DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 63/600,121 filed 11/17/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-4 are objected to because of the following informalities: “tabletted” should be corrected to “tableted”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1 and 5 blur the metes and bounds of the claims due to words in parentheses. The examiner cannot determine if they are exemplary or limited to one or more of these terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pesaro et al. (WO 2020/043269 A1), Dussia et al. (WO 2009/052421 A1), Figueiredo et al. (Propolis, Aloe Vera, Green Tea, Cranberry, Calendula, Myrrha, and Salvia Properties against Periodontal Microorganisms, microorganisms, 2022), and Tiftikci et al. (WO 2022/108546 A1).
Pesaro discloses antimicrobial mixtures (Abstract). The formulation can be an effervescent preparation ([0083]). The composition can contain oils ([0028]), aloe vera ([0067]), shitake mushroom extract ([0063]), and green tea ([0062]). The preparation can be in the form of tablets ([0137]).
Pesaro does not teach cranberry used for dental treatment.
Dussia discloses compositions for administering an active ingredient orally or transmucosally having a film layer. The composition includes an effervescent compound (Abstract). An effervescent compound may include citric, tartaric and sodium bicarbonate ([0106]). The composition includes oil ([0109]), starches (corn, potato, rice, or tapioca) ([0093]), aloe vera ([0076]), shitake extract ([0058]), cranberry (claim 17). Cranberry is used to prevent or treat dental decay ([0065]). The composition can be in the form of a powder ([0004]). Dussia discloses that the film strip rapidly dissolved upon administration to the oral cavity ([0107]).
Figueiredo discloses that natural agent is aloe vera or Aloe barbadensis, which is a cactus-like succulent plant that belongs to the Liliaceae family. Cosmetic and medicinal products are made from the mucilaginous tissue in the center of the aloe vera leaf. Aloe vera is known to have several therapeutic benefits and has long been used as a remedy for various conditions such as sunburn, wounds, skin problems and digestive tract disorders. The pharmacological benefits of aloe vera are attributed to its wound-healing effects; immunomodulatory activity; and anti-inflammatory, antioxidant and antimicrobial properties (pg 6, 2nd paragraph). Green tea has been shown to combat microorganisms in various ways, directly and indirectly, and has worked synergistically with some antibiotic agents. Its anti-inflammatory and antioxidant effects may also contribute to the antimicrobial effect (pg 7, 1st paragraph). Cranberries are among some foods that contain type A proanthocyanidins, which have higher bioactivity compared to type B. Cranberry bioactive agents have unique characteristics, and modern science is trying to identify the connections between the health benefits and the specific compounds that this fruit has. Particularly in dentistry, proanthocyanidins are known to inhibit oral biofilm adherence and for their anti-inflammatory effect that could potentially be able to neutralize the destructive inflammatory response of macrophages (pg 7, 3rd paragraph).
Tiftikci discloses development of dental cleaning formulation in the form of effervescent tablet (Abstract). The production process generally includes the process of weighing each ingredient, passing each ingredient through a sieve, mixing ingredients, and pressing tablets (pg 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined teachings of above to create a tableted effervescing dental treatment composition. This is taking some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, powder is taught above.
regarding claim 3, oral cavity disintegration is taught above.
Regarding claim 4, Tiftikci discloses that tablets weighed 450 mg on average. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would experiment with different tablet weights for consumers.
Regarding claim 5, a method of producing an effervescent tablet is taught above.
Regarding claim 6, Tiftikci discloses that the products can be easily transported due to different packaging sizes (pg 3, line 17).
Regarding claim 7, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a composition comprising ingredients beneficial for dental treatment, for treating dental surfaces simultaneously reducing dental plaque.
Conclusion
/JOHN SEUNGJAI KWON/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615