figures 5-5D) implementing modulation transition (i.e. transistor of the switches Q1-Q4) based on trajectory (i.e. trajectory of the current IL) control based on a mode change (i.e. mode of Vswn(t) and IL(T)) (i.e. ¶ 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to modify the circuit of Huang’s invention with the power supply as disclose by Young et al. to improve conversion efficiency of the power supply.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Nguyen Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838