DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “each of the each of the” should be “each of the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-9, 11-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 1: The claimed “first component” and “second component” correspond to the driver 600 and heat generation part 601. The claimed “first controller” and “second controller” correspond to the auxiliary controller 500 and main controller 450, respectively.
The auxiliary controller 500 is connected to driver 600, but not to the heat generation part 601 (Figs. 39-40). There is no mention in the specification of the auxiliary controller 500 being connected to the heat generation part 601 and the driver 600.
The claim limitation to the first controller “configured to electrically connect to at least one of the first component or the second component” raises the issue of new matter because the auxiliary controller 500 is not disclosed as being connected to two components (600, 601). Being connected to two components is encompassed in “at least one of” as claimed.
The main controller 450 is connected to the auxiliary controller 500 and the heat generation part 601, but not to the driver 600 (Figs. 39-40). There is no mention in the specification of the main controller 450 being connected to the driver 600.
The claim limitation to the second controller “configured to electrically connect to at least one of the first component, the second component or the first controller” raises the issue of new matter because the main controller 450 is not disclosed as being connected to the first and second components (600, 601). Being connected to the first and second components is encompassed in “at least one of” as claimed.
With respect to claims 5-9, 11-12, and 21: The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) via dependency.
With respect to claim 22: The claimed “first controller” and “second controller” correspond to the auxiliary controller 500 and main controller 450, respectively.
Signal lines 511 and 512 connect the signal transmitting/receiving unit 501 to the main/second controller 450, but not to the auxiliary controller 500. There is no mention in the specification of signal lines 511 and 512 connecting the signal transmitting/receiving unit 501 and auxiliary controller 500.
The claim limitation to the signal line “that connects the signal transmitting/receiving unit to the first and second controllers” raises the issue of new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-9, 11, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka).
With respect to claim 1: Yamazato discloses a body (the “refrigerating and cooling device” shown in Figs. 1+), comprising: a first plate (casing 1) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a first space (space internal to the casing 1, including the compartments 2, 3, 4); a second plate (col. 15, lines 42-43: “an outer casing (not shown) is provided for housing the casing 1”) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a second space (the space between the outer casing and the casing 1 and/or the space external to the outer casing); electrical components provided in the first space (Fig. 1), the electrical components including a first component (one of lamp 6a/b, door switch 7a/b, thermistor 8a/b/c/d, heater 9a, electric fan 10, motor 11, fan 12, or igniter 13) and a second component (one of the sub-control sections 25a-d which is not connected to the “first component” and/or the microcomputer 27 thereof and/or the component(s) 6-13 connected thereto); a first controller (the sub-control section 25a-d connected to the “first component” and/or the microcomputer 27 and DC power circuit 26 thereof) provided in the first space (Fig. 1) and configured to electrically connect to at least one of the first component or the second component (Fig. 1: the sub-control section 25a-d connected to the “first component”); a second controller (main control section 20 and/or the microcomputer 22 thereof) provided in the second space (Fig. 1) and configured to electrically connect to at least one of the first component, the second component or the first controller (Fig. 1: main control section 20 connected indirectly to the “first component”; and/or main control section 20 connected to the “second component” of one sub-control section 25a-d; and/or main control section 20 connected to the “first controller” of another sub-control section 25a-d); and electric lines (the “cables” and “cabling” shown in Fig. 1; also see Fig. 2 for feeder 35, cable 36, and/or the “input unit”) configured to electrically connect the first space and the second space (Fig. 1, at least via connectors 37), wherein the electric lines comprise at least one first line that connects the first controller to the second controller (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting sub-control section 25a-d and main control section 20), a second line that connects the first controller to the first component (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting one sub-control section 25a-d and the “first component”) and a third line that connects the second controller to the second component (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting main control section 20 and another sub-control section 25a-d).
Yamazato does not disclose the refrigerator device’s body is “vacuum adiabatic” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate” as claimed.
Yamazato col. 15, lines 43-45 disclose “a heat insulating material is provided between the casing 1 and the outer casing”.
Deka shows it is known in the refrigerator art to provide vacuum insulated structures 14, 18 between the inner liner 110 and outer wrapper 112 of the body of a refrigerator appliance 12. The vacuum insulated structures 14, 18 define compartments 16, 30 of the appliance 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s refrigerating and cooling device to be vacuum insulated, as an obvious variant of the heat insulating material disclosed by Yamazato. Switching Yamazato’s known, prior art insulation means for another known insulation means is an obvious modification of Yamazato’s apparatus.
Such a modification is obvious in order to provide the benefits of vacuum insulation over conventional refrigerator insulation means (e.g., better insulation performance per inch thickness of insulated space, thereby yielding energy cost savings by using less energy to keep the compartments refrigerated).
With respect to claim 5: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the second plate surrounds the first plate (the not-shown outer casing surrounds casing 1), and wherein an inner space of the first plate comprises at least a portion of the first space (inside of casing 1 is included in the “first space”), and an outer space of the second plate comprises at least a portion of the second space (outside of the not-shown outer casing is included in the ”second space”).
With respect to claim 6: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the first plate and the second plate comprise a first portion to define an upper space of a refrigerator (upper portions of the outer casing and the casing 1 - above compartment 2) and a second portion to define a rear surface of the refrigerator (rear portions of the outer casing and the casing 1 - behind compartments 2, 3, 4), and wherein the second controller is adjacent (adjacent: in, on, or near) to the first portion of the second plate (main control section 20 is near the upper portion of the outer casing) and the first controller is adjacent to the second portion of the second plate (sub-control section 25a is near the rear portion of the outer casing).
With respect to claim 8: Yamazato discloses bidirectional communication between the I/F circuit 24 of the main control section 20 and the I/F circuit 32 of the sub-control sections 25 using cable 36.
Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the electrical components further comprise a signal transmitting/receiving unit (at least I/F circuit 32 of sub-control section 25a-d) to digitally process control signals, and wherein the at least one first line includes a first portion that connects the second controller to the signal transmitting/receiving unit (cable 36 connecting main control section 20 and I/F circuit 32 of sub-control section 25a-d) and a second portion that connects the first controller to the signal transmitting/receiving unit (line(s) connecting microcomputer 27 of sub-control section 25a-d and I/F circuit 32 of sub-control section 25a-d).
With respect to claim 9: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the second component comprises a heat generation part (sub-control-section 25a and heater 9a) to which AC power is supplied (via cable 18) and a driver (drive circuit 31) to which DC power is supplied (from DC power circuit 26).
With respect to claim 11: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the at least one first line includes at least two connection lines to connect the first controller and the second controller, and wherein the at least two connection lines include a DC line (“DC power feeder 35”) and a signal line (“communication-use cable 36 for bidirectional communications between the main control section 20 and each of the sub-control sections 25”).
With respect to claim 21: Yamazato discloses the “first space” includes “at least two spaces” (compartments 2, 3, 4) as claimed.
Yamazato does not disclose “a mullion provided in the first space and configured to partition the first space” into the compartments 2, 3, 4 as claimed and/or “wherein the first controller is disposed within the mullion” as claimed.
Yamazato discloses individual compartments 2, 3, 4 – but does not specifically mention walls/mullions between said compartments 2, 3, 4. However, Yamazato Fig. 1 shows dashed lines between the compartments 2, 3, 4. Such dashed lines indicate some sort of structure separating the compartments 2, 3, 4. In that Yamazato discloses the compartments 2, 3, 4 having respective (distinct) temperatures that are individually controllable, it is obvious for some structure to be between each compartment 2, 3, 4.
Deka discloses an interior mullion 20 that separates refrigerating compartments 16 and 30. Deka [0017] states (underline added by examiner for emphasis):
The interior mullion 20 serves to further define the first refrigerating compartment 16. Additionally, the rigid perimeter wall 24 defines at least one hinge support 26 adapted to support the at least one door 18 of the appliance 12. According to various embodiments, the multi-component insulation structure 10 can also include a second vacuum insulated structure 28 that defines a second refrigerating compartment 30. In such an embodiment, the interior mullion 20 serves to at least partially define the second refrigerating compartment 30 and also separates the first and second refrigerating compartments 16, 30. The interior mullion 20 serves to separate the first and second vacuum insulated structures 14, 28.
Deka [0019] reiterates the disclosure of interior mullion 20 both separating the vacuum insulated structures 14, 28 and providing separation between the first and second refrigerating compartments 16, 30.
Deka Fig. 4 and [0021] disclose various utility fixtures 60 disposed within the mullion insulating cavity 46 of the mullion 20. Deka [0021] states:
Such utility fixtures 60 can include, but are not limited to, ice dispensers, water filters, water dispensers, water tanks, water lines, electrical wiring, refrigerant lines, ductwork, conduit and/or harnesses therefor, combinations thereof, and other similar utility-related fixtures for serving the appliance 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s casing 1 to have a plurality of Deka’s interior mullions 20 in order to separate the compartments 2, 3, 4 in a conventional manner and/or to help hold the compartments 2, 3, 4 at different temperatures based on what is being stored therein.
In the modification, it is obvious to locate Yamazato’s sub-control section 25c in the interior mullion 20 between compartments 2 and 3 and/or to have Yamazato’s sub-control section 25d in the interior mullion 20 between compartments 3 and 4. The sub-control sections 25c/d are “similar utility-related fixtures for serving the appliance”, as disclosed in Deka [0021].
With respect to claim 22: Yamazato discloses bidirectional communication between the I/F circuit 24 of the main control section 20 and the I/F circuit 32 of the sub-control sections 25 using cable 36.
Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the electrical components further comprise a signal transmitting/receiving unit (at least I/F circuit 32 of sub-control section 25a-d) to digitally process control signals, wherein the at least one first line includes: a signal line (“communication-use cable 36 for bidirectional communications between the main control section 20 and each of the sub-control sections 25”) that connects the signal transmitting/receiving unit to the first and second controllers (cable 36 between main control section 20 and sub-control section 25a-d; and the line(s) between I/F circuit 32 and microcomputer 27 of sub-control section 25a-d); and a DC line (“DC power feeder 35”) that directly connects the first controller to the second controller (connects main control section 20 and DC power circuit 26 of sub-control section 25a-d).
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2015/0192337 A1 (Choi).
With respect to claim 7: Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “wherein the first component comprises a driver to which DC power is supplied” as claimed.
Yamazato does disclose supplying DC power to the electrical components via power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 and DC power feeders 35. The second controller (main control section 20) is electrical connected to the first controller (sub-control section 25a-d). Yamazato discloses the device includes an ice-making compartment (not shown), including an ice-maker (not shown), the ice-removing motor 11, and the ice-making thermistor 8d of Fig. 1. Yamazato Fig. 1 shows a heater 9a, and a fan 10.
Choi [0042]-[0052] shows it is known in the art for electrical components, such as an icemaker 190, to include a driver 216 that operates a powered component. Choi [0060]-[0063] discloses drivers for fans. Choi [0063] discloses a driver 332 for a heater.
See Yamazato Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify one or more of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a driver, in order to power such component(s) using known electrical connection means and controls.
With respect to claim 12: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the second component includes a heat generation part (heater 9a), wherein the at least one first line includes a DC line (“DC power feeder 35”) for supplying power to the first controller (Fig. 2) and a signal line (“communication-use cable 36 for bidirectional communications between the main control section 20 and each of the sub-control sections 25”) for transmitting and receiving control signals to the first controller (Fig. 2), and wherein the third line includes an AC line (AC power feeder 18) for driving the heat generation part (at least indirectly through the sub-control section 25).
Yamazato, as modified, does not disclose “wherein the first component includes a driver” as claimed and/or the DC power feeder 35 supplying power to the driver as claimed.
Yamazato does disclose supplying DC power to the electrical components via power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 and DC power feeders 35. The second controller (main control section 20) is electrical connected to the first controller (sub-control section 25a-d). Yamazato discloses the device includes an ice-making compartment (not shown), including an ice-maker (not shown), the ice-removing motor 11, and the ice-making thermistor 8d of Fig. 1. Yamazato Fig. 1 shows a heater 9a, and a fan 10.
Choi [0042]-[0052] shows it is known in the art for electrical components, such as an icemaker 190, to include a driver 216 that operates a powered component. Choi [0060]-[0063] discloses drivers for fans. Choi [0063] discloses a driver 332 for a heater.
See Yamazato Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify one or more of the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d to include a driver, in order to power such component(s) using known electrical connection means and controls.
Claims 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0162356 A1 (Allard).
With respect to claim 13: Yamazato discloses a body (the “refrigerating and cooling device” shown in Figs. 1+), comprising: a first plate (casing 1) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a first space (space internal to the casing 1 - the one or more of the compartments 2, 3, 4); a second plate (col. 15, lines 42-43: “an outer casing (not shown) is provided for housing the casing 1”) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a second space (the space between the outer casing and the casing 1 and/or the space external to the outer casing); a first controller (one the sub-control sections 25a-d) provided in the first space; a second controller (main control section 20) provided in the second space; at least one electrical component (any of the sub-control sections 25a-d not relied upon as the “first controller” and/or components 6a/b/c/d-13a/b/c/d) provided in the first space (Fig. 1); and electric lines (two or more of the cables 18, 35, 36 and connectors 37) configured to electrically connect the first space and the second space, the electric lines including a first line and a second line (Figs. 1 and 9 show two cables/lines), wherein the first line connects the first controller and the second controller (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting the sub-control section 25a-d relied upon as the “first controller” and main control section 20), and wherein the second line bypasses the first controller to connect the second controller to the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting main control section 20 to any of the sub-control sections 25a-d not relied upon as the “first controller” and/or components 6a/b/c/d-13a/b/c/d – said line(s) do not connect to the sub-control section 25a-d that is relied upon as the “first controller”).
Yamazato does not disclose the refrigerator device’s body is “vacuum adiabatic” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate” as claimed, the claimed “first opening”, the claimed “second opening”, and/or that the cable(s) 18, 35, 36 pass “through the vacuum space via the first opening and the second opening” as claimed.
Yamazato col. 15, lines 43-45 disclose “a heat insulating material is provided between the casing 1 and the outer casing”.
Allard discloses an appliance 12 comprising an outer wrapper 14, an inner liner 22, and a trim breaker 28 that define a hermetically sealed interior cavity 30 that is placed under vacuum. At least one trim breaker conduit 34 extends through the outer wrapper 14 and inner liner 22 to define utility conduit(s) 36 for running utilities 50 throughout the appliance 12 without breaking the hermetic seal of cavity 30 (thereby keeping the vacuum maintained). The utilities 50 may include wiring, piping, tubing, ductwork, etc. (Allard [0027]).
Allard Figs. 2-9 show apertures 74 in the outer wrapper 14, and apertures 80 in the inner liner 22. These apertures 74, 80 receive the conduits 34 to define said utility paths 36.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s device to be vacuum insulated between the casing 1 and the not-shown outer casing, as an obvious variant of the heat insulating material disclosed by Yamazato. Switching Yamazato’s known, prior art insulation means for Allard’s known, prior art insulation means is an obvious modification of Yamazato’s apparatus.
Such a modification is obvious in order to provide the benefits of vacuum insulation over conventional refrigerator insulation means (e.g., better insulation performance per inch thickness of insulated space, thereby yielding energy cost savings by using less energy to keep the compartments refrigerated).
In the modification, it is obvious to form Allard’s apertures 74, 80 in Yamazato’s not-shown outer casing and casing 1, and to use Allard’s conduits 34 in said apertures 74, 80 to thereby pass Yamazato’s cables 18, 35, 36 through the vacuum-insulated device similarly to Allard’s utilities 50. The apertures 74 are added to Yamazato’s not-shown outer casing, analogously to Allard’s outer wrapper 14. The apertures 80 are added to Yamazato’s casing 1, analogously to Allard’s inner liner 22. The apertures 74, 80 added to Yamazato meet the claimed “first opening” and “second opening”.
With respect to claim 15: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the first opening and the second opening define a single through-hole (utility conduit 36, inside of conduit 34) through which the first and second lines pass.
With respect to claim 16: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the second controller includes a main controller (main control section 20) that supplies power to the first controller (power circuit 21 of the main control section 20 powers sub-control unit 25 via DC power feeder 35 and the DC power circuit 26 of the sub-control unit 25), and wherein the first controller (sub-control section 25) includes an auxiliary controller (drive circuit 31) to control the at least one electrical component provided in the first space (controls the electrical components 6a/b/c/d-14a/b/c/d).
Claim(s) 17 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0162356 A1 (Allard) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 2016/0292105 A1 (Imahori).
With respect to claim 17: Yamazato, as modified, meets a power supplier to output AC power (cable 18 and/or plug 18a thereof, and/or the electrical source to which plug 18a is connected), and wherein the second line comprises an AC line (“AC power feeder 18”).
Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a switch to relay the AC power, wherein the second controller controls the switch such that the AC power is supplied to the at least one electrical component” as claimed.
Yamazato discloses when a power switch of the device is first turned ON, AC power is supplied to the main control section 20 and to an AC duty of the compressor 15, etc. Main control section 20 includes initialization instructions for initialization of the sub-control sections 25.
Imahori shows it is known in the art to use a switch 10D to turn power of an operating portion 10C on and off.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s device to include a switch 10D connected to Yamazato’s heater 9a, and to have that switch 10D controlled at least indirectly by the main control section 20, in order to predictably turn the power of the heater 9a on and off using means known in the art for that purpose.
This meets, as claimed, a switch (the added switch 10D) to relay the AC power, wherein the second controller (main control section 20) controls the switch such that the AC power is supplied to the at least one electrical component (heater 9a).
With respect to claim 23: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein the at least one electrical component includes a heat generation part (heater 9a).
Claims 18-19 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) and US 9,441,779 B1 (Alshourbagy).
With respect to claim 18: Yamazato discloses a body (the “refrigerating and cooling device” shown in Figs. 1+), comprising: a first plate (casing 1) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a first space (space internal to the casing 1, including the compartments 2, 3, 4); a second plate (col. 15, lines 42-43: “an outer casing (not shown) is provided for housing the casing 1”) configured to define at least a portion of a wall for a second space (the space between the outer casing and the casing 1 and/or the space external to the outer casing); a first controller (one of the sub-control sections 25a-d) provided in the first space (Fig. 1); a second controller (main control section 20 and/or the microcomputer 22 thereof) provided in the second space (Fig. 1); at least one electrical component (any of the sub-control sections 25a-d not relied upon as the “first controller” and/or components 6a/b/c/d-13a/b/c/d) provided in the first space (Fig. 1); and electric lines (the “cables” and “cabling” shown in Fig. 1; also see Fig. 2 for feeder 35, cable 36, and/or the “input unit” – includes connectors 37) configured to electrically connect the first space (Fig. 1, at least via connectors 37), the electric lines including a first line (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting sub-control section 25a-d and main control section 20) and a second line (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting one sub-control section 25a-d and the “first component”), wherein the first line connects the first controller and the second controller (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting the sub-control section 25a-d relied upon as the “first controller” and main control section 20), and the second line bypasses the first controller to connect the second controller to the at least one electrical component (Fig. 1: line(s) connecting main control section 20 to any of the sub-control sections 25a-d not relied upon as the “first controller” and/or components 6a/b/c/d-13a/b/c/d – said line(s) do not connect to the sub-control section 25a-d that is relied upon as the “first controller”).
Yamazato does not disclose the refrigerator device’s body is “vacuum adiabatic” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose “a vacuum space provided between the first plate and the second plate” as claimed. Yamazato does not disclose the lines “bypass the vacuum space” as claimed.
Yamazato col. 15, lines 43-45 disclose “a heat insulating material is provided between the casing 1 and the outer casing”.
Deka shows it is known in the refrigerator art to provide vacuum insulated structures 14, 18 between the inner liner 110 and outer wrapper 112 of the body of a refrigerator appliance 12. The vacuum insulated structures 14, 18 define compartments 16, 30 of the appliance 12.
Deka discloses an interior mullion 20 that separates refrigerating compartments 16 and 30. Deka [0017] states (underline added by examiner for emphasis):
The interior mullion 20 serves to further define the first refrigerating compartment 16. Additionally, the rigid perimeter wall 24 defines at least one hinge support 26 adapted to support the at least one door 18 of the appliance 12. According to various embodiments, the multi-component insulation structure 10 can also include a second vacuum insulated structure 28 that defines a second refrigerating compartment 30. In such an embodiment, the interior mullion 20 serves to at least partially define the second refrigerating compartment 30 and also separates the first and second refrigerating compartments 16, 30. The interior mullion 20 serves to separate the first and second vacuum insulated structures 14, 28.
Deka [0019] reiterates the disclosure of interior mullion 20 both separating the vacuum insulated structures 14, 28 and providing separation between the first and second refrigerating compartments 16, 30.
Deka Fig. 4 and [0021] disclose various utility fixtures 60 disposed within the mullion insulating cavity 46 of the mullion 20. Deka [0021] states:
Such utility fixtures 60 can include, but are not limited to, ice dispensers, water filters, water dispensers, water tanks, water lines, electrical wiring, refrigerant lines, ductwork, conduit and/or harnesses therefor, combinations thereof, and other similar utility-related fixtures for serving the appliance 12.
Alshourbagy shows it is known in the art to route cable/wiring through non-vacuum insulated structures, to thereby bypass vacuum insulated structures. This keeps vacuum insulated structures 20, 40 free from of fasteners, adhesives, welding, or other holes that may compromise the vacuum.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s refrigerating and cooling device to be vacuum insulated, as an obvious variant of the heat insulating material disclosed by Yamazato. Switching Yamazato’s known, prior art insulation means for another known insulation means is an obvious modification of Yamazato’s apparatus.
Such a modification is obvious in order to provide the benefits of vacuum insulation over conventional refrigerator insulation means (e.g., better insulation performance per inch thickness of insulated space, thereby yielding energy cost savings by using less energy to keep the compartments refrigerated).
In the modification, it is obvious to route the lines/cables of Yamazato’s invention to bypass the vacuum space in order to keep the vacuum space free of holes, openings, etc. that may compromise the vacuum.
With respect to claim 19: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein each of the first and second lines comprise a first portion disposed in the first space (Figs. 1 and 9: the lines/cables inside casing 1 and connected to the sub-control sections 25), a second portion disposed in the second space (Figs. 1 and 9: the lines/cables exterior to casing 1 and connected to main control section 20) and a third portion passing from the first space to the second space (Figs. 1 and 9: the lines/cables passing from outside casing 1 to inside casing 1 and the connectors 37).
With respect to claim 24: Yamazato, as modified, meets wherein each of the first and second lines passes through a single path defined at an edge of at least one of the first plate or the second plate (Fig. 1). Connector 37 is defined at an edge of casing 1 in the same or similar way as Applicant’s Fig. 27 shows lines at an edge of the first plate 10 or second plate 20.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) and US 9,441,779 B1 (Alshourbagy) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 2015/0192337 A1 (Choi).
With respect to claim 20: Yamazato, as modified, meets an AC-DC converter to convert AC power to DC power (power circuit 21 of main control section 20 converts AC power from feeder 18 into DC power output through DC power feeder 35). Yamazato discloses DC power is supplied to the first controller (sub-control section 25) through the first line (cable(s) 18, 35, 36), and wherein the first line comprises a DC line (DC power feeder 35).
Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “a DC rectifier to rectify the DC power and to supply rectified DC power to the second controller, wherein the second controller controls the DC rectifier such that the rectified DC power is supplied to the first controller through the first line” as claimed.
Choi [0087]-[0090] discloses a rectifier 411 that takes AC power input and outputs rectified DC power. A Capacitor C is provided after the rectifier 411 to smooth the rectified power.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s 21 to include Choi’s rectifier 411 and capacitor C, in order to provide smoothed DC power to the DC power feeder 35.
This meets a DC rectifier (rectifier 411 and/or the capacitor C) to rectify the DC power and to supply rectified DC power to the second controller, wherein the second controller controls the DC rectifier such that the rectified DC power is supplied to the first controller through the first line.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,485,397 A (Yamazato) in view of US 2019/0120544 A1 (Deka) and US 9,441,779 B1 (Alshourbagy) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of EP 0 658 716 A1 (Krug).
With respect to claim 25: Yamazato, as modified, does not meet “further comprising a sealing frame disposed at the edge of the at least one of the first plate or the second plate, wherein each of the first and second lines extends between the sealing frame and the edge of the at least one of the first plate or the second plate” as claimed.
Krug discloses a membrane cover 7 for a membrane 3 that forms a vacuum-tight seal between wall surfaces 2. In Fig. 5, a subspace 11 accommodates a heating element 10 between the edges 6 of the wall surfaces 2 and the membrane cover 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamazato’s casing 1 and outer casing to have Krug’s membrane 3, membrane cover 7, and subspace 11, in order to create a vacuum-tight seal between the inner and outer wall surfaces of Yamazato’s refrigerator while simultaneously accommodating the utilities of the refrigerator in the subspace 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleges that Yamazato does not have the claimed arrangement of the electrical components in the first space and the electric lines. The examiner respectfully disagrees, when the components of Yamazato are mapped to the claimed components as set forth in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/ANDREW ROERSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637