DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a switching system configured to control a flow direction of incompressible fluid; a separator device configured to separate working fluid from incompressible fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-16, 18, and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radermacher (US 2022/0010934) in view of Lemofouet (US 8,567,183).
As to claim 1, Radermacher teaches a system comprising:
at least two NIC systems 96/98 comprising one or more chambers and cooling means (Fig. 9), each NIC system being constructed to increase a pressure of a working fluid in the one or more chambers via an incompressible fluid acting as a liquid piston, the cooling means being constructed to remove from the working fluid at least some heat generated by the increased pressure (Fig. 8);
one or more pumps coupled to the NIC systems 96/98 and constructed to pump the incompressible fluid to or from the chambers (Figs. 1-2 and 9); and
a switching system between the one or more pumps and the NIC systems 96/98 an constructed to control a flow direction of the incompressible fluid within the respective NIC system (Fig. 9; paragraph 102).
Radermacher teaches an oil tank 152, but does not explicitly teach that each NIC system includes a staging vessel between the switching system and the chambers and having a greater volume than the chambers in the manner as claimed. However, Lemofouet teaches using a staging vessel B.6 which supplies all of the working fluid for multiple NIC chambers (Fig. 11; col. 13, line 60 – col. 14, line 28). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Radermacher to incorporate a staging vessel as claimed and taught by Lemofouet because it would provide a degree of freedom for system design capable of operating at a higher capacity (Lemofouet , col. 14, lines 14-18).
As to claim 2, the modified reference is silent as to the specific volume of the staging vessel. However the specific volume is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that a certain volume will ensure reliable and effective system operation. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim were disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a staging vessel having a volume that is at least two times the volume of the chambers.
As to claim 3, Radermacher teaches the cooling means 53 in thermal communication with the compression chambers (Fig. 9; paragraph 72) and thus not in thermal communication with the staging vessel of the modified system.
As to claim 4, Radermacher teaches a thermodynamic fluid circuit 134 comprising a first heat exchanger (suction line HX), an expansion device, and a second heat exchanger 138 connected in the manner as claimed (Fig. 13).
As to claim 5, Radermacher teaches the switching system comprising a hydraulic switch (paragraphs 100 and 102); the first exchanger configured to operate as a condenser (Fig. 13), and the second exchanger 138 to operate as an evaporator (Fig. 13).
As to claim 6, Radermacher teaches a pressure vessel 144 as claimed (paragraph 81).
As to claim 7, Radermacher teaches CO2 working fluid and incompressible fluid that is oil see abstract.
As to claim 8, Radermacher teaches a controller 139 as claimed, wherein the controller controls the switching system to switch between suction and compression for each NIC system by reversing incompressible fluid flow between first and second ends of the chambers (Figs. 2B and 9; paragraph 84).
As to claim 12, Radermacher teaches injecting working fluid and incompressible fluid into the chambers (Fig. 9).
As to claim 13, Radermacher teaches a suction line exchanger that operates as an economizer to cool the pressurized working fluid (Fig. 13).
As to claim 14, Radermacher teaches a separator as claimed (paragraph 108).
As to claims 15-16, the claims are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in the rejections above.
As to claim 18, Radermacher does not explicitly teach first and second pluralities of three-way switches as claimed. However, it would have been an obvious design choice to modify the reference by having a the claimed switch configuration, since applicant has not disclosed that having a particular switching construction solves any stated problem or provides any unexpected result, and it appears that the system would perform equally well with any reasonable switch configuration capable of provided the desired flow of incompressible fluid.
As to claims 22-27, the modified apparatus of Radermacher teaches most of the claimed limitations as discussed in the rejections above, and also includes a mechanical piston (Radermacher, Fig. 8) and motor (Lemofouet, motor A.1) as claimed.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763