DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, 12, 16, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Argo et al, US 2022/0265527.
Argo et al teach a hand soap comprising 10% sodium laureth sulfate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, 5% glycerin, and the balance water wherein the composition has a pH of 5.5 (¶107, table 9). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as the example is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied.
With respect to claim 17, as the anti-allergy agent is not defined, the examiner maintains this could be essentially any component in table 9.
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Cavaco Paulo et al, US 2023/0414478.
Cavaco Paulo et al teach a hair cleanser comprising disodium 2-sulfolaurate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, glycerin, and the balance water (¶136, table 2), wherein these compositions have a pH of from 4 to 6 (claim 19). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as the example is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied.
With respect to claim 17, as the anti-allergy agent is not defined, the examiner maintains this could be essentially any component in table 2.
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Deng et al, US 2023/0089228.
Deng et al teach a skin cleanser comprising 3.33% disodium 2-sulfolaurate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, 2% glycerin, decyl glucoside, and the balance water wherein this composition has a pH of 4.2 (¶149, formulation C). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as the example is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied.
With respect to claim 17, as the anti-allergy agent is not defined, the examiner maintains this could be essentially any component in formulation C.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Berbel et al, US 2014/0094395.
Berbel et al teach a skin cleanser comprising 3.2% of a non-sulfate surfactant mixture including disodium 2-sulfolaurate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, glycerin, cocoglucoside, sodium benzoate, and the balance water wherein this composition has a pH between 4 and 5 (¶60, example 3). Another example comprises cocosulfate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, glycerin, and the balance water wherein this composition has a pH between 4 and 5 (¶60, example 10). As this reference meets all material limitations of the claims at hand, the reference is anticipatory.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as the example is identical to the composition claimed, these limitations are satisfied.
With respect to claim 17, as the anti-allergy agent is not defined, the examiner maintains this could be essentially any component in formulation C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, US 2022/0257486.
Liu et al teach an aqueous shampoo comprising disodium 2-sulfolaurate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, 3% glycerin, cocoglucoside, and the balance water (¶171, sample S18) wherein these compositions have a pH of from 4.5 to 6 (¶95) and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare sample S18 with a pH of from 4.5 to 6 as this pH is taught as preferred by the reference.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as the reference renders obvious the presently claimed composition, the examiner maintains these limitations are satisfied.
With respect to claim 17, as the anti-allergy agent is not defined, the examiner maintains this could be essentially any component in sample S18.
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 12-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz et al, US 2021/0299020.
Cruz et al teach a personal care composition comprising a non-sulfate anionic surfactant, a betaine surfactant, a humectant which may be glycerin, and is free from a thickener (claims 44, 53, and 59). Suitable non-sulfate surfactants include taurates (claim 45), suitable betaines include cocoamidopropyl betaine (claim 47), preferred additives include sodium benzoate (¶60), and these compositions have a pH of from 3.75 to 4.5 (claim 54). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a composition comprising a taurate, cocoamidopropyl betaine, glycerin and sodium benzoate as all these components are taught as preferred or suitable by the reference.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, as the reference renders obvious the presently claimed composition, the examiner maintains these limitations are satisfied.
With respect to claim 17, as the anti-allergy agent is not defined, the examiner maintains this could be essentially any component in the reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner notes that personal compositions comprising laureth sulfate and cocoamidopropyl betaine are ubiquitous in the detergent arts. To avoid an onerous action, only one reference has been given, but there are many more.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761