Drawings
The drawings filed on 11/18/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mental steps involving execute a correlation analysis that includes the electrical load data from each of the two or more smart meters and the harmonic distortion data; identify a harmonic distortion source based on the correlation analysis, a report identifying the harmonic distortion source, identifying the harmonic distortion source includes identifying which of the two or more smart meters are coupled to the electrical load causing harmonic distortion (claims 1 and 10), these limitations as described in [0050]-[00063] is recited in high level of generality constitutes as a mental process, such as an evaluation or judgement, that can be performed in the human mind.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional limitations of receive, by the one or more processors, electrical load data from the two or more smart meters; receive, by the one or more processors, harmonic distortion data from one or more electrical distribution devices, wherein the harmonic distortion data is recorded by at least one of the two or more smart meters, wherein at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to sample electrical waveforms at a frequency greater than 60 Hz, wherein at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to sample electrical waveforms at a frequency greater than 300 Hz, wherein at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to sample electrical waveforms at a frequency between 1000 Hz and 6000 Hz, wherein at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to detect harmonics greater than or equal to a 7th harmonic, wherein at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to detect harmonics occurring in a feeder; wherein at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to collect total voltage harmonic distortion data and/or total current harmonic distortion data (claims 3-8 and 17) represent mere data collection which is an insignificant extrasolution activity. The one or more computers comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable media, output data, displaying an area on a map a location where the harmonic distortion source has been identified, outputting the report includes displaying the harmonic distortion source on a graphical user interface, outputting the report includes displaying harmonics data for at least one of the two or more smart meters, outputting the report includes displaying harmonics data at a feeder level (claims 1, 9 and 14-16) are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I) for more information on this point, including explanations from judicial decisions including Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 224-26 (2014). Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system (Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014)). Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The limitations of “two or more smart meters each configured to monitor a respective electrical load”, “wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include at least one of the two or more smart meters”, “wherein the feeder is configured to supply electricity to the two or more smart meters”, “wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a power quality monitor”, “wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a phasor measurement unit installed on a distribution line”, “wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a line sensor installed on a distribution line” (claims 1, 2, 8, 11-13) generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment because it claims field of use. The limitation of “at least one of the two or more smart meters is configured to send the total voltage harmonic distortion data and/or the total current harmonic distortion data to a utility server at predetermined intervals” represent mere data transmission which is an insignificant extrasolution activity.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the insignificant extra-solution activity of data collection is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional, see mpep 2106.05(d), infra applied prior art, references cited. The insignificant extra-solution activity of data transmission is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional, see mpep 2106.05(d), infra applied prior art, references cited The one or more computers comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable media, output data, displaying an area on a map a location where the harmonic distortion source has been identified, outputting the report includes displaying the harmonic distortion source on a graphical user interface, outputting the report includes displaying harmonics data for at least one of the two or more smart meters, outputting the report includes displaying harmonics data at a feeder level are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications, which cannot provide an inventive concept. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system (Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l 573 U.S. __, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 110 U.S.P.Q.2d 1976 (2014)). The “field of use” limitation do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are well-understood, routine and conventional (See MPEP2106.05(d)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20070179726 to Bickel, in view of “Accurate Power Measurement in Smart Meters, Part 2: Specifying Components” to Goldberg.
As for claim 1, Bickel substantially discloses a system (Bickel, see Fig. 1 and [0044]-[0047]) comprising:
two or more meters each configured to monitor a respective electrical load (Bickel, see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0047] “When the utility system 102 is a power monitoring system, the monitoring device M can be a meter that measures electrical characteristics”, and [0055] “a main electrical switchgear 122 connected through a feeder 123 to a first load 124 connected to a first branch 125 from the feeder 123 and to a second load 126 connected to second branch 127 from the feeder 123. Example monitoring devices 128, 130 measure electrical characteristics or parameters associated with the first and second branches 125 and 127” and [0056]), and
one or more computers comprising one or more processors and one or more non-transitory computer readable media, the one or more non-transitory computer readable media including program instructions stored thereon that when executed cause the one or more computers (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0144] and [0167]) to:
receive, by the one or more processors, electrical load data from the two or more smart meters (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]);
receive, by the one or more processors, harmonic distortion data from one or more electrical distribution devices (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0143]-[0144]);
execute, by the one or more processors, a correlation analysis that includes the electrical load data from each of the two or more meters and the harmonic distortion data (Bickel, see Fig. 21, [0143]-[0144]);
identify, by the one or more processors, a harmonic distortion source based on the correlation analysis (Bickel, see Fig. 21, [0143]-[0144]); and
output, by the one or more processors, a report identifying the harmonic distortion source (Bickel, see Fig. 21, [0143]-[0144] and [0165]).
Bickel does not explicitly disclose smart meter. However, Goldberg in an analogous art discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include at least one of the two or more meters (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein the harmonic distortion data is recorded by at least one of the two or more meters (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to sample (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter is configured to sample electrical waveforms at a frequency greater than 60 Hz (Goldberg, see page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to sample (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter is configured to sample electrical waveforms at a frequency greater than 300 Hz (Goldberg, see page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to sample (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter is configured to sample electrical waveforms at a frequency between 1000 Hz and 6000 Hz (Goldberg, see page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to detect (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter is configured to detect harmonics greater than or equal to a 7th harmonic (Goldberg, see page 4, it is noted that 3k divided by 60 is greater than 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to detect harmonics occurring in a feeder (Bickel, see Fig. 21, [0055], [0131] and [0143]-[0144]), wherein the feeder is configured to supply electricity to the two or more meters (Bickel, see Fig. 2 and [0055]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein identifying the harmonic distortion source includes displaying an area on a map a location where the harmonic distortion source has been identified (Bickel, see Fig. 17a-17d and [0152]-[0154]).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein identifying the harmonic distortion source includes identifying which of the two or more meters are coupled to the electrical load causing harmonic distortion (Bickel, see Fig. 2, [0056] and [0143]-[0144]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Goldberg further discloses wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a power quality monitor (Goldberg, see page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a line sensor installed on a distribution line (Bickel, see Fig. 2 and [0055]-[0056]).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein outputting the report includes displaying the harmonic distortion source on a graphical user interface (Bickel, see Fig. 17a-17d and [0152]-[0154]).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein outputting the report includes displaying harmonics data for at least one of the two or more meters (Bickel, see Fig. 17a-17d and [0152]-[0154]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein outputting the report includes displaying harmonics data at a feeder level (Bickel, see Fig. 17a-17d, [0055], [0131] and [0143]-[0154]).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to collect total voltage harmonic distortion data (Bickel, see [0143]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bickel, in view of Goldberg, further in view of US11146103 to Davies et al. (hereinafter “Davies”).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Bickel and Goldberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a phasor measurement unit installed on a distribution line. However, Davies in an analogous art discloses wherein the one or more electrical distribution devices include a phasor measurement unit installed on a distribution line (Davies, see col. 6 lines 63-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Davies into the combination of Bickel and Davies. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide a distribution grid monitor, using distributed edge computing with advanced flexibility and control and to provide a device supports advanced electric grid operation at the distribution level by performing measurements and communicating these measurements over a wireless mesh network to a gateway device (Davies, see col. 2 lines 26-32).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bickel, in view of Goldberg, further in view of US 20190385246 to Tatourian et al. (hereinafter “Tatourian”).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Bickel further discloses wherein at least one of the two or more meters is configured to send the total voltage harmonic distortion data (Bickel, see Fig. 21, [0055], and [0143]-[0154]). Goldberg further discloses smart meter (Goldberg, see page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Goldberg into the system of Bickel. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to sufficiently monitor phase variation, over voltage, non-symmetrical voltage, brief over currents, and other common line perturbations related to power-quality monitoring (Goldberg, see page 4).
The combination of Bickel and Goldberg does not explicitly disclose send data to a utility server at predetermined intervals. However, Tatourian in an analogous art discloses send data to a utility server at predetermined intervals (Tatourian, see [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Tatourian into the combination of Bickel and Davies. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to provide data security for a smart meter, and more particularly to a system and method for providing confidentiality of metered data that is transmitted over a smart grid (Tatourian, see [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US9712040 discloses systems, and apparatus, including computer programs encoded on a computer storage medium, for shaping grid currents output from parallel inverters in a power distribution system with virtual impedances. In one aspect, a method includes receiving a measurement of the current output from the inverter, processing the measurement of the current to extract a first current component having a particular frequency, obtaining a second current component based on the measurement of the current and the extracted first current component, weighing the first and second current components with respective first and second impedances to obtain respective first and second component voltages, the first impedance having a lower impedance amplitude than the second impedance, obtaining a shaped voltage based on the first and second component voltages, and outputting a control signal to the inverter, the control signal causing the inverter to output the shaped voltage to the power distribution bus.
US11320467 discloses systems for controlling power supplied to a plurality of appliances on a power line. Poly phase power measurements are collected from the power line by a dedicated energy metering chip are sampled at frequencies in the range of 0 kilo samples per second to 32 kilo samples per second and converted to digital power measurements. The digital power measurements are received by a real-time microcontroller. The poly phase power measurements are analyzed in real time, the poly phase power measurements are disaggregated, and a power report regarding a power usage of each appliance is generated by a computer processing unit, CPU. A power report is transmitted to a mobile application, power on/off commands for each appliance are received from the mobile application, and each appliance is powered on/off based on the power on/off commands.
US20160187400 discloses an electric energy meter for a poly-phase electricity network includes a power transformer having a primary side and a secondary side, a first analog front end (AFE) unit is coupled to the secondary side of the power transformer, and a microcontroller coupled to the primary side of the power transformer. The first AFE unit is to be coupled to a first phase of the poly-phase electricity network. The microcontroller is configured to transmit a digitized request signal to, and to receive a measurement signal from, the first AFE unit via the power transformer. More specifically, the first AFE unit, upon receiving the digitized request signal, is to extract information from the digitized request signal.
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117