DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 18 November 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junkers (US 2013/0161041).
Claim 1: Junkers teaches a power tool (1-fig.1) comprising:
a housing (100,101,200-fig.1);
a motor (102-fig.2) supported within the housing (¶[0032]);
a drive assembly (210-fig.2) disposed within the housing and configured to be driven by the motor (¶[0032]-[0034]), the drive assembly including an output shaft (270-fig.2) and clutch mechanism (230-fig.2) with a collar (“shifting collars” ¶[0037]) surrounding the output shaft (see fig.2 showing the shifting collar of 230 surrounds the output shaft; ¶[0037]), the drive assembly operable in a first configuration (¶[0037]), in which the collar is coupled for co-rotation with the output shaft (¶[0037]; claim 30), and a second configuration, in which the collar is rotatable relative to the output shaft (¶[0037]; claim 30); and
a reaction arm (400-fig.2) configured to be removably coupled to the collar (¶[0054]).
Junkers further teaches:
Claim 2: The power tool of claim 1, wherein the drive assembly is operable in the first configuration only when the reaction arm is decoupled from the collar (¶[0054]).
Claim 8: The power tool of claim 1, wherein the drive assembly includes a ring gear (“ring gears” ¶[0033]) and a plurality of planet gears (“planetary gears” ¶[0033]) meshed with the ring gear, the plurality of planet gears carried by the output shaft (¶[0033], [0047]).
Claim 9: The power tool of claim 8, wherein the collar is fixed to the ring gear (¶[0037], claim 30).
Claim 10: The power tool of claim 9, wherein the collar and the reaction arm include cooperating splines (¶[0054]).
Claim 11: The power tool of claim 1, wherein the drive assembly includes a multi-stage planetary transmission (¶[0033]) having a plurality of gear stages (¶[0033]), wherein each of the plurality of gear stages provides a speed reduction and torque increase when the drive assembly is in the second configuration and the reaction arm is coupled to the collar (¶[0053]-[0054], claim 30) and engaged with a fixed support (¶[0054]), and wherein at least one of the plurality of gear stages is disabled, such that the output shaft is rotatable at a relatively higher speed and lower torque, when the drive assembly is in the first configuration (¶[0053]-[0054], claim 30).
Claim 12: Junkers teaches a power tool (1-fig.1) comprising:
a housing (100,101,200-fig.1);
a motor (102-fig.2) supported within the housing (¶[0032]);
a drive assembly (210-fig.2) disposed within the housing, the drive assembly including a sun gear (“sun gears” ¶[0033]) driven by the motor, a ring gear (“ring gears” ¶[0033]), a plurality of planet gears (“planetary gears” ¶[0033]) meshed with the sun gear and the ring gear, an output shaft (“transmission shafts” ¶[0033]) carrying the plurality of planet gears (¶[0033]), and a collar (“shifting collars” ¶[0037]) surrounding the output shaft (see fig.2 showing the shifting collar of 230 surrounds the output shaft; ¶[0037]); and
a reaction arm (400-fig.2) configured to be removably coupled to the collar (¶[0054]),
wherein the collar (¶[0037]) is fixed to the ring gear (¶[0044]),
wherein the output shaft is rotatable relative to the ring gear when the reaction arm is coupled to the collar and engaged with a fixed support (¶[0053]-[0054], claim 30), and
wherein the ring gear and the output shaft are configured to co-rotate when the reaction arm is decoupled from the collar and a torque on the output shaft is less than a threshold torque (¶[0054]).
Junkers further teaches:
Claim 13: The power tool of claim 12, wherein the ring gear is rotatable relative to the output shaft when the reaction arm is decoupled from the collar and a torque on the output shaft is greater than the threshold torque (¶[0053]-[0054], claim 30.
Claim 17: The power tool of claim 12, wherein the drive assembly includes a multi-stage planetary transmission comprising a plurality of gear stages (¶[0033]), and wherein the ring gear and the plurality of planet gears define a last stage of the plurality of gear stages (¶[0033]).
Claim 18: Junkers teaches a power tool (1-fig.1) comprising:
a housing (100,101,200-fig.1);
a motor (102-fig.2) supported within the housing (¶[0032]);
a drive assembly (210-fig.2) disposed within the housing and configured to be driven by the motor (¶[0032]-[0034]), the drive assembly including an output shaft (270-fig.2) and a collar (“shifting collars” ¶[0037]) surrounding the output shaft (see fig.2 showing the shifting collar of 230 surrounds the output shaft; ¶[0037]); and
a reaction arm (400-fig.2) configured to be removably coupled to the collar (¶[0054]),
wherein the drive assembly is operable in a high speed low torque mode in response to the reaction arm being decoupled from the collar (¶[0054]), and wherein the drive assembly is operable in a low speed high torque mode in response to the reaction arm being coupled to the collar (¶[0053]-[0054], claim 30).
Junkers further teaches:
Claim 19: The power tool of claim 18, wherein the drive assembly includes a ring gear (“ring gears” ¶[0033]) fixed to the collar and a plurality of planet gears (“planetary gears” ¶[0033]) meshed with the ring gear and carried by the output shaft (¶[0033], [0047]).
Claim 20: The power tool of claim 19, wherein the ring gear is rotatable relative to the housing in the high speed low torque mode (claim 24; ¶[0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 14-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731