DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “at least one of the following is true” is indefinite. “Is true” describes a logical condition, not structure. Claims should define what the antenna module includes, not whether a statement about it is “true” This introduces logical uncertainty about the required structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (US 20160072189) in view of LI et al. (US 20210376459).
Regarding claim 1:
Tong et al. disclose (in Figs. 1-2 and 5-6) an antenna module (50), comprising: a radiating element (5140) and a ground element (5230) that are stacked (See Figs.); and a feed element (5210, 5220), wherein the feed element (5210, 5220) is a transmission line structure (defined a CPWG; Para. 0010, Lines 1-2; Para. 0055, Lines 2-4) formed on an insulation support (300); in a first direction (vertically; See Figs.), the feed element (5210, 5220) is located on a side that is of the ground element (5230) and that is away from the radiating element (5140); the feed element (5210, 5220) comprises a feed transmission part (5210) and a ground part (5220); the feed transmission part (5210) is separated and insulated from the ground part (5220); a width of the feed transmission part (5210) comprises a first width (defined by the dimension of 5210 along the lateral side of 5140); a width of the ground part (5220) comprises a second width (defined by the dimension of 5220 along the lateral side of 5140); the width of the feed transmission part (5210) is a dimension of the feed transmission part (5210; See Figs.) in a direction perpendicular to an extension path (defined by 210 in Fig. 1) of the feed transmission part (5210); and the width of the ground part (5220) is a dimension of the ground part (5220) in a direction perpendicular to an extension path (defined by 220 in Fig. 1) of the ground part (5220; See Figs.).
Tong et al. are silent on that the first width is not equal to the second width.
LI et al. disclose (in Figs. 2 and 3) a width of the feed transmission part (131) comprises a first width (See Figs.); a width of the ground part (133) comprises a second width (See Figs.); the first width is not equal to the second width (See Figs.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the first width of the feed transmission part is not equal to the second width the ground part as taught in the figures of LI et al. into the device of Tong et al. for the benefit of adjusting the impedance matching of the antenna feed for optimized power transfer in the device.
Regarding claim 7:
Tong et al. disclose the feed transmission part (5210) and the ground part (5220) are coplanar (Para. 0010, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 8:
Tong et al. (in Figs. 1-2 and 5) are silent on that a plane on which the feed transmission part is located and a plane on which the ground part is located are not coplanar, the feed transmission part and the ground part are disposed opposite to each other in a third direction, the third direction is perpendicular to a second direction, and the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
However, Tong et al. disclose, in the embodiment of Fig. 6, a plane on which the feed transmission part (6110) is located and a plane on which the ground part (6220) is located are not coplanar (see Fig. 6), the feed transmission part (6110) and the ground part (6220) are disposed opposite to each other in a third direction, the third direction is perpendicular to a second direction, and the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction (See Fig. 6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tong in the embodiment of Fig. 6 and modify the embodiment of Tong in Fig. 5 for the benefit of enduring through the bent structure better hold of the antenna when it is being mounted on the PCB and when it is being fixed to the PCB, for example by soldering (Para. 0054, Lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 9:
Tong et al. disclose the feed transmission part (5210) comprises a first feed end and a second feed end, the first feed end is electrically connected to the radiating element (5140), and the second feed end is configured to electrically connect to a radio frequency chip (940, 945, and 948 in Fig. 9) on a mainboard (9300) of a communication device (900); and from the first feed end to the second feed end, the feed transmission part extends in equal widths (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10:
Tong et al. disclose the feed transmission part (5210) comprises a first feed end and a second feed end, the first feed end is electrically connected to the radiating element (5140), and the second feed end is configured to electrically connect to a radio frequency chip (940, 945, and 948 in Fig. 9) on a mainboard (9300) of a communication device (900); and (in Fig. 1) from the first feed end to the second feed end, a part of the feed transmission part (210) extends in equal widths, and a part of the feed transmission part extends in unequal widths (211; See Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 11:
Tong et al. disclose the feed transmission part (5210) comprises a first feed end and a second feed end, the first feed end is electrically connected to the radiating element (5140), and the second feed end is configured to electrically connect to a radio frequency chip (940, 945, and 948 in Fig. 9) on a mainboard (9300) of a communication device (900); and from the first feed end to the second feed end, the feed transmission part (5210) extends in equal widths (See Fig. 5); and (in Fig. 1) the ground part (220) comprises a first ground end and a second ground end, the first ground end is electrically connected to the ground element (230), and the second ground end is configured to electrically connect to a ground on the mainboard (300) of the communication device (10); and from the first ground end to the second ground end, a part of the ground part (220) extends in equal widths (long 220), and a part of the ground part extends in unequal widths (along 221).
Regarding claim 12:
Tong et al. disclose (in Figs. 1-2 and 9) the ground part (120) comprises a first ground end (along 220) and a second ground end (along 221), the first ground end (along 220) is electrically connected to the ground element (230), and the second ground end (along 221) is configured to electrically connect to a ground on a mainboard (300) of a communication device (10); and from the first ground end (along 220) to the second ground end (along 221), the ground part extends in equal widths (See Figs.); and the feed transmission part (110) comprises a first feed end (along 210) and a second feed end (along 211), the first feed end (along 210) is electrically connected to the radiating element (140), and the second feed end (along 211) is configured to electrically connect to a radio frequency chip (940, 945, and 948 in Fig. 9) on the mainboard (9300) of the communication device (900); and from the first feed end to the first feed end, a part of the feed transmission part extends in equal widths (See Figs.), and a part of the feed transmission part (110) extends in unequal widths (along 210 and 211).
Regarding claim 20:
Tong et al. disclose (in Figs. 4A, 4B, 5, 6, 8A, 8B and 9) a communication device (900), comprising a radio frequency chip (disposed on 9300) and an antenna module (defined by 910, 915, 920, 925, 930 and 935), wherein the antenna module (defined by 910, 915, 920, 925, 930 and 935) is electrically connected to the radio frequency chip (940, 945, and 948); and the antenna module (defined by 910, 915, 920, 925, 930 and 935) comprises: a radiating element (5140) and a ground element (5230) that are stacked (See Figs.); and a feed element (5210, 5220), wherein the feed element (5210, 5220) is a transmission line structure (defined a CPWG; Para. 0010, Lines 1-2; Para. 0055, Lines 2-4) formed on an insulation support (300); in a first direction (vertically; See Figs.), the feed element (5210, 5220) is located on a side that is of the ground element (5230) and that is away from the radiating element (5140); the feed element (5210, 5220) comprises a feed transmission part (5210) and a ground part (5220); the feed transmission part (5210) is separated and insulated from the ground part (5220); a width of the feed transmission part (5210) comprises a first width (defined by the dimension of 5210 along the lateral side of 5140); a width of the ground part (5220) comprises a second width (defined by the dimension of 5220 along the lateral side of 5140); the width of the feed transmission part (5210) is a dimension of the feed transmission part (5210; See Figs.) in a direction perpendicular to an extension path of the feed transmission part (5210); and the width of the ground part (5220) is a dimension of the ground part (5220) in a direction perpendicular to an extension path of the ground part (5220; See Figs.).
Tong et al. are silent on that the first width is not equal to the second width.
LI et al. disclose (in Figs. 2 and 3) a width of the feed transmission part (131) comprises a first width (See Figs.); a width of the ground part (133) comprises a second width (See Figs.); the first width is not equal to the second width (See Figs.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the first width of the feed transmission part is not equal to the second width the ground part as taught in the figures of LI et al. into the device of Tong et al. for the benefit of adjusting the impedance matching of the antenna feed for optimized power transfer in the device.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (US 20160072189) in view of LI et al. (US 20210376459) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Vollmer et al. (US 20180337462).
Regarding claim 2:
Tong as modified is silent on that on the extension path of the feed transmission part, an electrical length of the feed transmission part is between 0.3λ and 0.7λ, inclusively and λ is a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave of the radiating element in a resonant state.
Vollmer et al. disclose on the extension path of the feed transmission part, an electrical length of the feed transmission part is between 0.3λ and 0.7λ, inclusively and λ is a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave of the radiating element in a resonant state (Para. 0020, Lines 1-4; Para. 0033, Lines 1-2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an electrical length of the feed transmission part is between 0.3λ and 0.7λ as taught by Vollmer et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of achieving the predetermined resonant frequency range and thus the center frequency resonant frequency range and thus the center frequency (Para. 0025, Lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3:
Tong et al. disclose the extension path (defined by 210 in Fig. 1) of the feed transmission part (5210) and the extension path (defined by 220 in Fig. 1) of the ground part (5220) form an architecture of double parallel lines (See Figs.).
Regarding claim 4:
Tong as modified is silent on that a total electrical length of the feed transmission part in a second direction is between 0.15λ and 0.35λ, inclusively, λ is a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave of the radiating element in a resonant state, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction.
Vollme et al. disclose a total electrical length of the feed transmission part in a second direction is between 0.15λ and 0.35λ, inclusively, λ is a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave of the radiating element in a resonant state, and the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Para. 0019, Lines 4-6)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an electrical length of the feed transmission part is between 0.3λ and 0.7λ as taught by Vollmer et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of achieving the predetermined resonant frequency range and thus the center frequency resonant frequency range and thus the center frequency (Para. 0025, Lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 5 and 6:
Tong as modified is silent on that at least two transmission lines that are of the feed transmission part and that extend in the second direction are collinear as required by claim 5; and at least two transmission lines that are of the feed transmission part and that extend in the second direction comprise at least two transmission line segments, and the at least two transmission line segments are connected to each other through a transmission line that extends in the first direction as required by claim 6.
Vollme et al. disclose (in Figs. 16A, 16B) at least two transmission lines (51, 52) that are of the feed transmission part (31, 32) and that extend in the second direction (horizontally) are collinear (See Fig. 1); (in Figs. 16A, 16B) at least two transmission lines (51, 52) that are of the feed transmission part (31, 32) and that extend in the second direction (horizontally) comprise at least two transmission line segments (see Fig. 16A), and the at least two transmission line (51, 52) segments are connected to each other through a transmission line (61) that extends in the first direction (vertically).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the implement the at least two transmission lines that are of the feed transmission part and that extend in the second direction are collinear and comprise at least two transmission line segments, and the at least two transmission line segments are connected to each other through a transmission line that extends in the first direction as taught by Vollmer et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of feeding the two polarizations into the antenna (Para. 0046, Lines 1-4) for adaptation of the impedance of the antenna can take place (Para. 0049, Lines 1-4).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (US 20160072189) in view of LI et al. (US 20210376459) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yun et al. (US 20200295454).
Regarding claim 13:
Tong as modified are silent on that the antenna module comprises a first plate and a second plate; the first plate comprises a first layer and a second layer that are stacked, the radiating element is located at the first layer, and the ground element is located at the second layer; and the second plate is the insulation support, the second plate comprises a first edge and a second edge that are disposed opposite to each other and a cabling layer, the cabling layer is located between the first edge and the second edge, the second plate is located on a side of the first plate, the first edge is connected to the first plate, the feed element is disposed at the cabling layer, and an included angle is formed between the cabling layer and the first layer.
Yun et al. disclose (in Fig. 4B) the antenna module (246) comprises a first plate (411) and a second plate (413); the first plate (411) comprises a first layer (defined by 436) and a second layer (defined by 433) that are stacked (See Fig.), the radiating element (436) is located at the first layer (411), and the ground element (433) is located at the second layer (defined by 433); and the second plate (413) is the insulation support (See Fig.), the second plate (413) comprises a first edge and a second edge that are disposed opposite to each other (See Fig.) and a cabling layer (423), the cabling layer (423) is located between the first edge and the second edge (See Fig.), the second plate (413) is located on a side of the first plate (411), the first edge is connected to the first plate (411), the feed element (425) is disposed at the cabling layer (423), and an included angle (defined as a right angle) is formed between the cabling layer (423) and the first layer (defined by 436).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a first plate and a second plate; the first plate comprises a first layer and a second layer that are stacked, the radiating element is located at the first layer, and the ground element is located at the second layer; and the second plate is the insulation support, the second plate comprises a first edge and a second edge that are disposed opposite to each other and a cabling layer, the cabling layer is located between the first edge and the second edge, the second plate is located on a side of the first plate, the first edge is connected to the first plate, the feed element is disposed at the cabling layer, and an included angle is formed between the cabling layer and the first layer as taught by Yun et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of providing an antenna having an improved isolation property to operate in a wide bandwidth and preventing a radiation efficiency from being reduced, and an electronic device including the same (Para. 0010, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14:
Tong as modified are silent on that the ground part is electrically connected to the ground element through a connection between the first edge and the first plate, a connection structure is disposed at a joint between the first plate and the second plate, and the connection structure is configured to implement an electrical connection between the feed transmission part and the radiating element.
Yun et al. disclose the ground part (435) is electrically connected to the ground element (defined by 433) through a connection between the first edge and the first plate (411), a connection structure (429) is disposed at a joint between the first plate (411) and the second plate (413), and the connection structure (429) is configured to implement an electrical connection between the feed transmission part (defined by 423) and the radiating element (436).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ground part is electrically connected to the ground element through a connection between the first edge and the first plate, a connection structure is disposed at a joint between the first plate and the second plate, and the connection structure is configured to implement an electrical connection between the feed transmission part and the radiating element as taught by Yun et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of improving the isolation property in the operating frequency band, but also expand the bandwidth without reducing the radiation efficiency (Para. 0135, Lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 15:
Tong as modified are silent on that the first plate is provided with a hole that penetrates the first layer and the second layer, the second plate comprises a plug structure protruding from the first edge, at least a part of the plug structure is located in the hole, the connection structure comprises the hole and the plug structure, the connection structure further comprises a conductive connecting part, and the conductive connecting part is electrically connected between the radiating element and the feed transmission part.
Yun et al. disclose the first plate (411) is provided with a hole (along 427, 429, and 423) that penetrates the first layer (defined by 436) and the second layer (defined by 433), the second plate (413) comprises a plug structure (440) protruding from the first edge (See Fig.), at least a part of the plug structure (440) is located in the hole (along 427, 429, and 423), the connection structure (429) comprises the hole (along 427, 429, and 423) and the plug structure (440), the connection structure (429) further comprises a conductive connecting part (defined by 429), and the conductive connecting part (defined by 429) is electrically connected between the radiating element (436) and the feed transmission part (defined by 423).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first plate is provided with a hole that penetrates the first layer and the second layer, the second plate comprises a plug structure protruding from the first edge, at least a part of the plug structure is located in the hole, the connection structure comprises the hole and the plug structure, the connection structure further comprises a conductive connecting part, and the conductive connecting part is electrically connected between the radiating element and the feed transmission part as taught by Yun et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of improving the isolation property in the operating frequency band, but also expand the bandwidth without reducing the radiation efficiency (Para. 0135, Lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 16:
Tong as modified are silent on that the hole is a through hole, the hole comprises a first open end and a second open end, the plug structure is plugged into the hole from the first open end, and the conductive connecting part is welded onto the radiating element from a side of the second open end.
Yun et al. disclose the hole (along 427, 429, and 423) is a through hole, the hole (along 427, 429, and 423) comprises a first open end (at 440-1) and a second open end (at 427), the plug structure (440) is plugged into the hole (along 427, 429, and 423) from the first open end (at 440-1), and the conductive connecting part (defined by 429) is welded onto the radiating element (438) from a side of the second open end (at 427).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the hole is a through hole, the hole comprises a first open end and a second open end, the plug structure is plugged into the hole from the first open end, and the conductive connecting part is welded onto the radiating element from a side of the second open end as taught by Yun et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of improving the isolation property in the operating frequency band, but also expand the bandwidth without reducing the radiation efficiency (Para. 0135, Lines 11-13).
Regarding claim 17:
Tong as modified are silent on that the first layer is a top surface of the first plate, the second layer is a bottom surface of the first plate, the first open end is located on the bottom surface, and the second open end is located on the top surface.
Yun et al. disclose the first layer (defined by 436) is a top surface of the first plate (411), the second layer (defined by 433) is a bottom surface of the first plate (411), the first open end (at 440-1) is located on the bottom surface, and the second open end (at 427) is located on the top surface (See Fig.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the first layer is a top surface of the first plate, the second layer is a bottom surface of the first plate, the first open end is located on the bottom surface, and the second open end is located on the top surface as taught by Yun et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of improving the isolation property in the operating frequency band, but also expand the bandwidth without reducing the radiation efficiency (Para. 0135, Lines 11-13).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong et al. (US 20160072189) in view of LI et al. (US 20210376459) and Yun et al. (US 20200295454) as applied to claims 1 and 13 and further in view of Watson et al. (US 20180342807).
Regarding claim 18:
Tong as modified are silent on that the second edge of the second plate is connected to a mainboard of a communication device, the ground part of the feed element is electrically connected to a grounding plane on the mainboard, and the feed transmission part is electrically connected to a radio frequency chip on the mainboard through a transmission line disposed on the mainboard.
Watson et al. disclose (Figs. 1, 3, 4A, 4B, 4C, 5A, 5B and 5C) the second edge of the second plate (313) is connected to a mainboard (115 in Fig. 1) of a communication device (100), the ground part of the feed element (defined by 512) is electrically connected to a grounding plane (on 115) on the mainboard (115), and the feed transmission part (420) is electrically connected to a radio frequency chip (140) on the mainboard (115 in Fig. 1) through a transmission line disposed on the mainboard (115 in Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second edge of the second plate is connected to a mainboard of a communication device, the ground part of the feed element is electrically connected to a grounding plane on the mainboard, and the feed transmission part is electrically connected to a radio frequency chip on the mainboard through a transmission line disposed on the mainboard as taught by Watson et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of increasing the capacity of a MIMO antennal; efficiently use available real estate and space; reduce the size of an antenna required; reduce gain at boresight; and detect a wide range of RF signals (Para. 0073, Lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 19:
Tong as modified are silent on that a first primary antenna is disposed on the second plate, the radiating element, the ground element, and the feed element form a second primary antenna, a resonance frequency of the first primary antenna is a first frequency, a resonance frequency of the second primary antenna is a second frequency, and the second frequency is higher than the first frequency.
Watson et al. disclose (in Figs. 3, 4A, 4B, 4C, 5A, 5B and 5C) a first primary antenna (310) is disposed on the second plate (312), the radiating element (314), the ground element(520), and the feed element (512) form a second primary antenna (320), a resonance frequency of the first primary antenna (310) is a first frequency (e.g. 2.4GHz), a resonance frequency of the second primary antenna (320) is a second frequency (5GHz), and the second frequency is higher than the first frequency (Para. 0008, Lines 3-6).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a first primary antenna is disposed on the second plate, the radiating element, the ground element, and the feed element form a second primary antenna, a resonance frequency of the first primary antenna is a first frequency, a resonance frequency of the second primary antenna is a second frequency, and the second frequency is higher than the first frequency as taught by Watson et al. into the modified device of Tong for the benefit of increasing the capacity of a MIMO antennal; efficiently use available real estate and space; reduce the size of an antenna required; reduce gain at boresight; and detect a wide range of RF signals (Para. 0073, Lines 6-8).
Conclusion
/BAMIDELE A IMMANUEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845