DETAILED ACTION
The reply dated March 11, 2026 has been entered. Claims 22-41 are currently pending in the application with claims 26-29, 32, 35-36 and 39-41 currently withdrawn as pertaining to non-elected species.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,215,182. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the structure including a multi-stage compressor including an oil feed rod having an open interior can be found in claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent 11,215,182.
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,781,547. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the structure including a multi-stage compressor including an oil feed rod having an open interior can be found in claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent 11,781,547.
Claims 22-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,494. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the structure including a multi-stage compressor including an oil feed rod having an open interior can be found in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent 12,146,494.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-25, 30-31, 33-34 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al., U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0119601 in view of Johansson et al., GB 2,094,891.
As per claims 22 and 37, Lin et al. disclose a multi-stage compressor (100) and a method having a first stage rotary compressor (220) located upstream from a second stage rotary compressor (280), the multi-stage compressor comprising:
a transfer volume (250) located intermediate to the first stage rotary compressor (220) and the second stage rotary compressor (280), wherein the transfer volume (250) is used to receive outflow from the first stage rotary compressor and convey the outflow to the second stage rotary compressor (fig. 1) (para [0021]); and
Lin et al. do not disclose an oil feed rod that extends into the transfer volume, the oil feed rod having an open interior for the receipt of oil as well as a plurality of openings formed in an exterior periphery of the oil feed rod through which oil from the open interior of the oil feed rod can pass into the transfer volume, at least one opening of the plurality of openings configured to spray oil onto the second stage rotary compressor from a direction substantially orthogonal to an axis of rotation of the second stage rotary compressor. However, Johansson et al. in their Oil-injected multi-stage meshing screw compressor invention teach a screw compressor that supplies a great amount of cooling oil in an intermediate cooling step of a two stage screw compressor (page 1, col. 1). Nozzle orifices (41, 42) are located on the periphery of hollow nozzle (19) (figs. 1, 3). The nozzle located in a passageway (15) located between the first stage (10) and second stage (11) compressors (fig. 1). Nozzle orifices (41, 42) are arranged perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle (19) (page 2, lines 27-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin with an oil feed rod that extends into the transfer volume, as taught by Johansson et al., for the purpose of improving homogeneity of the mixture by placing the nozzle directly in the working fluid path.
As per claim 23, Lin et al. and Johansson et al. as set forth above, Lin et al. as modified, disclose the oil feed rod (19) extends from a wall (near 304, Lin) that defines the transfer volume and terminates at an end (near 201, Lin), the exterior periphery of the oil feed rod (19) defined between the wall and the end.
As per claim 24, Lin et al. and Johansson et al. as set forth above, Lin et al. as modified, disclose the oil feed rod (19) includes a circular cross-sectional shape (figs. 4, 5), and wherein each of the plurality of openings (41, 42) are symmetric (figs. 1, 3-5).
As per claim 25, Lin et al. and Johansson et al. as set forth above, Lin et al. as modified, disclose the oil feed rod (19) is in the form of a hollow tube (figs. 3-5), and wherein the plurality of openings (41, 42) are sized to produce a spray of oil droplets (page 1, lines 88-95).
As per claims 30 and 37, Lin et al. disclose an apparatus (100) [two-stage oil-injected screw air compressor] and method comprising:
a first pair of compressor rotors (220);
a second pair of compressor rotors (280);
a passage (250) that connects an outlet of the first pair of compressor rotors (220) to an inlet of the second pair of compressor rotors (280) (fig. 1).
Lin et al. do not disclose an oil delivery rod that extends into the passage, the oil delivery rod including a plurality of openings positioned between a first exposed end and a second exposed end of the oil delivery rod, at least one opening of the plurality of openings configured to spray oil onto at least one compressor rotor of the second pair of compressor rotors from a direction substantially orthogonal to an axis of rotation of the at least one compressor rotor. However, Johansson et al. in their Oil-injected multi-stage meshing screw compressor invention teach a screw compressor that supplies a great amount of cooling oil in an intermediate cooling step of a two stage screw compressor (page 1, col. 1). Nozzle orifices (41, 42) are located on the periphery of hollow nozzle (19) (figs. 1, 3). The nozzle located in a passageway (15) located between the first stage (10) and second stage (11) compressors (fig. 1). Nozzle orifices (41, 42) are arranged perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis of the nozzle (19) (page 2, lines 27-50) at a position to deliver cooling oil onto the second stage compressor (11) (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin with an oil feed rod that extends into the passage, as taught by Johansson et al., for the purpose of improving homogeneity of the mixture by placing the nozzle directly in the working fluid path.
As per claim 31, Lin et al. and Johansson et al. as set forth above, Lin et al. as modified, disclose the plurality of openings (41, 42) extend between an inner surface of the oil delivery rod (19) and an external oil delivery surface of the oil delivery rod (figs. 3-5).
As per claims 33 and 38, Lin et al. and Johansson et al. as set forth above, Lin et al. as modified, disclose the plurality of openings (41, 42) are sized to atomize oil that is conveyed through the openings (page 1, lines 88-95).
As per claim 34, Lin et al. and Johansson et al. as set forth above, Lin et al. as modified, disclose a spray pattern formed by the plurality of openings (41, 42) extends around the entirety of a periphery of the oil delivery rod (19) (figs. 3-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argues on pages 7 and 8 of the Remarks that Johansson specifically teaches away and avoids spraying oil onto the second stage rotors. Therefore, Lin, Johansson, or any other cited reference fails to disclose, teach, or suggest "at least one opening of the plurality of openings configured to spray oil onto the second stage rotary compressor from a direction substantially orthogonal to an axis of rotation of the second stage rotary compressor," as previously recited in claim 22. Examiner respectfully disagrees. It appears fig. 1 shows orifices in the spray nozzle are pointed upwards toward the first stage compressor as stated by applicants. However, GB ‘891 also describes a different nozzle 19 shown in figs. 3-5 designed in a different way (p. 2, col. 1, lines 27-50). Examiner interprets fig. 3 is an overhead section view looking down towards the second stage injector. Section BB is shown in fig. 5 with a least a row of nozzles configured to spray oil onto the second stage rotary compressor from a direction substantially orthogonal to an axis of rotation of the second stage rotary compressor as claimed in claim 22. While lines 27-29 state “in certain cases dynamic losses can be caused by the fact, that the cooling oil penetrates inward to the rotating rotors….”, GB ‘891 is not specific as to which certain cases those may be. Further, GB ‘891 does disclose nozzle orifices shown in figs. 3 and 5 that do meet the limitations of applicants’ claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654