DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 2 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 – 11 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,211,400 to Vigunas in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2015/0159034 to Wild et al.
Vigunas discloses a label comprising a substrate; and diamond-shaped adhesive patches of a same size disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate; wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Claims 1 and 9) as in claim 2. With respect to claim 3, the pattern includes void areas devoid of any adhesive that alternate between and abut the diamond-shaped adhesive patches (Claims 1, 3, and 7). Regarding claim 4, first void areas of the void areas are diamond shaped (Claims 1, 3, and 4). For claim 5, the first void areas are discontinuous areas on the backside of the substrate (Claim 5). In claim 6, second void areas of the void areas abut sides of the backside of the substrate and are continuous areas along a periphery of the backside of the substrate (Claim 6). With regard to claim 7, the diamond-shaped adhesive patches are arranged in rows and columns within the pattern (Claims 7 and 9). As in claim 8, the pattern is configured to ensure consistent pull and energy exerted by a printer as the label proceeds through a printer web path (Claim 8). With respect to claim 9, the pattern enables consistent wear of a platen roller of the printer (Claim 9). Regarding claim 10, the pattern is configured to minimize adhesive buildup on components of a printer (Claim 10). For claim 11, the label comprises a peel value within a range of 130-150 gram force (gf) per inch (gf/in) based on the pattern (Claim 11). Vigunas further discloses a roll of labels, comprising: a web of a substrate; and diamond-shaped adhesive patches disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate, wherein each instance of the pattern on the backside of the substrate defines a label for the roll; wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Claims 9 and 13) as in claim 13. With respect to claim 14, the pattern includes void areas devoid of any adhesive that alternate between and abut the diamond-shaped adhesive patches (Claims 13 and 3). Regarding claim 15, first void areas of the void areas are diamond shaped and discontinuous on the backside of the substrate (Claims 4 and 5). For claim 16, second void areas of the void areas abut sides of the backside of the substrate and are continuous areas along a periphery of the backside of the substrate (Claims 3 – 7). In claim 17, the pattern is configured to ensure consistent pull and energy exerted by a printer as each label proceeds through a printer web path (Claims 1 and 13). With regard to claim 18, the pattern enables consistent wear of a platen roller of the printer (Claims 1 and 13). As in claim 19, the pattern is configured to minimize adhesive buildup on components of a printer (Claims 1 and 13). Vigunas also discloses a label comprising: a substrate having a front side and a backside; diamond-shaped adhesive patches disposed in a pattern on the backside of the substrate, wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Claims 1 and 3 – 7) as in claim 20. However, Vigunas fail to disclose a front side of the substrate includes a thermal- sensitive coating configured to be imaged when heat is applied by a thermal printer, a release coating disposed over a thermal-sensitive coating on the front side of the substrate to permit the front side to be wound with adhesive disposed on the backside, and the release coating comprises a non-silicon based release coating configured to prevent premature thermal print head wear.
Wild et al. teach a label comprising a substrate (Abstract; Figures) having a front side of the substrate includes a thermal- sensitive coating configured to be imaged when heat is applied by a thermal printer (Abstract; Paragraph 0010), a release coating disposed over a thermal-sensitive coating on the front side of the substrate to permit the front side to be wound with adhesive disposed on the backside (Paragraphs 0022 - 0031), and the release coating comprises a non-silicon based release coating configured to prevent premature thermal print head wear (Paragraphs 0021 - 0031) for the purpose of having a label with a silicone-free release layer that does adversely impact printers that image the label (Paragraph 0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-silicone release coating over a thermal coated substrate in Vigunas in order to have a label with a silicone-free release layer that does adversely impact printers that image the label as taught by Wild et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 – 7, and 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rusincovitch et al. (USPN 5,487,929).
Rusincovitch et al. discloses a label (Figures; Abstract) comprising a substrate (Column 4, lies 35 – 42); and diamond-shaped adhesive patches of a same size disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Column 4, lines 43 – 56; Figure 2, #14); wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Column 4, lines 43 – 56; Figure 2, #14) as in claim 2. With respect to claim 3, the pattern includes void areas devoid of any adhesive that alternate between and abut the diamond-shaped adhesive patches (Figure 2, #12 and 16). Regarding claim 4, first void areas of the void areas are diamond shaped (Figure 2, # 16). For claim 5, the first void areas are discontinuous areas on the backside of the substrate (Figure 2, # 16). In claim 6, second void areas of the void areas abut sides of the backside of the substrate and are continuous areas along a periphery of the backside of the substrate (Figure 2, #12). With regard to claim 7, the diamond-shaped adhesive patches are arranged in rows and columns within the pattern (Figure 2, #14). Rusincovitch et al. further discloses a roll of labels (Column 9, lines 37 – 46) comprising: a web of a substrate (Column 4, lies 35 – 42); and diamond-shaped adhesive patches disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Column 4, lines 43 – 56; Figure 2, #14), wherein each instance of the pattern on the backside of the substrate defines a label for the roll (Column 4, lines 43 – 56; Figure 2, #14); wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Column 4, lines 43 – 56; Figure 2, #14; Column 9, lines 37 – 46) as in claim 13. With respect to claim 14, the pattern includes void areas devoid of any adhesive that alternate between and abut the diamond-shaped adhesive patches (Figure 2, #12 and 16). Regarding claim 15, first void areas of the void areas are diamond shaped and discontinuous on the backside of the substrate (Figure 2, #16). For claim 16, second void areas of the void areas abut sides of the backside of the substrate and are continuous areas along a periphery of the backside of the substrate (Figure 2, #12).
Claims 2 – 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Roth et al. (USPN 11,224,043).
Roth et al. discloses a label (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Abstract) comprising a substrate (Column 3, lines 22 – 34); and diamond-shaped adhesive patches of a same size disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34); wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H) as in claim 2. With respect to claim 3, the pattern includes void areas devoid of any adhesive that alternate between and abut the diamond-shaped adhesive patches (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34). Regarding claim 4, first void areas of the void areas are diamond shaped (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34). In claim 6, second void areas of the void areas abut sides of the backside of the substrate and are continuous areas along a periphery of the backside of the substrate (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34). With regard to claim 7, the diamond-shaped adhesive patches are arranged in rows and columns within the pattern (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34). Roth et al. further discloses a roll of labels (Column 1, lines 45 – 55) comprising: a web of a substrate (Column 3, lines 22 – 34); and diamond-shaped adhesive patches disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34), wherein each instance of the pattern on the backside of the substrate defines a label for the roll (Column 1, lines 45 – 55; Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H); wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H) as in claim 13. With respect to claim 14, the pattern includes void areas devoid of any adhesive that alternate between and abut the diamond-shaped adhesive patches (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H). For claim 16, second void areas of the void areas abut sides of the backside of the substrate and are continuous areas along a periphery of the backside of the substrate (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 – 12 and 17 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roth et al. (USPN 11,224,043) in view of Wild et al. (USPGPub 2015/0159034 A1).
Roth et al. discloses a label (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Abstract) comprising a substrate (Column 3, lines 22 – 34); and diamond-shaped adhesive patches of a same size disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34); wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H). Roth et al. further discloses a roll of labels (Column 1, lines 45 – 55) comprising: a web of a substrate (Column 3, lines 22 – 34); and diamond-shaped adhesive patches disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34), wherein each instance of the pattern on the backside of the substrate defines a label for the roll (Column 1, lines 45 – 55; Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H); wherein each diamond-shaped adhesive patch intersects at least two other diamond-shaped adhesive patches within the pattern (Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H). However, Roth et al. fail to disclose the pattern is configured to ensure consistent pull and energy exerted by a printer as the label proceeds through a printer web path, the pattern enables consistent wear of a platen roller of the printer, the pattern is configured to minimize adhesive buildup on components of a printer, the label comprises a peel value within a range of 130-150 gram force (gf) per inch (gf/in) based on the pattern, a front side of the substrate includes a thermal- sensitive coating configured to be imaged when heat is applied by a thermal printer, a release coating disposed over a thermal-sensitive coating on the front side of the substrate to permit the front side to be wound with adhesive disposed on the backside, and the release coating comprises a non-silicon based release coating configured to prevent premature thermal print head wear.
Wild et al. teach a label (Figures; Abstract) comprising a substrate (Paragraph 0010); and adhesive patches of a same size disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Figures; Abstract), a front side of the substrate includes a thermal- sensitive coating configured to be imaged when heat is applied by a thermal printer (Abstract; Figure 3, #102 and 104), a release coating disposed over a thermal-sensitive coating on the front side of the substrate to permit the front side to be wound with adhesive disposed on the backside (Paragraph 0022 – 0031; Figure 3, #108), and the release coating comprises a non-silicon based release coating configured to prevent premature thermal print head wear (Paragraph 0022 – 0031; Figure 3, #108) for the purpose of having a label that helps with self-cleaning and avoids printer jamming (Paragraph 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a thermal- sensitive coating and a non-silicon based release coating in Roth et al. in order to have a label that helps with self-cleaning and avoids printer jamming as taught by Wild et al.
With regard to the limitations of the pattern is configured to ensure consistent pull and energy exerted by a printer as the label proceeds through a printer web path, the pattern enables consistent wear of a platen roller of the printer, the pattern is configured to minimize adhesive buildup on components of a printer, the label comprises a peel value within a range of 130-150 gram force (gf) per inch (gf/in) based on the pattern”, the combination of Roth et al. and Wild et al. disclose a label having a diamond-shaped adhesive patches of a same size disposed in a pattern on a backside of the substrate (Roth, Figures 1A, 1B, and 1H; Column 3, lines 22 – 34) to form a label that promotes self-cleaning and avoids printer jamming on a substrate coated with a thermal sensitive coating and silicone-free release coating made with adhesive patterns (Wild, Paragraph 0068; Figures). Therefore, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials (i.e. patterned adhesive on a paper substrate) and in the similar production steps (i.e. the substrate is sent through a thermal printer for printing) used to produce the liner less. The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. MPEP 2112.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 March 6, 2026