DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOEL (US 20130271317 A1) in view of CROWLEY (US 20240302526 A1).
Regarding claim 1, GOEL teaches a measurement system for over-the-air testing of a device for non-terrestrial networks (GOEL discloses a "test system for performing over the air testing on a device under test (DUT) with satellite navigation system capability". Satellites are non-terrestrial networks, para. 0031-35), comprising:
an anechoic chamber (GOEL discloses a test chamber 206 that is internally lined by absorbent material and "may sometimes be referred to as an anechoic chamber", para. 0036-40),
at least one transmission antenna configured to transmit a source signal (GOEL discloses test antennas 208 mounted inside the test chamber that "radiate radio-frequency test signals" to the device under test, para. 0041-45),
a polarization rotator configured to rotate a polarization state of the source signal transmitted by the transmission antenna (GOEL, fig. 8, antenna 208, ring rotator 400, fig. 9, 504, position and orientation of test antennas reads on polarization state of antenna 208, para. 0058-59), and
an electronic circuit configured to control the polarization rotator (GOEL, fig. 9, 504, para. 0092, emulator 204).
GOEL is silent to teaching that wherein controlling the polarization rotator such that an ionospheric Faraday rotation is simulated.
In the same field of endeavor, CROWLEY teaches a system comprising a polarization rotator (CROWLEY discloses dual polarized antennas 106 capable of broadcasting in one orientation and receiving in another. Furthermore, CROWLEY’s simulator 702 computationally applies changes to the simulated broadcast signal’s polarization state, such as converting circular polarization to elliptical or rotating a linearly polarized signal. The processing algorithms/hardware in the simulator that computationally rotate the polarization state of the simulated signal act as a polarization rotator, para. 0046,97), wherein controlling the polarization rotator such that an ionospheric Faraday rotation is simulated (CROWLEY explicitly discloses simulating ionospheric Faraday rotation. The disclosure describes a simulator 702 (running on one or more processors/electronic circuits) that ingests simulation parameters 706. CROWLEY explicitly states that in this simulator, if the signal is linearly polarized, "it may be rotated due to Faraday rotation," demonstrating that the electronic circuit controls the simulation to simulate ionospheric Faraday rotation, para. 0046,94-97).
Therefore, a Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art (PHOSITA) would be motivated to combine the over-the-air satellite testing system of GOEL with the ionospheric simulation teachings of CROWLEY to create a more accurate and realistic "real-world" testing environment for satellite receivers.
GOEL explicitly notes that conventional testing methods are flawed because they do "not accurately characterize the behavior of the GPS receiver in a real world environment". While GOEL improves physical emulation (e.g., simulating satellite orbital planes and user movement), it lacks atmospheric modeling. CROWLEY provides a software-based simulator configured to model the effects of the ionosphere on broadcast signals, including absorption, delay, polarization (Faraday rotation), and scintillation. A PHOSITA would naturally integrate CROWLEY's ionospheric parameters into GOEL's emulator to account for the atmospheric signal degradation that all real-world satellite signals must pass through, fully satisfying GOEL's stated goal of real-world accuracy.
GOEL determines if a device operates satisfactorily by computing signal quality measurements such as bit error rate (BER) and signal-to-noise ratio (SNR). CROWLEY teaches that ionospheric scintillation directly impacts these exact metrics by causing signal power fades and adding noise to the phase of the signal. By combining CROWLEY's simulation of ionospheric effects with GOEL's testing chamber, an engineer could actively test how the receiver's SNR and BER degrade under realistic atmospheric stress, providing a far more comprehensive validation of the receiver's design.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of GOEL and CROWLEY teaches the measurement system according to claim 1, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to control the polarization rotator such that dynamic effects of the ionospheric Faraday rotation are simulated (CROWLEY discloses that the simulator 702 can simulate time-varying and rapid changes, such as scintillation (rapid changes in phase or amplitude), by adjusting simulation parameters 706 representing different ionospheric states and scenarios. Under BRI, continuously applying these varying ionospheric parameters during the simulation simulates the dynamic effects of the ionosphere, including dynamic Faraday rotation, para. 0046,94-97).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of GOEL and CROWLEY teaches the measurement system according to claim 2, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to generate a random sequence for varying a rotation measure of the simulated Faraday rotation (CROWLEY discloses simulating phase scintillation by adding "noise" to the phase of the signal in the frequency domain. Under BRI, adding noise involves generating a random or pseudo-random sequence to vary the signal's properties (including its rotational phase properties), para. 0046,94-97).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of GOEL and CROWLEY teaches the measurement system according to claim 1, further comprising at least one reception antenna configured to receive the source signal, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to analyze the received source signal (GOEL discloses that the DUT 10 includes antennas 40 that receive the transmitted test signals. Furthermore, GOEL teaches that a test host 202 (electronic circuit) is configured to retrieve and compute/analyze signal quality measurements (e.g., bit error rate, SNR, RSSI) computed by the DUT based on the received radio-frequency test signals, para. 0060-64).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of GOEL and CROWLEY teaches the measurement system according to claim 5, wherein the electronic circuit is further configured to control the transmission antenna such that the source signal is transmitted with a different polarization direction (GOEL, fig. 9,504, para. 0062), as a result of which an effect of the simulated Faraday rotation is minimized (CROWLEY, para. 0049, index).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of GOEL and CROWLEY teaches the measurement system according to claim 6, wherein the electronic circuit is configured to adapt the different polarization direction in real-time (GOEL, para. 0054).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOEL in view of WU (US 20230328568 A1).
Regarding claim 8, GOEL teaches a user equipment, comprising circuitry configured to measure a received signal (GOEL, fig. 3, DUT 10, fig. 1).
GOEL is silent to teaching that configured to measure a polarization direction of a received signal and to report the measured polarization direction by transmitting it as channel state information.
In the same field of endeavor, WU teaches a device configured to measure a polarization direction of a received signal and to report the measured polarization direction by transmitting it as channel state information (WU teaches a user equipment configured to receive reference signals and generate channel state information (CSI) reports based on measurements of those signals. Specifically, WU teaches that the UE measures the amplitude and phase of reference signals received over a plurality of ports, where the ports are arranged or grouped by polarization (e.g., strong polarization port groups versus weak polarization port groups). The UE processes these polarization-specific channel measurements and reports them to the base station by transmitting a channel state report (CSI report), fig. 7A, 708,718, para. 0099-103).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art (PHOSITA) to modify the user equipment and measurement circuitry of GOEL to include the polarization-specific measurement and CSI reporting capabilities taught by WU. The motivation to do so would be to enable the network to optimize a precoder for future transmissions to the user equipment based on current channel polarization conditions, thereby exploiting spatial domains to support spatial multiplexing, increasing throughput, and improving overall signal reception in rich scattering environments, as explicitly taught by WU
Regarding claim 9, the combination of GOEL and WU teaches the user equipment according to claim 8, wherein the signal is received by the user equipment via a phased array antenna of the user equipment (WU explicitly teaches that to achieve beamforming (directional signal transmission or reception), the amplitude and phase of each antenna in an array of antennas may be precoded or controlled to create a desired pattern of constructive and destructive interference. By definition, an array of antennas whose phase and amplitude are controlled to steer a beam is a phased array antenna. Fig. 4, 408, para. 66-67).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRUBER (US 20150381294 A1) in view of WANG (US 20230216602 A1).
Regarding claim 10, GRUBER teaches a method for emulating and determining a parameter mismatch in communication systems, the method comprising:
establishing a connection between a system simulator and a device under test,
wherein the system simulator indicates the used parameter to the device under test and wherein the system simulator changes the used parameter without indicating the change to the device under test, which results in a parameter mismatch in a downlink direction, or wherein the system simulator indicates a changed parameter to the device under test without actually changing the used parameter, which results in a parameter mismatch in the downlink direction (GRUBER teaches a method for emulating channel conditions comprising establishing a connection between a system simulator (measuring device 3) and a device under test (DUT 4). GRUBER further teaches intentionally deceiving the device under test by indicating a simulated channel quality parameter (UL CQI) that is independent of the actual channel quality, thereby making the device under test believe the channel conditions have changed without an actual physical change occurring, para. 0043-44, fig. 4).
GRUBER is silent to teaching that the parameter is the used polarization in non-terrestrial communication systems.
In the same field of endeavor, WANG teaches a method wherein the parameter is the used polarization in non-terrestrial communication systems (WANG teaches a communication apparatus and method for non-terrestrial networks (NTN), specifically satellite communication systems. WANG teaches that the network device indicates the used polarization to the terminal device (device under test) by sending first indication information comprising information about the polarization mode, fig. 5,501, para. 0063-65).
It would have been obvious to a Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art (PHOSITA) at the time of the invention to modify the testing method of GRUBER to include the polarization indication and switching features of non-terrestrial networks as taught by WANG. The motivation to do so would be to safely, effectively, and inexpensively test how a satellite terminal (DUT) reacts to polarization mismatches and polarization switching commands in a controlled laboratory environment, fulfilling GRUBER's explicit goal of avoiding expensive real-world testing by deceiving the DUT with simulated channel parameter changes. This combination naturally results in the simulator indicating a changed polarization without actually changing the used polarization (or vice versa) to intentionally induce a polarization mismatch in the downlink direction, deceiving the DUT to test its reaction.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of GRUBER and WANG teaches the method according to claim 10 wherein the system simulator measures a power of an uplink signal after having signaled a correct polarization to the device under test and wherein the system simulator additionally measures a power of an uplink signal after having signaled a wrong polarization to the device under test (GRUBER teaches that the system simulator (measuring device 3) receives an uplink signal (third signal) from the DUT and determines the reaction of the DUT based on this signal after the deceptive parameter is sent. In the combined system, it would be obvious to a PHOSITA to evaluate the DUT's reaction by measuring the power of the uplink signal after signaling a correct polarization versus signaling a wrong polarization, as measuring signal power variations is a standard, well-known method in the art for quantifying a device's reaction to changing channel/polarization conditions).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of GRUBER and WANG teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein for determining if the device under test applied the polarization indicated by the system simulator correctly, the power measured after having signaled the correct polarization is compared to the power measured after having signaled the wrong polarization (WANG, fig. 5, 502, para. 0076-77, validate).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of GRUBER and WANG teaches the method according to claim 11, further comprising determining that the device under test used the correct polarization in case the power measured after having signaled the correct polarization is approximately 3dB higher than the power measured after having signaled the wrong polarization (WANG, higher gain, para. 0059).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of GRUBER and WANG teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the system simulator indicates the used polarization to the device under test by transmitting the information in a SIB19, such that it is tested if the device under test is able to handle polarization information provided in SIB19 correctly (WANG explicitly teaches that the network device can indicate the polarization mode to the terminal device by transmitting the information in a system information block (SIB) message).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOEL and WU as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DUCELLIER (US 11190293 B1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of GOEL and WU teaches the measurement system according to claim 1.
The combination of GOEL and WU is silent to teaches that wherein the polarization rotator comprises a Faraday rotator.
In the same field of endeavor, DUCELLIER teaches a system wherein the polarization rotator comprises a Faraday rotator (DUCELLIER teaches utilizing a non-reciprocal polarization rotator. DUCELLIER states that "the first non-reciprocal polarization rotator is a Faraday rotator". Furthermore, DUCELLIER describes that this Faraday rotator is configured to apply a ±45° rotation to an incident optical signal based on the propagation direction of the signal, col. 9, lines 10-25).
A Person Having Ordinary Skill In The Art (PHOSITA) would be motivated to combine the over-the-air satellite testing system of GOEL with the polarization and isolation techniques of DUCELLIER to enhance the realism of the simulated satellite environment and to reduce signal interference within the testing chamber.
GOEL discloses a test system aimed at accurately characterizing the behavior of satellite navigation receivers (e.g., GPS, GLONASS) in a "real world environment". While GOEL improves real-world emulation by physically placing test antennas on ring-shaped structures to mimic orbital planes and by rotating the device under test (DUT) to mimic user movement, it lacks advanced manipulation of the test signal's polarization state. Ducellier operates in the exact same domain of free-space and satellite communications. DUCELLIER teaches the use of a non-reciprocal polarization rotator, explicitly identified as a Faraday rotator, to precisely rotate and transform the polarization states (e.g., circular to linear) of signals transmitted through free space.
A PHOSITA would be motivated to incorporate Ducellier's Faraday rotator into GOEL's transmission antennas to dynamically manipulate the polarization states of the simulated test signals. This would provide a more rigorous real-world emulation that accurately accounts for the complex polarization variations (and potential polarization-related losses) that satellite signals experience as they propagate through space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BAI: US 20160223679 A1, CHANG: US 20240210456 A1, FALCK: US 20120071107 A1, NASEEF: US 20180219612 A1, SAITOH: US 20030184751 A1, ZANETTE: US 20190025361 A1 teach Satellite systems.
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648