Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "a screw penetrating the base plate and cover plate" recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The “screw”, designated with “13”, is shown in figures 1-2 and 4 as “penetrating the base plate” but not penetrating the “cover plate”; rather, the screw penetrates the base plate and the “spring support 21”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the back plate" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-10, which depend(s) from a claim rejected above for being indefinite, is/are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Desanta (US 2015/0245713).
Claim 1- Desanta discloses a seat back plate adjustment device, including:
a connection mechanism (base 20, front bearing member 50) sleeved on a seat base lifting cylinder (18); and
a swinging mechanism (rear seat plate 34) fixedly provided on the connection mechanism and an adjustment mechanism (not shown) penetrating the connection mechanism (¶ 26-27);
wherein the swinging mechanism includes a spring support (44) fixedly provided on the connection mechanism, two swinging springs (damping pads 46) symmetrically set about a center line (defined by axis B) of the spring support (figs. 6 & 9), an insertion plate (backrest front portion 38) and a rotating shaft (not shown, along axis B) abutted against the swinging springs (¶ 33-34); and
wherein the rotating shaft runs through the insertion plate (fig. 9) and the spring support (figs. 6 & 10), the insertion plate (38) is rotatably connected with the spring support (¶ 33-34), and the insertion plate is fixedly connected to a back plate (backrest support lower leg 30) of the seat (¶ 35, 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desanta in view of Paquette (US 4013257).
Claim 2- Desanta discloses the seat back plate adjustment device of claim 1, wherein the insertion plate (38) includes a positioning plate (configured as a pair of lower plates 40, which function to position the backrest support lower leg 30), extension plates symmetrically connected to both sides of the positioning plate (the upper plates 42 have inner ends coupled to inner ends of the lower plates 40), and two support plates (not designated) vertically disposed on the positioning plate (figs. 9-10 show that the bearing member 36 includes vertically extending plate portions that define the axis B); and the support plate is provided with shaft holes (the vertically extending plate portions include holes formed therein aligned along the axis B), and the rotating shaft (not shown, along axis B) is threaded on the support plate.
Desanta teaches that the rotating shaft is passed through the holes of the bearing member (36), wherein the term “threaded” is directed to passing an element through an opening in the manner of a thread passing through a needle eye. Desanta does not teach that the positioning plate is provided with threaded holes.
Paquette teaches a seat back plate adjustment device comprising: a spring housing (17) including upper and lower wall portions (27, 29) that function as positioning plates for a seat back plate (33); wherein the wall portions are provided with a threaded hole (35). Paquette teaches the conventionality of suitably providing a threaded hole or holes for a seat back plate adjustment device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insertion plate of Desanta with threaded holes, as taught by Paquette, in order to suitably provide suitable holes for shaft elements of the insertion plate.
Claim 3- Desanta and Paquette teaches the seat back plate adjustment device of claim 2, wherein Desanta teaches that the positioning plate (40) is symmetrically provided in engagement with the pair of swinging springs (46); and wherein Paquette teaches that an end wall (25) of the spring housing (17), which also functions as a positioning plate (col. 2: 51-57), engages a pair of compression springs (55) via the end wall (25) being symmetrically provided with two limiting bumps (49), and the limiting bumps are inserted in the compression springs (figs. 3-4). Accordingly, the positioning plate of Desanta would further comprise being symmetrically provided with two limiting bumps, wherein the limiting bumps are inserted in the swinging springs.
Claim 4- Desanta and Paquette teach the seat back plate adjustment device of claim 2, and Paquette further teaches providing the pivot pins (21, 61, 75) of the device with conventional locking means or methods of holding the pins in place (col. 2: 26-34). Paquette does not explicitly disclose wherein gaskets are provided in the shaft hole on the support plate, with the gaskets being sleeved on the rotating shaft; however, the claimed “gaskets” is a conventional method of holding coupling elements like pins and shafts in place (a gasket being a sealing element for a junction between two components of a mechanical device). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide gaskets in the shaft hole of Desanta’s support plate that are sleeved on the rotating shaft, as suggested by Paquette’s teaching, in order to provide a conventional means of holding the rotating shaft within the shaft hole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/T.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3636
/DAVID R DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3636