DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“an in increase” should read as “an increase.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Claim 19: The terms “rapid” and “shallow” are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “rapid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The assessment is made of the term “shallow.” Thus, the degree to which identification of a particular subset of breathing rate at rest is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5, and 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Each claim has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions. Examiner notes that claims 2-4, 6, and 7 are directed to particular structures of the device which cannot be considered well-understood, routine, and conventional structures for data-gathering.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of the claims recites steps or instructions for ascertaining and processing data to assess quality of sleep of subject, which is grouped as a mental process. Accordingly, each of the claims recites an abstract idea.
Independent claim 1 recites:
multiple electrodes configured to be in contact with a torso of the subject (additional element);
an acoustic sensor configured to detect at least one of heart sounds or lung sounds from the torso of the subject (additional element);
a first measurement module connected to the multiple electrodes, the first measurement module configured to measure a thoracic impedance using a first pair of electrodes of the multiple electrodes (additional element, data-gathering);
a second measurement module connected to the acoustic sensor, the second measurement module configured to detect and measure one or more heart sounds via the acoustic sensor;
a third measurement module connected to the multiple electrodes, the third measurement module configured to measure electrical activity between a second pair of electrodes of the multiple electrodes (additional element, data-gathering); and
a processor coupled with the first measurement module, the second measurement module, and the third measurement module, wherein the processor is configured to:
perform data trending of at least one of thoracic impedance measurement data, heart sound measurement data, or electrocardiogram measurement data (evaluation, judgement, or observation);
identify, based on the data trending, one or more changes over time in the at least one of the thoracic impedance measurement data, the heart sound measurement data, or the electrocardiogram measurement data (evaluation, judgement, or observation); and
generate, based on the one or more changes over time, inference information indicating a medical or health status of the subject (evaluation, judgement, or observation).
As indicated above, the independent claim recites at least one step or instruction grouped as a mental process. Each limitation, aside from language reciting a generic computer components, can be grouped as a mental process (see italicized portions above), and is addressed as follows:
The limitation of perform data trending requires no more than performing evaluation (i.e., data trending) upon gathered data.
The limitation of identify, based on the data trending, one or more changes over time of the data is no more than observation based on the results of calculation from the previous step.
The limitation of generate, based on the one or more changes over time, inference information is merely an additional mental process of evaluation or judgement based on observations of the previous step.
No limitations are provided that would force the complexity of any of the identified evaluation steps to be non-performable by pen-and-paper practice.
Alternatively or additionally, these steps describe the concept of using implicit mathematical formula(s) (i.e., data trending) to derive a conclusion based on input of medical data, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts, such as in Diamond v. Diehr. 450 U.S. 175, 209 U.S.P.Q. 1 (1981), Parker v. Flook. 437 U.S. 584, 19 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1978), and In re Grams. 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The concept of the recited steps above is not meaningfully different than those mathematical concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas.
Dependent claims 5 and 8-22 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea or limitations relating to the data gathered and amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Thus, these concepts are similar to court decisions of abstract ideas of itself: collecting, displaying, and manipulating data (Int. Ventures v. Cap One Financial), collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group), collection, storage, and recognition of data (Smart Systems Innovations).
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
More specifically:
Independent claim 1 recites the additional elements of
multiple electrodes;
an acoustic sensor;
a first measurement module;
a second measurement module;
a third measurement module;
a processor.
Such additional element are a generically recited elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field. The claim recites merely acquiring data from generically recited sensors (multiple electrodes, an acoustic sensor), having no operative connection to the processor executing instructions of the various measurement modules besides communication of obtained data, which amounts to insignificant, extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, which does not constitute an integration into a practical application. Although the sensors may imply particular structure, their use in the mental process is merely extra-solution. See MPEP 2106.05(b).III:
“Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more. See Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610, 95 USPQ2d at 1009 (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 590, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978)), and CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1370, 99 USPQ2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (citations omitted)”
Both the processor and measurement modules are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processors and memory performing a generic computer function of performing calculations and storing data, respectively) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Thus, such additional elements do not serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g., processor as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract ideas identified above in the independent claims (and their respective dependent claims) are not integrated into a practical application.
Dependent claims 5 and 8-22 do not recite additional elements beyond limitations relating to the data gathered or components thereof, and amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Accordingly, the claims are each directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
None of the claims include additional elements that, when viewed as a whole, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons:
Independent claim 1 recites:
multiple electrodes;
an acoustic sensor;
a first measurement module;
a second measurement module;
a third measurement module;
a processor.
As claimed, multiple electrodes are used to measure transthoracic impedance and electrical activity (e.g., electrocardiogram data). Such electrodes are considered well-understood, routine, and conventional by at least:
Miller (US 5796340 A) – Col. 1, lines 21-28: “Conventional sleep monitors measure respiration and heart action by measuring transthoracic impedance and the electrocardiogram (TTI/ECG) and are designed to sound an alarm when apnea, bradycardia or tachycardia is detected and found to persist for more than a predetermined amount of time. The measurements taken by conventional sleep monitors are electrical in nature, and require attaching electrodes to the subject's skin, usually on the chest;” Examiner notes that multi-lead configurations for ECG are known and transthoracic impedance requires at least two electrodes in order to inject a current and measure a corresponding response.
An acoustic sensor to measure heart sounds is generically recited. No special programming or algorithms is indicated for how such a sensor operates. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the medical technology arts. Thus, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the medical technology industry or medical technology arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional element because it describes such an additional element in a manner that indicates that the additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
The processor and measurement modules and is also considered generic/conventional. As per Applicant’s Specification the processor appears to be generically described such that it appears to be directed to no more than a general purpose computer (Paragraphs 0035, 0037: a processor includes an associated memory and a plurality of processing modules, i.e., interpretable as computer instructions). Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, the claimed terms are interpretable as a processor are reasonably construed as a generic computing device.
Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear from the claims themselves and the specification that these limitations require no improved computer resources and merely utilize already available computers and known sensors with their already available basic functions to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Dependent claims 5 and 8-22 merely recite steps which further define the abstract idea and data/data-processing steps. Examiner notes that the dependent claims recite limitations which are extra-solution or part of the abstract idea itself do not constitute significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(a):
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d) (discussing Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1303-04, 125 USPQ2d 1282, 1285-87 (Fed. Cir. 2018)). Thus, it is important for examiners to analyze the claim as a whole when determining whether the claim provides an improvement to the functioning of computers or an improvement to other technology or technical field.
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in the claims amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
For at least the above reasons, the claims are directed to applying an abstract idea on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself, or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field. In other words, none of the claims provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in the independent claims do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (processing of sensor data). That is, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claims merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself, or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field.
Therefore, none of the claims amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented on a generic computer in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 1: Kumar teaches a system to detect and monitor medical or health conditions of a subject, comprising:
multiple electrodes configured to be in contact with a torso of the subject (Abstract: “The wearable external defibrillators can include a plurality of ECG sensing electrodes and a first defibrillator electrode pad and a second defibrillator electrode pad;” Figs. 1, 12; Fig. 13: ECG and impedance sensors are electrodes);
an acoustic sensor configured to detect at least one of heart sounds or lung sounds from the torso of the subject (Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include detecting one or more of the breathing rate, heart sounds, and heart rate of the patient with a microphone on the wearable defibrillator”);
a first measurement module connected to the multiple electrodes, the first measurement module configured to measure a thoracic impedance using a first pair of electrodes of the multiple electrodes (Paragraph 0020: “The controller can be configured to measure a first impedance between the first pair of electrodes. The controller can be configured to analyze the first impedance to determine whether the first pair of electrodes are in proper contact with the patient's skin. The second defibrillator electrode pad can include a second pair of electrodes. The controller can be configured to measure a second impedance between the second pair of electrodes. The controller can be configured to analyze the second impedance to determine whether the second pair of electrodes are in proper contact with the patient's skin. The controller can be configured to measure a transthoracic impedance between the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes”);
a second measurement module connected to the acoustic sensor, the second measurement module configured to detect and measure one or more heart sounds via the acoustic sensor (Paragraph 0032: “The method can further include analyzing the heart sounds measured by a microphone to determine the presence or absence of one or more of: rales or rhonchi, the presence of S3 and S4 heart sounds, and pathologies such as splitting in the S1 and S2 heart sounds”);
a third measurement module connected to the multiple electrodes, the third measurement module configured to measure electrical activity between a second pair of electrodes of the multiple electrodes (Paragraph 0143: “The transthoracic impedance can be measured using any of the conductive parts of the wearable defibrillator, including the upper patient engagement ECG sensing electrode, the upper patient engagement defibrillator electrode pad, the lower patient engagement ECG electrodes, and the lower patient engagement defibrillator electrode pad. In some embodiments the transthoracic impedance can be measured between the first defibrillator electrode pad and the second defibrillator electrode pad. In some embodiments the transthoracic impedance can be measured simultaneously between multiple different sensing electrodes and defibrillator electrode pads;” Fig. 13: parameter extraction includes ECG parameters); and
a processor coupled with the first measurement module, the second measurement module, and the third measurement module, wherein the processor is configured to:
perform data trending of at least one of thoracic impedance measurement data, heart sound measurement data, or electrocardiogram measurement data (Paragraph 0022: comparison of impedance changes to baseline value; Paragraph 0032: “The method can further include analyzing the heart sounds measured by a microphone to determine the presence or absence of one or more of: rales or rhonchi, the presence of S3 and S4 heart sounds, and pathologies such as splitting in the S1 and S2 heart sounds;” Paragraph 0029: “ECG rhythm, ECG morphology, ECG amplitude…”);
identify, based on the data trending, one or more changes over time in the at least one of the thoracic impedance measurement data, the heart sound measurement data, or the electrocardiogram measurement data (see previous citation – data trending identifies changes; additionally, see Paragraph 0037: “The method can further include applying an algorithm to analyze the one or more of the measured heart rate, oxygen saturation, ECG rhythm, ECG morphology, ECG amplitude, chest movement, breathing rate, and breathing pattern to detect the symptom or indication of sleep apnea in the patient. The algorithm can be a fixed algorithm. The algorithm can be an adaptive algorithm that adapts to the patient. The method can further include changing a sampling frequency of any of the one or more sensing electrodes and the sensor of the wearable device based on the algorithm”); and
generate, based on the one or more changes over time, inference information indicating a medical or health status of the subject (Fig. 13: see control policy actions including delivering report, patient alert, or error messages/instructions; see also – state classifier actions including identification of various cardiopulmonary states and device states).
Re. Claim 2: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes have a same two electrodes (see citation of Paragraph 0143 in rejection of claim 1 – impedance measurements may be performed with ECG electrodes).
Re. Claim 3: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes have at least one different electrode (see citation of Paragraph 0143 in rejection of claim 1 – impedance measurements may be performed with defibrillator contact pads instead of ECG electrodes).
Re. Claim 4: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein to measure the thoracic impedance using the first pair of electrodes,
an electrode of the first pair of electrodes is configured as a first sense electrode, another electrode of the first pair of electrodes is configured as a second sense electrode (at least two pairs of electrodes may be used to measure transthoracic impedance, and therefore require at least two sensing electrodes to detect changes due to input current from two force electrodes: Paragraph 0020: “The controller can be configured to measure a transthoracic impedance between the first pair of electrodes and the second pair of electrodes;” Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include measuring a transthoracic impedance between the first defibrillator electrode pad and the second defibrillator electrode pad. The first defibrillator electrode pad can include two separate electrodes, can further include measuring an impedance between the two separate electrodes of the first defibrillator electrode pad;” Paragraph 0143: “The transthoracic impedance can be measured using any of the conductive parts of the wearable defibrillator, including the upper patient engagement ECG sensing electrode, the upper patient engagement defibrillator electrode pad, the lower patient engagement ECG electrodes, and the lower patient engagement defibrillator electrode pad…In some embodiments the transthoracic impedance can be measured simultaneously between multiple different sensing electrodes and defibrillator electrode pads”),
an electrode of a third pair of electrodes of the multiple electrodes is configured as a first force electrode, and another electrode of the third pair of electrodes is configured as a second force electrode (see citations and explanation above – out of four electrodes contemplated by Kumar across two defibrillator pads, any may be considered an impedance measurement electrode and thus be considered part of the first pair of sensing electrodes for impedance measurement, therefore implying that the two remaining electrodes are designated as force electrodes; Examiner notes that a third pair is not differentiated from the second pair of electrodes used for measuring electrical activity therebetween, but should a third distinct pair of electrodes from the two pairs be required, Examiner notes that Kumar is also not limited to having only two ECG electrodes since Paragraph 0083 states that each defibrillator electrode pad “may include one or more ECG sensing electrodes” (e.g., indicated by sensing electrode numbers and positions shown at Fig. 12 and Fig. 25 as described at Paragraph 0175), and Kumar makes apparent that impedance may be measured “between different sensing electrodes” as started in Paragraph 0143), and
wherein the first force electrode is configured to inject current into the torso of the subject and the second force electrode is configured to receive the current injected into the body of the subject, and wherein the first sense electrode and the second sense electrode are configured to sense a voltage difference caused by the current injected into the torso of the subject, with the measured thoracic impedance being based on the voltage difference and the current applied to the torso of the subject (see citations above - Examiner notes that the operation of a transthoracic impedance measurement requires passing a current and measuring the resulting voltage drop between two electrodes).
Re. Claim 6: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention further comprising a wearable device containing the processor, the first measurement module, the second measurement module, the third measurement module, the acoustic sensor, and the multiple electrodes (Paragraph 0018: “In general, in one embodiment, a wearable external defibrillator including one or more sensing electrodes configured to engage with a patient's skin to detect a cardiac signal… a second patient engagement substrate including a second defibrillator electrode pad… controller are enclosed within one or more housings;” Paragraph 0095: “The controller or processor of the wearable defibrillator can be configured to analyze data recorded by any of the sensors and modules described herein;” Paragraph 0134: “Sensors on the device, such as ECG, accelerometer, microphone, temperature, oxygen sensor like a pulse oximeter, magnetometer, impedance, and buttons can extract a plurality of patient parameters. Examples of the plurality of patient parameters include: heart rate, heart rate variability, ECG morphology, ECG spectral content, ECG complexity, posture, activity, heart sounds, breath sounds, voice commands, blood perfusion, oxygen saturation perfusion, presence in EMI environments, patient volitional movement, patient consciousness, fluid volume, body water content, and electrode skin adhesion. The controller can analyze the extracted parameters to determine if a treatment is necessary;” Fig. 25, as described in Paragraph 0175: “FIG. 25 illustrates a wearable defibrillator 500 with an upper patch 502 having two sensor electrodes and a defibrillator electrode and a lower patch 504 having three sensor electrodes and a defibrillator electrode. The patient engagement substrate of the upper patch 502 and lower patch 504 includes the defibrillator electrode pads and the sensing electrodes”).
Re. Claim 8: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein:
the thoracic impedance measurement data comprises measured impedance data and first-determined data based on the measured impedance data (Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include sensing impedance changes along a plurality of vectors of the patient with the one or more sensing electrodes of the first patient engagement substrate and the sensing electrode of the second patient engagement substrate and the first and second defibrillator electrode pads. The method can further include comparing the impedance changes to a patient baseline and/or a database to measure a cardiac health of the patient;” Paragraph 0032: “Pulmonary edema can be determined using chest impedance by measuring multiple vectors across the chest from various leads which allows assessment of fluid status in multiple different segments of the thoracic cavity;” Paragraph 0144: values derived from TTI include skin engagement/contact quality, total energy delivery; Paragraph 0155: pulmonary edema based on impedance vectors);
the heart sound measurement data comprises measured heart sound data and second-determined data based on the measured heart sound data (Paragraph 0156: “The methods can further include analyzing the heart sounds measured by a microphone to determine the presence or absence of one or more of: rales or rhonchi, the presence of S3 and S4 heart sounds, and pathologies such as splitting in the S1 and S2 heart sounds”); and
the electrocardiogram measurement data comprises measured electrocardiogram data and third-determined data based on the measured electrocardiogram data (Fig. 13: see “Parameter Extraction” and various ECG parameters obtained; Paragraph 0146: “The methods described herein can include analyzing the measured electrical data corresponding to the cardiac signal of the patient for bradycardia, atrial fibrillation, asystole, heart blocks, pauses, ventricular tachycardia, ventricular fibrillation, tachycardia with aberrancy, or a supraventricular tachycardia (SVT)”).
Re. Claim 14: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein the acoustic sensor is positioned on the torso of the subject (Fig. 1: wearable defibrillator is placed on the torso of the subject; Paragraph 0022: “…a microphone on the wearable defibrillator”).
Re. Claim 22: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein the first measurement module is configured to measure, automatically, the thoracic impedance at periodic intervals (Paragraph 0037: “The method can further include applying an algorithm to analyze the one or more of the measured heart rate, oxygen saturation, ECG rhythm, ECG morphology, ECG amplitude, chest movement, breathing rate, and breathing pattern to detect the symptom or indication of sleep apnea in the patient. The algorithm can be a fixed algorithm. The algorithm can be an adaptive algorithm that adapts to the patient. The method can further include changing a sampling frequency of any of the one or more sensing electrodes and the sensor of the wearable device based on the algorithm;” Paragraph 0144: “The lower frequency measurement (˜8 kHz and lower) can provide information about how well the patch is contacting the skin, especially with continuous or periodic monitoring and analyzing for changes from a baseline value. The methods described herein can include monitoring both high and low frequencies while the device is worn by the patient. The measurements can be made at certain intervals over the duration that that the device is worn by the patient”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Cheng et al. (US 20160066812 A1) (hereinafter – Cheng) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 5: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the processor is located in a cloud computing device.
Cheng teaches analogous art in the technology of wearable electrode devices (Abstract). Cheng further teaches wherein the processor is located in a cloud computing device (Paragraph 0047: “Control unit 810 may perform signal processing of signals associated with driver circuitry 820 and/or pickup circuitry 830, or an external resource 880 and/or cloud resource 899 in communication 811 (e.g., via a wired or wireless communication link) may perform some or all of the processing. For example, control unit 810 may transmit 811 data to 880 and/or 899 for processing. External resource 880 and/or cloud resource 899 may include or have access to compute engines, data storage, and algorithms that are used to perform the processing;” Paragraph 0048: “Processing of signals and/or data may be handled by control unit 850 and/or by external resource 880 and/or cloud resource 899 using communications link 811 as described above. Algorithms and/or data used in the processing may be embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g., non-volatile memory, disk drive, solid state drive, DRAM, ROM, SRAM, Flash memory, etc.) configured to execute on one or more processors, compute engines or other compute resources in control unit 810, 850, external resource 880 and cloud resource 899”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kumar to include part or all of the processing in a cloud computing device as taught by Cheng, the motivation being that doing so allows for access to compute capabilities greater than what may be implemented on the wearable system of Kumar and also grants access to additional storage (Paragraphs 0047-0048).
Re. Claim 7: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the wearable device further contains a transceiver configured to transmit at least a portion of the thoracic impedance measurement data, the heart sound measurement data, and the electrocardiogram measurement data over at least one wireless communication path to a cloud computing device for processing.
Cheng teaches that a cloud resource accessed via wireless communication link (i.e., implying the use of a transceiver) may be used to perform at least some of the processing (see citations of the rejection of claim 5; motivation to modify Kumar is identical.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Lisy et al. (US 9579060 B1) (hereinafter – Lisy) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 9: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 8, including wherein:
the first-determined data based on the measured impedance data comprises one or more of respiration rate data, tidal volume data, pulmonary resistance data, or lung fluid data (Paragraph 0155: “Pulmonary edema can be determined using chest impedance by measuring multiple vectors across the chest from various ECG sensors and leads which allows assessment of fluid status in multiple different segments of the thoracic cavity”);
the second-determined data based on the measured heart sound data comprises diastolic heart sound data (Paragraph 0156: “The methods can further include analyzing the heart sounds measured by a microphone to determine the presence or absence of one or more of: rales or rhonchi, the presence of S3 and S4 heart sounds, and pathologies such as splitting in the S1 and S2 heart sounds;” Examiner notes that S3 and S4 heart sounds are the two main types of diastolic heart sounds).
While Kumar states that heart rate variability data may be attained (Paragraph 0134: “Examples of the plurality of patient parameters include: heart rate, heart rate variability…”), Kumar does not explicitly teach that the third-determined data based on the measured electrocardiogram data comprises heart rate variability data.
Lisy teaches analogous art in the technology of wearable physiological monitoring systems (Abstract). Lisy teaches the invention wherein the third-determined data based on the measured electrocardiogram data comprises heart rate variability data (Col. 5, lines 19-23: “Further preferably, the ECG signals are further processed to determine one or more of heart rate variability, respiration rate as derived from the ECG modulation and/or respiratory sinus arrhythmia or a combination of the two”).
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of the use of ECG to determine heart rate variability of Lisy for the non-descript specific method of identifying heart rate variability of Kumar. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result (i.e., a device which determines heart rate variability using a sensor known to be suitable for producing such data) renders the claim obvious.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Lisy et al. (US 9579060 B1) (hereinafter – Lisy) (disclosed by Applicant) in further view of
Moon et al. (US 20090118626 A1) (hereinafter – Moon) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 10: Kumar as modified by Lisy teaches the invention according to claim 9. While Kumar states that respiration rate may be attained (Paragraph 0134: “The determination of the cardiopulmonary state can include determination of… respiratory rate…”), Kumar teaches that a respiratory rate may be attained via a microphone on the wearable defibrillator (Paragraph 0140: “The methods described herein can include detecting one or more of the breathing rate…with a microphone on the wearable defibrillator).” Thus, Kumar does not explicitly teach the invention wherein the first-determined data based on the measured impedance data comprises the respiration rate data, wherein the respiration rate data is based on periodic changes in measured impedance data having a waveform that corresponds to a breathing pattern, the periodic changes having a periodicity corresponding to periodicity of respiration.
Moon teaches analogous art in the technology of calculating impedance measurements (Abstract). Moon further teaches the invention wherein the first-determined data based on the measured impedance data comprises the respiration rate data, wherein the respiration rate data is based on periodic changes in measured impedance data having a waveform that corresponds to a breathing pattern, the periodic changes having a periodicity corresponding to periodicity of respiration (Paragraph 0005: “More specifically, time-varying thoracic impedance values can be obtained, from which tidal volume, respiratory rate, inspiratory time or interval and flow, and expiratory time or interval and flow can be determined;” Paragraph 0046: “A direct correlation has been established between changes in thoracic impedance during respiration cycles and the tidal volume of air inhaled and exhaled during the respiration cycles. Accordingly, tidal volume, and various other parameters that can be derived from a tidal volume-time function, can be obtained from measurements of thoracic impedance”).
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of determination of breathing rate via impedance data of Moon for the determination of breathing rate via acoustic data from a microphone of Kumar. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., analysis of impedance waveforms as compared to microphone data) producing a predictable result (i.e., determination of a breathing rate) renders the claim obvious.
Re. Claim 11: Kumar as modified by Lisy teaches the invention according to claim 9, but does not teach the invention wherein the first-determined data based on the measured impedance data comprises the tidal volume data, wherein the tidal volume data is determined as proportional to an amplitude of changes in measured impedance data having a waveform that corresponds to a breathing pattern.
Moon teaches the invention wherein the first-determined data based on the measured impedance data comprises the tidal volume data, wherein the tidal volume data is determined as proportional to an amplitude of changes in measured impedance data having a waveform that corresponds to a breathing pattern (Paragraph 0005: “More specifically, time-varying thoracic impedance values can be obtained, from which tidal volume, respiratory rate, inspiratory time or interval and flow, and expiratory time or interval and flow can be determined;” Paragraph 0046: “A direct correlation has been established between changes in thoracic impedance during respiration cycles and the tidal volume of air inhaled and exhaled during the respiration cycles. Accordingly, tidal volume, and various other parameters that can be derived from a tidal volume-time function, can be obtained from measurements of thoracic impedance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention to include determination of tidal volume as taught by Moon in the system of Kumar as modified by Lisy, since doing so provides an additional cardiopulmonary feature by which heart health of the patient may be assessed.
Additionally or alternatively, determination of an additional variable using an identical sensor (i.e., a transthoracic impedance sensor) may be viewed as an obvious combination of old elements (Kumar as modified by Lisy identifying a variety of parameters using transthoracic impedance measurements and Moon providing another measurement capable of being performed by transthoracic impedance measurements).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Lisy et al. (US 9579060 B1) (hereinafter – Lisy) (disclosed by Applicant) in further view of
Hatlestad et al. (US 20090069708 A1) (hereinafter – Hatlestad) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 12: Kumar as modified by Lisy teaches the invention according to claim 9, including wherein the first-determined data based on the measured impedance data comprises the lung fluid data (Paragraph 0155: “Pulmonary edema can be determined using chest impedance by measuring multiple vectors across the chest from various ECG sensors and leads which allows assessment of fluid status in multiple different segments of the thoracic cavity”).
Kumar as modified by Lisy does not teach the invention wherein the lung fluid data is based on a posture of the subject.
Hatlestad teaches analogous art in the technology of thoracic impedance monitoring (Title; Abstract). Hatlestad further teaches the invention wherein the lung fluid data is based on a posture of the subject (Paragraph 0069: “For instance, the posture sensor circuit 520 may provide subject orientation information to the state correction circuit 526. This allows posture compensation to be included in the assessment of edema”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kumar as modified by Lisy to include the posture compensation technique of Hatlestad, the motivation being that doing so accounts for changes in impedance the impedance signal due to organs and excess fluid in the thorax and lungs shifting due to gravity (Paragraph 0069).
Re. Claim 13: Kumar as modified by Hatlestad teaches the invention according to claim 12. Hatlestad, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches wherein the lung fluid data includes a first impedance vector measured when the subject is in a horizontal position and a second impedance vector measured when the subject is in a non-horizontal position (Paragraph 0069: accounting for changes in posture encompasses positions such as standing or lying down; Paragraph 0086: identification of thoracic impedance from supine and upright positions after waking).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Freeman et al. (US 10702166 B1) (hereinafter – Freeman).
Re. Claim 15: Kumar teaches the invention according to claim 8. While Kumar teaches that an algorithm may be applied to analyze data from one or more sensors (Paragraph 0037) for identifying a symptom or indication of cardiac disease (Fig. 15A), and also identify cardiopulmonary state (Fig. 13), Kumar does not explicitly describe data being combined aside from their combined analysis relative to an algorithm.
Freeman teaches analogous art in the technology of measuring impedance and assessing respiration of a patient (Abstract). Freeman further teaches the invention wherein the processor is further configured to combine at least two of the thoracic impedance measurement data, the heart sound measurement data, or the electrocardiogram measurement data, resulting in combined multi-modality sensing data to predict worsening of a cardiopulmonary condition of the subject (Col. 28, lines 29-38: “In one embodiment, acoustic data are combined with impedance data to help time the acoustic measurements relative to the respiratory cycle. In one embodiment acoustic data are combined with impedance data for the purposes of diagnosis or monitoring of disease. An example of this is congestive heart failure where stiffness creates characteristic changes in impedance curves and there are also changes in lung sounds associated with congestive heart failure. Combination of the data provides additional information;” Col. 41, lines 57-62: “In one embodiment the device quantifies the degree of the pathology. In one embodiment, the device recognizes a pattern of congestive heart failure and provides data regarding the trending toward improvement or deterioration with time or as associated therapeutic intervention).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kumar to combine data for diagnostic purposes such as those taught in Freeman, the motivation being that doing so allows for measurements to be given time-aligned context and provide additional information regarding changes associated with cardiac diseases including a degree or trend of congestive heart failure (Col. 28, lines 29-38).
Re. Claim 16: Kumar as modified by Freeman teaches the invention according to claim 15. Freeman, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the processor is configured to:
detect a potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition based on the changes over time in at least one of the thoracic impedance measurement data, the heart sound measurement data, or the electrocardiogram measurement data (see citation of rejection of claim 15 – congestive heart failure is identified by changes in impedance curves and lung sounds in combination).
Re. Claim 17: Kumar as modified by Freeman teaches the invention according to claim 15. Freeman, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition is associated with worsening heart failure (see citation of rejection of claim 15).
Re. Claim 18: Kumar as modified by Freeman teaches the invention according to claim 16. Kumar further teaches the invention wherein to detect the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition the processor is further configured to identify a diastolic heart sound (Paragraph 0156: “The methods can further include analyzing the heart sounds measured by a microphone to determine the presence or absence of one or more of: rales or rhonchi, the presence of S3 and S4 heart sounds, and pathologies such as splitting in the S1 and S2 heart sounds;” Examiner notes that S3 and S4 heart sounds are the two main types of diastolic heart sounds).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Freeman et al. (US 10702166 B1) (hereinafter – Freeman) in further view of
An et al. (US 20130116578 A1) (hereinafter – An) (disclosed by Applicant) in further view of
Zhang et al. (US 20110009753 A1) (hereinafter – Zhang) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 19: Kumar as modified by Freeman teaches the invention according to claim 16, and also teaches the invention wherein to detect the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition the processor is further configured to:
identify an increasingly rapid and shallow breathing rate at rest (Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include detecting one or more of the breathing rate…;” Paragraph 0037: “The method can further include changing a sampling frequency of any of the one or more sensing electrodes and the sensor of the wearable device based on the algorithm;” Paragraph 0029: “In general, in one embodiment, a method for detecting symptoms associated with sleep apnea including measuring one or more of a heart rate, a breathing rate, and a breathing pattern of the patient…;” Paragraph 0157: “Dyspnea can be determined using a combination of accelerometer to determine patient posture and pulse oxygenation with impedance to determine the breathing pattern including accounting for recent activity of the patient to determine whether dyspnea is at rest”); and
identify a decrease in the thoracic impedance (Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include sensing impedance changes along a plurality of vectors of the patient with the one or more sensing electrodes of the first patient engagement substrate and the sensing electrode of the second patient engagement substrate and the first and second defibrillator electrode pads. The method can further include comparing the impedance changes to a patient baseline and/or a database to measure a cardiac health of the patient;” Examiner notes that identifying a change encompasses identification of a decrease).
Kumar as modified by Freeman does not teach the invention wherein to detect the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition the processor is further configured to:
identify an in increase in energy of a diastolic heart sound.
An teaches analogous art in the technology of assessing heart failure using an ambulatory medical device (Abstract). An further teaches the invention wherein to detect the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition the processor is further configured to:
identify an in increase in energy of a diastolic heart sound (Paragraph 0183: “The S3 amplitude measurement may represent peak amplitude of the S3 heart sound, peak-to-peak amplitude, mean amplitude, median amplitude, root-mean-squared amplitude, quantile measurement of amplitude, or other similar measurement of S3 energy. An increase in the amplitude of the S3 heart sound may indicate an increased risk of the subject experiencing an HF event (e.g., cardiac decompensation)”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kumar as modified by Freeman to further modify the processor to be configured to identify an increase in energy of a diastolic heart sound as taught by An, the motivation being that doing so assesses for the increased risk of a heart failure event such as cardiac decompensation (Paragraph 0183).
Kumar as modified by Freeman and An do not teach wherein to detect the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition the processor is further configured to:
identify a decrease in a relative tidal volume.
Zhang teaches identification of a decrease in a relative tidal volume for purposes of assessing heart failure (Fig. 2; Abstract: “The respiratory parameters may include one or more of respiration rate, relative tidal volume, an index indicative of rapid shallow breathing by the patient, an index derived by computing a respiration rate and a tidal volume for each patient breath, and an index indicative of dyspnea, for example;” Paragraphs 0047-0050; Paragraph 0110).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kumar as modified by Freeman and An to include determination of a change (including decreases) in relative tidal volume as taught by Zhang in the system of Kumar as modified by Freeman and An, since doing so provides an additional cardiopulmonary feature by which heart health of the patient may be assessed (i.e., being diagnostic of congestive heart failure status, as described in Zhang above).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Freeman et al. (US 10702166 B1) (hereinafter – Freeman) in further view of
Hatlestad et al. (US 20090069708 A1) (hereinafter – Hatlestad) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 20: Kumar as modified by Freeman teaches the invention according to claim 16, including
wherein the thoracic impedance measurement data comprises lung fluid data (Paragraph 0032: “Pulmonary edema can be determined using chest impedance by measuring multiple vectors across the chest from various leads which allows assessment of fluid status in multiple different segments of the thoracic cavity”); and
wherein to detect the potentially problematic cardiopulmonary condition the processor is further configured to:
identify a change of more than 5 ohms between the first measured impedance data and the second measured impedance data (Examiner notes that a processor capable of identifying, generally, changes in fluid status using transthoracic impedance is capable of identifying changes greater than 5 ohms between varying measurements).
Kumar as modified by Freeman does not teach wherein the lung fluid data includes a first measured impedance data when the subject is in a horizontal position and a second measured impedance data when the subject is in a non-horizontal position.
Hatlestad teaches analogous art in the technology of transthoracic impedance monitoring. Hatlestad further teaches wherein the lung fluid data includes a first measured impedance data when the subject is in a horizontal position and a second measured impedance data when the subject is in a non-horizontal position (Paragraph 0069: accounting for changes in posture encompasses positions such as standing or lying down; Paragraph 0086: identification of thoracic impedance from supine and upright positions after waking).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kumar as modified by Freeman to include assessing lung fluid data in changes between horizontal and non-horizontal positions as taught by Hatlestad, the motivation being that doing so allows for an adjustment of the degree of pulmonary edema based on posture (Paragraph 0069, 0086).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Kumar et al. (U.S. 2019/0022400 A1) (hereinafter – Kumar) (disclosed by Applicant) in view of
Freeman et al. (US 10702166 B1) (hereinafter – Freeman) in further view of
Zhang et al. (US 20110009753 A1) (hereinafter – Zhang) (disclosed by Applicant).
Re. Claim 21: Kumar as modified by Freeman teaches the invention according to claim 15, including wherein to predict worsening of the cardiopulmonary condition of the subject, the processor is further configured to:
analyze the thoracic impedance measurement data to identify a decrease in the thoracic impedance (Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include sensing impedance changes along a plurality of vectors of the patient with the one or more sensing electrodes of the first patient engagement substrate and the sensing electrode of the second patient engagement substrate and the first and second defibrillator electrode pads. The method can further include comparing the impedance changes to a patient baseline and/or a database to measure a cardiac health of the patient;” Examiner notes that identifying a change encompasses identification of a decrease);
analyze the electrocardiogram measurement data and heart rate variability data to obtain information pertaining to possible atrial fibrillation and localization in the subject (Paragraph 0022: “The method can further include analyzing the measured electrical data corresponding to the cardiac signal of the patient for bradycardia, atrial fibrillation;” Fig. 12: ECG sensing electrode locations, multiple ECG leads allow for localization due to differences in signal features arising from differing vectors); and
analyze the heart sound measurement data to identify an increase in an S3 heart sound (Paragraph 0032: “The method can further include analyzing the heart sounds measured by a microphone to determine the presence or absence of one or more of: rales or rhonchi, the presence of S3 and S4 heart sounds, and pathologies such as splitting in the S1 and S2 heart sounds”).
Kumar as modified by Freeman does not teach the invention wherein to predict worsening of the cardiopulmonary condition of the subject, the processor is further configured to:
analyze the thoracic impedance measurement data to identify an increase in a respiration rate;
analyze the thoracic impedance measurement data to identify a decrease in a relative tidal volume.
Such aspects are taught by Zhang (see rejection of claim 19). Motivation to modify Kumar as modified by Freeman is identical.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791