DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 8, 12-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO 2022-065684 (via WIPO translation) hereinafter referred to as Cho in view of Cho et al. WO2022-197089 hereinafter referred to as Cho ‘089 (via WIPO translation).
In regards to claim 1, Cho teaches:
“A display device comprising: a mirror display comprising a plurality of blocks”
Cho paragraph [0074] teaches as shown in FIG. 3A, it is assumed that the mirror display 110 includes m × n pixels. In this case, as shown in (b) of FIG. 3, the region 30 May have a size corresponding to a × b pixels. Figures 14-22 teaches regions as well.
“and at least one processor configured to control at least one of a reflectance and display of the plurality of blocks”
Cho paragraph [0060] teaches according to an embodiment of the disclosure, the display apparatus 100 May adjust the reflectance of the area in which the application is displayed on the mirror display 110 based on the reflectance set for each application. Cho paragraph [0119] teaches the processor 130 May adjust the reflectance of the area in which each application is displayed on the mirror display 110 based on the reflectance corresponding to each application.
“wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control first blocks among the plurality of blocks to display a content”
Cho paragraph [0139] and Figure 10 teaches the processor 130 May adjust the reflectance of the area in which the image 1020 provided by the video application is displayed to 0%, but may adjust the reflectance to a preset reflectance, for example, 50%. The Examiner interprets that the area where the content 1020 is displayed is equivalent to the plurality of blocks to display content.
“control second blocks among the plurality of blocks to have a first reflectance providing at least a part of a mirror image on a front side of the mirror display”
Cho Figure 10 illustrates the area outside of the displayed content 1020 has a first reflectance.
“identify a second part of the mirror image corresponding to the first blocks …, and control the first blocks to display the second part of the mirror image and the content by combining the content and the second part of the mirror image”
Cho paragraph [0139] and Figure 10 teaches the processor 130 May adjust the reflectance of the area in which the image 1020 provided by the video application is displayed to 0%, but may adjust the reflectance to a preset reflectance, for example, 50%. The Examiner interprets the portion of the reflected image that lies within the first blocks (displayed content 1020 region) are equivalent to first blocks to display the second part of the mirror image and the content by combining the content and the second part. Cho Figures 11b, 12a and 13 illustrate similar combining of content.
Cho does not explicitly teach:
“a camera” and “[identify a location] based on an image captured by the camera”
Cho ‘089 teaches in [0092] the other first sensor 120 in this revelation may include an image sensor 120, and the processor 140 may acquire a second image corresponding to the user 10 through the image sensor 120. Cho teaches in [0094] the processor 140 can detect the user contained in the second image through the first neural network model and acquire image data for the region containing the user 10. The processor 140 can acquire pose information about the user 10 based on the information about the feature points or skeletons of the user 10 contained in the image data. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Cho in view of Cho’089 to have included the features of “a camera” and “[identify a location] based on an image captured by the camera” because it is necessary to have a technology that improves the visibility of the content/information displayed on the mirror display (Cho ‘089 [0004]).
In regards to claim 6, Cho/Cho ‘089 teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: control at least one third block, among the first blocks, to combine the content displayed by the at least one third block and the second part of the mirror image”
Cho Figure 3b illustrates that the mirror display is composed of an array of square blocks. The Examiner interprets that if the displayed content 1020 requires more than one block to display then one of these blocks can be interpreted as an at least one third block. Figures 9-10, 11b and 12a would appear to require more than on square region for displaying the content because at the very least the content is displayed rectangular and not square. Furthermore, it would not provide an unpredictable results to display the content using more than one region. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12).
In regards to claim 7, Cho/Cho ‘089 teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: adjust a size of the content displayed on the first blocks such that a boundary of the content corresponds to boundaries among the plurality of blocks”
Cho paragraph [0194] teach the processor 130 May match the display area of the application with at least one of the plurality of areas by changing at least one of the location and size of the display area of the application so as not to overlap the area where another application is displayed on the mirror display 110.
In regards to claim 9, Cho/Cho ‘089 teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: control at least one third block, among the first blocks, to display a predetermined image in an area excluding an area in which the at least one third block displays the content”
Cho paragraph [0181] and Figure 14 teaches the display area 1410 of the application does not match at least one of the plurality of areas of the mirror display 110. As another example, the display region 1420 of the application may be regarded as matching a region including two regions 1430 and 1440 among the plurality of regions.
In regards to claim 10, Cho/Cho ‘089 teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: control a reflectance of the plurality of blocks in block units, and wherein the plurality of blocks have a same size”
Cho paragraph [0060] teaches the display apparatus 100 May adjust the reflectance of the area in which the application is displayed on the mirror display 110 based on the reflectance set for each application. Cho Figures 14-22 illustrates regions of the same size.
In regards to claim 11, Cho/Cho ‘089 teach all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 11 contains similar limitations. Therefore claim 11 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 1.
In regards to claim 17, Cho/Cho ‘089 teach all the limitations of claim 11 and claim 17 contains similar limitations as in claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended feature which requires the combining of the content and the second part of the mirror image is not taught by Cho. However, it was noted during the interview that the combining feature which is different from overlapping, is meant to include the feature of having a region where the displayed content is transparent and the mirror image is visible through the displayed content. Applicant pointed to Figure 6 and indicated the overlapping area which displays content over the mirror image and the combined area, the frame area, which displays the mirror image. Cho paragraph [0139] and Figure 10 teaches the processor 130 May adjust the reflectance of the area in which the image 1020 provided by the video application is displayed to 0%, but may adjust the reflectance to a preset reflectance, for example, 50%. The Examiner interprets the portion of the reflected image that lies within the first blocks (displayed content 1020 region) are equivalent to first blocks to display the second part of the mirror image and the content by combining the content and the second part. Cho Figures 11b, 12a and 13 illustrate similar combining of content.
In regards to claim 6, the change in scope of claim 1 required a new interpretation of the reference in relation to the features of claim 6.
In regards to the rejoinder of claim 18, currently claim 18 does not require all features of claim 1 and therefore is not eligible for rejoinder. Applicant is advised that rejoinder will take place if claim 18 at the time of allowance requires all features of an allowable claim. If this is not the case then rejoinder is not permitted.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422