DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed November 18, 2024 has been entered. Claims 62-71 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 62-68 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,321,995. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter including a side-delivered prosthetic heart valve comprising a self-expanding frame having a perimeter with proximal and distal areas fully capable of being folded, an inner flow control component, and a compressed configuration substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Claims 62-68 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,595,994. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter including a side-delivered prosthetic heart valve comprising a self-expanding frame having a perimeter with proximal and distal areas fully capable of being folded, an inner flow control component, and a compressed configuration substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Claims 62-68 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,071,627. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter including a side-delivered prosthetic heart valve comprising a self-expanding frame having a perimeter with proximal and distal areas fully capable of being folded, an inner flow control component, and a compressed configuration substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Claims 62-68 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,109,969. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter including a side-delivered prosthetic heart valve comprising a self-expanding frame having a perimeter with proximal and distal areas fully capable of being folded, an inner flow control component, and a compressed configuration substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Claims 62-68 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,273,033. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter including a side-delivered prosthetic heart valve comprising a self-expanding frame having a perimeter with proximal and distal areas fully capable of being folded, an inner flow control component, and a compressed configuration substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Claims 62-68 and 71 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,310,850. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter including a side-delivered prosthetic heart valve comprising a self-expanding frame having a perimeter with proximal and distal areas fully capable of being folded, an inner flow control component, and a compressed configuration substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 62-66 and 68-71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chambers (US 2018/0200049, hereinafter “Chambers”) in view of Alon et al. (US 2010/0049313, hereinafter "Alon").
Regarding claim 62, Chambers discloses a side delivered transcatheter prosthetic heart valve (300 or 500 or 900), the valve comprising:
a self-expanding outer annular support frame (909), said outer annular support frame having a central channel and an outer perimeter wall circumscribing a central vertical axis in an expanded configuration,
said perimeter wall having a front wall portion (907) and a back wall portion (907), the front wall portion and the back wall portion connected along a proximal side to a proximal fold area (908), and the front wall portion and the back wall portion connected along a distal side to a distal fold area (908) (para [0061] – fabric portions 908 fully capable of being folded and thus may be interpreted as the claimed fold area),
the front wall portion having a front upper collar portion (front portion of upper collar/apex of 900) and a front lower body portion (front portion of lower end of 900), the back wall portion having a back upper collar portion (back portion of upper collar/apex of 900) and a back lower body portion (back portion of lower end of 900),
said annular support frame having an inner flow control component (305 or 505 or 905) mounted within the annular support frame and configured to permit blood flow in a first direction through an inflow end of the valve and block blood flow in a second direction, opposite the first direction, through an outflow end of the valve (para [0051,0062]),
wherein the valve is compressible to a compressed configuration for introduction into the body using a delivery catheter (304 or 504) for implanting at a desired location in the body, said compressed configuration (Fig 3A) is oriented along a horizontal axis at an intersecting angle of between 45-135 degrees to the central vertical axis (approximately 90 degrees or perpendicular), and expandable to an expanded configuration (Fig 3B) having a horizontal axis at an intersecting angle of between 45-135 degrees to the central vertical axis (approximately 90 degrees or perpendicular), wherein the horizontal axis of the compressed configuration of the valve is substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter (Fig 3A),
However, Chambers fails to disclose the dimensions of the valve. Alon discloses a well-known type of prosthetic heart valve (10) including a frame (stent 12) and a flow control component (leaflets 14). Alon teaches the frame is tubular (Figs 1, 3, 4), has a height of about 5-60 mm and a diameter of about 25-80 mm (para [0095]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chambers such the valve had a height of about 5-60 mm and a diameter of about 25-80 mm such that it was of a size and shape to fit within the native aortic valve (Figs 5A, 5B; para [0093]) and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (a valve sized and shaped to fit within the native aortic valve), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 63, Chambers teaches the annular support frame is comprised of a plurality of compressible wire cells (para [0061]) having an orientation and cell geometry substantially orthogonal to the central vertical axis (at least a portion of the cell is orthogonal to the central vertical axis) fully capable of minimizing wire cell strain when the annular support frame is configured in a vertical compressed configuration, a rolled compressed configuration, or a folded compressed configuration (when compared to another cell geometry with a greater wire cell strain).
Regarding claim 64, wherein said annular support frame is comprised of a braided, wire, or laser-cut wire frame (stented portion), and said annular support frame is covered with a biocompatible material (fabric covering) (para [0061]).
Regarding claim 65, Chambers teaches the diameter of the inner flow control component is smaller than the diameter of the outer annular support frame such that the inner flow control component fits inside the outer annular support frame (para [0051,0062]). However, Chambers fails to disclose the claimed dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chambers such that the outer annular support frame has a diameter R of 40-80 mm and a height of 5-20 mm, and the inner flow control component has a diameter of 20-35 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (a valve sized and shaped to be delivered to the heart), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 66, Chambers teaches the flow control component (305 or 505 or 905) is formed from 2-4 leaflets having an inflow end and a closable aperture at an outflow end (para [0061]), but fails to disclose leaflets are formed from pericardial material joined to form a rounded cylinder. Alon discloses a well-known type of prosthetic heart valve (10) including a frame (stent 12) and a flow control component (leaflets 14). Alon teaches the leaflet assembly (14) can comprise a plurality of leaflets (34a) made of a flexible material or any suitable biological material such as pericardial tissue (para [0097]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chambers such that the leaflets were formed from pericardial material joined to form a rounded cylinder since Alon teaches such a configuration is a known valve structure in the art and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.. Additionally, Chambers teaches the diameter of the inner flow control component is smaller than the diameter of the outer annular support frame such that the inner flow control component fits inside the outer annular support frame (para [0051,0062]). However, Chambers fails to disclose the claimed dimensions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chambers such that the flow control component has an internal diameter of 20-35 mm and a height of 5-30 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (a valve sized and shaped to be delivered to the heart), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 68, Chambers fails to disclose the claimed tissue anchor. Alon teaches known prosthetic valves may be provided with additional anchoring or attachment devices to assist in anchoring the valve to the surrounding tissue (para [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chambers such that the valve further comprised at least one tissue anchor connected to the annular support frame for engaging native tissue, since Alon teaches tissue anchors are known for assisting in anchoring the valve to surrounding tissue.
Regarding claim 69, wherein the front wall portion is a first flat panel and the back wall portion is a second flat panel, and wherein the proximal fold area (908) and the distal fold area (908) each comprise a sewn seam, a fabric panel, or a rigid hinge (para [0061] – fabric panels 908).
Regarding claim 70, wherein the proximal fold area (908) and the distal fold area (908), each comprise a flexible fabric span without any wire cells (para [0061] – fabric panels 908).
Regarding claim 71, wherein the annular support frame is comprised of compressible wire cells selected from the group consisting of braided-wire cells, laser-cut wire cells, photolithography produced wire cells, 3D printed wire cells, wire cells formed from intermittently connected single strand wires in a wave shape, a zig-zag shape, or spiral shape, and combinations thereof (para [0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 67 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting or if a terminal disclaimer is filed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach and/or disclose the valve further comprising: (i) an upper tension arm attached to a distal upper edge of the annular support frame, the upper tension arm comprised of wire loop or wire frame extending from about 2-20 mm away from the annular support frame; and(ii) a lower tension arm extending from a distal side of the annular support frame, the lower tension arm comprised of wire loop or wire frame, integrated frame section, or stent, extending from about 10-40 mm away from the annular support frame. Of the closest prior art, Chambers teaches it is undesirable to have a two chamber solution with a portion extending into the left ventricle, which is usually bulky and more difficult to deliver (para [0015-0016]). Although Chambers teaches the invention is readily applicable to single or 2-chamber solutions (para [0017]), it is unclear how known upper and lower tension arms designed to be deployed into the atrium and ventricle, respectively, would be added to Chambers' device and still maintain the orthogonal delivery. See for example Kovalsky et al. (US 2014/0222142) disclosing an atrial collar (1802) and lower tension arms (1871B) of a prosthetic heart valve (Fig 18) for an example of a known heart valve with tension arms. However, Kovalsky is not a side-delivered valve such that the horizontal axis of the compressed configuration of the valve is substantially parallel to a lengthwise cylindrical axis of the delivery catheter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kovalsky et al. (US 2014/0222142).
/KATHERINE M RODJOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771