DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as
being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,292 (Qasymeh et al). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations recited in claims 1-7 of the instant application are encompassed by claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292 (Qasymeh et al).
Instant Application No. 18/950,916 (Claim 1)
US Patent No. 12,149,292 (Claim 1)
A system, comprising:
N-distant independent plasmonic graphene waveguides, wherein the N-distant independent plasmonic graphene waveguides are used to generate an N-partite continuous
variable entangled state.
A system, comprising:
N-distant independent plasmonic graphene waveguides, wherein the N-distant independent plasmonic graphene waveguides are used to generate an N-partite continuous
variable entangled state (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Regarding claim 2, as similarity described above, Qasymeh et al discloses
wherein the N-partite continuous variable entangled state is generated by sending an output from each of the N-distant plasmonic graphene waveguides to an intermediate common node (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Regarding claim 3, as similarity described above, Qasymeh et al discloses
wherein where a multipartite Bell measurement occurs based on sending the output from each of the N-distant plasmonic graphene waveguides to the
intermediate common node (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Regarding claim 4, as similarity described above, Qasymeh et al discloses
wherein the intermediate common node combines particular nodes on an array of N-1 beam splitters (BS) with particular ratios and performs multipartite
homodyne detection on BS output fields (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Regarding claim 5, as similarity described above, Qasymeh et al discloses
wherein the continuous variable-entangled state teleports an unknown coherent state over a long distance with high efficiency (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Regarding claim 6, as similarity described above, Qasymeh et al discloses
wherein the teleportation is secure based on the fidelity being above a particular threshold (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Regarding claim 7, as similarity described above, Qasymeh et al discloses
wherein the continuous-variable entangled state is controlled through the interaction of a microwave mode with two optical modes (i.e., see Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,149,292).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Qasymeh et al (Pub. No.: US 2021/0107794).
Regarding claim 1, referring to Figures 1, 13 and 14A, Qasymeh et al
teaches a system (i.e., Figs. 1, 13 and 14A), comprising:
N-distant independent plasmonic graphene waveguides (i.e., graphene
layers, Figs. 1, 13 and 14A), wherein the N-distant independent plasmonic
graphene waveguides are used to generate an N-partite continuous variable
entangled state (i.e., Figures 1, 13 and 14A, page 2, paragraph [0021], page 7,
paragraphs [0077]-[0081], and page 11, paragraph [0118]).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the
the double patenting rejection above.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
Qasymeh et al (Pub. No.: 2023/0016333) discloses continuous-variable
quantum teleportation using microwave enabled plasmonic graphene waveguide.
the examiner should be directed to Hanh Phan whose telephone number is
(571)272-3035. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are
unsuccessful the examiner's supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye, can be
reached on (571)272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Any
inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or
proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number
is (703)305-4700.
/HANH PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634