DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s response filed on august 7th, 2026. Claims 1-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
In response to applicant’s amendment filed August 7th, 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim rejections; and maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 prior art claim rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 7th, 2026, have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments provided for claim 1, as set forth on pages 8-9 of Applicant’s remarks, the arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “Although Grivel mentions both vehicle-to-vehicle communication and forward collision warning/collision avoidance, it never discloses that the transmitted message is an FCA operation signal indicating activation of an FCA function of another vehicle, as required by amended claim 1. More importantly Grivel does not disclose setting a restriction mode corresponding to the received FCA operation signal of the other vehicle. Amended claim 1 requires more than merely receiving information from another vehicle. Specifically, the processor sets a restriction mode corresponding to the received FCA operation signal of the at least one other vehicle and thereafter controls the vehicle according to that restriction mode. Thus, the claimed control is performed in interlock with the FCA operation of another vehicle. In other words, activation of the FCA function in the other vehicle causes the receiving vehicle to establish a corresponding restriction mode and control its own travel based on that received FCA operation signal. Grivel contains no disclosure of such an interlocked control mechanism. Instead, the collision avoidance function described in Grivel operates independently based on the receiving vehicle's own forward-looking cameras and radar sensors, which determine whether a collision is imminent. Any braking performed by Grivel is therefore a local sensor-based collision avoidance response, not a vehicle control mode established in response to an FCA operation signal received from another vehicle.”
As to point (a), Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims as written requires “setting…a restriction mode based on the FCA operation signal, wherein the restriction mode is set corresponding to the received FCA operation signal of the at least one other vehicle”. Examiner asserts that Grivel discloses receiving an emergency braking message from a forward vehicle (Grivel; [0010]), this message constitutes a forward collision warning and based on receipt of a warning it may be determined to brake the vehicle, which corresponds to restricting speed. The claims as written do not preclude the vehicle from using it’s own sensors in part to determine which of the restriction modes to be enacted. Once the warning message is received, it is determined whether the driver fails to respond and apply a brake if no response is made (Grivel; [0010]). Examiner asserts that although the message does not contain specifics as to what kind of restriction must be enacted, it does provide a warning and that warning when received by the vehicle causes a restriction mode to be set. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments provided for claim 1, as set forth on page 10 of Applicant’s remarks, the arguments have been fully considered. Applicant argues “Grivel fails to disclose or suggest setting a restriction mode corresponding to an FCA operation signal received from another vehicle and controlling the vehicle according to the restriction mode set in response to that received FCA operation signal. Yamashita and Sakuma do not remedy this deficiency. Yamashita relates to a vehicle control apparatus in which a camera mounted on a host vehicle visually detects a lighting state of a brake lamp of a preceding vehicle and controls vehicle acceleration based on the detected lighting state. Thus, Yamashita merely discloses control based on information obtained by an onboard visual sensor. Yamashita neither discloses nor suggests receiving an FCA operation signal from another vehicle or setting a restriction mode corresponding to such a received FCA operation signal. Similarly, Sakuma relates to a travel control apparatus that controls vehicle travel by calculating a relative distance, relative speed, and/or time-to-collision (TTC) with respect to a preceding vehicle. Like Yamashita, Sakuma relies on the host vehicle's own sensing and calculations and does not disclose or suggest receiving an FCA operation signal from another vehicle or controlling vehicle travel in interlock with activation of an FCA function of the preceding vehicle.”
As to point (b), see point (a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US-20220383421 (hereinafter, “Grivel”).
Regarding claim 1 Grivel discloses a control method of a vehicle (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely and the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake”) including a processor (see at least [0074]; “ADAS systems can also be realized simply using application processors etc.)”), comprising:
under control of the processor, receiving, by the processor, a forward collision-avoidance assist (FCA) operation signal from at least one other vehicle via a communication module (see at least [0010]; “With inter-vehicle communication, for example, forward collision warning and avoidance, systems can send an emergency braking message to its following vehicles, or a vehicle can send Global Positioning System (GPS) data to the other vehicles in order to warn them of approaching vehicles beyond their range of view.”);
setting, by the processor, a restriction mode in which driving of the vehicle is restricted based on the FCA operation signal, wherein the restriction mode is set corresponding to the received FCA operation signal of the at least one other vehicle (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely and the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” the autonomous vehicle is forced to brake when a driver does not respond to a warning, the vehicle is restricted from accelerating or maintaining the same speed in favor of braking and avoiding the collision); and
controlling, by the processor, the vehicle according to the set restriction mode (see at least [0010]; “the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” the autonomous vehicle is forced to brake when a driver does not respond to a warning, the vehicle is restricted from accelerating or maintaining the same speed in favor of braking and avoiding the collision).
Regarding claim 2 Grivel discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Grivel discloses further comprising: under control of the processor, when the FCA operation signal is not received, determining that the at least one other vehicle is driving under normal conditions and setting, by the processor, the restriction mode to a zero restriction mode (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely,” if there is no risk of collision, no actions are made by the forward collision system this would include control of the distance between vehicles, vehicle speed and/or acceleration, or any other type of restriction).
Regarding claim 10 Grivel discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions to control a vehicle (see at least Fig. 1and [0074]; “These components can e.g. include a central processing unit (CPU), memory, input/output ports and secondary storage, e.g. alongside other components such as radio modems and a graphics processing unit (GPU)-all on a single substrate or microchip.”), wherein the instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a forward collision-avoidance assist (FCA) operation signal from at least one other vehicle via a communication module (see at least [0010]; “With inter-vehicle communication, for example, forward collision warning and avoidance, systems can send an emergency braking message to its following vehicles, or a vehicle can send Global Positioning System (GPS) data to the other vehicles in order to warn them of approaching vehicles beyond their range of view.”);
set a restriction mode in which driving of the vehicle is restricted based on the FCA operation signal, wherein the restriction mode is set corresponding to the received FCA operation signal of the at least one other vehicle (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely and the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” the autonomous vehicle is forced to brake when a driver does not respond to a warning, the vehicle is restricted from accelerating or maintaining the same speed in favor of braking and avoiding the collision); and
control the vehicle according to the set restriction mode (see at least [0010]; “the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” the autonomous vehicle is forced to brake when a driver does not respond to a warning, the vehicle is restricted from accelerate ng or maintaining the same speed in favor of braking and avoiding the collision).
Regarding claim 11 Grivel discloses a vehicle (see at least Fig. 2) comprising:
a communication module (see at least []; “Driver monitoring systems can alert drivers with noises, vibrations in the steering wheel, or flashing lights. In some cases, the car will take the extreme measure of stopping the vehicle completely; (M) 5G and V2X 217: The 5G ADAS features, with increased reliability and lower latency, provides communication between the vehicle and other vehicles or pedestrians, referred to as V2X (Vehicle-to-Everything). V2X denotes traffic networking technology, also called Car2x, with its variants Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V), Vehicle-to-Road (V2R), Vehicle-to-Infrastructure (V21), Vehicle-to-Network (V2N) and Vehicle-to-Person (V2P).”);
a memory configured to store instructions (see at least [0075]; “These components can e.g. include a central processing unit (CPU), memory, input/output ports and secondary storage,”); and
a processor configured to execute the instructions (see at least [0075]; “These components can e.g. include a central processing unit (CPU), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
receive a forward collision-avoidance assist (FCA) operation signal from at least one other vehicle via the communication module (see at least [0010]; “With inter-vehicle communication, for example, forward collision warning and avoidance, systems can send an emergency braking message to its following vehicles, or a vehicle can send Global Positioning System (GPS) data to the other vehicles in order to warn them of approaching vehicles beyond their range of view.”),
set a restriction mode in which driving of the vehicle is restricted based on the FCA operation signal, wherein the restriction mode is set corresponding to the received FCA operation signal of the at least one other vehicle (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely and the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” the autonomous vehicle is forced to brake when a driver does not respond to a warning, the vehicle is restricted from accelerating or maintaining the same speed in favor of braking and avoiding the collision), and
control the vehicle according to the set restriction mode (see at least [0010]; “the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” the autonomous vehicle is forced to brake when a driver does not respond to a warning, the vehicle is restricted from accelerating or maintaining the same speed in favor of braking and avoiding the collision).
Regarding claim 12 Grivel discloses all of the limitations of claim 11. Additionally, Grivel discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that the at least one other vehicle is driving under normal conditions and set the restriction mode to a zero restriction mode when the FCA operation signal is not received (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely,” if there is no risk of collision, no actions are made by the forward collision system this would include control of the distance between vehicles, vehicle speed and/or acceleration, or any other type of restriction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grivel, as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, in view of US-20210300367 (hereinafter, “Yamashita”).
Regarding claim 3 Grivel discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. Grivel does not disclose wherein setting the restriction mode comprising: under control of the processor, setting the restriction mode into one mode among a first restriction mode, a second restriction mode, or a third restriction mode based on the FCA operation signal.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein setting the restriction mode comprising: under control of the processor, setting the restriction mode into one mode among a first restriction mode, a second restriction mode, or a third restriction mode based on the FCA operation signal (see at least Fig. 5, it is determined at step S5 whether an object is detected in front of the vehicle, this corresponds to Applicant’s FCA operation signal as it indicates a risk of collision since there is an obstacle in the path of the vehicle. Once the detection of the object is determined as well as determination of brake light activation, it is decided what the restriction to the minimum distance should be as well as the restriction to the acceleration (see fig. 7 S203 and S202), see also [0133]; “the determination unit 103 of the vehicle control device 100 mounted on the vehicle 1 according to this embodiment sets a first acceleration as the maximum acceleration of the vehicle 1 at the time of acceleration suppression when the detected object is the preceding vehicle and the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 captured by the first image capture device 6a is on,” [0137]; “Furthermore, the determination unit 103 sets a second acceleration as the maximum acceleration at the time of acceleration suppression when the detected object is the preceding vehicle, the inter-vehicle distance between the preceding vehicle 91 and the vehicle 1 is equal to or smaller than the fourth distance, and the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 captured by the first image capture device 6a is off,” both braking control and acceleration control are types of travel restriction mode, therefore acceleration suppression with the second acceleration threshold corresponds to restriction mode 1, acceleration suppression with the first acceleration corresponds to restriction mode 2, and the braking control is restriction mode 3. Additionally, as written the use of the “or” statement only requires one of the modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 4 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Grivel discloses further comprising: under control of the processor… controlling the vehicle such that a warning notice is issued to a driver (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely,” prior to execution of suppression of any vehicle controls a warning is output to the driver).
Grivel does not disclose when the first restriction mode is set, determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and not restricting acceleration of the vehicle.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches when the first restriction mode is set, determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and not restricting acceleration of the vehicle (see at least [0129]; “when the detected object is the preceding vehicle 91, the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 captured by the first image capture device 6a is off…it is possible to cause the vehicle 1 to move forward in accordance with movement of the preceding vehicle 91 or cause the vehicle 1 to move forward when the vehicle 1 is warned by the following vehicle 92 by additionally easing the execution condition of the travel restriction control,” if the forward vehicle is not braking and the host vehicle is capable of moving forward from a stop this would mean acceleration is not prohibited when the forward vehicle is not braking, and [0139]; “acceleration suppression may be canceled substantially by setting a large value as the second acceleration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 5 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: under control of the processor, when the second restriction mode is set, determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is partially operated and controlling the vehicle such that acceleration of the vehicle is partially restricted (see at least [0145-0146]; “Furthermore, the brake light on/off determination processing in S9 and the processing of determining whether the brake light is on in S10 are similar to those of the first embodiment. [0146] When the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 is on ("Yes" at S10), the determination unit 103 sets the first acceleration as the maximum acceleration in acceleration suppression (S202),” if the light of the preceding vehicle is on, it is known that the vehicle is braking and the acceleration is set to a maximum acceleration, this corresponds to the acceleration being partially restricted because the vehicle is still capable of some acceleration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 6 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: under control of the processor, when the third restriction mode is set, determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is entirely operated, and controlling the vehicle such that acceleration of the vehicle is entirely restricted (see at least [0056]; “FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of a positional relation between the vehicle 1 and a preceding vehicle 91 according to the first embodiment. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, it is assumed that the preceding vehicle 91 is positioned ahead of the vehicle 1, and the vehicle 1 and the preceding vehicle 91 are stopped to wait for green of a traffic light, for example. In this case, when the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 is on and the vehicle 1 has started to move, automatic braking is applied,” the host vehicle is prohibited from accelerating when a forward vehicle is fully stopped a certain distance from the host vehicle and must brake instead, this corresponds to the acceleration being fully restricted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 13 Grivel discloses all of the limitations of claim 12. Grivel does not disclose wherein the instructions further cause the processor to set the restriction mode into one mode among a first restriction mode, a second restriction mode, or a third restriction mode based on the FCA operation signal.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to set the restriction mode into one mode among a first restriction mode, a second restriction mode, or a third restriction mode based on the FCA operation signal (see at least Fig. 5, it is determined at step S5 whether an object is detected in front of the vehicle, this corresponds to Applicant’s FCA operation signal as it indicates a risk of collision since there is an obstacle in the path of the vehicle. Once the detection of the object is determined as well as determination of brake light activation, it is decided what the restriction to the minimum distance should be as well as the restriction to the acceleration (see fig. 7 S203 and S202), see also [0133]; “the determination unit 103 of the vehicle control device 100 mounted on the vehicle 1 according to this embodiment sets a first acceleration as the maximum acceleration of the vehicle 1 at the time of acceleration suppression when the detected object is the preceding vehicle and the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 captured by the first image capture device 6a is on,” [0137]; “Furthermore, the determination unit 103 sets a second acceleration as the maximum acceleration at the time of acceleration suppression when the detected object is the preceding vehicle, the inter-vehicle distance between the preceding vehicle 91 and the vehicle 1 is equal to or smaller than the fourth distance, and the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 captured by the first image capture device 6a is off,” both braking control and acceleration control are types of travel restriction mode, therefore acceleration suppression with the second acceleration threshold corresponds to restriction mode 1, acceleration suppression with the first acceleration corresponds to restriction mode 2, and the braking control is restriction mode 3. Additionally, as written the use of the “or” statement only requires one of the modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 14 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Grivel discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor … control the vehicle such that a warning notice is issued to a driver (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely,” prior to execution of suppression of any vehicle controls a warning is output to the driver).
Grivel does not disclose wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and not restrict acceleration of the vehicle.
Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and not restrict acceleration of the vehicle (see at least [0129]; “when the detected object is the preceding vehicle 91, the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 captured by the first image capture device 6a is off…it is possible to cause the vehicle 1 to move forward in accordance with movement of the preceding vehicle 91 or cause the vehicle 1 to move forward when the vehicle 1 is warned by the following vehicle 92 by additionally easing the execution condition of the travel restriction control,” if the forward vehicle is not braking and the host vehicle is capable of moving forward from a stop this would mean acceleration is not prohibited when the forward vehicle is not braking, and [0139]; “acceleration suppression may be canceled substantially by setting a large value as the second acceleration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 15 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is partially operated and control the vehicle such that acceleration of the vehicle is partially restricted when the second restriction mode is set (see at least [0145-0146]; “Furthermore, the brake light on/off determination processing in S9 and the processing of determining whether the brake light is on in S10 are similar to those of the first embodiment. [0146] When the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 is on ("Yes" at S10), the determination unit 103 sets the first acceleration as the maximum acceleration in acceleration suppression (S202),” if the light of the preceding vehicle is on, it is known that the vehicle is braking and the acceleration is set to a maximum acceleration, this corresponds to the acceleration being partially restricted because the vehicle is still capable of some acceleration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 16 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is entirely operated, and control the vehicle such that acceleration of the vehicle is entirely restricted when the third restriction mode is set (see at least [0056]; “FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating an example of a positional relation between the vehicle 1 and a preceding vehicle 91 according to the first embodiment. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 3, it is assumed that the preceding vehicle 91 is positioned ahead of the vehicle 1, and the vehicle 1 and the preceding vehicle 91 are stopped to wait for green of a traffic light, for example. In this case, when the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 is on and the vehicle 1 has started to move, automatic braking is applied,” the host vehicle is prohibited from accelerating when a forward vehicle is fully stopped a certain distance from the host vehicle and must brake instead, this corresponds to the acceleration being fully restricted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grivel in view of Yamashita, as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, in further view of US-20180201188 (hereinafter, “Sakuma”).
Regarding claim 7 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Grivel discloses further comprising: under control of the processor, when the zero restriction mode or the first restriction mode is set, determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely,” if there is no risk of collision, no actions are made by the forward collision system this would include control of the distance between vehicles, vehicle speed and/or acceleration, or any other type of restriction).
Grivel does not disclose determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and controlling vehicle such that a time to collision (TTC) currently in use is continuously maintained.
Sakuma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and controlling vehicle such that a time to collision (TTC) currently in use is continuously maintained (see at least [088]; “As illustrated in FIG. 3, when the own vehicle is traveling with constant speed following the preceding vehicle, the time to collision TTC is infinity, the relative speed is 0, i.e., zero, and the relative distance also does not change” when the preceding vehicle does not decelerate the time to collision is maintained since both vehicles travel at a relative speed of 0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel as modified by Yamashita with the time to collision of Sakuma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of taking a safe driving action with sufficient time (see at least Sakuma; [0005]).
Regarding claim 8 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 3. Additionally, Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: under control of the processor, when the second restriction mode or the third restriction mode is set, determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is operated (see at least [0145-0146]; “Furthermore, the brake light on/off determination processing in S9 and the processing of determining whether the brake light is on in S10 are similar to those of the first embodiment. [0146] When the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 is on ("Yes" at S10), the determination unit 103 sets the first acceleration as the maximum acceleration in acceleration suppression (S202),” if the light of the preceding vehicle is on, it is known that the vehicle is braking and the acceleration is set to a maximum acceleration, this corresponds to the acceleration being partially restricted because the vehicle is still capable of some acceleration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Grivel in view of Yamashita does not teach determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is operated and controlling the vehicle based on a new time to collision (TTC) which is different from a TTC currently in use.
Sakuma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining that braking of the at least one other vehicle is operated and controlling the vehicle based on a new time to collision (TTC) which is different from a TTC currently in use (see at least [0089]; “Then, when the preceding vehicle starts decelerating at time t1 and the speed of the own vehicle does not change, the time to collision TTC gradually decreases. Further, the relative speed gradually decreases. For example, when the preceding vehicle decelerates with a nearly constant acceleration (that is, G), the relative speed decreases in a shape close to a linear line. Further, in this state, the relative distance decreases in a shape close to a quadratic curve,” a new TTC is calculated if the preceding vehicle decelerates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel as modified by Yamashita with the time to collision of Sakuma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of taking a safe driving action with sufficient time (see at least Sakuma; [0005]).
Regarding claim 9 Grivel in view of Yamashita and Sakuma renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 8. Additionally, Grivel discloses further comprising: controlling driving of the vehicle at a time earlier than the TTC currently in use (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely and the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” driving of a vehicle is capable of being controlled at any point).
Regarding claim 17 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Grivel discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely,” if there is no risk of collision, no actions are made by the forward collision system this would include control of the distance between vehicles, vehicle speed and/or acceleration, or any other type of restriction).
Grivel does not disclose determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and control such that a time to collision (TTC) currently in use is continuously maintained when the zero-restriction mode or the first restriction mode is set.
Sakuma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is not operated and control such that a time to collision (TTC) currently in use is continuously maintained when the zero-restriction mode or the first restriction mode is set (see at least [088]; “As illustrated in FIG. 3, when the own vehicle is traveling with constant speed following the preceding vehicle, the time to collision TTC is infinity, the relative speed is 0, i.e., zero, and the relative distance also does not change” when the preceding vehicle does not decelerate the time to collision is maintained since both vehicles travel at a relative speed of 0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel as modified by Yamashita with the time to collision of Sakuma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of taking a safe driving action with sufficient time (see at least Sakuma; [0005]).
Regarding claim 18 Grivel in view of Yamashita renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Yamashita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is operated… when the second restriction mode or the third restriction mode is set (see at least [0145-0146]; “Furthermore, the brake light on/off determination processing in S9 and the processing of determining whether the brake light is on in S10 are similar to those of the first embodiment. [0146] When the brake light of the preceding vehicle 91 is on ("Yes" at S10), the determination unit 103 sets the first acceleration as the maximum acceleration in acceleration suppression (S202),” if the light of the preceding vehicle is on, it is known that the vehicle is braking and the acceleration is set to a maximum acceleration, this corresponds to the acceleration being partially restricted because the vehicle is still capable of some acceleration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel with the restriction modes of Yamashita. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of performing smooth operation in consideration of a vehicle’s surroundings (see at least Yamashita; [0005-0006]).
Grivel in view of Yamashita does not teach determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is operated and control the vehicle based on a new time to collision (TTC), which is different form a TTC currently in use.
Sakuma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine that braking of the at least one other vehicle is operated and control the vehicle based on a new time to collision (TTC), which is different form a TTC currently in use (see at least [0089]; “Then, when the preceding vehicle starts decelerating at time t1 and the speed of the own vehicle does not change, the time to collision TTC gradually decreases. Further, the relative speed gradually decreases. For example, when the preceding vehicle decelerates with a nearly constant acceleration (that is, G), the relative speed decreases in a shape close to a linear line. Further, in this state, the relative distance decreases in a shape close to a quadratic curve,” a new TTC is calculated if the preceding vehicle decelerates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the vehicle control method of Grivel as modified by Yamashita with the time to collision of Sakuma. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of taking a safe driving action with sufficient time (see at least Sakuma; [0005]).
Regarding claim 19 Grivel in view of Yamashita and Sakuma renders obvious all of the limitations of claim 18. Additionally, Grivel discloses further comprising: controlling driving of the vehicle at a time earlier than the TTC currently in use (see at least [0010]; “Forward collision warning systems provide warnings (visual, audible, haptic) to a driver when the occurrence of imminent crash with the leading vehicle is likely and the collision avoidance systems take action only if the driver fails to respond to the warning indicated, for example by applying a limited or full brake,” driving of a vehicle is capable of being controlled at any point).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEIGH NICOLE TURNBAUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
9/24/26