DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines a support mechanism comprising a first support structure, a second support structure, and a third support structure. However, these elements are defined only in terms of their relative positions or functions, without specifying the physical components that constitute them. This renders it unclear what specific parts of the electronic device the claimed support structures actually refer to. Although paragraph [0112] of the description states, for example, that "the first support structure includes a first housing and a first door plate that are rotatably connected", such detail is not reflected in the claim. The claim therefore lacks a clear structural definition of the support structures, making it difficult to understand or identify these elements.
Claim 1 defines a foldable electronic device comprising a support mechanism with first, second, and third support structures, as well as a first screen holder. However, from the disclosure, it appears that the folding and unfolding functionality of the device relies not only on the interaction of these elements but also critically on the presence and function of a second screen holder. Specifically, in the unfolded state, both the first and second holding parts are positioned within the avoidance slot to support the second part of the flexible screen. In the folded state, both screen holders must move such that the second part of the screen can be partially accommodated within the avoidance slot. Thus, proper folding behavior seems to be achieved only when both the first and second screen holders are present and interact in the described manner. As the second screen holder is only defined in claim 8, and not in claim 1, the latter appears to omit features that are essential to achieving the claimed foldable function of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng, US Patent Publication 2022159845.
Regarding independent claim 1, Feng teaches an electronic device (foldable display device 100) configured to be switched between a folded state and an unfolded state (figures 3 to 4), the electronic device comprising:
a flexible screen (flexible display 10), wherein the flexible screen comprises a first part (part of the flexible display placed corresponding to the left support housing - figure 3), a second part (part of the flexible display placed corresponding to the intermediate casing - figure 3), and a third part (part of the flexible display placed corresponding to the right support housing - figure 3) that are sequentially connected (figure 3), wherein when the electronic device is in the folded state, the first part and the third part are configured to be disposed opposite to each other (figure 4);
a support mechanism stacked on the flexible screen (figure 3), the support mechanism comprises:
a first support structure (left support housing 30) disposed opposite to and fastened to the first part (figure 3);
a second support structure (intermediate casing 20) disposed opposite to the second part (figure 3);
a third support structure (right support housing 30) disposed opposite to and fastened to the third part (figure 3); and
a second support structure comprising an avoidance slot (unclosed opening - paragraph [0043]) facing the second part (figure 3); and
a first screen holder (support plate 41) located between the flexible screen and the support mechanism (figure 3), wherein the first screen holder comprises:
a first holding plate and a first holding part (parts of the support plate 41), the first holding part (part of the support plate 41) is located on a side that is of the first holding plate and that backs on the flexible screen (paragraph [0050]),
a first holding plate comprising a first end that is away from the second support structure (upper part of the support plate 41) and that is connected to the first part and the first support structure (paragraph [0050]),
wherein when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, the first holding part is configured to be located in the avoidance slot to support the second part (figure 2); and
wherein when the electronic device is in the folded state, the first holding part is configured to be at least partially located outside the avoidance slot so that the second part is at least partially located in the avoidance slot (figure 4).
Feng does not explicitly teach a separate first holding plate and a first holding part. However, Feng renders obvious defining the first screen holder as comprising two elements of a plate and a part as this does not result in any discernible functional or structural difference over the unitary support plate disclosed. The claim merely introduces a partitioning of the known support plate into two conceptual sub-components, without any further technical interaction, functional distinction, or material difference. The subdivision of the known support plate into a "holding plate" and a "holding part" does not contribute to a technical effect. It reflects an arbitrary and obvious design variation, lacking functional or structural distinction. The skilled person, seeking to implement or describe the screen holder of Feng in alternative terms or modify its shape or assembly (e.g. for manufacturing, modularity, or design considerations), would readily consider such a subdivision.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to divide the structure taught by Feng. The rationale would be to make an aesthetic design change. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding claim 2, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first part comprises a first sub-part and a second sub-part, wherein the first sub-part, the second sub-part, and the second part are sequentially connected, wherein the first support structure comprises a first housing and a first door plate that are rotatably connected, wherein the first housing is disposed opposite to and fastened to the first sub-part, wherein the first door plate is disposed opposite to the second sub-part, wherein the second support structure comprises a second door plate and a main shaft element that backs on a surface of the second door plate, wherein the first support structure and the second support structure are switched between the folded state and the unfolded state via the main shaft element, wherein the second door plate comprises the avoidance slot, wherein and the first end is connected to at least one of the first sub-part, the second sub-part, the first housing, or the first door plate (multiple housings and plates (support housings 30 and support plates 41) are rotatably connected to a central part (intermediate casing 20) (see [0037]-[0046], [0051]-[0056])).
Regarding claim 3, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein a cross section that is of the first holding part and that is perpendicular to the main shaft element is sector-shaped and rectangular (support plate 41 of figure 3 shows the given part but does not specify the shape. However, changes to the shape of an object would be an obvious matter of matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).).
Regarding claim 4, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first holding plate comprises a second end opposite to the first end, wherein the second end is a free end and is located between the second part and the second support structure, and wherein the first support structure is mounted on the second end (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 5, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein when the electronic device is in the folded state, the second part and the second support structure are configured to space apart from each other (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 6, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 5, wherein when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, the second end is configured to attach to the flexible screen, and wherein when the electronic device is in the folded state, the second end is configured to separate from the flexible screen(these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 7, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the avoidance slot comprises a slot opening, and wherein when the electronic device is in the folded state, the first screen holder is configured to be partially in lap joint with the slot opening (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 8, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, a first orthographic projection of the first holding part on a plane on which the flexible screen is configured to be located partially overlaps a second orthographic projection of the avoidance slot on a distribution plane of the flexible screen (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 9, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a second screen holder located between the flexible screen and the support mechanism, wherein the second screen holder comprises a second holding plate and a second holding part, wherein the second holding part is located on a second side that is of the second holding plate and that backs on the flexible screen, wherein the second holding plate comprises a third end away from the second support structure, wherein the third end of the second holding plate is connected to the third part and the third support structure, wherein when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, the second holding part is configured to be located in the avoidance slot to support the second part, and wherein when the electronic device is in the folded state, the second holding part is configured to be at least partially located outside the avoidance slot so that the second part is at least partially located in the avoidance slot (symmetric support plates are on both sides of the flexible display performing similar functions ([0042], [0051])).
Regarding claim 10, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a second end that is of the first holding plate and that is opposite to the first end is a free end and is located between the third part and a third door plate, and wherein the first holding part is mounted between the first end and the second end (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 11, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the avoidance slot comprises a slot surface, wherein the first side comprises a guide surface, and wherein when the electronic device is switched between the unfolded state and the folded state, the guide surface is configured to cooperate with the slot surface to limit a direction in which the first holding part enters and falls out of the avoidance slot (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 12, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the avoidance slot comprises a slot surface, wherein when the electronic device is in the unfolded state, a surface that is of the first holding part and that faces the avoidance slot is configured to at least partially attach to the slot surface (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Regarding claim 13, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first holding plate and the first holding part are integrally formed, and wherein a material of each of the first holding plate and the first holding part comprises at least one of metal, resin, or fiber (paragraph [0026] explains the features of the support plate that contains the first holding plate and first holding part but does not go into the structural or manufacturing details. However, making them formed of the given materials would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). Having elements be integrally formed such that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in Feng would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).).
Regarding claim 14, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first holding plate and the first holding part are separately formed and are fastened to each other, wherein a first material of the first holding plate comprises at least one of metal, resin, or fiber, and wherein a second material of the first holding part comprises at least one of metal, resin, or fiber (paragraph [0026] explains the features of the support plate that contains the first holding plate and first holding part but does not go into the structural or manufacturing details. However, making them formed of the given materials would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). Having elements be separately formed such that they may be removable to be separately accessed instead of the structure disclosed in Feng would be merely a matter of obvious choice. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).).
Regarding claim 15, Feng teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a towing component, wherein a second end of the towing component is connected to the first end, wherein a third end of the towing component is connected to the first support structure, and wherein the towing component is configured to tow, when the electronic device is switched from the folded state to the unfolded state, the first holding part into the avoidance slot (mechanical linkages enabling coordinated movement of the holding parts into avoidance slots are given in ([0057]-[0058]), and using a towing component is an obvious variation).
Regarding independent claim 16, Feng teaches a screen holder (support plate 41 of figure 3) comprising:
a holding plate (part of the support plate 41) comprising a side configured to back on to a flexible screen; and
a holding part (part of the support plate 41) connected to the holding plate,
wherein the holding part is located on the side (paragraph [0050]),
wherein in an unfolded state, the holding part is configured to be located in an avoidance slot of a support mechanism in an electronic device to support a part of the flexible screen (figure 2), and
wherein in a folded state, the holding part is configured to be at least partially located outside the avoidance slot so that the part is at least partially located in the avoidance slot (figure 4).
Feng does not explicitly teach a separate first holding plate and a first holding part. However, Feng renders obvious defining the first screen holder as comprising two elements of a plate and a part as this does not result in any discernible functional or structural difference over the unitary support plate disclosed. The claim merely introduces a partitioning of the known support plate into two conceptual sub-components, without any further technical interaction, functional distinction, or material difference. The subdivision of the known support plate into a "holding plate" and a "holding part" does not contribute to a technical effect. It reflects an arbitrary and obvious design variation, lacking functional or structural distinction. The skilled person, seeking to implement or describe the screen holder of Feng in alternative terms or modify its shape or assembly (e.g. for manufacturing, modularity, or design considerations), would readily consider such a subdivision.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to divide the structure taught by Feng. The rationale would be to make an aesthetic design change. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding independent claim 17, Feng teaches a flexible screen assembly (foldable display device 100) configured to be switched between a folded state and an unfolded state (figures 3-4), wherein the flexible screen assembly comprises:
a flexible screen (flexible display 10), wherein the flexible screen comprises a first part (part of the flexible display placed corresponding to the left support housing - figure 3), a second part (part of the flexible display placed corresponding to the intermediate casing - figure 3), and a third part (part of the flexible display placed corresponding to the right support housing - figure 3) that are sequentially connected (figure 3), wherein the first part and the third part are disposed opposite to each other in the folded state (figure 4), wherein the first part is configured to be opposite to a first support structure (left support housing 30 as shown in figure 3), and wherein the second part is configured to be opposite to a second support structure (intermediate casing 20 as shown in figure 3); and
a first screen holder (support plate 41 of figure 3) located on a first side of the flexible screen, wherein the first screen holder comprises a first holding plate and a first holding part (parts of support plate 41), wherein the first holding part is located on a third side that is of the first holding plate and that backs on the flexible screen (paragraph [0050]), wherein a first end of the first holding plate is connected to the first part and the first support structure (paragraph [0050]), wherein when the flexible screen assembly is in the unfolded state, the first holding part is configured to be located in an avoidance slot of the second support structure to support the second part (figure 2), and wherein when the flexible screen assembly is in the folded state, the first holding part is configured to be at least partially located outside the avoidance slot so that the second part is at least partially located in the avoidance slot (figure 4).
Feng does not explicitly teach a separate first holding plate and a first holding part. However, Feng renders obvious defining the first screen holder as comprising two elements of a plate and a part as this does not result in any discernible functional or structural difference over the unitary support plate disclosed. The claim merely introduces a partitioning of the known support plate into two conceptual sub-components, without any further technical interaction, functional distinction, or material difference. The subdivision of the known support plate into a "holding plate" and a "holding part" does not contribute to a technical effect. It reflects an arbitrary and obvious design variation, lacking functional or structural distinction. The skilled person, seeking to implement or describe the screen holder of Feng in alternative terms or modify its shape or assembly (e.g. for manufacturing, modularity, or design considerations), would readily consider such a subdivision.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to divide the structure taught by Feng. The rationale would be to make an aesthetic design change. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
Regarding claim 18, Feng teaches the flexible screen assembly of claim 17, wherein the third part is configured to be opposite to a third support structure, and wherein the flexible screen assembly further comprises a second screen holder located on a second side of the flexible screen, wherein the second screen holder comprises a second holding plate and a second holding part, wherein the second holding part is located on a fourth side that is of the second holding plate and that backs on the flexible screen, wherein a third end of the second holding plate is connected to the third part and the third support structure, wherein when the flexible screen assembly is in the unfolded state, the second holding part is configured to be located in the avoidance slot to support the second part, and wherein when the flexible screen assembly is in the folded state, the second holding part is configured to be at least partially located outside the avoidance slot so that the second part is at least partially located in the avoidance slot (symmetric support plates are on both sides of the flexible display performing similar functions ([0042], [0051])).
Regarding claim 19, Feng teaches the flexible screen assembly of claim 18, wherein the first part comprises a first sub-part and a second sub-part, wherein the first sub-part, the second sub-part, and the second part are sequentially connected, wherein the first support structure comprises a first housing and a first door plate that are rotatably connected, wherein the first housing is disposed opposite to and fastened to the first sub-part, wherein the first door plate is disposed opposite to the second sub-part, wherein the second support structure comprises a second door plate and a main shaft element, wherein the main shaft element backs on a surface of the second door plate, wherein the first support structure and the second support structure are configured to be switched between the folded state and the unfolded state via the main shaft element, wherein the second door plate comprises the avoidance slot, and wherein the first end is connected to at least one of the first sub-part, the second sub-part, the first housing, or the first door plate (multiple housings and plates (support housings 30 and support plates 41) are rotatably connected to a central part (intermediate casing 20) (see [0037]-[0046], [0051]-[0056])).
Regarding claim 20, Feng teaches the flexible screen assembly of claim 18, wherein a second end that is of the first holding plate and that is opposite to the first end is a free end and is located between the second part and the second support structure, and wherein the first holding part is mounted on the second end (these mechanical configurations and relative movements are directly or implicitly disclosed in ([0042] - [0057], [0064]) as necessary for foldable displays to avoid damage and provide support).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627