DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 04/27/2026, the following is a Final Office Action for Application No. 18950980.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on: 18950980 filed 11/18/2024 is a Continuation of 17872713 , filed 07/25/2022 ,now U.S. Patent # 12175399 and having 1 RCE-type filing therein; 17872713 is a Continuation of 17146404 , filed 01/11/2021, now abandoned; 17146404 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62959518 , filed 01/10/2020.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered. Applicant’s Terminal Disclaimer filed and approved 04/27/2026 to the claims overcome the Double Patenting rejection, and hence the Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
As per the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the claims are in favor of eligibility per Prong One of Step 2A, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion) and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules of instructions). Since the recitation of the claims falls into at least one of the above Groupings, there is a basis for providing further analysis with regard to Prong Two of Step 2A to determine whether the recitation of an abstract idea is deduced to being directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the claims are in favor of eligibility per Prong Two of Step 2A, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The computer, processor and/or memory media is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic processor server limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, computer, processor and/or memory media to inter alia perform the function of activating an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. In other words, the present claims use a generic processing device and memory medium to inter alia perform the function of activating an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options which is a concept that can be performed in the human mind. The processor is merely used to perform the function(s), and the processor does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application since there are no meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the claims are in favor of eligibility per Step 2B, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Therein, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: computer, processor and/or memory media. Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, computer, processor and/or memory media to inter alia perform the function of activating an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure. Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include the non-limiting or non-exclusive examples of MPEP § 2106.05. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
In an effort to further expedite prosecution, see: Appendix 1 to the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, Life Sciences & Data Processing Examples, October 2019 30, Example 46. Livestock Management. Per claim 1 of Example 46, the memory, display and processor are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that they are a memory, display and processor) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. As an exemplary direction for similar claim limitations to be eligible, see claims 2-4 of Example 46.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In adhering to the 2019 PEG, Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process or machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2. Step 2 is the two-part analysis from Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test). The 2019 PEG makes two changes in Step 2A: It sets forth new procedure for Step 2A (called “revised Step 2A”) under which a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception unless the claim satisfies a two-prong inquiry. The two-prong inquiry is as follows: Prong One: evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If claim recites an exception, then Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract idea indicated by non-boldface font and additional limitations indicated by boldface font:
A method for creating and assigning one or more virtual assistants, comprising: identifying, by a computer comprising a processor and memory, one or more roles in a target environment, wherein the one or more roles correspond to one or more human experts; defining, by the computer, one or more tasks and one or more domains associated with each of the one or more roles; creating, by the computer, a virtual assistant persona for each of the one or more roles; assigning, by the computer, the one or more defined tasks and the one or more defined domains to the one or more virtual assistant personas; and in response to receiving an input from a worker, assigning, by the computer, one of the virtual assistant personas to interact with the worker, wherein a role of the assigned virtual assistant persona is supervisory to the worker; and activating, by the assigned virtual assistant persona, an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options to navigate along data and respond to a conversational dialogue according to defined relationships.
[or]
A non-transitory computer-readable storage media embodied with software for creating and assigning one or more virtual assistants, the software when executed using one or more computers is configured to: identifying one or more roles in a target environment, wherein the one or more roles correspond to one or more human experts; defining one or more tasks and one or more domains associated with each of the one or more roles; creating a virtual assistant persona for each of the one or more roles; assigning the one or more defined tasks and the one or more defined domains to the one or more virtual assistant personas; and in response to receiving an input from a worker, assigning one of the virtual assistant personas to interact with the worker, wherein a role of the assigned virtual assistant persona is supervisory to the worker; and activating, by the assigned virtual assistant persona, an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options to navigate along data and respond to a conversational dialogue according to defined relationships.
[or]
A system for creating and assigning one or more virtual assistants, comprising: a computer comprising a memory and a processor and configured to: identifying one or more roles in a target environment, wherein the one or more roles correspond to one or more human experts; defining one or more tasks and one or more domains associated with each of the one or more roles; creating a virtual assistant persona for each of the one or more roles; assigning the one or more defined tasks and the one or more defined domains to the one or more virtual assistant personas; and in response to receiving an input from a worker, assigning one of the virtual assistant personas to interact with the worker, wherein a role of the assigned virtual assistant persona is supervisory to the worker; and activating, by the assigned virtual assistant persona, an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options to navigate along data and respond to a conversational dialogue according to defined relationships.
Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion) and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules of instructions). Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The computer, processor and/or memory media is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic computer, processor and/or memory media limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, activating, by the virtual assistant, an interactive display device that compensates for the limitations of the natural language input by a computer, processor and/or memory media is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B. Therein, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: computer, processor and memory media. Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, activating, by the virtual assistant, an interactive display device that compensates for the limitations of the natural language input by a computer, processor and/or memory media is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure at ¶0026 wherein “one or more interactive display devices 120 comprise one or more processors 202, memory 204, one or more sensors 206, and may include any suitable input device 208, output device 210, fixed or removable computer-readable storage media, or the like”. Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples: i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d));
iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or
v. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook. The courts have recognized the following computer functions inter alia to be well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations; receiving, processing, and storing data (e.g., the present claims); electronically scanning or extracting data; electronic recordkeeping; automating mental tasks (e.g., process/machine/manufacture for performing the present claims); and receiving or transmitting data (e.g., the present claims). The dependent claims do not cure the above stated deficiencies, and in particular, the dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea without reciting additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or providing significantly more than the abstract idea. Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101. Thus, viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erhart et al. (US 20170282362 A1) hereinafter referred to as Erhart in view of Yao et al. (US 20130346339 A1) hereinafter referred to as Yao in further view of Poltorak (US 20170221484 A1) hereinafter referred to as Poltorak.
Erhart teaches:
Claim 1. A method for creating and assigning one or more virtual assistants, comprising:
identifying, by a computer comprising a processor and memory, one or more roles in a target environment, wherein the one or more roles correspond to one or more human experts (¶0120 In one embodiment, processor 304 may be a portion of a contact center, robot application store, local device, service provider, and/or other entity or enterprise. User 302 may provide processor 304 with a specific instruction, such as one of instructions 308A-n, requested or identify a task or issue to solve, whereby processor 304 determines the appropriate instruction. ¶0124 Should configured robot 314, or un-configured robot 310 once configured, be determined to be unsuitable or unable to performance the task, processor 304 may attempt to provision a different configured robot 314, dispatch a human agent, or notify user 302 that the task is not able to be performed by a robot and/or seek a different means to perform the task);
defining, by the computer, one or more tasks and one or more domains associated with each of the one or more roles (¶0120 In one embodiment, processor 304 may be a portion of a contact center, robot application store, local device, service provider, and/or other entity or enterprise. User 302 may provide processor 304 with a specific instruction, such as one of instructions 308A-n, requested or identify a task or issue to solve, whereby processor 304 determines the appropriate instruction. ¶0122 User 302 may own or otherwise control unconfigured robot 310. User 302 may install hardware accessory 312 and or instruction C (308C) directly or via request to processor 304. Processor 304 may determine the request requires unconfigured robot 310 to have (e.g., attached, installed, paired, available, in communication with, etc.) hardware accessory 312 to enable configured robot 314 to perform the task);
creating, by the computer, a virtual assistant persona for each of the one or more roles (¶0120 FIG. 3 depicts system 300 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. Configured robot 314 may be configured to perform a task or set of tasks from un-configured robot 310. Transformation of un-configured robot 310 to configured robot 314 is variously embodied. ¶0121 In one embodiment, un-configured robot 310 requires software instructions and a hardware accessory in order to perform a particular task);
assigning, by the computer, the one or more defined tasks and the one or more defined domains to the one or more virtual assistant personas (¶¶0120-0121 Transformation of un-configured robot 310 to configured robot 314 is variously embodied. In one embodiment, user 302, alone or with benefit of an electronic communication device (e.g., smart phone, Internet connected computer, dedicated robot configuring device, etc.) provides processor 304 with an issue or task. In one embodiment, processor 304 may be a portion of a contact center, robot application store, local device, service provider, and/or other entity or enterprise. User 302 may provide processor 304 with a specific instruction, such as one of instructions 308A-n, requested or identify a task or issue to solve, whereby processor 304 determines the appropriate instruction. In one embodiment, un-configured robot 310 requires software instructions and a hardware accessory in order to perform a particular task. User 302 provides the issue or task or specifies the instructions causing processor 304 to access data repository 306 comprising instructions 308. Processor 304 determines that instruction C (308C) is the appropriate instruction. Processor 304 then causes un-configured robot 310 to load instruction set 308C thereby causing robot 310 to become configured robot 314. Configured robot 314 may then be deployed for the performance of the task); and
in response to receiving an input from a worker, assigning, by the computer, one of the virtual assistant personas to interact with the worker, wherein a role of the assigned virtual assistant persona is supervisory to the worker (¶0133 Supervisor robot 502 may monitor a plurality of robots 102 such as to ensure proper coordination of physical activities. For example, robot 102 and a number of peer robots may be attempting to lift four corners of an object uniformly. Supervisor robot 502 may monitor each of robots 102 and the number of peer robots and/or the object being lifted to ensure coordination or take appropriate action if coordination is not evident to the degree expected.) ; and
activating, by the assigned virtual assistant persona, an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options to navigate along data and respond to a conversational dialogue according to defined relationships (¶0080 In another embodiment, robot 102 may interact with one or more human and/or automated resources. For example, robot 102 may utilize an on-board speaker or display to communicate with a human, such as to request assistance in locating the object of the task. In another embodiment, robot 102 may communicate with an off-site resource (human and/or automated) to access data, instructions, etc. or to provide data, which may include, but is not limited to, images, videos, sound, and/or other data (e.g., serial numbers, settings, display values, etc.). ¶0187 Device 1400 may comprise display 1402 proving statuses, input means, and/or outputs for robot 102. In one embodiment, device 1400 may be utilized for providing robot 102, authorizing robot 102 to perform a task; pausing or terminating operations of robot 102; and optionally scuttling robot 102, such as be causing the destructive, or non-destructive, purging of data and/or circuitry within robot 102. Device 1400 may be utilized and a communication device with contact center 602 and agent 612 and may further operate as a node in a communication link between contact center 602 and robot 102).
Although not explicitly taught by Erhart, Yao teaches in the analogous art of configuring process variants for on-boarding customers for information technology (it) outsourcing:
wherein the one or more roles correspond to one or more human experts (¶0062 Organizational perspective involves roles and responsibilities in the process. Functional perspective captures what activities are performed. Behavioral perspective describes the execution sequence of activities. Data perspective records the data flow among activities. Business goals, KPIs, and metrics are available in the goal perspective. For example, the following rule VCR.sub.--1 shows an additional role for subject-matter expertise (ProcessSME) is needed to be responsible for a certain process when dealing with large deals. Rules that reflect other perspectives are formalized in a similar way. ¶0020 The data collection phase 110 may include input from case studies in on-boarding projects and interviews with on-boarding managers and team members. In an example, process guides based on best practices stated in the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) and collected process logs of past projects were used (steps 1-2). Deviations in these process logs may be analyzed with the help of domain experts to link these with individual steps in the standard process guides and associate these deviations with their causes (step 3).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the configuring process variants for on-boarding customers for information technology (it) outsourcing of Yao with the command and control of a user-provided robot by a contact center of Erhart for the following reasons:
(1) a finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings, e.g. Erhart ¶0002 teaches that it is desirable to have low-cost, general purpose personal robots;
(2) a finding that there was reasonable expectation of success since the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, e.g. Erhart Abstract teaches instructions to transform an unconfigured robot, such as a generic robot, into a configured robot operable to perform the task, and Yao Abstract teaches systems and methods of configuring process variants for on-boarding customers for information technology (IT) outsourcing; and
(3) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness, e.g. Erhart at least the above cited paragraphs, and Yao at least the inclusively cited paragraphs.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to combine the configuring process variants for on-boarding customers for information technology (it) outsourcing of Yao with the command and control of a user-provided robot by a contact center of Erhart. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2143(G).
Although not explicitly taught by Erhart in view of Yao, Poltorak teaches in the analogous art of electronic personal interactive device:
activating, by the assigned virtual assistant persona, an interactive display device that compensates for limitations of the input by providing graphic data visualization and user input options to navigate along data and respond to a conversational dialogue according to defined relationships (¶0115 The present invention provides, according to one aspect, an automated device that allows humans, and especially elderly people, to engage in conversational interactions, when they are alone. Such automated devices may provide users with entertainment and relevant information about the world around them. Also, preferably, this device would contribute to the safety of the elderly people by using the camera and microphone to monitor the surroundings for emergency situations, and notify the appropriate people if an emergency takes place. ¶0116 A preferred embodiment of the invention provides a personal interface device. ¶0118 In a preferred embodiment, the device is responsive to voice commands, for example supporting natural language interaction. ¶0125 In a preferred embodiment, the processor implementing the invention is further adapted to receive input from the microphone and/or the camera and to process the input to determine the existence of an emergency. The emergency could be detected either based on a rule-based (logical) system or based on a neural network trained by detecting various emergency scenarios.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electronic personal interactive device of Poltorak with the command and control of a user-provided robot by a contact center of Erhart in view of Yao for the following reasons:
(1) a finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings, e.g. Erhart ¶0002 teaches that it is desirable to have low-cost, general purpose personal robots;
(2) a finding that there was reasonable expectation of success since the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, e.g. Erhart Abstract teaches instructions to transform an unconfigured robot, such as a generic robot, into a configured robot operable to perform the task, and Yao Abstract teaches systems and methods of configuring process variants for on-boarding customers for information technology (IT) outsourcing, and Poltorak Abstract teaches an interface device comprising audio and image inputs a processor for determining topics of interest, and receiving information of interest to the user from a remote resource an audio-visual output for presenting an anthropomorphic object conveying the received information, having a selectively defined and adaptively alterable mood an external communication device adapted to remotely communicate at least a voice conversation with a human user of the personal interface device ;and
(3) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness, e.g. Erhart in view of Yao at least the above cited paragraphs, and Poltorak at least the inclusively cited paragraphs.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to combine the electronic personal interactive device of Poltorak with the command and control of a user-provided robot by a contact center of Erhart in view of Yao. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2143(G).
Erhart teaches:
Claim 2. The method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more roles comprise one or more of: providing information to one or more workers, authorizing one or more activities of one or more workers and performing an activity required by one or more workers to perform one or more tasks (¶0080 In another embodiment, robot 102 may interact with one or more human and/or automated resources. For example, robot 102 may utilize an on-board speaker or display to communicate with a human, such as to request assistance in locating the object of the task. In another embodiment, robot 102 may communicate with an off-site resource (human and/or automated) to access data, instructions, etc. or to provide data, which may include, but is not limited to, images, videos, sound, and/or other data (e.g., serial numbers, settings, display values, etc.). ¶0156 I/O device 230, when embodied as a camera, may see customer 302 gesture to issue commands. Gestured commands, natively, may include, but are not limited to, pointing, looking (e.g., eye position), facial expression, waving, sign language, body position, interacting (e.g., pointing, touching, holding, looking, moving, etc.) with an object other than robot 102, physical activity (e.g., running, walking, sitting, standing, etc.), location/orientation (e.g., present in a location having a meaning different than if present in another location, arm position, leg position, etc.), attire, proximity to another human, physical interaction with another human, identity of a proximate other human, role of a proximate other human, and/or other observable human trait, attribute, or behavior.).
Erhart teaches:
Claim 3. The method of Claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, by the computer, the one or more defined tasks to a workforce management system (¶0121 In one embodiment, un-configured robot 310 requires software instructions and a hardware accessory in order to perform a particular task. User 302 provides the issue or task or specifies the instructions causing processor 304 to access data repository 306 comprising instructions 308. Processor 304 determines that instruction C (308C) is the appropriate instruction. Processor 304 then causes un-configured robot 310 to load instruction set 308C thereby causing robot 310 to become configured robot 314. Configured robot 314 may then be deployed for the performance of the task).
Erhart teaches:
Claim 4. The method of Claim 1, wherein each of the one or more defined domains has an associated group of tasks (¶0120 FIG. 3 depicts system 300 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. Configured robot 314 may be configured to perform a task or set of tasks from un-configured robot 310. Transformation of un-configured robot 310 to configured robot 314 is variously embodied.).
Erhart teaches:
Claim 5. The method of Claim 1, wherein the virtual assistant persona is assigned based on an intent determined from the received input (¶0078 In another embodiment, a portion of robot 102 is owned by a customer and another portion is owned by the contact center. The portion of robot 102 owned by the contact center may be hardware and/or software. For example, a customer may wish to deploy robot 102 to perform a specialized task, such as to repair a washing machine. Robot 102 may require specialized tools to perform such a task. Accordingly, the customer may contact the contact center or other entity and schedule delivery of a component to coordinate with robot 102 and provide the tools necessary to complete the task.).
Erhart teaches:
Claim 6. The method of Claim 1, further comprising: in response to determining that the received input requires an on-duty expert, routing, by the computer, the received input to the on-duty expert (¶0097 In another embodiment, third-party monitoring agent 116 monitors and/or audits robot 102. Third-party monitoring agent 116 may receive signals from robot 102 and/or any other agents (e.g., agents 108, 110, 112, 114), human-submitted observations, other automated systems (e.g., robot delivery/servicing, financial, credit reporting, etc.) to determine if robot 102 is operating within a previously determined protocol. Third-party monitoring agent 116 may determine if a violation of protocol has occurred and signal personnel associated with at least one of service location 104, robot 102, and/or other human or automated agent that such a violation has occurred. In another embodiment, third-party monitoring agent 116 may cause, directly or via other agent (e.g., agents 108, 110, 112, 114), and/or personnel to perform corrective action to cause robot 102 to return to operating within the previously determined protocol.).
Erhart teaches:
Claim 7. The method of Claim 6, wherein the determining that the received input requires an on-duty expert is based on one or more policies and one or more rules (¶0096 In another embodiment, privacy agent 114 may monitor robot 102, and components thereof, to ensure compliance with a privacy policy. In one embodiment, privacy agent 114 detects and reports compliance, or lack of compliance, with a privacy policy. In another embodiment, privacy agent 114 enforces the privacy policy. For example, a robot 102 may be moving throughout service location 104 to access the location for a task. Persons, photographs, and other images may be encountered. Accordingly, privacy agent 114 may cause the camera(s) of robot 102 to degrade (e.g., lower resolution, fewer frames, altered contrast or other image setting, introduced noise, redaction, etc.) until such time as the cameras are required to perform the task.).
As per claims 8-14 and 15-20, the non-transitory computer-readable storage media and system tracks the method of claims 1-7 and 1-6, respectively, resulting in substantially similar limitations. The same cited prior art and rationale of claims 1-7 and 1-6 are applied to claims 8-14 and 15-20, respectively. Erhart discloses that the embodiment may be found as a system and non-transitory computer-readable storage media (Fig. 1 and ¶0030).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624