DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Application filed on November 18th, 2024
Claims 1-17 are pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (US 2023/0367452 A1) in view of Choi (US 2023/0297221 A1).
As for independent claim 1:
Graham discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display; at least one processor comprising processing circuitry; and memory, comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to execute the instructions and to cause the electronic device to (0048, 0049):
receive a first input for displaying an edit screen for editing a lock screen (0286, Graham discloses that a user can configure a wake screen and identified as a lock screen along with a user interface for selecting and configuring wake screen, also see 0288 and 0291),
concurrently display in the edit screen displayed in response to the first input, a first background image of the lock screen, wherein the first background image includes a visual object region obtained using a source image, a widget object corresponding to a widget of the lock screen, wherein the widget object is at least partially superimposed on the first background image (0291, 0294, see configuring the wake screen and preview of the wake screen including a preview of the date and time and the layout for widgets included in the wake screen. 0293, Graham discloses a widget selection interface being displayed as only partially overlaying the customization interface so that the user can continue to preview the wake screen being configured. Graham further discloses “Use as Wallpaper” option for configuring a background image for a wake user interface and customizing by adjusting a size, zoom, orientation of the image for used as a wallpaper in 0204, and 0205),
while concurrently displaying the first background image and the widget object, receive, via the edit screen, a second input for moving the widget object (0294, Graham discloses that while the wake screen being configured is displayed with its background and widgets, the user can re arrange the order of the widgets, see dragging gestures of calendar widget, weather widget to its new positions),
Graham discloses a dragging gesture and deice detecting user inputs and drag gesture in 0068, 0069, 0132. Graham does not disclose in response to releasing the second input corresponding to the widget object moved to at least partially superimposed on the visual object region included in the first background image, edit the lock screen for obtaining a second background image using the source image such that the visual object region is positioned away from the widget object moved by the second input, wherein the second background image is to be displayed in the lock screen, with the widget moved according to the second input, in response to releasing the second input corresponding to the widget object moved to a location spaced apart from the visual object region included in the first background image, edit the lock screen using the first background image to be displayed in the lock screen with the widget moved according to the second input. Choi discloses in response to releasing the second input corresponding to the widget object moved to at least partially superimposed on the visual object region included in the first background image, edit the lock screen for obtaining a second background image using the source image such that the visual object region is positioned away from the widget object moved by the second input, wherein the second background image is to be displayed in the lock screen, with the widget moved according to the second input, in response to releasing the second input corresponding to the widget object moved to a location spaced apart from the visual object region included in the first background image, edit the lock screen using the first background image to be displayed in the lock screen with the widget moved according to the second input in 0075, 0099-0100, 0117. In the cited sections Choi discloses adjusting at least one of the positions and/or size of the content to be displayed as he background screen so that the region of interest of the content does not overlap the position where the at least one object id displayed. Choi discloses extracting a portion of the content for output as the background screen in 0075, 0117along with second content not overlapping second object see Figs 9A-9B. Choi further discloses where the object display area of first content corresponds to the position at which the object is displayed, the device outputs first content as background screen and continues to output the same first content until object leaves the object display area of the first content. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Graham to incorporate the teaching of Choi background adjustment, thus allowing the region of interest to not overlap the position at which the object is displayed (Choi, 0075, 0117).
As for dependent claim 2:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first background image corresponds to a first cropped portion of the source image and the second background image corresponds to a second cropped portion of the source image (0075, 0205, Choi discloses extracting at least a portion of the entire area of the content to output as a background screen, see position and size of the content to be displayed as the background screen. Graham disclosed adjusting a size, zoom, and orientation of the image when used as a wallpaper).
As for dependent claim 3:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein a size and/or a location of the first cropped portion in relation to the source image is different from a size and/or a location of the second cropped portion in relation to the source image (0075, 0117, Choi discloses adjusting at least one of position / size of the content so the region of interest does not overlap the position where the object is displayed).
As for dependent claim 4:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: receive a third input to adjust a position of the first background image received via the edit screen, based on the visual object region included in the first background image being moved by the third input to be superimposed on the widget object, edit the lock screen for obtaining a third background image using the source image such that the visual object region is positioned away from the widget object moved by the third input (0204, 0205, Graham discloses configurating wallpaper user interface that allows adjusting size, zoom and orientation of the image when the image is used as a wall paper for a wake user interface. See Choi discloses region of interest of the background content, overlap and adjusting the position /size of the content in 0075).
As for dependent claim 5:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 4, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on receiving a fourth input to store the layout adjusted by the second input or the third input, display the lock screen having the stored layout based on a state of at least one processor being switched to a specified state for displaying the lock screen, on the display (0295, Graham discloses that in response to a UI on "Done" the device redisplays the configuration interface reflecting the selected widgets in the preview of the wake screen, see user input on "Add" configuring the wake scree is enabled and the wake screen section is updated to reflect the user-selected wake screen)
As for dependent claim 6:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: determine a position at which the widget is to be displayed using color distribution of pixels included in a preview area of the edit screen among pixels of the second background image; determine a color of the widget using color distribution of the pixels of the second background image corresponding to the determined position (0075, 0205, Choi discloses extracting at least a portion of the entire area of the content to output as a background screen, see configuring).
As for dependent claim 7:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the lock screen includes a first lock screen, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: based on at least one processor being switched to a sleep state, control the display to display a second lock screen including the visual object region and the widget, wherein a portion within the second lock screen different from the visual object region is filled with a specified color (See Choi discloses lock screen and control display in 0075. Also see Graham 0204 and 0205).
As for dependent claim 8:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: control the display to deactivate one or more pixels corresponding to the portion different from the visual object region based on displaying the second lock screen to represent the specified color, the specified color being black (0204, 0205, Graham discloses configurating wallpaper user interface that allows adjusting size, zoom and orientation of the image when the image is used as a wall paper for a wake user interface.
As for dependent claim 9:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: in response to the second input, move a position of the visual object region associated with a subject based on a reference position within the edit screen (0294, Graham discloses user input dragging a widget to a new position within the wake screen being configured).
As for dependent claim 10:
Graham– Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: in response to the second input, adjust a height of the visual object region to a specified height within a preview area in the edit screen of the lock screen (0291, Graham discloses that the user interface configuring the wake screen includes a preview of the wake screen; Choi discloses adjusting the size of the content to be displayed as the background screen in 0075).
As for independent claim 11:Claim 11 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 1 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 12-15, 17:Claims 12-15, 17 contain substantial subject matter as claimed in claims 2-5, 7 and are respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (US 2023/0367452 A1) in view of Choi (US 2023/0297221) in further view of Toudji (US 2023/0367451 A1). As for dependent claim 6:
Graham–Choi do not disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: determine a position at which the widget is to be displayed using color distribution of pixels included in a preview area of the edit screen among pixels of the second background image; determine a color of the widget using color distribution of the pixels of the second background image corresponding to the determined position. Toudji discloses wherein at least one processor individually or collectively, is configured to cause the electronic device to: determine a position at which the widget is to be displayed using color distribution of pixels included in a preview area of the edit screen among pixels of the second background image; determine a color of the widget using color distribution of the pixels of the second background image corresponding to the determined position in 0061, 0094-0095. In the cited sections Toudji discloses determining the color used for the lock screen based on a color prominently included in the background photo and determining element position such that background features are not blocked. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the method of Graham-Choi to incorporate the teaching of Toudji determining the color used for a lock screen based on the background photograph, thus allow the lock screen with a photographic background and superimposed widgets whose position are chosen so that background features are not blocked (Toudji, 0061).
As for dependent claim 16:Claim 16 contains substantial subject matter as claimed in claim 6 and is respectfully rejected along the same rationale.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172