CTFR 18/951,206 CTFR 88009 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3-6, 8, 10-11, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) . With respect to claim 1 : Yamazato discloses a body (the “refrigerating and cooling device” shown in Figs. 1+), comprising: a first plate (casing 1) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a first space (space internal to the casing 1 - the one or more of the compartments 2, 3, 4); a second plate (col. 15, lines 42-43: “an outer casing (not shown) is provided for housing the casing 1”) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a second space (the space between the outer casing and the casing 1 and/or the space external to the outer casing); at least one electrical component provided in at least one of the first space or the second space (Fig. 1: electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d and the wires attached thereto are in the “first space” and/or electrical components 15-18 are in the “second space”); a first controller (one or more of the sub-control sections 25 and/or the microcomputer(s) 27 thereof) provided in the first space (Fig. 1) and configured to electrically connect to the at least one electrical component (via the “cables” and “cabling” shown in Fig. 1); and a second controller (main control section 20 and/or the microcomputer 22 thereof) provided in the second space (Fig. 1) and configured to electrically connect to at least one of the at least one electrical component (indirectly, via the sub-control section(s) 25) or the first controller (via the “cables” and “cabling” shown in Fig. 1; also see Fig. 2 for feeder 35, cable 36, and/or the “input unit”). If the microcomputer(s) 27 and/or microcomputer 22 is/are relied upon as the claimed “first controller” and/or “second controller”, the remaining components of each respective sub-control section 25 and/or main control section 20 meet the claimed “at least one electrical component”. Yamazato does not disclose the refrigerator device’s body is “vacuum adiabatic” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate” as claimed. Yamazato col. 15, lines 43-45 disclose “a heat insulating material is provided between the casing 1 and the outer casing”. Deka shows it is known in the refrigerator art to provide vacuum insulated structures 14, 18 between the inner liner 110 and outer wrapper 112 of the body of a refrigerator appliance 12. The vacuum insulated structures 14, 18 define compartments 16, 30 of the appliance 12. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s refrigerating and cooling device to be vacuum insulated, as an obvious variant of the heat insulating material disclosed by Yamazato. Switching Yamazato’s known, prior art insulation means for another known insulation means is an obvious modification of Yamazato’s apparatus. Such a modification is obvious in order to provide the benefits of vacuum insulation over conventional refrigerator insulation means (e.g., better insulation performance per inch thickness of insulated space, thereby yielding energy cost savings by using less energy to keep the compartments refrigerated). Yamazato discloses the “first space” includes “at least two spaces” (compartments 2, 3, 4) as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “a mullion provided in the first space and configured to partition the first space” into the compartments 2, 3, 4 as claimed and/or “wherein the first controller is provided in the mullion” as claimed. Yamazato discloses individual compartments 2, 3, 4 – but does not specifically mention walls/mullions between said compartments 2, 3, 4. However, Yamazato Fig. 1 shows dashed lines between the compartments 2, 3, 4. Such dashed lines indicate some sort of structure separating the compartments 2, 3, 4. In that Yamazato discloses the compartments 2, 3, 4 having respective (distinct) temperatures that are individually controllable, it is obvious for some structure to be between each compartment 2, 3, 4. Deka discloses an interior mullion 20 that separates refrigerating compartments 16 and 30. Deka [0017] states (underline added by examiner for emphasis): The interior mullion 20 serves to further define the first refrigerating compartment 16 . Additionally, the rigid perimeter wall 24 defines at least one hinge support 26 adapted to support the at least one door 18 of the appliance 12 . According to various embodiments, the multi-component insulation structure 10 can also include a second vacuum insulated structure 28 that defines a second refrigerating compartment 30 . In such an embodiment, the interior mullion 20 serves to at least partially define the second refrigerating compartment 30 and also separates the first and second refrigerating compartments 16 , 30 . The interior mullion 20 serves to separate the first and second vacuum insulated structures 14 , 28 . Deka [0019] reiterates the disclosure of interior mullion 20 both separating the vacuum insulated structures 14, 28 and providing separation between the first and second refrigerating compartments 16, 30. Deka Fig. 4 and [0021] disclose various utility fixtures 60 disposed within the mullion insulating cavity 46 of the mullion 20. Deka [0021] states: Such utility fixtures 60 can include, but are not limited to, ice dispensers, water filters, water dispensers, water tanks, water lines, electrical wiring, refrigerant lines, ductwork, conduit and/or harnesses therefor, combinations thereof, and other similar utility-related fixtures for serving the appliance 12 . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s casing 1 to have a plurality of Deka’s interior mullions 20 in order to separate the compartments 2, 3, 4 in a conventional manner and/or to help hold the compartments 2, 3, 4 at different temperatures based on what is being stored therein. In the modification, it is obvious to locate Yamazato’s sub-control section 25c in the interior mullion 20 between compartments 2 and 3 and/or to have Yamazato’s sub-control section 25d in the interior mullion 20 between compartments 3 and 4. The sub-control sections 25 are “similar utility-related fixtures for serving the appliance”, as disclosed in Deka [0021]. With respect to claim 3 : Yamazato, as modified, meets an electric line (one or more of cables 18, 35, 36) configured to electrically connect the first space and the second space. With respect to claim 4 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the electric line comprises at least one of: a first portion to connect the first controller to the second controller (Yamazato Fig. 1: cable(s) 18, 35, 36 between sub-control sections 25 and main control section 20); a second portion to connect the first controller to the at least one electrical component (Yamazato Fig. 1: cable(s) 18, 35, 36 between sub-control sections 25 and electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d); or a third portion to connect the second controller to the at least one electrical component (Yamazato Fig. 1: cable 18 between main control section 20 and electrical components 15-17). With respect to claim 5 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the second plate surrounds the first plate (the not-shown outer casing surrounds casing 1), and wherein an inner space of the first plate comprises at least a portion of the first space (inside of casing 1 is included in the “first space”), and an outer space of the second plate comprises at least a portion of the second space (outside of the not-shown outer casing is included in the ”second space”). With respect to claim 6 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the first plate and the second plate comprise a first portion to define an upper space of a refrigerator (upper portions of the outer casing and the casing 1, above compartment 2) and a second portion to define a rear surface of the refrigerator (rear portions of the outer casing and the casing 1, behind compartments 2, 3, 4), and wherein the second controller is adjacent (adjacent: in, on, or near) to the first portion of the second plate (main control section 20 is near the upper portion of the outer casing) and the first controller is adjacent to the second portion of the second plate (at least one of the sub-control sections 25 is near the rear portion of the outer casing). With respect to claim 8 : Yamazato discloses “wherein the second controller is electrically connected to the first controller” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “wherein the at least one electrical component comprises a signal transmitting/receiving unit to digitally process control signals, and wherein the second controller is electrically connected to the first controller that is electrically connected to the signal transmitting/receiving unit” as claimed. Yamazato discloses bidirectional communication between the I/F circuit 24 of the main control section 20 and the I/F circuit 32 of the sub-control section 25 using cable 36. Yamazato discloses the sub-control section 25 controls the electrical component via the drive circuit 31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify at least one of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a I/F circuit (like Yamazato’s I/F circuits 24, 32), in order to provide bidirectional communication between said component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d and the corresponding sub-control section 25. Such a I/F circuit added to the component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d is “a signal transmitting/receiving unit” as claimed. The sub-control section 25 being connected to said I/F circuit meets “the first controller that is electrically connected to the signal transmitting/receiving unit” as claimed. With respect to claim 10 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the at least one electrical component comprises a heat generation part (heater 17) to which AC power is supplied (via cable 18), and wherein the second controller is electrically connected to the heat generation part (main control section 20 is electrically connected to heater 17 via cable 18). Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a signal transmitting/receiving unit to digitally process control signals” and/or “the first controller is electrically connected to the signal transmitting/receiving unit” as claimed. Yamazato discloses bidirectional communication between the I/F circuit 24 of the main control section 20 and the I/F circuit 32 of the sub-control section 25 using cable 36. Yamazato discloses the sub-control section 25 controls the electrical component via the drive circuit 31. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify at least one of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a I/F circuit (like Yamazato’s I/F circuits 24, 32), in order to provide bidirectional communication between said component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d and the corresponding sub-control section 25. Such a I/F circuit added to the component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d is “a signal transmitting/receiving unit” as claimed. The sub-control section 25 being connected to said I/F circuit meets “the first controller is electrically connected to the signal transmitting/receiving unit” as claimed. With respect to claim 11 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the first controller and the second controller are connected by at least two connection lines (cables 18, 35, 36), the at least two connection lines including a DC line (“DC power feeder 35”) and a signal line (“communication-use cable 36 for bidirectional communications between the main control section 20 and each of the sub-control sections 25”). With respect to claim 18 : By making the same combinations and modifications as in the rejections above, Yamazato in view of Deka meets a vacuum adiabatic body (Yamazato’s modified device), comprising: a first plate (casing 1) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a first space (space internal to the casing 1 - the one or more of the compartments 2, 3, 4); a second plate (col. 15, lines 42-43: “an outer casing (not shown) is provided for housing the casing 1”) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a second space (the space between the outer casing and the casing 1 and/or the space external to the outer casing); a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate (similarly to Deka’s disclosure); a first controller (one or more of the sub-control sections 25) provided in the first space; a second controller (main control section 20) provided in the second space; and electric lines (cables 35, 36) configured to electrically connect the first space and the second space (similarly to Yamazato Fig. 1) and having different types (cable 35 is DC power, cable 36 is communication-use), wherein the electric lines pass through a single path (Yamazato Fig. 1: the lines for lamp 6a, door switch 7a, thermistor 8a, heater 9a, and electric fan 10 pass through a single connector 37; similar groupings of components have their lines pass through a single connector 37) and extend to bypass the vacuum space (similarly to Deka’s utility fixtures 60 being in the non-vacuum mullion insulating cavity 46 and non-vacuum interstitial space 154, thereby bypassing the vacuum space of the vacuum insulated structures 14, 28), and wherein the single path is defined at an edge of at least one of the first plate of the second plate (connector 37 is defined at an edge of casing 1 in the same or similar way as Applicant’s Fig. 27 shows lines at an edge of the first plate 10 or second plate 20). With respect to claim 19 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the electric lines comprise a first connection line disposed in the first space (cable(s) 35, 36 between sub-control sections 25 and electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d), a second connection line disposed in the second space (Yamazato Fig. 1: cable(s) 35, 36 behind casing 1 and connected to components 15-17 and main control section 20) and a third connection line passing from the first space to the second space (cable(s) 35, 36 between sub-control sections 25 and main control section 20) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 9, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) as applied to claim s 1 and 18 above, and further in view of US 2015/0192337 A1 (Choi) . With respect to claim 7 : Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “wherein the at least one electrical component comprises a driver to which DC power is supplied, and wherein the second controller is electrically connected to the first controller that is electrically connected to the driver” as claimed. Yamazato does disclose supplying DC power to the electrical components via power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 and DC power feeders 35. The second controller (main control section 20) is electrical connected to the first controller (sub-control section(s) 25). Yamazato discloses the device includes an ice-making compartment (not shown), including an ice-maker (not shown), the ice-removing motor 11, and the ice-making thermistor 8d of Fig. 1. Yamazato Fig. 1 shows a heater 9a, and a fan 10. Choi [0042]-[0052] shows it is known in the art for electrical components, such as an icemaker 190, to include a driver 216 that operates a powered component. Choi [0060]-[0063] discloses drivers for fans. Choi [0063] discloses a driver 332 for a heater. See Yamazato Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify one or more of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a driver, in order to power such component(s) using known electrical connection means and controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive circuit(s) 31 of the sub-control section(s) 25 to be connected to said driver(s) in order to have the sub-control section(s) 25 control when the electrical component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d turn on and off. With respect to claim 9 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the at least one electrical component comprises a heat generation part (heater 17) to which AC power is supplied (via cable 18), and wherein the second controller is electrically connected to the heat generation part (main control section 20 is electrically connected to heater 17 via cable 18). Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a driver to which DC power is supplied” and/or “the first controller is electrically connected to the driver” as claimed. Yamazato does disclose supplying DC power to the electrical components via power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 and DC power feeders 35. Yamazato discloses the device includes an ice-making compartment (not shown), including an ice-maker (not shown), the ice-removing motor 11, and the ice-making thermistor 8d of Fig. 1. Yamazato Fig. 1 shows a heater 9a, and a fan 10. Choi [0042]-[0052] shows it is known in the art for electrical components, such as an icemaker 190, to include a driver 216 that operates a powered component. Choi [0060]-[0063] discloses drivers for fans. Choi [0063] discloses a driver 332 for a heater. See Yamazato Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify one or more of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a driver, in order to power such component(s) using known electrical connection means and controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive circuit(s) 31 of the sub-control section(s) 25 to be connected to said driver(s) in order to have the sub-control section(s) 25 control when the electrical component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d turn on and off. With respect to claim 12 : Yamazato, as modified, meets a plurality of electric lines (cables 18, 35, 36) electrically connected to the second controller (main control section 20) and including: an AC line (“AC power feeder 18”) for driving a heat generation part (heater 9a, heater 17, and/or igniter 13); a DC line (“DC power feeder 35”) for supplying power to the first controller (Fig. 2: DC power feeder 35 powers sub-controllers 25 via DC power circuits 26 thereof); and a signal line (“communication-use cable 36 for bidirectional communications between the main control section 20 and each of the sub-control sections 25”) for transmitting and receiving control signals to the first controller. Yamazato, as modified, does not disclose DC power feeder 35 supplying power to “a driver” as claimed. Yamazato, as modified, does not disclose cable 36 transmitting and receiving control signals to the driver as claimed. Yamazato does disclose supplying DC power to the electrical components via power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 and DC power feeders 35. Yamazato discloses the device includes an ice-making compartment (not shown), including an ice-maker (not shown), the ice-removing motor 11, and the ice-making thermistor 8d of Fig. 1. Yamazato Fig. 1 shows a heater 9a, and a fan 10. Choi [0042]-[0052] shows it is known in the art for electrical components, such as an icemaker 190, to include a driver 216 that operates a powered component. Choi [0060]-[0063] discloses drivers for fans. Choi [0063] discloses a driver 332 for a heater. See Yamazato Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify one or more of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a driver, in order to power such component(s) using known electrical connection means and controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the drive circuit(s) 31 of the sub-control section(s) 25 to be connected to said driver(s) via cable 36 in order to have the sub-control section(s) 25 control when the electrical component(s) 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d turn on and off. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DC power feeder 35 to connect to said driver(s) in order to supply power to the electrical components using the existing means for that purpose. With respect to claim 20 : Yamazato, as modified, meets an AC-DC converter to convert an AC power to a DC power (power circuit 21 of main control section 20 converts AC power from feeder 18 into DC power output through DC power feeder 35). Yamazato discloses DC power is supplied to the first controller (sub-control section 25) through the electric line (cable(s) 18, 35, 36), and wherein the at least one of the electric lines comprises a DC line (DC power feeder 35). Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a DC rectifier to rectify the DC power and to supply rectified DC power to the second controller, wherein the second controller controls the DC rectifier such that the rectified DC power is supplied to the first controller through at least one of the electric lines” as claimed. Choi [0087]-[0090] discloses a rectifier 411 that takes AC power input and outputs rectified DC power. A Capacitor C is provided after the rectifier 411 to smooth the rectified power. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s 21 to include Choi’s rectifier 411 and capacitor C, in order to provide smoothed DC power to the DC power feeder 35. This meets a DC rectifier (rectifier 411 and/or the capacitor C) to rectify the DC power and to supply rectified DC power to the second controller, wherein the second controller controls the DC rectifier such that the rectified DC power is supplied to the first controller through the electric line . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 2014/0204860 A1 (Kim) . With respect to claim 20 : Yamazato, as modified, meets an AC-DC converter to convert an AC power to a DC power (power circuit 21 of main control section 20 converts AC power from feeder 18 into DC power output through DC power feeder 35). Yamazato discloses DC power is supplied to the first controller (sub-control section 25) through the electric line (cable(s) 18, 35, 36), and wherein the electric line comprises a DC line (DC power feeder 35). Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a DC rectifier to rectify the DC power and to supply rectified DC power to the second controller, wherein the second controller controls the DC rectifier such that the rectified DC power is supplied to the first controller through the electric line” as claimed. Kim [0009] discloses a rectifier that converts AC power to DC power, and a DC-to-DC converter that converts a voltage level of said DC power to a specific rated voltage needed by a component. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s power circuit 21 to include Kim’s DC-to-DC converter, in order to provide one or more DC voltage level required by one or more of the electrical components. The added DC-to-DC converter meets “a DC rectifier to rectify the DC power and to supply rectified DC power to the second controller, wherein the second controller controls the DC rectifier such that the rectified DC power is supplied to the first controller through the electric line” as claimed . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0162356 A1 (Allard) . With respect to claim 13 : Yamazato discloses a body (the “refrigerating and cooling device” shown in Figs. 1+), comprising: a first plate (casing 1) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a first space (space internal to the casing 1 - the one or more of the compartments 2, 3, 4); a second plate (col. 15, lines 42-43: “an outer casing (not shown) is provided for housing the casing 1”) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a second space (the space between the outer casing and the casing 1 and/or the space external to the outer casing); a first controller (one or more of the sub-control sections 25) provided in the first space; a second controller (main control section 20) provided in the second space; and electric lines (two or more of the cables 18, 35, 36) configured to electrically connect the first space and the second space and having different types (cable 18 is for AC power, cable 35 is for DC power, and cable 36 is for bi-directional communication). Yamazato does not disclose the refrigerator device’s body is “vacuum adiabatic” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate” as claimed, the claimed “first opening”, the claimed “second opening”, and/or that the cable(s) 18, 35, 36 “pass through the vacuum space via the first opening and the second opening” as claimed. Yamazato col. 15, lines 43-45 disclose “a heat insulating material is provided between the casing 1 and the outer casing”. Allard discloses an appliance 12 comprising an outer wrapper 14, an inner liner 22, and a trim breaker 28 that define a hermetically sealed interior cavity 30 that is placed under vacuum. At least one trim breaker conduit 34 extends through the outer wrapper 14 and inner liner 22 to define utility conduit(s) 36 for running utilities 50 throughout the appliance 12 without breaking the hermetic seal of cavity 30 (thereby keeping the vacuum maintained). The utilities 50 may include wiring, piping, tubing, ductwork, etc. (Allard [0027]). Allard Figs. 2-9 show apertures 74 in the outer wrapper 14, and apertures 80 in the inner liner 22. These apertures 74, 80 receive the conduits 34 to define said utility paths 36. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s device to be vacuum insulated between the casing 1 and the not-shown outer casing, as an obvious variant of the heat insulating material disclosed by Yamazato. Switching Yamazato’s known, prior art insulation means for Allard’s known, prior art insulation means is an obvious modification of Yamazato’s apparatus. Such a modification is obvious in order to provide the benefits of vacuum insulation over conventional refrigerator insulation means (e.g., better insulation performance per inch thickness of insulated space, thereby yielding energy cost savings by using less energy to keep the compartments refrigerated). In the modification, it is obvious to form Allard’s apertures 74, 80 in Yamazato’s not-shown outer casing and casing 1, and to use Allard’s conduits 34 in said apertures 74, 80 to thereby pass Yamazato’s cables 18, 35, 36 through the vacuum-insulated device similarly to Allard’s utilities 50. The apertures 74 are added to Yamazato’s not-shown outer casing, analogously to Allard’s outer wrapper 14. The apertures 80 are added to Yamazato’s casing 1, analogously to Allard’s inner liner 22. The apertures 74, 80 added to Yamazato meet the claimed “first opening” and “second opening”. With respect to claim 15 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the first opening and the second opening define a single through-hole (utility conduit 36, inside of conduit 34) through which the electric lines pass. With respect to claim 16 : Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the second controller includes a main controller (main control section 20) that supplies power to the first controller (power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 powers sub-control unit 25 via DC power feeder 35 and the DC power circuit 26 of the sub-control unit 25), and wherein the first controller (sub-control section 25) includes an auxiliary controller (drive circuit 31) to control an electrical component provided in the first space (controls the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0162356 A1 (Allard) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 2016/0292105 A1 (Imahori) . With respect to claim 17 : Yamazato, as modified, meets a power supplier to output AC power (cable 18 and/or plug 18a), and wherein at least one of the electric lines comprises an AC line (“AC power feeder 18”). Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a switch to relay the AC power, wherein the second controller controls the switch such that the AC power is suppled to a heat generation part through at least one of the electric lines” as claimed. Yamazato discloses when a power switch of the device is first turned ON, AC power is supplied to the main control section 20 and to an AC duty of the compressor 15, etc. Main control section 20 includes initialization instructions for initialization of the sub-control sections 25. Imahori shows it is known in the art to use a switch 10D to turn power of an operating portion 10C on and off. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s device to include a switch 10D connected to Yamazato’s heater 17, and to have that switch 10D controlled by the main control section 20, in order to predictably turn the power of the heater 17 on and off using means known in the art for that purpose. This meets, as claimed, a switch (the added switch 10D) to relay the AC power, wherein the second controller (main control section 20) controls the switch such that the AC power is suppled to a heat generation part (heater 17) through at least one of the electric lines (via the cable 18 between switch 10D and the heater 17) . Response to Arguments The double patenting rejections made in the previous Office action are withdrawn, as being overcome by the Terminal Disclaimer filed 04 June 2026. In relation to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the Applicant addresses the prior art references Yamazato and Deka individually. The Applicant argues for bodily incorporation. 07-37-13 AIA In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). 07-37-02 AIA In response to applicant's argument that Deka’s mullion 20 is not provided in the first space and configured to partition the first space into at least two spaces (Applicant’s remarks 04 June 2026 @ page 15) , the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). First, Deka’s disclosure does not support the Applicant’s assertion that Deka’s mullion 20 does not partition a first space into at least two spaces. Deka discloses an interior mullion 20 that separates refrigerating compartments 16 and 30. Deka [0017] states (underline added by examiner for emphasis): The interior mullion 20 serves to further define the first refrigerating compartment 16 . Additionally, the rigid perimeter wall 24 defines at least one hinge support 26 adapted to support the at least one door 18 of the appliance 12 . According to various embodiments, the multi-component insulation structure 10 can also include a second vacuum insulated structure 28 that defines a second refrigerating compartment 30 . In such an embodiment, the interior mullion 20 serves to at least partially define the second refrigerating compartment 30 and also separates the first and second refrigerating compartments 16 , 30 . The interior mullion 20 serves to separate the first and second vacuum insulated structures 14 , 28 . Deka [0019] reiterates the disclosure of interior mullion 20 both separating the vacuum insulated structures 14, 28 and providing separation between the first and second refrigerating compartments 16, 30. Deka’s disclosure explicitly states that mullion 20 separates the two compartments 16, 30 (two spaces). According to Deka, the inside of Deka’s refrigerator (the first space) is partitioned into at least two spaces (compartments 16, 30) by the mullion 20. Secondly, when Deka’s mullions 20 are applied inside Yamazato’s casing 1 in order to divide the compartments 2, 3, 4 into distinct spaces having distinct temperatures (compartments 2, 3, 4 being distinct spaces having distinct temperatures disclosed by Yamazato), this meets the mullion 20 “configured to partition the first space (inside of casing 1) into at least two spaces (compartments 2, 3, 4)” as claimed. The Applicant’s remarks about Deka’s mullion 20 being only for separating vacuum insulated structures 14, 28 and/or providing an anchor position for hinge 70 are not persuasive because they ignore the disclosure of Deka as a whole. Multiple things may be true at once. One or more being true does not necessarily preclude another. While Deka’s mullion 20 may be between vacuum insulated structures 14, 28, the mullion 20 may also at the same time partition the inside of Deka’s refrigerator into at least two spaces (compartments 16, 30), and the mullion 20 may also at the same time provide an anchor position for hinge 70. The Applicant’s remarks on page 16 about Yamazato being directed to a technical problem of coupling sub-control section 25 to main controller 20 using female connectors 37 that extend through casing 1, and that positioning mullions 20 inside Yamazato’s casing 1 would require a redesign of the connectors 37 are not persuasive. First, Yamazato does not state that female connectors 37 are the crux of the invention and/or that they are the only component which solves the only technical problem presented. The female connectors 37 are just a few components of many components that serve to solve the disclosed technical problem (col. 1 of Yamazato) of providing a communication system for a plurality of inputs and outputs in a refrigerator. Further, in the modification, the female connectors 37 are still used in Yamazato’s refrigerator. This does not require a redesign of the connectors 37, which are already shown as passing through the casing 1. When mullions 20 are added between Yamazato’s compartments 2, 3, 4, the connectors 37 pass through the casing 1 and into the mullions 20 and connect to the sub-controllers 25 mounted inside the mullions 20. The connectors 37 can pass through/into mullions 20 in the same way that they pass through/into casing 1 and/or compartments 2, 3, 4. The Applicant’s allegations at page 18 regarding Yamazato not disclosing electric lines configured to connect the first space and the second space and having different types is not persuasive. Yamazato explicitly discloses cables 18, 35, 36 passing from outside of casing 1 to inside of casing 1 (connecting the first space and the second space) and having different types (cable 18 is for AC power, cable 35 is for DC power, and cable 36 is for bi-directional communication). The remarks about Yamazato not disclosing passing through the vacuum space via the first opening and the second opening ignore the combination of references used to reject the claim, and what the combination suggests. The Applicant’s remarks regarding Allard are not persuasive. Contrary to the Applicant’s remarks at page 20, Allard’s conduit 36 does not replace Yamazato’s connector 37. The Applicant alleges that Allard’s conduits 36 placed in multiple positions on Yamazato’s back wall 1a to enable different cables 18, 35, 36 of Yamazato to pass therethrough would not meet electric lines connecting the first space and the second space and having different types, wherein the lines pass through the vacuum space via the first and second opening (page 20). The examiner submits that this modification would meet that limitation exactly. In such a modification, there is at least one first opening in Yamazato’s not-shown outer casing, at least one second opening in Yamazato’s casing 1, and the conduit 36 forming a passage at said opening(s). The cables 18, 35, 36 pass through the conduit(s) 36 from outside the casing 1 to inside the compartments 2, 3, 4. This is electric lines (cables 18, 35, 36) connecting the first space and the second space (outside casing 1 and inside casing 1) and having different types (cable 18 is for AC power, cable 35 is for DC power, and cable 36 is for bi-directional communication), wherein the lines pass through the vacuum space (the modified space between the outer casing and casing 1) via the first and second opening (and conduit 36 placed at the first and second openings). The Applicant’s remarks related to claim 18 are not persuasive for similar reasons as the arguments against claims 1 and 13. The Applicant may point out differences between each individual reference and/or against the bodily incorporation of the claimed invention in one of the references. However, the Applicant has not addressed the combination of references used to reject the claims. IE – the Applicant has not argued that when the primary references is modified with the secondary reference, the claimed invention is not met. Instead, the Applicant has argued that reference A lacks certain claimed features, and reference B lacks certain claimed features. There is no argument of how A in view of B lack certain claimed features. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW ROERSMA whose telephone number is (571)270-3185. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at 571-270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 2 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 3 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 4 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 5 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 6 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 7 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 8 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 9 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 10 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 11 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 12 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 13 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 14 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 15 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 16 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 17 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 18 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 19 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 20 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 21 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 22 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 23 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 24 Art Unit: 3637 Application/Control Number: 18/951,206 Page 25 Art Unit: 3637