DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2024/0028151) in view of Chen (US 2024/0310947).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a touch display device (para. 37) comprising:
a touch sensor (110, fig. 1-2) including a plurality of first touch electrodes (120, fig. 2) and a plurality of second touch electrodes (120, fig. 2); and
a touch driving circuit (140 in figs. 1, 4 and 6) configured to supply a touch driving signal (Pch and PTx in fig. 18) to the touch sensor during a touch sensing mode period (including P1 and P3 in fig. 18),
wherein the touch sensing mode period comprises:
a first touch sensing mode period (P3 in fig. 18) in which a first touch driving signal (PTx in fig. 18) is applied to the touch sensor as the touch driving signal (see S21-S26 in fig. 15A), and
a second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 18) in which a second touch driving signal (Pch in fig. 18) is applied to the touch sensor as the touch driving signal (see S311-S312 in fig. 15A),
wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 18), the touch driving circuit supplies the second touch driving signal to a part of the touch sensor (Pch on Pad4 in fig. 18) and supplies a driving signal (Pch on Pad5-Pad7 in fig. 18) to another part of the touch sensor (para. 96-97),
wherein the second touch sensing mode period is a self-sensing mode period (para. 95; see P1).
Lin fails to disclose wherein the driving signal is an auxiliary driving signal.
Chen discloses wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (see first time point in para. 75), the touch driving circuit (20, fig. 9) supplies the second touch driving signal (see touch scanning signal in para. 75) to a part of the touch sensor (10, fig. 9) and supplies an auxiliary driving signal (see auxiliary signal in para. 75) to another part (51, fig. 9) of the touch sensor (para. 75), and wherein the second touch sensing mode period is a self-sensing mode period (para. 74).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Chen in the device of Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the charging efficiency of the touch electrodes (Chen; para. 75).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses wherein the touch driving circuit outputs an external auxiliary driving signal input from outside as the driving signal (Pch applied to 122 and 126 in fig. 4 as produced by controller 140), and the external auxiliary driving signal and the second touch driving signal have a same phase (see fig. 18; wherein Pch for both Pad4 and Pad5 have the same phase during P1).
Chen discloses wherein the driving signal is an auxiliary driving signal (see auxiliary driving signal in para. 75). The rationale to combine is the same as stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses wherein the touch driving circuit generates an internal auxiliary driving signal based on a reference driving signal input from outside (Pch applied to 122 and 126 fig. 4 as produced by controller 140) and outputs the internal auxiliary driving signal as the driving signal (Pch in fig. 6), and the internal auxiliary driving signal and the second touch driving signal have a same phase (see fig. 18; wherein Pch for both Pad4 and Pad5 have the same phase during P1).
Chen discloses wherein the driving signal is an auxiliary driving signal (see auxiliary driving signal in para. 75). The rationale to combine is the same as stated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses wherein, during the first touch sensing mode period (P3 in fig. 15A), the plurality of first touch electrodes are electrically separated and the plurality of second touch electrodes are electrically separated ) (see Pad4-Pad7 in fig. 19A and para. 98),
wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 15A), two or more first touch electrodes among the plurality of first touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other(see fig. 7A and para. 62), or two or more second touch electrodes among the plurality of second touch electrodes are electrically connected to each other (see fig. 7A and para. 62).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses wherein, during the first touch sensing mode period (P3, fig. 18), the first touch driving signal is applied to at least one of the plurality of first touch electrodes (see PTx as applied to capacitance sensors Pad4-Pad7 in fig. 18-19) or at least one of the plurality of second touch electrodes (see PTx as applied to capacitance sensors Pad4-Pad7 in fig. 18-19),
wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (P3 in fig. 18), the second touch driving signal is applied commonly to two or more first touch electrodes among the plurality of first touch electrodes (see Pch applied to all capacitance sensors 120 in Pad1-Pad7 in fig. 18-19), or is applied commonly to two or more second touch electrodes among the plurality of second touch electrodes (see Pch applied to all capacitance sensors 120 in Pad1-Pad7 in fig. 18-19).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses wherein the first touch sensing mode period is a contact mode period during which a contact touch that has contacted a screen is sensed (see 3D gesture sensing in fig. 18 and para. 96-97), and the second touch sensing mode period is a hover mode period during which a non-contact touch that has not contacted the screen is sensed (para. 47, 51),
wherein the first touch driving signal includes first pulses having a first amplitude during the first touch sensing mode period (see PTx in fig. 18), and the second touch driving signal includes second pulses having a second amplitude during the second touch sensing mode period (see Pch in fig. 18), wherein the second amplitude is different from the first amplitude, or a number of the second pulses is different from a number of the first pulses (see fig. 18, wherein the number of pulses are different).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses wherein an operating period of the touch display device includes: a display mode period during which an image is displayed (see P0 in fig. 18); and
a touch sensing mode period including the first touch sensing mode period and the second touch sensing mode period (see P1 and P3 in fig. 18),
wherein the display mode period, the first touch sensing mode period, and the second touch sensing mode period are defined by a first mode control signal and a second mode control signal having different signal waveforms (see multiple display-related signals in para. 95, which are different control signals having different waveforms throughout display and touch driving).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses a touch driving circuit (fig. 1-2) for driving a plurality of touch electrodes including a plurality of first touch electrodes (102, fig. 2) and a plurality of second touch electrodes (120, fig. 2), the touch driving circuit comprising:
a first touch driving signal output circuit (110, fig. 2) configured to supply a first touch driving signal (PTx in fig. 18) to each of the plurality of first touch electrodes (see capacitive sensor 120 located in Pad4 in fig. 18-19) during a first touch sensing mode period (P3 in fig. 18);
a sensing circuit (110, fig. 2) configured to supply a second touch driving signal (Pch, fig. 18) to two or more first touch electrodes (S311-S312 in fig. 15A) or two or more second touch electrodes among the plurality of second touch electrodes among the plurality of touch electrodes (S311-S312 in fig. 15A) during a second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 18); and
an auxiliary driving signal output circuit (110, fig. 2) configured to supply, during the second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 18), an driving signal to two or more touch electrodes (Pch on Pad5-Pad7 in fig. 18) to which the second touch driving signal is not applied among the plurality of touch electrodes (see para. 96-98).
wherein the second touch sensing mode period is a self-sensing mode period (para. 95; see P1).
Lin fails to disclose wherein the driving signal is an auxiliary driving signal.
Chen discloses wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (see first time point in para. 75), the touch driving circuit (20, fig. 9) supplies the second touch driving signal (see touch scanning signal in para. 75) to a part of the touch sensor (10, fig. 9) and supplies an auxiliary driving signal (see auxiliary signal in para. 75) to another part (51, fig. 9) of the touch sensor (para. 75), and wherein the second touch sensing mode period is a self-sensing mode period (para. 74).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Chen in the device of Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the charging efficiency of the touch electrodes (Chen; para. 75).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chen in further view King (US 201/0338964).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses a touch display device (para. 37) comprising:
a touch sensor (110, fig. 1-2) including a plurality of first touch electrodes (120, fig. 2) and a plurality of second touch electrodes (120, fig. 2); and
a touch driving circuit (140 in figs. 1, 4 and 6) configured to supply a touch driving signal (Pch and PTx in fig. 18) to the touch sensor during a touch sensing mode period (including P1 and P3 in fig. 18),
wherein the touch sensing mode period comprises:
a first touch sensing mode period (P3 in fig. 18) in which a first touch driving signal (PTx in fig. 18) is applied to the touch sensor as the touch driving signal (see S21-S26 in fig. 15A), and
a second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 18) in which a second touch driving signal (Pch in fig. 18) is applied to the touch sensor as the touch driving signal S311-S312 in fig. 15A),
wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (P1 in fig. 18), the touch driving circuit supplies the second touch driving signal to a part of the touch sensor (Pch on Pad4 in fig. 18) and supplies a driving signal (Pch on Pad5-Pad7 in fig. 18) to another part of the touch sensor (para. 96-97),
wherein the second touch sensing mode period is a self-sensing mode period (para. 95; see P1).
Lin fails to disclose wherein the driving signal is an auxiliary driving signal.
Chen discloses wherein, during the second touch sensing mode period (see first time point in para. 75), the touch driving circuit (20, fig. 9) supplies the second touch driving signal (see touch scanning signal in para. 75) to a part of the touch sensor (10, fig. 9) and supplies an auxiliary driving signal (see auxiliary signal in para. 75) to another part (51, fig. 9) of the touch sensor (para. 75), and wherein the second touch sensing mode period is a self-sensing mode period (para. 74).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of Chen in the device of Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the charging efficiency of the touch electrodes (Chen; para. 75).
Additionally, Lin fails to disclose wherein the first touch driving signal has a first amplitude and the second touch driving signal has a second amplitude greater than the first amplitude.
King discloses a firs couch driving signal having a first amplitude and a second touch driving signal having a second amplitude greater than the first amplitude (see claims 1-3 on page 13; wherein one area of the touch device is operated in touch sensing mode with driving signal having a first amplitude and second area of the touch device is operated in hover sensing mode with second driving signal having a second amplitude, wherein the second amplitude is higher resulting in greater sensitivity when detecting hover touches).
When the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the teachings of King in the device of Lin. The motivation for doing so would have been to have increased sensitivity in the hover sensing mode to accurately detect hover touches on the device (King; see claims 1-3 on page 13; wherein e.g. hover touches are located farther from the device than actual touches, resulting in the need for increased sensitivity to detect the hover touches accurately).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. See new citations above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBIN J MISHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628