DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments /Remarks filed on 05/29/2026.
In the instant Amendment, claim 1 was cancelled; claims 2, 9 and 16 have been amended; and claims 2, 9 and 16 are independent claims. Claims 2-22 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made FINAL.
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/239,642, entitled "CREDENTIAL ENTRY AND MANAGEMENT," filed August 29, 2023, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/578,202, entitled "CREDENTIAL ENTRY AND MANAGEMENT," filed January 18, 2022, now U.S. Patent No. 11,784,992, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/773,584, entitled "CREDENTIAL ENTRY AND MANAGEMENT," filed January 27, 2020, now U.S. Patent No. 11,228,576, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/111,042, entitled "CREDENTIAL ENTRY AND MANAGEMENT," filed August 23, 2018, now U.S. Patent No. 10,567,365, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 14/869,974, entitled "CREDENTIAL ENTRY AND MANAGEMENT," filed September 29, 2015, now U.S. Patent No. 10,079,815, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 62/172,220, entitled "CREDENTIAL ENTRY AND MANAGEMENT," filed June 7, 2015.
Response to Arguments
Examiner maintains the rejected non statutory DP as the applicant held in obeyance until the presence of allowable subject matter is indicated.
Applicant’s arguments, see the Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 05/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Lurey et al. (hereinafter Lurey), Pub. No.: US 20140157390 has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lurey et al. (hereinafter Lurey), Pub. No.: US 20140157390 in view of Choi et al. (Hereinafter Choi),
Pub. No.: US 2014/0230045.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No.US 12,149,518. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both patent applications relate to computer user interfaces, and more specifically to techniques for credential entry and management.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lurey et al. (hereinafter Lurey), Pub. No.: US 20140157390 in view of Choi et al. (Hereinafter Choi),
Pub. No.: US 2014/0230045.
Referring to claim 2, Lurey teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a display (abstract, displaying…);
one or more processors (fig. 1, processor 18);
memory (fig. 1, memory device 24, 26); and
one or more programs stored in memory, the one or more programs including instructions for (para. 0010, executable program):
displaying, via the display, a restricted resource for accessing secure content, wherein the restricted resource includes a credential entry field (abstract; paras.0049, 0052, 0056, fig. 2, an interactive window 102 for the entry of a master password).
Lurey does not explicitly disclose while displaying the restricted resource that includes the credential entry field, detecting an input directed to a graphical object, wherein the graphical object is an affordance for searching one or more stored credentials;
in response to detecting the input directed to the graphical object, displaying a search field for searching one or more stored credentials.
However, in an analogous art, Choi discloses while displaying the restricted resource that includes the credential entry field, detecting an input directed to a graphical object, wherein the graphical object is an affordance for searching one or more stored credentials (Choi: para. 0038 and fig. 3, Regardless, the selected graphical object(s) and associated user interaction(s) will be compared against authentication credentials previously provided/stored. If a match is determined to exist, computerized device 12 will be unlocked and access to user 74 may be granted.); and
in response to detecting the input directed to the graphical object, displaying a search field for searching one or more stored credentials (Choi: para. 0038 and fig. 3, selected graphical object(s) and associated user interaction(s) will be compared against authentication credentials previously provided/store).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to combine the teachings of Lurey with the method and system of Choi, wherein while displaying the restricted resource that includes the credential entry field, detecting an input directed to a graphical object, wherein the graphical object is an affordance for searching one or more stored credentials; in response to detecting the input directed to the graphical object, displaying a search field for searching one or more stored credentials to provide users with a means for access control for computerized/electronic devices. Specifically, embodiments of the present invention relate to graphical object-based user authentication for computerized devices (e.g., handheld devices, etc.) (Choi: para. 0001).
Referring to claim 3, Lurey and Choi teach the electronic device of claim 2. Lurecy further taches wherein displaying the search field includes: displaying, via the display, a credential-assistance user interface, wherein the credential- assistance user interface includes a representation of an identifier associated with the one or more stored credentials (Lurey: abstract, paras. 0002-0003, 0059-0060 and fig. 2).
Referring to claim 4, Lurey and Choi teach the electronic device of claim 3. Lurecy further taches wherein the identifier is a username (Lurey: para. 0073, box 410, identifier of the name of a website, bank or credit account).
Referring to claim 5, Lurey and Choi teach the electronic device of claim 4. Lurey further teaches wherein the credential-assistance user interface is displayed in a user interface region that is separate from the credential entry field (Lurey: para. 0042, a separate subject matter).
Referring to claim 6, Lurey and Choi teach the electronic device of claim 2. Lurey further teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the search field for searching one or more stored credentials, receiving text input in the search field; and subsequent to receiving the text input in the search field, initiating a process for searching the one or more stored credentials for a credential corresponding to the received text input (Lurey: abstract, paras. 0058-0060 and fig. 3, 204).
Referring to claim 7, Lurey and Choi teach the electronic device of claim 2. Lurey further teaches wherein the credential entry field is a password field (Lurey: abstract, paras. 0059-0062 and fig, 2-4; password entry field).
Referring to claim 8, Lurey and Choi teach the electronic device of claim 2. Lurey further teaches wherein the restricted resource is a web page (Lurey: abstract, paras. 0106-0107URL or website and fig. 14).
Referring to claim 9, This claim is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 10, This claim is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 11, This claim is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 12, This claim is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 13, This claim is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 14, This claim is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 15, This claim is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 16, This claim is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 17, This claim is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 18, This claim is and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 19, This claim is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 20, This claim is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 21, This claim is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 22, This claim is similar in scope to claim 8, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 06/23/2026