DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 23 June 2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 9, representative of claims 1 and 17, in part is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 9 recites invention directed to applying of a computer for collecting data by receiving application content from each view port of a set of view ports in the browser application, extracting text from content loaded into each view port presented to the user on their user interface which is analyzed to generate an urgency level classification for the application content based on the extracted text; a snapshot information is generated and provided for presentation in the browser as an updated status of the project view port of the user interface.
These limitations describe project management activities of a human project-manager or a program-manager. Accessing notes related to a task, determining that there a task is running behind schedule, which may impact the subsequent dependent tasks, indicating that the task has a higher priority to work upon, and updating the project management dashboard as claimed would be part of project management in an agile and/or waterfall product development. Causing presentation of the task related data and indication of the task current status would be a project manager providing current task related information to the team members working on a project.
In addition, as currently claimed, to automate the determining of urgency-level, it is deemed that the project-manager will feed the task-related data into a Generative-AI-model which has been trained to generated urgency level based upon received data from the project-manager. Using Generative-AI-model to automate some of the management workflow tasks as claimed would also be part of the project manager using a Generative-AI-model to calculate urgency value for a task, as claimed would be part of project management in an agile and/or waterfall product development.
Represented claims 1 and 17, which do recite statutory categories (machine, product of manufacture, for example), the same analysis as above applies to these claims since the method steps are the same. However, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. These claims add the generic computer components (additional elements) of a system comprising one or more hardware processors and a memory (claim 1), and a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions that when executed by a processor of a machine cause the machine to perform the method addressed above (claim 17).
The processor, memory, and non-transitory machine-readable medium are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the processor, memory, and non-transitory machine-readable medium amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
When taken as an ordered combination, nothing is added that is not already present when the elements are taken individually. When viewed as a whole, the marketing activities amount to instructions applied using generic computer components.
As for dependent claims 2 – 9, 10 – 16 and 18 - 20, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of defining what data will comprise in snapshot of each viewport (e.g., tab on a user interface), what project-task data will be considered to determine timeline information, defining that the snapshot data can be modified, defining that tabs will enable user to interact with application content, defining what tasks can be performed by a project-manager and defining that the current status of the project-tasks will be presented on the associated view-ports, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of organizing certain methods of human activity related to project-management but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SenseiPPM YouTube video “Microsoft Project for the web and Teams for Work Management and Collaboration” hereinafter referred to as SenseiPPM in view of Pal et al. published article “AI-Assisted Project Management: Enhancing Decision-Making and Forecasting” hereinafter referred to as Pal.
Regarding claim 9 and representative claims 1 and 17, SenseiPPM teaches Microsoft Project has gone through a major transition when it comes to their work management, project management and portfolio management offerings. When Project for web is used inside Mocrosoft Teams; we get the same core functionality; but now with a dedicated channel for team collaboration [SenseiPPM, page 1], for facilitating performance of project management tasks utilizing a browser application (SenseiPPM, Mocrosoft Project for web), the systema and method comprising:
a processor (SenseiPPM, Mocrosoft Project for web) [SenseiPPM, page 1]; and
a memory in communication with the processor, the memory comprising executable instructions that, when executed by the processor alone or in combination with other processors (SenseiPPM, Mocrosoft Project for web) [SenseiPPM, page 1], cause the data processing system to perform functions of:
receiving, by a data collection and content parsing component, application content from each view port of a set of view ports in the browser application, wherein the set of view ports comprise active view ports and inactive view ports (SenseiPPM, 1:15 if you are managing an agile project tasks can be added to the backlog or move to individual sprints 1:22 you can add a detailed checklist to Define and track progress at a more granular level inside 1:29 the task then there's completed effort remaining effort and total effort if you add any local 1:37 custom fields to your project these will also show up here on the right we have the dependencies on 1:44 other tasks including finish to stock finish to finish start to start and start to finish) [Sensei, page 16];
extracting text from the application content loaded into each view port of the set of view ports of the browser application, the browser application including a tab for each view port of the set of view ports
[SenseiPPM, page 9];
SenseiPPM does not explicitly teaching using a generative artificial intelligence to generate urgency level classification. However, Pal teaches using AI models to receive to receive Historical data content, input received historical data into a trained AI-model, output data grouped in various projects and displaying their associated prediction (e.g., urgency level).
[Pal, page 153].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify SenseiPPM by adopting teachings of Pal to analyze current data associated with project management to identify subtasks that is behind schedule to help project-team to remedy the delay in a timely manner and maintain the project development schedule.
SenseiPPM in view of Pal teaches system and method further comprising:
generating a prompt for urgency level classification model, the urgency level classification model including a generative artificial intelligence (AI) model trained to receive the extracted text from the application content as input and to generate an urgency level classification for the application content based on the extracted text
[Pal, page 153];
receiving the urgency level classification from the urgency level classification model; generating snapshot information for the application content (SenseiPPM, Microsoft Project for Teams generates snapshot of a project and additionally identifying their urgency, e.g., task is behind schedule) [SenseiPPM, page 9, 10];
providing the urgency level classification and the snapshot information to the browser application (SenseiPPM, Microsoft Project for Teams generates snapshot of a project and additionally identifying their urgency, e.g., task is behind schedule) [SenseiPPM, page 9, 10]; and
modifying a depiction of the tab for each view port of the set of view ports in the browser application in a manner indicative of the urgency level classification for the application content loaded into each view port of the set of view ports
[SenseiPPM, page 9]; and
displaying the set of view ports with the tab for each view port or the browser application
[SenseiPPM, page 9].
Regarding claim 10 and representative claims 2 and 18, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method further comprising:
generating a project snapshot for each view port based on the snapshot information for the application content, the project snapshot listing at least a name of a project associated with the application content, the urgency level classification for the application content, and timeline information for the application content (SenseiPPM, see at least view ports on page 9 that show task related information in their associated view port) [SenseiPPM. Page 9]; and
displaying the project snapshot in response to detecting a mouseover event involving the tab associated with the view port in which the application content is loaded (SenseiPPM, built-in shots provide good high-level information about the tasks of the project they are focused on status bucket and effort per person to highlight the data simply Mouse over the legend to see which tasks are not started in progress late and completed the people view shows all the tasks by who they are assigned to including incomplete and completed tasks and grouped by the color-coded buckets) [SenseiPPM, page 17].
Regarding claim 11 and representative claim 3, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method, wherein the timeline information is derived from temporal information extracted from the application content (SenseiPPM, page 11].
Regarding claim 12 and representative claims 4 and 19, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method, wherein the project snapshot includes at least one user interface control which, when activated, enables the snapshot information for the application content to be modified regardless of whether the view port in which the application content is loaded is currently displayed in the browser application (SenseiPPM, other boards include progress finish date labels priority and Sprint the timeline is great for a more visual view of the project it is very Interactive when we Mouse over a task it highlights the dates at the top we can drag and drop a task to remove the dates extend the duration of a task and create dependencies) [SenseiPPM, page 17].
Regarding claim 13 and representative claim 5, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method, wherein the at least one user interface control comprises at least one of (i) a control which enables a note to be entered and added to the snapshot information for the application content associated with the snapshot information and (ii) a control which is activated to indicate that a project associated with the application content has been completed (SenseiPPM, when project for the web is used inside of Microsoft teams we get the same core functionality but now with a dedicated channel for team collaboration that means we get the conversations and activity feed for the project on the posts tab this is where team members communicate and we see comments on documents and tasks we also see calendar updates or when files have been emailed to the project this is the rich collaboration experience you're used to and now in the context of your project on the files tab we have all the documents for the project Microsoft teams then adds the ability to have a conversation about a specific document) [SenseiPPM, page 18].
Regarding claim 14 and representative claims 6 and 20, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method, further comprising:
generating a tab context menu for each of the tabs that lists at least one selectable project management action to perform with reference to the application content loaded into the view port associated with the tab (SenseiPPM, the board view groups the tasks on boards the first one here shows the buckets that the project team has defined you can color code each bucket and drag and drop tasks between them) [SenseiPPM, page 16].
Regarding claim 15 and representative claim 7, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method, wherein the at least one selectable project management action comprises at least one of (i) opening related documents, (ii) adjusting the urgency level classification, and (iii) modifying a completion level (SenseiPPM,
other tasks including finish to stock finish to finish start to start and start to finish and below that attachments these attachments can reference the team files in your SharePoint document Library as you would expect when managing tasks inside of Microsoft teams …. when project for the web is used inside of Microsoft teams we get the same core functionality but now with a dedicated channel for team collaboration that means we get the conversations and activity feed for the project on the posts tab this is where team members communicate and we see comments on documents and tasks we also see calendar updates or when files have been emailed to the project this is the rich collaboration experience you're used to and now in the context of your project on the files tab we have all the documents for the project Microsoft teams then adds the ability to have a conversation about a specific document) [SenseiPPM, page 16, 18].
Regarding claim 16 and representative claim 8, as combined and under the same rationale as above, SenseiPPM in view or Pal teaches system and method further comprising:
synchronizing the snapshot information and the urgency level classification determined for the application content loaded in the view ports of the browser application to other browser applications which have the application content opened therein
[SenseiPPM, page 9].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 because the amended claimed invention provide automated visual cues that enable application content to be visually distinguished based on the visual characteristics of the tabs associated with the view ports in which the content is loaded., and Tabs are highlighted based on the urgency level classification of the application content is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further review, it is deemed that the claimed invention is directed to applying computer to automate the generating and presenting of task current status of tasks to project team and managers. Therefore, the claimed invention is not eligible for patent under 35 USC 101.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 because the amended claimed invention provides project snapshots and context menus for view ports which enable interactions with application content, projects, and/or project timelines without having to switch view ports in the main browser window. This integration minimizes the need for frequent context switching between view ports to find relevant project information, thus enhancing project management efficiency and productivity is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further review, it is deemed that the claimed invention is directed to applying computer to automate the generating and presenting of task current status of plurality of tasks to task team members and project managers. Therefore, the claimed invention is not eligible for patent under 35 USC 101.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 because the amended claimed invention enables users to switch between view ports (and the application content loaded therein) by clicking on the tab of the view port that they want to view. Typically, one view port is active in the main browser window at a time, and the application content associated with the active view port is displayed in the web page display area. Clicking on a different tab causes the view port associated with that tab to become the active view port and be displayed in the web page display is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further review, it is deemed that the claimed invention is directed to applying computer to automate the generating and presenting of task current status of plurality of tasks to task team members and project managers. Therefore, the claimed invention is not eligible for patent under 35 USC 101.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because cited prior art does not teach added limitations which clarifies the interaction of view ports and tabs to provide to provide the technical benefit of minimizing the need for frequent context switching between view ports to find relevant project information, thus enhancing project management efficiency and productivity using browser integration for project management is acknowledged and considered.
However, cited reference Sensei clearly teaches plurality of projects displayed on the landing page of a project manager which displays status of plurality of projects with color code to enable the project manager to visually monitor current status of the projects they are managing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Batchgeo blog “Implement Project Tracking with Excel” teaches the computer with Excel software can be applied by a project manager for keeping track of tasks in projects.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
September 1, 2026