DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a signal acquisition unit”, “a signal detection unit”, and “a correction unit” in claim 26, “a first determination subunit” in claim 27, “a phase correction subunit” in claim 28, “an identification unit” in claim 29, “a fourth determining subunit”, “a normalization subunit”, and “an identification subunit” in claim 30, and “a second determining subunit” and “a third determining subunit” in claim 31.
The specification describes “a signal acquisition unit” 601, “a signal detection unit” 602, and “a correction unit” 603, “a first determination subunit” 603, “a phase correction subunit” 603, “an identification unit”, “a fourth determining subunit”, “a normalization subunit”, “an identification subunit”, “a second determining subunit”, and “a third determining subunit” as being hardware or software executed by a processor. As such, sufficient structure is shown in the specification to avoid a 35 USC 112(b) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2.
Claim 34 is drawn to such a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments but may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Langlois et al. (US 2020/0080142), cited in the IDS dated 6/6/25, in view of Vicceli et al. (US 2023/0410944), cited in the IDS dated 3/5/26.
Regarding claims 18 and 26, Langlois discloses an apparatus for determining inter-channel crosstalk correction strength and a method for determining inter-channel crosstalk correction strength, comprising:
detecting multiple cycles of sequencing by synthesis based on a multi-channel microscopic imaging system, such that a first channel signal and a second channel signal are generated in each cycle, wherein the first channel signal is indicative of a signal of incorporation of a first nucleotide into a plurality of identical polynucleotide molecules in the cycle, the second channel signal is indicative of a signal of incorporation of a second nucleotide into the plurality of identical polynucleotide molecules in the cycle, the first nucleotide and the second nucleotide are nucleotides comprising different types of bases, and a part of the first channel signal is noise related to second channel crosstalk (see paras 15, 40, 45, 50, 76, and 94, multiple cycles of sequencing is performed, first and second channel signals are generated, the channel signals being indicative of polynucleotide molecules);
detecting the first channel signal and the second channel signal in each cycle, wherein the first channel signal and the second channel signal both have intensity (see paras 40 and 76-78, channel signal intensities are detected); and
performing inter-channel crosstalk correction on the first channel signal intensity by using a predetermined coefficient and the second channel signal intensity to determine the crosstalk-corrected first channel signal intensity (see paras 76-79 and 81, crosstalk correction is performed using coefficients).
Langlois does not disclose expressly wherein the predetermined coefficient is a fixed coefficient associated with the multi-channel microscopic imaging system.
Vicceli discloses performing inter-channel crosstalk correction on the first channel signal intensity by using a predetermined coefficient and the second channel signal intensity to determine the crosstalk-corrected first channel signal intensity, wherein the predetermined coefficient is a fixed coefficient associated with the multi-channel microscopic imaging system (see para 88, a phasing coefficient is applied to one or more of the intensity values 240 as part of a correction, e.g., signal correction function).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the predetermine coefficient, as described by Vicceli, with the system of Langlois.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to avoid errors (Vicceli paras 2-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Vicceli with Langlois to obtain the invention as specified in claims 18 and 26.
Regarding claims 19 and 27, Vicceli further discloses wherein performing the inter-channel crosstalk correction on the first channel signal intensity by using the predetermined coefficient and the second channel signal intensity to determine the crosstalk-corrected first channel signal intensity comprises: determining the crosstalk-corrected first channel signal intensity by I1' = I1 – K × I2, wherein I1' is the crosstalk-corrected first channel signal intensity, I1 is the detected first channel signal intensity, I2 is the detected second channel signal intensity, and K is the predetermined coefficient (see para 88, a phasing coefficient is applied to one or more of the intensity values 240 as part of a correction, e.g., signal correction function).
Regarding claims 20 and 28, Langlois further discloses after performing the inter-channel crosstalk correction on the first channel signal intensity by using the predetermined coefficient and the second channel signal intensity: performing phase correction on the first channel signal intensity after the inter-channel crosstalk correction by using the detected first channel signal intensity in the previous cycle and/or the next cycle to obtain the phase-corrected first channel signal intensity (see Fig. 5 and para 81, phase correction is performed).
Regarding claims 21 and 29, Langlois further discloses identifying the first nucleotide incorporated into the plurality of identical polynucleotide molecules in the cycle according to the phase-corrected first channel signal intensity (see Fig. 5 and paras 40 and 81-83, the bases of nucleotides incorporated into clusters of the poly nucleotides can be determined by the base caller 226).
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Langlois further discloses wherein identifying the first nucleotide incorporated into the plurality of identical polynucleotide molecules in the cycle according to the phase-corrected first channel signal intensity comprises: determining a normalization parameter based on the signal intensity of each channel; normalizing the phase-corrected first channel signal intensity based on the normalization parameter to obtain the normalized first channel signal intensity; and identifying the first nucleotide incorporated into the plurality of identical polynucleotide molecules in the cycle according to the normalized first channel signal intensity (see para 86, normalizing of the corrected intensities is performed).
Regarding claims 23 and 31, Langlois further discloses wherein the first channel signal and the second channel signal are both fluorescence signals, and determining the predetermined coefficient comprises: determining a range of possible values for the predetermined coefficient based on a spectral overlap region of a first channel and a second channel; and determining a value that can meet a preset correction requirement as the predetermined coefficient within the range of possible values (see paras 76-78, a two-channel color matrix can be a 2×2 matrix that is used to correct for the cross-talk between two channels capturing, for example a first channel and a second channel, the first channel can capture the first fluorescent images and the second fluorescent images at sequencing cycles).
Regarding claims 24 and 32, Langlois further discloses wherein the determining the value that can meet the preset correction requirement as the predetermined coefficient within the range of possible values comprises: determining the preset correction requirement based on configuration information of the multi-channel microscopic imaging system; and traversing corresponding values within the range of possible values according to traversal parameters, and determining the value that can meet the preset correction requirement as the predetermined coefficient, wherein the traversal parameters comprise at least a step size parameter, and the step size parameter characterizes an interval parameter of two values in the traversal process (see paras 76-78, a two-channel color matrix can be a 2×2 matrix that is used to correct for the cross-talk between two channels capturing, for example a first channel and a second channel, the first channel can capture the first fluorescent images and the second fluorescent images at sequencing cycles).
Regarding claims 25 and 33, Langlois further discloses wherein the preset correction requirement comprises an alignment rate and/or an error rate, wherein the alignment rate characterizes a ratio of the number of reads aligned to a reference genome to the total number of reads; the error rate characterizes a proportion of the number of bases that do not match the reference genome when reads generated by sequencing are aligned with the reference genome (see para 90, correcting intensities can decrease error rates).
Regarding claim 34, Langlois further discloses a computer-readable storage medium having a program stored thereon, wherein the program can be executed by a processor to implement the method for determining the inter-channel crosstalk correction strength according to claim 18 (see paras 36-37).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. To further show the state of the art please refer to the attached Notice of References Cited.
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681