DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2020/0091780) in view of Pan et al. (US 2021/0135509) and further in view of Jia et al. (US 2020/0343777)
Re Claim 1; Lee discloses A system comprising:
a wireless power transmitting device a comprising:
(Lee discloses wireless power transfer system 100 having wireless power transmitter 120/200 and wireless power receiver 130/400. See Lee ¶¶ [0035]-[0038] and Figures 1, 2, and 4.)
a first wireless power transfer coil configured to transmit wireless power signals
(Lee discloses transmit coil 240 configured to transmit AC wireless power to the receiver through magnetic induction or magnetic resonance. See Lee ¶¶ [0038], [0043]-[0044], and [0048].)
an inverter that is configured to drive the first wireless power transfer coil
(Lee discloses inverter 220 configured to convert DC power into AC power having a specified frequency and to supply the AC power through matching circuitry 230 to transmit coil 240. See Lee ¶¶ [0038], [0042]-[0044], and [0047]-[0049].
Lee’s transmitter architecture expressly includes inverter 220, transmit coil 240, sensing circuitry 260, communication circuitry 250, and control circuitry 270.)
first control circuitry configured to: receive a first packet
(Lee discloses that wireless power receiver 400 transmits a request for information associated with an amount of transmit power in operation 610 and that wireless power transmitter 200 receives the request. See Lee ¶¶ [0050] and [0097]. Also see Fig. 6)
and in accordance with receiving the first packet, transmit a second packet
(Lee discloses that, in operation 615, wireless power transmitter 200 transmits responsive transmitter-power information in response to the request received in operation 610. See Lee ¶¶ [0050] and [0097]-[0098]. Also see Fig. 6
The timing and causal relationship are express: the transmitter sends its second packet in response to the receiver’s first request packet.)
and a wireless power receiving device comprising: a second wireless power transfer coil configured to receive the wireless power signals from the first wireless power transfer coil”
(Lee discloses wireless power receiver 400 having receive coil 410 configured to receive the AC wireless power transmitted by transmit coil 240. See Lee ¶¶ [0062]-[0063] and Figure 4.)
and second control circuitry configured to: transmit the first packet”
(Lee discloses processor 490 transmitting the request for transmitter-power information to wireless power transmitter 200. See Lee ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0097], and [0123]. Also see Fig. 6)
after transmitting the first packet, receive the second packet
(Lee discloses processor 490 receiving the requested transmitter-power information as the transmitter’s response to the receiver’s request. See Lee ¶¶ [0086], [0097]-[0098], and [0123].)
and in accordance with receiving the second packet, update a wireless power transfer parameter
(Lee discloses that, after receiving the transmitter information, receiver processor 490 calculates efficiency and updates one or more wireless power transfer parameters. These include: reception-voltage level; receive current; receiver power state; charging-circuit power state; and requested transmitter power or transmitter-voltage level. See Lee ¶¶ [0073]-[0076], [0088]-[0090], and [0099]-[0102]. In particular, Lee ¶ [0100] changes the receive power state based on calculated efficiency, and Lee ¶ [0101] transmits a request to change transmitter power based on that efficiency.)
Lee further discloses Lee’s second packet contains an amount of transmit power, transmit current, or transmitter voltage. Lee’s receiver then calculates an end-to-end reception efficiency using receiver-side received power and the transmitted power information. See Lee ¶¶ [0098]-[0100]. Lee does, however, disclose the transmitter power-conversion locations relevant to the missing ratio. Lee ¶ [0049] identifies: DC power input to inverter 220; and AC power output from inverter 220 and applied to transmit coil 240.
Lee therefore provides the transmitter hardware, sensing circuitry, and control circuitry to which Pan’s transmitter-efficiency calculation would be applied.
Lee does not expressly teach:
the second packet comprises efficiency information, wherein the efficiency information comprises a ratio of two power levels within the wireless power transmitting device and does not expressly teach update a wireless power transfer parameter based on the ratio of two power levels within the wireless power transmitting device. Lee simply does not expressly divide the transmitter’s output power by its internal DC power consumption and place the resulting ratio into the response packet.
Pan expressly teaches that internal power-conversion conditions of the wireless charging transmitter should be considered in determining charging efficiency. See Pan ¶ [0102].
Pan then teaches: the second transmission efficiency of the wireless charging transmitter and explains that this second transmission efficiency is: overall efficiency of a transmitting channel of the wireless charging transmitter. Pan mathematically defines the efficiency as: ηDC−MW=PT/PDIS where: PT is the total output power of the transmitter’s transmitting channel; and PDIS is the total DC power consumption of the transmitter’s transmitting channel. See Pan ¶¶ [0109]-[0111]. Thus, Pan expressly teaches efficiency information comprising a ratio of two power levels within the wireless power transmitting device. Both the numerator and denominator are transmitter-internal power quantities. Pan’s ratio is not used to decode a communications symbol. It is expressly identified as the overall efficiency of the transmitter’s transmitting channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lee’s transmitter so that its response packet includes Pan’s transmitter-channel efficiency ratio in order to provide the required amount of power necessarily to transfer maximum power to the receiver to prevent power wastage.
The combination does not necessarily disclose update wireless-power-transfer parameters.
Jia teaches an inductive wireless-charging system having wireless charger 120 and electronic device 110. Jia ¶ [0048] expressly discloses bidirectional data communication between the charger and receiving device to exchange: requests; acknowledgments; instructions; power levels; voltage indications; and efficiency indications. Jia further explains that the charger can transmit data over the inductive coupling between transmitter coil L11tx and receiver coil L22rx, and that both the charger and receiving device can send and receive data over the coupled coils.
Jia also teaches the relationship between efficiency information and parameter control: At ¶ [0084], the receiving electronic device requests transmitter settings and receives message 294 from the charger. At ¶ [0085], the receiving device determines an efficiency measure. At ¶¶ [0086]-[0087], it compares efficiency measures and determines adjusted transmitter and receiver operating parameters. At ¶ [0088], it changes receiver output voltage and sends message 296 requesting a new transmitter input voltage. At ¶¶ [0089]-[0092], it repeats the process to identify operating parameters that provide higher efficiency.
Jia therefore teaches not merely transmitting an efficiency indication, but using efficiency information to update wireless-power-transfer parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lee’s transmitter so that its response packet includes Pan’s transmitter-channel efficiency ratio as the efficiency indication taught by Jia, and to configure Lee’s receiver to use that received ratio in Lee’s already-disclosed efficiency-based parameter-control process to maximize power transfer since no power is wasted.
Re Claim 2; Lee teaches an electronic device comprising: a wireless power transfer coil. Lee discloses wireless power receiver 400 having receive coil 410 configured to receive AC wireless power from wireless power transmitter 200. See Lee ¶¶ [0062]-[0063].
a rectifier that is connected to the wireless power transfer coil
(Lee discloses rectifier circuitry 430 coupled to receive coil 410 through matching circuitry 420. Rectifier circuitry 430 converts received AC power into DC power. See Lee ¶¶ [0062]-[0065] and Figure 4.)
control circuitry configured to: transmit a first packet to an additional electronic device
(Lee discloses processor 490 transmitting a request for transmitter-power information to wireless power transmitter 200. See Lee ¶¶ [0074], [0086], [0097], and [0123].)
after transmitting the first packet, receive a second packet from the additional electronic device
(Lee discloses receiver processor 490 receiving transmitter-power information sent by transmitter 200 in response to the request. See Lee ¶¶ [0086], [0097]-[0098], and [0123].)
and in accordance with receiving the second packet, update a wireless power transfer parameter
Lee discloses updating reception voltage, receive current, receiver power state, charging power state, and requested transmitter power after receiving the transmitter information and determining efficiency. See Lee ¶¶ [0073]-[0076], [0088]-[0090], and [0099]-[0102].
Lee’s second packet reports transmitter power, transmitter current, or transmitter voltage. Lee does not expressly report a calculated ratio between transmitter-channel output power and transmitter-channel DC power consumption.
Lee does not expressly teach that the second packet:
includes a ratio of two power levels within the additional electronic device and in accordance with receiving the second packet, update a power transfer parameter
Pan expressly teaches calculating the wireless charging transmitter’s overall transmitting-channel efficiency as:
ηDC−MW=PT/PDIS where both PT and PDIS are power levels within the transmitter. See Pan ¶¶ [0109]-[0111].
Pan expressly teaches that internal power-conversion conditions of the wireless charging transmitter should be considered in determining charging efficiency. See Pan ¶ [0102].
Pan then teaches: the second transmission efficiency of the wireless charging transmitter and explains that this second transmission efficiency is: overall efficiency of a transmitting channel of the wireless charging transmitter. Pan mathematically defines the efficiency as: ηDC−MW=PT/PDIS where: PT is the total output power of the transmitter’s transmitting channel; and PDIS is the total DC power consumption of the transmitter’s transmitting channel. See Pan ¶¶ [0109]-[0111]. Thus, Pan expressly teaches efficiency information comprising a ratio of two power levels within the wireless power transmitting device. Both the numerator and denominator are transmitter-internal power quantities. Pan’s ratio is not used to decode a communications symbol. It is expressly identified as the overall efficiency of the transmitter’s transmitting channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lee’s transmitter so that its response packet includes Pan’s transmitter-channel efficiency ratio in order to provide the required amount of power necessarily to transfer maximum power to the receiver to prevent power wastage.
The combination does not necessarily disclose update wireless-power-transfer parameters.
Jia teaches: bidirectional exchange of efficiency indications between a wireless charger and receiving electronic device, ¶ [0048]; a receiver request for current transmitter settings and a responsive transmitter message, ¶ [0084]; efficiency determination based on received transmitter information, ¶ [0085]; and efficiency-based updating of transmitter and receiver operating parameters, ¶¶ [0087]-[0092]. Jia therefore directly supports placing efficiency information in a transmitter-to-receiver message and using efficiency information in wireless-power parameter control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modify Lee’s transmitter response so that it includes Pan’s transmitter-internal efficiency ratio as Jia’s efficiency indication since directly supplying the transmitter-conversion ratio would permit Lee’s receiver to make a more informed selection among its disclosed parameter changes, such as changing receiver voltage, receiver current, requested transmitter power, or transmitter-voltage level. The implementation would use Lee’s existing packet exchange, sensing circuitry, processor, and control sequence to maximize power transfer
Re Claim 12; Lee discloses wherein transmitting the first packet comprises transmitting the first packet using the wireless power transfer coil and wherein receiving the second packet comprises receiving the second packet using the wireless power transfer coil. (The paragraphs state that the receiver receives AC power "via a coil (e.g., the receive coil 410 of FIG. 4)" and also receives the information packets ([0122], [0119]). It is implied that the same coil is used for both power and communication, as is common in many wireless power standards.)
Re Claim 13; Lee discloses An electronic device comprising: a wireless power transfer coil
(Lee discloses wireless power transmitter 200 having transmit coil 240. See Lee ¶¶ [0038], [0043]-[0044], and [0048].)
an inverter that is configured to supply alternating-current drive signals to the wireless power transfer coil
(Lee discloses inverter 220 configured to convert DC power into AC power having a specified frequency and to provide that AC power to transmit coil 240. See Lee ¶¶ [0042]-[0044] and [0047]-[0049].)
control circuitry configured to: receive a first packet from an additional electronic device
(Lee discloses control circuitry 270 receiving a request for transmitter-power information from wireless power receiver 400. See Lee ¶¶ [0050] and [0097].)
and in accordance with receiving the first packet, transmit a second packet to the additional electronic device
(Lee discloses transmitter 200 sending responsive transmitter-power information in operation 615 in response to the request received in operation 610. See Lee ¶¶ [0050] and [0097]-[0098].)
Lee does not expressly teach that the responsive second packet: “comprises a ratio of two power levels within the electronic device.
Pan expressly teaches calculating the wireless charging transmitter’s transmitting-channel efficiency as the ratio of: total transmitter-channel output power; to total transmitter-channel DC power consumption. See Pan ¶¶ [0109]-[0111]. Pan’s ratio therefore directly satisfies:
“a ratio of two power levels within the electronic device.”
Pan expressly teaches calculating the wireless charging transmitter’s overall transmitting-channel efficiency as:
ηDC−MW=PT/PDIS where both PT and PDIS are power levels within the transmitter. See Pan ¶¶ [0109]-[0111].
Pan expressly teaches that internal power-conversion conditions of the wireless charging transmitter should be considered in determining charging efficiency. See Pan ¶ [0102].
Pan then teaches: the second transmission efficiency of the wireless charging transmitter and explains that this second transmission efficiency is: overall efficiency of a transmitting channel of the wireless charging transmitter. Pan mathematically defines the efficiency as: ηDC−MW=PT/PDIS where: PT is the total output power of the transmitter’s transmitting channel; and PDIS is the total DC power consumption of the transmitter’s transmitting channel. See Pan ¶¶ [0109]-[0111]. Thus, Pan expressly teaches efficiency information comprising a ratio of two power levels within the wireless power transmitting device. Both the numerator and denominator are transmitter-internal power quantities. Pan’s ratio is not used to decode a communications symbol. It is expressly identified as the overall efficiency of the transmitter’s transmitting channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lee’s transmitter so that its response packet includes Pan’s transmitter-channel efficiency ratio in order to provide the required amount of power necessarily to transfer maximum power to the receiver to prevent power wastage.
The combination does not necessarily disclose update wireless-power-transfer parameters.
Jia teaches: bidirectional exchange of efficiency indications between a wireless charger and receiving electronic device, ¶ [0048]; a receiver request for current transmitter settings and a responsive transmitter message, ¶ [0084]; efficiency determination based on received transmitter information, ¶ [0085]; and efficiency-based updating of transmitter and receiver operating parameters, ¶¶ [0087]-[0092]. Jia therefore directly supports placing efficiency information in a transmitter-to-receiver message and using efficiency information in wireless-power parameter control.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have modify Lee’s transmitter response so that it includes Pan’s transmitter-internal efficiency ratio as Jia’s efficiency indication since directly supplying the transmitter-conversion ratio would permit Lee’s receiver to make a more informed selection among its disclosed parameter changes, such as changing receiver voltage, receiver current, requested transmitter power, or transmitter-voltage level. The implementation would use Lee’s existing packet exchange, sensing circuitry, processor, and control sequence to maximize power transfer
Re Claim 14; Lee discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to receive an instruction from the additional electronic device after transmitting the second packet to the additional electronic device. (Operation 630 describes the receiver transmitting a request to the transmitter. [0101] Operation 635 describes the transmitter receiving this request (an instruction) for changing transmit power. [0102])
Re Claim 15; Lee discloses wherein the instruction comprises a request for a change in a target power delivery magnitude. (Paragraph 630, where the request is "associated with changing a transmit power" and "may include... a request causing the wireless power transmitter 200 to adjust... a transmission voltage level." [0101])
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Pan and Jia, as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Crosby (US 2017/0310145)
Re Claim 3; Lee additionally teaches changing a receiver reception-voltage level based on efficiency. See Lee ¶¶ [0073], [0076], [0088], and [0100].
Jia teaches storing and monitoring target output voltage 287 and changing receiver output voltage VOUT during efficiency-based parameter-adjustment cycles. See Jia ¶¶ [0077]-[0078] and [0087]-[0092].
The combination fails to expressly teach the changed voltage as: a rectifier voltage target of the rectifier. i.e. wherein updating the wireless power transfer parameter comprises changing a rectifier voltage target of the rectifier.
Crosby teaches a wireless charging receiver having a rectifier circuit and a stored target rectifier voltage VTAR. Crosby ¶ [0019] teaches: loading default values for target rectifier voltage VTAR; updating target rectifier voltage VTAR when necessary; measuring actual rectifier voltage VRECT; and selecting VTAR as the voltage calculated to provide efficient power transfer. Crosby therefore expressly teaches: “changing a rectifier voltage target of the rectifier.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have implemented Lee’s efficiency-based receiver-voltage adjustment using Crosby’s target-rectifier-voltage control method to provide Lee’s receiver with a defined voltage setpoint and predictable closed-loop control to provide the required output power so that power is not wasted during transmission.
Re Claim 4; Jia disclose wherein updating the wireless power transfer parameter comprises using the control circuitry to transmit an instruction and wherein the instruction comprises a request for a change in a target over delivery magnitude.
Jia teaches communicating efficiency indications and using efficiency determinations to send instructions changing charger power levels and voltages. See Jia ¶¶ [0048] and [0084]-[0092].
Claims 5, 6 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Pan and Jia and further in view of Keith. (US 2020/0169121)
Re Claims 5 and 16; The combination disclosure has been discussed above.
The combination does not expressly identify Lee’s first packet as:
a power loss accounting (PLA) packet.”
Keith discloses receiver controller 910 generating and sending received-power packets using communications module 914: so that power loss accounting for error and/or foreign object detection can be performed” by the transmitter. Keith further discloses that the received-power value represents the total power received by the receiver and can be compared with transmitter power to account for power loss. See Keith ¶¶ [0194] and [0206]-[0208].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use Keith’s power-loss-accounting packet as the receiver-originated first packet in Lee’s request-response sequence since the exchange would permit the system to distinguish transmitter conversion loss from other transfer losses and would support both efficiency control and power-loss evaluation. The packet would be transmitted using Lee’s existing communication circuitry and would produce the predictable result of making additional power-accounting information available during wireless power transfer.
Re Claim 6; Keith discloses wherein the first packet is a received power (RP) packet
received power packet
generated and sent by the wireless power receiver during the power-transfer phase. Keith states that the packet contains an indication of the amount of power received by the receiver and may be sent continuously during power transfer. See Keith ¶¶ [0194] and [0206]-[0208].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-10, filed 12/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pan and Jia
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
02/25/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836