DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 07/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupi (US 2017/0321428) in view of Rakotonirainy (FR 3124531) and Kehl (DE 19501534).
Regarding claim 1, Lupi teaches thin plates for buildings and walls of the buildings (“a lightweight panel”) including a first layer of marble (“on one face of the central layer, an external decorative slab made of natural stone or Ultra High Performance Concrete”), a layer of fiberglass, a foamed third layer (“a central layer which constitutes a structural element of the panel”), and a fourth layer of aluminum or stainless steel (“on the face of the central layer opposite to the one on which the external decorative slab is present, a metal sheet”) (Paragraph [0037]; Fig. 2).
Lupi is silent with respect to the plates further comprising a textile layer formed by fabric, non-woven fabric or a glass fiber mat, glued to the external face of the metal sheet.
Rakotonirainy teaches insulation panels used in the construction industry (Paragraph [0002]). The panels include a foam panel with facings including a non-woven material (Paragraph [0008]). As illustrated in figure 3, the non-woven materials may be a bottom most layer and is characterized in providing mechanical, thermal and creep resistance (Paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the plates of Lupi to further include a bottom most non-woven layer which is characterized in providing mechanical, thermal and creep resistance as taught by Rakotonirainy.
Lupi is further silent with respect to the plates having lateral dimensions of up to 1.6 x 4 meters.
Kehl teaches a composite panel which includes stone and may be applied to walls (Paragraphs [0002]-[0003]). The panels are further taught to have dimensions of 270 cm x 60 cm x 2.1 cm such that the height of the panels correspond to the height of a normal wall (Paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the wall plates of Lupi such that they have dimensions of 270 cm x 60 cm x 2.1 cm, such that these dimensions are suitable for the heights of normal walls, as taught by Kehl. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the dimensions may also be 0.6 m x 2.7 m which is within the range of up to 1.6 x 4 m.
Regarding claim 2, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, the plates include a first layer of marble.
Regarding claim 4, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The core, foamed layer comprises PVC or PET (“polymer”) (Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, the fourth layer may be a layer of aluminum or stainless steel.
Regarding claim 6, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, the bottom most layer is a layer of non-woven material.
Regarding claim 7, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. The layer of marble has a thickness of 3 mm, the foamed layer has a thickness of 10 mm and the metal layer has a thickness of 0.5 mm (Paragraph [0066]). Rakotonirainy further teaches the bottom-most non-woven layer having a weight of 50 to 500 grams per square meter (Paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 8, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1. As discussed above, a glass fiber layer is provided between the foamed layer and the marble layer and an additional glass fiber layer may be formed between the foamed layer and the metal layer (Pargraph [0066]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupi (US 2017/0321428) in view of Rakotonirainy (FR 3124531) and Kehl (DE 19501534) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Savignac (US 4,218,496).
Regarding claim 3, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Lupi is silent with respect to the marble layer having a finish chosen from sanding, polishing and bush-hammering.
Savignac teaches blocks of natural stone materials which may be used as wall panels (Col. 2, Lines 6-12; Col. 3, Lines 19-41). The blocks are subjected to a final polishing step in order to achieve a high gloss (Col. 3, Lines 13-18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the plates of Lupi such that they are further subjected to a polishing step in order to achieve a high gloss as taught by Savignac.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupi (US 2017/0321428) in view of Rakotonirainy (FR 3124531) and Kehl (DE 19501534) as applied to claim 8, and further in view of Toncelli (US 6,205,727).
Regarding claim 9, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Lupi is silent with respect to the fiber glass sheets having a weight o f30 to 800 grams per square meter.
Toncelli teaches the application of a reinforcement on the faces of a slab of stone in order to increase the flexural resistance of the slabs (Col. 1, Lines 10-12; Col. 3, Lines 11-30). The reinforcements are glass threads applied in a range of 100 to 800 g per square meter (Col. 3, Lines 45-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the glass fiber layers of Lupi to have a weight of 100 to 800 grams per square meter in order to improve the flexural resistance of the plates as taught by Toncelli.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lupi (US 2017/0321428) in view of Rakotonirainy (FR 3124531) and Kehl (DE 19501534) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Boucke (US 2023/0141438).
Regarding claim 10, Lupi teaches the plates as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Lupi is silent with respect to the layers being adhered to each other with structural adhesives chosen from modified acrylic resins, polyurethane resins, epoxy resins, phenolic resins, silicone resins, and thermosetting structural adhesives, applied in a quantity of between 30 and 300 grams per square meter.
Boucke teaches tile panels for walls (Paragraph [0002]). The panels include support panels and decorative panels which are adhered together by an adhesive (Paragraph [0010]). The adhesives may be epoxy resins provided in an amount ranging of above 175 grams per meter squared allowing for sufficient adhesion (Paragraphs [0010]-[0011]; [0152]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to form the plates of Lupi such that the layers are adhered using an epoxy adhesion in an amount above 175 grams per square meter in order to provide sufficient adhesion as taught by Boucke.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P DILLON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783