DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to an application filed on November 18, 2024. Claims 1-50 are currently pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 13, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 17, 22, 29, 33-35, 45, 46 and 48-50 are objected to because of the following informalities:
٠ Claim 1, line 16, the limitation “the overall network effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the overall network performance effectiveness level.”
٠ Claim 9, lines 2-3, the limitation “the calculated network quality factor” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the calculated network quality level.”
. Claim 17, line 29 (2nd from last), the limitation “the overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the overall network effectiveness level.”
. Claim 22, 1) lines 1-2, the limitation “the overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the overall network effectiveness level;” 2) line 2, the limitation “the network availability factor” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the network availability level;” 3) lines 2-3, the limitation “the network capacity factor” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the network capacity level;” and 4) line 3, the limitation “the network quality factor” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the network quality level.”
. Claim 29, lines 2-3, the limitation “the calculated network quality factor” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the calculated network quality level.”
. Claim 33, 1) lines 4-5, the limitation “the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “a calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.”
2) lines 5-6, the limitation “the predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “a predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level.”
. Claim 34, lines 3-4, the limitation “the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “a calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.”
. Claim 35, line 3, the repeated “that” should be deleted.
. Claim 45, lines 2-3, the limitation “the calculated network quality factor” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It should read “the calculated network quality level.”
. Claim 46, lines 1-2, the limitation “the predetermined threshold network capacity level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “the predetermined threshold network quality level”
. Claim 48, 1) lines 4-5, the limitation “the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “a calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.”
2) line 5, the limitation “the predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “a predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level.”
. Claim 49, lines 3-4, the limitation “the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation is read “a calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.”
. Claim 50, line 3, the repeated “that” should be deleted.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1) Each of claims 1, 17 and 38 recite “time link(s),” which is NOT a term of art, for which the Applicant’s disclosure provides no definitional description. The recited term results in an ambiguity as to whether the “available time link level” and “expected time link level” refers to a temporal level or a numerical level, and is thus indefinite. It is recommended that Applicant clarify the intended scope precisely. For the purpose of the examination, the claimed levels are construed, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) principle, see MPEP §2173.01, as encompassing the temporal and/or numerical levels, i.e., the time duration during which the link(s) were actually available/expected to be available and/or the number of the link(s) were actually available/expected to be available.
Claims 2-16, 18-35 and 41, because they depend from claims 1, 17 and 38, respectively, are thus similarly rejected as indefinite.
2) Each of claims 1 and 38 recite the limitation “wherein the calculated network capacity level comprises an unutilized network port utilization percentage of an unutilized port level of the network relative to a utilized network port level of the network” This phrase is incomprehensible. It is unclear as to what is meant by “an unutilized network port utilization percentage of an unutilized port level of the network relative to a utilized network port level of the network.” Compare, e.g., Applicant’s disclosure (published application no. US 20250168660) at ¶[0033], “the Capacity Factor CF may be determined as the unutilized Network Port Utilization percentage %”. Compare, also, claim 38 of the instant application, “the calculated network capacity level comprises unutilized network port utilization percentage”. Perhaps, what is intended is to define the capacity in terms of the percentage of ports remaining unused from the total ports with which the network is configured, i.e., un-utilization. As the intended scope of this claim limitation is unclear, the claims are indefinite. For the purpose of the examination, the above claim limitation is construed to mean “port utilization.”
Claims 2-16 and 18-35, because they depend from claims 1 and 17, respectively, are similarly rejected as indefinite.
3) Each of claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 13, 16, 17, 21,23, 26, 29, 32-37, 40, 41, 43-45, 47-50 recite the limitation, “improve” or “configured to improve.” These limitations are subjective terms, and are vague and indefinite unless the specification supplies some objective standard for measuring the scope of the term. See, MPEP §2173.05(b)IV. As improving one aspect of a network often involves a trade-off of worsening another aspect of the network, and the determination of the scope of the subject limitation requires the exercise of subjective judgment, without restriction of such judgement may render the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893, 167 USPQ 280, 289 (CCPA 1970).
For the purpose of the examination, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, see, MPEP §2173.01.I, the limitation “improve” is construed to mean an improvement in at least one aspect without regard to any effects upon other aspects, such improvement comprising an increase in an objectively measured score. This reading is consistent with the disclosure of the Applicant’s specification, see the pre-grant publication of the instant application, US 2025/0168660 (“Specification”) at ¶[0044].
All remaining claims depend from at least one of the above claims considered indefinite, and are thus also indefinite.
4) Each of claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 20, 24, 27, 30, 39, 41, 43 and 45 recite the limitation, “enhanced.” Similarly with the above claim term “improved” above, this limitation is also a subjective term, and is vague and indefinite unless the specification supplies some objective standard for measuring the scope of the term. See, MPEP §2173.05(b)IV. As enhancing an aspect of a network often involves a trade-off of worsening another aspect of the network, and the determination of the scope of the subject limitation requires the exercise of subjective judgment, without restriction of such judgement may render the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893, 167 USPQ 280, 289 (CCPA 1970).
For the purpose of the examination, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, see, MPEP §2173.01.I, the limitation “enhanced” is construed to mean an enhancement in at least one aspect without regard to any effects upon other aspects, such improvement comprising an increase in an objectively measured score. This reading is consistent with the disclosure of the Applicant’s specification, see the pre-grant publication of the instant application, US 2025/0168660 (“Specification”) at ¶[0044].
All claims that depend from at least one of the above claims considered indefinite, and are thus also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-21 and 23-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception, abstract idea, without significantly more. See claim analyses below.
For Applicant’s benefit, and for clarity of the record, the analyses of all claims, including those not rejected under this paragraph, is provided below:
For the sole purpose of facilitating a better understanding of the factual basis upon which the following analyses are made, and of the terminologies used in the analyses, the following summary background relating to the present application disclosure is provided. No characterization of any part of Applicant’s disclosure is intended.
Background
Due to the variety of network media, styles, types, topologies and underlying requirements in use, it may be difficult for a network management system or network administrators & technicians to evaluate the health of a network in such a way that can be objectively scored, consistently evaluated, simple to understand and easy to apply. This problem is exacerbated by the complicated nature of networks with numerous possible metrics for evaluation, the difficulty in benchmarking performance, and the wildly differing scale of such networks. This makes establishing key performance indicators (KPIs) to assess the status, health, and effectiveness of a network difficult. See, the pre-grant publication of the instant application, US 2025/0168660 (“Specification”) at ¶¶[0003]-[0004]. Accordingly, there is a need for an overall network effectiveness device that is able to provide an overall network effectiveness for various types and sizes of networks that provides objective indicators of overall network effectiveness while being easy to understand and apply while providing effective feedback for improving network effectiveness when needed. Id. at ¶[0005].
Applicant’s invention attempts to address the above issue, i.e., to provide objective indicators of overall network effectiveness that is easy to understand and to apply as an effective feedback, by: 1) selecting a specific limited set of KPIs, namely the link availability (available links/total links, “AF”), the capacity (1-port utilization, “CF”), the quality (1-packet loss, “QF”) and the thresholds each respectively associated with the KPIs, i.e., an AF threshold, a CF threshold and a QF threshold (see, id., ¶[0044]); and 2) implementing a single value indicium (“ONE value”) that indicates the overall performance assessment of the network (see, id., ¶[0021]). The ONE value is calculated by multiplying together the KPIs, i.e., One value = AF x CF x QF (see, id., Fig. 3; and ¶[0033]). The One value is compared against a predetermined threshold (“ONE value threshold”), and if below the threshold, a corrective action is triggered (see, id., ¶[0021]). In addition, each of the KPIs may be compared against their own respective thresholds to trigger a KPI specific corrective action (see, id., ¶[0044]). The corrective action can be any action that improves the overall network performance such that the resulting ONE value is once again above the threshold (see, id. ¶[0044]), and may include simply notifying the network operator who then may investigate and decide on the appropriate corrective action, if any (see, id. ¶[0045]). Following a corrective action, an updated ONE value is calculated to assess the effect of the corrective action (see, id., Fig. 5, #514; and ¶[0051]). A historical average of past measured ONE value may be calculated to serve as a base-line network behavior. The ONE device responsible for the calculation of the ONE value is comprised of conventional components, i.e., general purpose microprocessor, RAM and ROM (see, id., Fig. 2; and ¶¶[0023]-[0030]).
Standard for Analysis
All claim analysis is based on the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim being analyzed. See, the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP) §2106.II., and follows the following analysis steps, See, MPEP §2106.III:
Step 1 – Determine whether the claim falls within one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter. See, MPEP §2106.03.
Step 2A – A two-prong inquiry (See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A):
Prong 1: Determine whether the claim recites any of the judicial exceptions, i.e., an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.1.).
Prong 2: Determine whether the claim recites any additional elements that, when the claim is read as a whole, i) integrates the judicial exception into a practical application. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2; and §2106.04(d); or ii) that provides the improvement, in the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field, disclosed in the specification. See, Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025, Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential).
Step 2B – Determine whether the claim recites additional element that results the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the mere judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.III and §2106.05.
Claim Analysis
Claim 1
Claim 1 recites a device comprising a controller configured to:
receive AF data, CF data and QF data;
calculate AF, CF and QF based on the data;
calculate “an overall network performance effectiveness level” based on the AF, CF and QF, where the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on AF x CF x QF;
cause a corrective action when the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined threshold;
receiving updated AF, CF and QF data;
calculate AF, CF, QF and the overall network performance effectiveness level updated as a result of the corrective action; and
cause another corrective action if the “updated” overall network performance effectiveness level is below a threshold.
Claim 1 is directed to a device comprising a controller (and a memory), which is either a machine or a manufacture, and thus falls within the four statutory categories. See, MPEP §2106.03.I, “[i]t is not necessary to identify a single category into which a claim falls, so long as it is clear that the claim falls into at least one category. … It is also not necessary to identify a "correct" category into which the claim falls, because although in many instances it is clear within which category a claimed invention falls, a claim may satisfy the requirements of more than one category.” (The answer for the analysis step 1 is Yes).
Claim 1 recites judicial exception, namely, abstract ideas. The above “calculate” steps b, c and f, each involve an arithmetic operation, i.e., divisions and/or multiplications, performed on the received data, and fall under the abstract idea grouping of mathematical concepts (mathematical calculations). See, MPEP §2106.04(a)(2).I.C. And, because these steps can be performed in the human minds with a pen and pencil, e.g., by a network administrator, the “calculate” steps also fall under the mental process grouping of abstract ideas exception. See, MPEP §2106.04(a)(2).III. See, also, MPEP §2106.04(a), “It should be noted that these groupings are not mutually exclusive, i.e., some claims recite limitations that fall within more than one grouping or sub-grouping. For example, a claim reciting performing mathematical calculations using a formula that could be practically performed in the human mind may be considered to fall within the mathematical concepts grouping and the mental process grouping. Accordingly, examiners should identify at least one abstract idea grouping, but preferably identify all groupings to the extent possible.” Accordingly, claim 1 recites judicial exception (abstract ideas) within both the mathematical concepts (mathematical calculations) grouping and the mental process grouping. Further, as those calculations in the judicial exception identified above are of the simple arithmetic type, these calculations do not fall under those that cannot be performed in the human mind set forth in MPEP §2106.04(a)(2).III.A. See, also, MPEP §2106.04(a)(2).III.C. (The answer for the analysis step 2A, prong 1 is Yes.).
Next, those additional elements of claim 1 (i.e., additional to the above identified abstract ideas) are considered for analysis under the step 2A, prong 2. The additional elements are:
(i) the recitation of a device comprising a controller;
(ii) the step of receiving AF, CF and QF data or the updated AF, CF and QF data (i.e., steps a. and e. above);
(iii) the steps of causing a corrective action (i.e., steps d. and g. above);
(iv) the definitional “wherein” clause defining AF;
(v) the definitional “wherein” clause defining CF;
(vi) the definitional “wherein” clause defining QF;
(vii) the recitation that the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF; and
(viii) the definitional “wherein” clause defining the calculation of the overall network performance effectiveness level, i.e., overall network performance effectiveness level = AF x CF x QF.
With respect to the additional element (i), as the device, the controller and the memory are described in a high level of generality (see, Specification at ¶¶[0023]-[0030]), this additional element amounts to nothing more than instructing a general purpose computer to implement or execute the above identified abstract ideas (see, MPEP §2106.-04.III.C.3), which neither integrates the subject matter of claim 1 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. See, MPEP §2106.04(d), citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ2d 673 (1972), “the Court in Gottschalk v. Benson ‘‘held that simply implementing a mathematical principle on a physical machine, namely a computer, was not a patentable application of that principle’’.). See, also, MPEP§2106.05(f)(“claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983.”).
The additional element (ii), applying the BRI principles, and in light of the use of the open-ended transitional phrase “comprising” in claim 1 as currently presented, does not impart any restriction as to the number, the type or the categories of the data being received. That is, claim 1 does not preclude additional step(s) of receiving additional data. Accordingly, under BRI, even after the inclusion of this element in the determination of the scope of claim 1, the resulting scope encompasses the reception of the AF data, CF data, QF data and any other data. As demonstrated by the impact of the additional element (ii) on the scope of claim under BRI, the element (ii) does not provide a meaningful restriction in the use of the recited judicial exception, it does not “meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Further, the additional element (ii) is merely a requisite data collection, which “is a necessary precursor for all uses of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element (ii) is merely a necessary pre-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 1 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
As to the additional element (iii), again applying the BRI principles, claim 1 recites no restriction on the type, number or the categories of the corrective action. In light of the Specification description, the action may comprise notifying or sending the result of the performance assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the performance issue, if any. See, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064].
Accordingly, under BRI, what the controller of claim 1 amounts to performing arithmetic calculations (identified above as abstract ideas) based on the received input, and outputting the result of the calculation. Neither the receipt of the input data nor the outputting of the result "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2, citing Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 217, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014). See, also, e.g., Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 65, 175 USPQ2d 673, 674 (1972) (A process of receiving as input a binary coded decimal (BCD) number, performing calculations to convert the BCD to pure binary, and outputting the pure binary number deemed to be abstract ideas.). Similarly with the data reception element discussed above, this ‘outputting’ element is a necessary precursor for all uses of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element (iii) is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 1 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
The additional elements (iv), (v) and (vi), provides, notwithstanding somewhat convoluted language, the respective definitions of the AF, CF and QF. These definitions, however, do not impart any meaningful restrictions on the scope of the above identified abstract ideas, and thus do not integrate the claim as whole into a practical application, nor do they provide a nexus between the abstract ideas and the technological improvements allegedly of the invention. As discussed above, under BRI, the transitional phrase “comprising” removes any restrictive effect of these additional elements on the “calculate” steps, and thus on the scope of claim 1 as whole. These additional elements provide definitions, which are not remarkably different from conventional key performance indicators (KPI) already in use in the art, i.e., available link capacity, port utilization and packet loss rate, for only few ones of many possible KPIs the claim scope encompasses. Accordingly, these elements do not tie the claimed subject matter to a specific application nor do they provide a nexus between what is claimed to the alleged improvement in the technical field.
In short, these rather conventional definitions do not, and the Applicant does not allege they do, tie the subject matter of claim 1 with a particular practical application or give nexus to the alleged technological improvement of the invention. See, MPEP § 2106.04(d), “Federal Circuit has distinguished between claims that are ‘‘directed to’’ a judicial exception (which require further analysis to determine their eligibility) and those that are not (which are therefore patent eligible), e.g., claims that improve the functioning of a computer or other technology or technological field. See Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 209 USPQ 1 (1981); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972). See, e.g., MPEP § 2106.06(b) (summarizing Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 118 USPQ2d 1684 (Fed. Cir. 2016), McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 120 USPQ2d 1091 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and other cases that were eligible as improvements to technology or computer functionality instead of being directed to abstract ideas).” The inclusion of the definitions provided in the additional elements (iv), (v) and (vi) within the scope of claim 1 do not “improve the functioning of a computer or other technology or technological field.” Accordingly, the additional elements (iv), (v) and (vi) neither integrate the subject matter of claim 1 into a practical application, nor do they provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
With respect to the additional element (vii), the recitation that the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF do not impart any meaningful restriction on the calculation of the overall network performance effectiveness level because, under BRI, the recitation does not require that the calculation is based only on the enumerated limited set of KPIs. That is, the scope of claim 1 as presented encompasses the calculation of the overall network performance effectiveness level or levels based on the AF, CF, QF and any other KPIs. The additional element (vii) does not provide a meaningful restriction in the use of the recited judicial exception, and does not “meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Accordingly, the additional element (vii) neither integrates claim 1 as whole into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Finally, as for the additional element (viii), i.e., overall network performance effectiveness level = AF x CF x QF, the initial necessary factual inquiry may be whether the overall network performance effectiveness level calculated using the prescribed equation necessarily result in a single value indicium of the performance of the network being assessed. As each of these KPIs are defined as a ratio of a smaller part (i.e., available links, unused ports, successfully delivered packets) over the total, each of AF, CF and the QF is a fractional number, which can be represented as a percentage. It does follow that multiplying these fractional numbers together results in a single fractional number.
The provisioning and the use of this single indicium, albeit possibly along with other indicia separately calculated, which additional calculation is within the scope of claim 1 under BRI, results in claim scope that includes at least one single value indicium of the network performance assessment. The resulting claim 1 as a whole may be directed, not in the patentability sense (See, MPEP §2106.05, citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting "the Government’s invitation to substitute §§ 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under § 101 "),” but solely for the §101 analysis, and within the state of art as admitted by Applicant, to a practical application in a network performance assessment that provides “objective indicators of overall network effectiveness while being easy to understand and apply while providing effective feedback for improving network effectiveness when needed.” See, Specification at ¶[0005]. That is, the additional element (viii) “meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Further, the additional element (viii) provides the improvement, in the functioning of a computer or improves another technology or technical field, disclosed in the specification, i.e., objective indicators of overall network effectiveness …easy to understand and apply,” see, Specification at ¶[0005]. See, Ex Parte Desjardins, Appeal No. 2024-000567 (PTAB September 26, 2025, Appeals Review Panel Decision) (precedential) Accordingly, the additional element (viii) integrates claim 1 as whole into a practical application, and provides a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. (The answer for the analysis step 2A, prong 2 is Yes.).
As it is determined that claim 1 includes an additional element that satisfies the inquiry of the step 2A, prong 2, the overall answer to step 2A analysis is No, the analysis under step 2B is not necessary (see, MPEP §2106.III, “Pathway B”), as claim 1 is NOT directed to a judicial exception, and is thus eligible.
Claim 1 is eligible.
While no further analysis is necessary, for the sake of completeness, those additional elements considered individually in the above analysis, are examined again to answer the inquiry whether the elements in combination may result in claim 1 as whole may be directed to an eligible subject matter.
As above discussed, claim 1 under BRI, considering the combination of all elements considered above individually (less the element (viii)), can be restated as reciting the following:
A device comprising a controller that is configured to:
receive AF, CF, QF data and any other data;
calculate AF, CF, QF and any other KPIs;
calculate an overall network performance effectiveness level (“ONPEL”) based on AF, CF, QF and any other KPIs;
cause a corrective action if ONPEL < threshold; and
repeat 1-4.
Claim 1, as summarized above, recites a device for assessing a network performance by receiving an unrestricted number of KPI data, calculating an unrestricted number of KPIs, calculating performance indicia based on an unrestricted number of KPIs, and outputting the result of the network performance assessment (and repeating the process after the corrective action). Considering the state of the art as admitted by Applicant (see, “This makes establishing key performance indicators (KPIs) to assess the status, health, and effectiveness of a network important [and sic] difficult;” “This problem is exacerbated by the complicated nature of networks with numerous possible metrics for evaluation,” Specification at ¶¶[0003]-[0004]), claim 1 as a whole, but for the additional element (viii), is not directed to a practical application. That is, the additional elements other than the element (viii), even when considered in combination, do not “meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Accordingly, but for the element (viii), all other additional elements of claim 1 do not integrate claim 1 as whole into a practical application, or provide a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. See, also, MPEP §2106.05(a).III, “Examples that the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement to technology include: … iii. Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48.”
For brevity, in the analysis of the remaining claims below, similar analysis made in connection to claim 1 above will not be repeated, but instead will be supplemented by a reference to the above claim 1 analysis.
Claim 2
Claim 2 depends from claim 1, and recites the added element of selecting a specific value for the ONPEL threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
Nonetheless, the relevant inquiry here is whether the added recitation of claim 2 has an adverse impact on the scope of claim 1 to such extent to negate the reasoning for the conclusion relating to the eligibility of claim 1. Because claim 2, even with the added element of selecting the specific value for the threshold, i.e., 75% or higher, still provides for the provisioning and the use of the single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 1 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 2 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 is eligible.
Claim 2 is eligible.
Claim 3
Claim 3 depends from claim 1, and recites the added elements:
determine whether the AF is below a predetermined AF threshold; and
cause an AF specific corrective action if AF < AF specific threshold.
Because these added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 1 (BRI reading of claim 1 allows these additional elements), claim 3 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim is eligible. Accordingly, claim 3 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 is eligible.
Claim 3 is eligible.
Claim 4
Claim 4 depends from claim 3, and recites that AF threshold indicates an AF that is greater than the calculated AF. This claim limitation would be met if the calculated AF is below the threshold. As claim 3 already contemplates this scenario, and recites the triggering of an AF specific corrective action, claim 4 does not change significantly the scope of claim 3. Accordingly, claim 4 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 3 is eligible.
Claim 4 is eligible.
Claim 5
Claim 5 depends from claim 3, and recites the added element of selecting a specific value for the AF threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
Nonetheless, the relevant inquiry here is whether the added recitation of claim 5 has an adverse impact on the scope of claim 3 to such extent to negate the reasoning for the conclusion relating to the eligibility of claim 3. Because claim 4, even with the added element of selecting the specific value for the AF threshold, i.e., 98%, still provides for the provisioning and the use of the single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 1 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 5 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 and claim 3 are eligible.
Claim 5 is eligible.
Claim 6
Claim 6 depends from claim 1, and recites that the controller is configured to: determine whether the CF is below a CF specific threshold; and cause a CF specific corrective action if CF < the CF specific threshold.
Because these added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 1 (BRI reading of claim 1 allows these additional elements), claim 6 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 1 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 6 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 is eligible.
Claim 6 is eligible.
Claim 7
Claim 7 depends from claim 6, and recites that CF threshold indicates a CF that is greater than the calculated CF. This claim limitation would be met if the calculated CF is below the threshold. As claim 6 already contemplates this scenario, and recites the triggering of a CF specific corrective action, claim 7 does not change significantly the scope of claim 6. Accordingly, claim 7 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 6 is eligible.
Claim 7 is eligible.
Claim 8
Claim 8 depends from claim 6, and recites the added element of selecting a specific value for the CF threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
Nonetheless, the relevant inquiry here is whether the added recitation of claim 8 has an adverse impact on the scope of claim 6 to such extent to negate the reasoning for the conclusion relating to the eligibility of claim 6. Because claim 8, even with the added element of selecting the specific value for the CF threshold, i.e., 90%, still provides for the provisioning and the use of the single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 6 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 8 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 and claim 6 are eligible.
Claim 8 is eligible.
Claim 9
Claim 9 depends from claim 1, and recites that the controller is configured to: determine whether the QF is below a QF specific threshold; and cause a QF specific corrective action if QF < the QF specific threshold.
Because these added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 1 (BRI reading of claim 1 allows these additional elements), claim 9 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 1 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 9 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 is eligible.
Claim 9 is eligible.
Claim 10
Claim 10 depends from claim 9, and recites that QF threshold indicates a QF that is greater than the calculated QF. This claim limitation would be met if the calculated QF is below the threshold. As claim 9 already contemplates this scenario, and recites the triggering of a QF specific corrective action, claim 10 does not change significantly the scope of claim 9. Accordingly, claim 10 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 9 is eligible.
Claim 10 is eligible.
Claim 11
Claim 11 depends from claim 9, and recites the added element of selecting a specific value for the QF threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
Nonetheless, the relevant inquiry here is whether the added recitation of claim 11 has an adverse impact on the scope of claim 9 to such extent to negate the reasoning for the conclusion relating to the eligibility of claim 9. Because claim 11, even with the added element of selecting the specific value for the QF threshold, i.e., 85%, still provides for the provisioning and the use of the single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 9 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 11 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 and claim 9 are eligible.
Claim 11 is eligible.
Claim 12
Claim 12 depends from claim 1, and recites that controller is configured to:
calculate successive overall network performance effectiveness levels regarding the network over time and
calculate an average overall network performance effectiveness level based on the calculated successive overall network performance effectiveness levels.
Because these added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 1 (BRI reading of claim 1 allows these additional elements), claim 12 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 1 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 12 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 is eligible.
Claim 12 is eligible.
Claim 13
Claim 13 depends from claim 12, and recites that the controller is configured to
cause a corrective action if the average overall network performance effectiveness level is below a threshold for the average overall network performance effectiveness level.
Because these added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 12, claim 13 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 12 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 13 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 12 is eligible.
Claim 13 is eligible.
Claim 14
Claim 14 depends from claim 12, and recites that the controller is configured to
compare the subsequent calculated overall network performance effectiveness levels to the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.
Because these added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 12, claim 14 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 12 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 14 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 12 is eligible.
Claim 14 is eligible.
Claim 15
Claim 15 depends from claim 12, which in turn depends from claim 1, and recites that the corrective action comprises improving a network connection or setting.
As discussed above in analyzing claim 1, which recites “causing” the corrective action, and under BRI, such causing encompasses notifying a network operator. This includes the situation that the network operator taking the actual corrective action deemed appropriate based on his judgement. For example, the network operator may decide to repair a downed network connection or change the network setting based on the assessed performance status as indicated in the notification, but not necessarily based on how such assessment is made, i.e., how the “overall network performance effectiveness level” was calculated. The added element of claim 15 does not “meaningfully limits the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment,” and thus does not “transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).
Because claim 15 (and claims 12and 15) as currently presented (and claims 1 and 12 as they are presented) encompasses in its scope the above situation, there is no clear connection between the above identified judicial exception (in claim 1 analysis) and the additional recitation of improving a network connection or setting, the additional element of claim 15 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and does not provide a clear nexus between claim 15 as a whole and the alleged technological improvement of “providing effective feedback for improving network effectiveness when needed.” See, Specification at ¶[0005].
None the less, because the added element is in addition to what is recited in claim 12, claim 15 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 12 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 15 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 12 is eligible.
Claim 15 is eligible.
Claim 16
Claim 16 depends from claim 1, and further recites that the corrective action comprises improving a network availability, capacity and/or quality connection, setting, node, or link that are each configured to improve network availability, capacity, and/or quality respectively.
Similarly with the above claim 15 analysis, the nature of the corrective action as selected by the network operator is not necessarily tied to the recited judicial exception, the added elements of claim 16 do not integrate the judicial exception to a practical application, nor do they provide a nexus between the judicial exception to the alleged technological improvement.
However, because the added elements are in addition to what is recited in claim 1, claim 16 as a whole still provides for the provisioning and the use of this single indicium, which was found to be the basis for the conclusion that claim 1 is eligible. Accordingly, claim 16 is also eligible for the same reason that claim 1 is eligible.
Claim 16 is eligible.
Claim 17
Claim 17 is an independent claim, and recites:
A device comprising a controller configured to:
receive AF data, CF data and QF data;
calculate AF, CF and QF based on the data;
calculate “an overall network performance effectiveness level” based on the AF, CF and QF;
determine whether the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a threshold; and
cause a corrective action when the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined threshold.
With the exception of the element x, all of the limitations of claim 17, were analyzed earlier in connection with the analysis of claim 1. In the earlier claim 1 analysis, these claim elements were determined to recite a judicial exception, specifically abstract ideas in the mathematical calculations grouping and the mental process grouping, and were determined not to include any element that individually or in combination integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or that ties the judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged in the Specification.
As to the element x, determining whether the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a threshold is also both a mathematical calculation (i.e., a comparison operation) and a mental process (can be performed in the human mind). See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"). The element x thus does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or ties the judicial exception with the alleged technological improvement.
Most significantly, claim 17 does not include the one additional element (the additional element (viii) in the above claim 1 analysis, i.e., overall network performance effectiveness level = AF x CF x QF) that was found to be the sole basis of the ultimate conclusion that claim 1 did not recite a judicial exception (under Step 2A, prong 2 analysis). None of the additional elements of claim 17 (as previously analyzed), including the element x analyzed above, integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or tie the judicial exception to the alleged technological improvement. Accordingly, Claim 17 recites a judicial exception, specifically abstract ideas in the mathematical calculations grouping and the mental process grouping, and does not include any element that individually or in combination integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or that ties the judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged in the Specification.
The next inquiry is whether any additional elements that result in claim 17 as whole amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (See, MPEP §2106.III and §2106.05, “Step 2B”.). This “Step B’ inquiry is “the second part of the Alice/Mayo test, which is often referred to as a search for an inventive concept. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 217, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71-72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (2012)),” see, MPEP §2106.05, while most of the relevant considerations were already evaluated in Step 2A Prong Two, those additional element or combination of elements that was considered are to be re-evaluated “because if such re-evaluation finds that the element is unconventional or otherwise more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, this finding may indicate that the additional element is no longer considered to be insignificant”. Based on such re-evaluation, further determination should be made of whether “the claim as a whole does amount to significantly more than the exception (there is an inventive concept in the claim)”. “[E]ach claim for eligibility separately, based on the particular elements recited therein. Claims should not be judged to automatically stand or fall with similar claims in an application.” See, MPEP §2106.05.II.
In addition to the above identified abstract ideas, claim 17 recites the following additional elements:
(i) the recitation of a device comprising a controller;
(ii) the step of receiving AF, CF and QF data (i.e., step a. above);
(iii) the steps of causing a corrective action (i.e., steps d. above);
(iv) the definitional “wherein” clause defining AF;
(v) the definitional “wherein” clause defining CF;
(vi) the definitional “wherein” clause defining QF; and
(vii) the recitation that the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF.
Each of these additional elements were already evaluated. See, claim 1 analysis above. The BRI construction, the analysis and the conclusion of such analysis in the claim 1 are the same for claim 17. In particular, as the determination of whether the additional elements individually or in combination results in the claim containing “an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field, is also pertinent to the Step B inquiry, the BRI construction, analysis and the conclusion of these additional elements of claim 1, individually or in combination, with respect to the “improvement” inquiry (as a part of the Step 2A, prong 2 analysis) are equally applicable for the same additional elements of claim 17. See, MPEP §2106.05(a), “While improvements were evaluated in Alice Corp. as relevant to the search for an inventive concept (Step 2B), several decisions of the Federal Circuit have also evaluated this consideration when determining whether a claim was directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A)…. After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology.” (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.)
The additional element (i), i.e., a device comprising a controller that implements the judicial exception, because the device and the controller are specified at a high level of generality (see, Specification at Fig. 2; and ¶¶[0023]-[0030]), is mere instruction to implement the abstract ideas on a computer, and is not enough to qualify as "significantly more". See, MPEP §2106.05.I.A., “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.” See, also, MPEP §2106.05(f).
The additional element (ii), i.e., the receiving AF, CF and QF data (and any other data under BRI construction of claim 17 as currently presented), is insignificant extra-solution activity, and is not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more". See, MPEP §2106.05.I.A., “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: … iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011)”. See, also, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (“The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions…. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
The additional element (iii), i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
The additional elements (iv), (v) and (vi), provides the respective definitions of the AF, CF and QF. These definitions, however, merely select the type of data to be manipulated in the implementing the abstract ideas (both in the steps b. and c. identified above), which the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP §2106.05(g) (“• Selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated”). The definitions are variations of the conventional key performance indicators (KPI) already in use in the art, i.e., available link capacity, port utilization and packet loss rate, and can easily be derived from such conventional KPIs. The conventional nature of these additional elements is apparent from the recited definitions themselves, as no detailed descriptions are provided in the Specification for those numerator and denominator parameters of the defined ratio, indicating the conventional and well-known nature of such parameters. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).I.2, “The analysis as to whether an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use is the same as the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as to whether an element is so well-known that it need not be described in detail in the patent specification.” Each of the additional elements (iv), (v) and (vi) is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity that are “merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim,” and is thus an insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP §2106.05(g).
With respect to the additional element (vii), the recitation that the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF do not impart any meaningful restriction on the calculation of the overall network performance effectiveness level because, under BRI, the recitation does not require that the calculation is based only on the enumerated limited set of KPIs. That is, the scope of claim 1 as presented encompasses the calculation of the overall network performance effectiveness level or levels based on the AF, CF, QF and any other KPIs. As it was concluded that each of the AF, CF and the QF are well-understood, routine and conventional (see, the preceding paragraph), it follows that the calculation of the overall network performance effectiveness level based on these conventional KPIs is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. As such, the additional element (vii) restricts the abstract ideas merely in a nominal and tangential manner, and fails to qualify as “significantly more”. See, MPEP §2106.05(g).
Now, considering the combination of all additional elements, claim 17 under BRI, can be restated as reciting the following:
A device comprising a controller that is configured to:
receive AF, CF, QF data and any other data;
calculate AF, CF, QF and any other KPIs.
calculate an overall network performance effectiveness level (“ONPEL”) based on AF, CF, QF and any other KPIs; and
cause a corrective action if ONPEL < threshold.
Claim 17, as summarized above, recites a device for assessing a network performance by receiving an unrestricted number of KPI data, calculating an unrestricted number of KPIs, calculating performance indicia based on an unrestricted number of KPIs, and outputting the result of the network performance assessment. Based on Applicant’s own characterization of the state of the art (see, “This makes establishing key performance indicators (KPIs) to assess the status, health, and effectiveness of a network important [and sic] difficult;” “This problem is exacerbated by the complicated nature of networks with numerous possible metrics for evaluation,” “Accordingly, there is a need for an overall network effectiveness device that is able to provide an overall network effectiveness for various types and sizes of networks that provides objective indicators of overall network effectiveness while being easy to understand and apply while providing effective feedback for improving network effectiveness when needed.” See, Specification at ¶¶[0003]-[0005]), none of the additional elements individually or in combination, as well as the claim as whole, is unconventional, but suffers from the exact same problems of requiring the evaluation of “numerous possible metrics” associated with the conventional network assessment device as identified by Applicant himself. Each of the additional elements (or the combination thereof) is merely well-known, routine and conventional activity in the field. See, MPEP §§2106.05(d) and 2106.07(a).III.(A) (providing Applicant’s statement as an evidentiary support for finding of well-understood, routine and conventional activity).
Accordingly, claim 17 as a whole does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 17 is ineligible.
Claim 18
Claim 18 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the threshold is 75%.
The added element of selecting a specific value for the threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As there is no other additional element, claim 18 is ineligible. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2 (“For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B. If there are no additional elements in the claim, then it cannot be eligible.”).
Claim 18 is ineligible.
Claim 19
Claim 19 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the controller includes a program instruction stored in a memory.
The courts have identified this additional element as a limitation that does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application as merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. See, MPEP §2106.04(d).I (“Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea”.). Such provisioning of a program stored in a memory does not tie the recited judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged by the Applicant. (Answer to the Step 2A prong 2 is NO).
The courts have also found the added limit not enough to qualify as "significantly more". See, MPEP §2106.05.I.A (“Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as "significantly more" when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225, 110 USPQ2d at 1984”). (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO).
Claim 19 is ineligible.
Claim 20
Claim 20 depends from claim 18, and recites that the threshold comprises an AF specific threshold that indicates an enhanced AF level.
The BRI construction of this added element is that the threshold as recited in claim 17 (which is set at 75% as recited in claim 18) is either supplanted or supplemented by an AF specific threshold, an AF level above which indicating an enhanced level of AF.
In the earlier analysis (of claim 17), each of the AF, CF, QF and the overall network performance effectiveness level calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF was found to be conventional. Further, the AF is but one of unrestricted number of KPIs which the claimed device considers in assessing the network performance. Provisioning of a threshold for the AF does not provide a meaningful restriction in the use of the recited judicial exception, and does not “meaningfully limit[s] the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Accordingly, the additional element of claim 20 neither integrates claim 20 as whole into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 20 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
As it was concluded that each of the AF, CF and the QF are well-understood, routine and conventional (see, clam 17 analysis), it follows that setting a threshold on the conventional KPI is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. As such, the additional element of claim 20 restricts the abstract ideas merely in a nominal and tangential manner, and fails to qualify as “significantly more”. See, MPEP §2106.05(g). (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 20 is ineligible.
Claim 21
Claim 21 depends from claim 20, and further recites that the controller is configured to repeat steps a, b, c and d (as identified in the above claim 17 analysis) after the corrective action.
As found above (claim 17 analysis), the elements a, b, c and d do not individually or in combination integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or tie the judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged in the Specification. A simple repetition of such elements does not transform these elements, and the claim as a whole, into meaningful restrictions that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or tie the judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged in the Specification.
Even when combined with all of the additional elements including those earlier evaluated, the conclusion remains the same. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
Repeating the assessment steps is well‐understood, routine, and conventional computer function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II.ii (“The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity..…ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims."). (The answer to the Step 2B is NO.).
Claim 21 is ineligible.
Claim 22
Claim 22 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the overall network performance effectiveness level = AF x CF x QF.
This additional element was evaluevaluatedier in the analysis of claim 1, and found to integrate claim 1 as whole into a practical application, and provides a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 1 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. See, claim 1 analysis above.
For the same reason claim 1 was found to be eligible, claim 22 is eligible.
Claim 22 is eligible.
Claim 23
Claim 23 depends from claim 17, and further recites:
determine whether AF < AF specific threshold; and
cause corrective action if AF < AF specific threshold.
The additional element e is an abstract idea, i.e., a mathematical calculation (a comparison operation) and a mental process (can be done in the human mind), and is thus itself a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As to the additional element f, i.e., notifying or sending the result of the AF assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the AF, if any (see, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064]), is a necessary precursor, i.e., outputting, for the use of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element (iii) is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 23 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 23 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Even when the additional element f is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another insignificant post-solution activity, claim 23 as whole still does not integrate the recited judicial exception to a practical application nor does it provide the alleged technological improvement. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element f, i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is also recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
Even when the additional element f is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another well‐understood, routine, and conventional function, claim 23 as whole still does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 23 is ineligible.
Claim 24
Claim 24 depends from claim 23, and further recites that the threshold comprises an AF specific threshold that indicates an enhanced AF level.
The BRI construction of this added element is that the threshold (as recited in claim 17) is either supplanted or supplemented by an AF specific threshold, an AF level above which indicating an enhanced level of AF.
In the earlier analysis (of claim 17), each of the AF, CF, QF and the overall network performance effectiveness level calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF was found to be conventional. Further, the AF is but one of unrestricted number of KPIs which the claimed device considers in assessing the network performance. Provisioning of a threshold for the AF does not provide a meaningful restriction in the use of the recited judicial exception, and does not “meaningfully limit[s] the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Accordingly, the additional element of claim 24 neither integrates claim 24 as whole into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 24 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
As it was concluded that each of the AF, CF and the QF are well-understood, routine and conventional (see, clam 17 analysis), it follows that setting a threshold on the conventional KPI is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. As such, the additional element of claim 24 restricts the abstract ideas merely in a nominal and tangential manner, and fails to qualify as “significantly more”. See, MPEP §2106.05(g). (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 24 is ineligible.
Claim 25
Claim 25 depends from claim 23, and further recites that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98%.
The added element of selecting a specific value for the threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As there is no other additional element, claim 25 is ineligible. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2 (“For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B. If there are no additional elements in the claim, then it cannot be eligible.”).
Claim 25 is ineligible.
Claim 26
Claim 26 depends from claim 17, and further recites:
determine whether CF < CF specific threshold; and
cause a corrective action if CF < CF specific threshold.
The additional element e is an abstract idea, i.e., a mathematical calculation (a comparison operation) and a mental process (can be done in the human mind), and is thus itself a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As to the additional element f., i.e., notifying or sending the result of the CF assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the CF, if any (see, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064]), is a necessary precursor, i.e., outputting the result, for the use of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element f. is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 26 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 26 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Even when the additional element f is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another insignificant post-solution activity, claim 26 as whole still does not integrate the recited judicial exception to a practical application nor does it provide the alleged technological improvement. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element f, i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is also recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
Even when the additional element f is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another well‐understood, routine, and conventional function, claim 26 as whole still does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 26 is ineligible.
Claim 27
Claim 27 depends from claim 26, and further recites that the threshold comprises a CF specific threshold that indicates an enhanced CF level.
The BRI construction of this added element is that the threshold (as recited in claim 17) is either supplanted or supplemented by a CF specific threshold, an CF level above which indicating an enhanced level of CF.
In the earlier analysis (of claim 17), each of the AF, CF, QF and the overall network performance effectiveness level calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF was found to be conventional. Further, the CF is but one of unrestricted number of KPIs which the claimed device considers in assessing the network performance. Provisioning of a threshold for the AF does not provide a meaningful restriction in the use of the recited judicial exception, and does not “meaningfully limit[s] the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Accordingly, the additional element of claim 27 neither integrates claim 27 as whole into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 27 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
As it was concluded that each of the AF, CF and the QF are well-understood, routine and conventional (see, clam 17 analysis), it follows that setting a threshold on the conventional KPI is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. As such, the additional element of claim 27 restricts the abstract ideas merely in a nominal and tangential manner, and fails to qualify as “significantly more”. See, MPEP §2106.05(g). (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 27 is ineligible.
Claim 28
Claim 28 depends from claim 26, and further recites that the predetermined threshold network capacity level is 90%.
The added element of selecting a specific value for the threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus itself a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As there is no other additional element, claim 28 is ineligible. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2 (“For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B. If there are no additional elements in the claim, then it cannot be eligible.”).
Claim 28 is ineligible.
Claim 29
Claim 29 depends from claim 17, and further recites:
determine whether QF < QF specific threshold; and
cause a corrective action if QF < QF specific threshold.
The additional element e is an abstract idea, i.e., a mathematical calculation (a comparison operation) and a mental process (can be done in the human mind), and is thus itself a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As to the additional element f, i.e., notifying or sending the result of the QF assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the QF, if any (see, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064]), is a necessary precursor, i.e., outputting the result, for the use of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element f. is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 29 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 29 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Even when the additional element f is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another insignificant post-solution activity, claim 29 as whole still does not integrate the recited judicial exception to a practical application nor does it provide the alleged technological improvement. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element f, i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is also recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
Even when the additional element f is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another well‐understood, routine, and conventional function, claim 29 as whole still does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 29 is ineligible.
Claim 30
Claim 30 depends from claim 29, and further recites that the threshold comprises a QF specific threshold that indicates an enhanced QF level.
The BRI construction of this added element is that the threshold (as recited in claim 17) is either supplanted or supplemented by an QF specific threshold, a QF level above which indicating an enhanced level of QF.
In the earlier analysis (of claim 17), each of the AF, CF, QF and the overall network performance effectiveness level calculated based on the AF, CF and the QF was found to be conventional. Further, the QF is but one of unrestricted number of KPIs which the claimed device considers in assessing the network performance. Provisioning of a threshold for the AF does not provide a meaningful restriction in the use of the recited judicial exception, and does not “meaningfully limit[s] the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). Accordingly, the additional element of claim 30 neither integrates claim 30 as whole into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the judicial exception recited in claim 30 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
As it was concluded that each of the AF, CF and the QF are well-understood, routine and conventional (see, clam 17 analysis), it follows that setting a threshold on the conventional KPI is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. As such, the additional element of claim 30 restricts the abstract ideas merely in a nominal and tangential manner, and fails to qualify as “significantly more”. See, MPEP §2106.05(g). (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 30 is ineligible.
Claim 31
Claim 31 depends from claim 29, and further recites that the predetermined threshold network quality level is 85%.
The added element of selecting a specific value for the threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus itself a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As there is no other additional element, claim 31 is ineligible. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2 (“For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B. If there are no additional elements in the claim, then it cannot be eligible.”).
Claim 31 is ineligible.
Claim 32
Claim 32 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the controller is configured to:
calculate successive overall network performance effectiveness levels over time;
calculate an average overall network performance effectiveness level based on the calculated successive overall network performance effectiveness levels; and
cause a corrective action based on the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.
The additional elements e. and f. are abstract ideas, i.e., a mathematical calculation and a mental process (can be done in the human mind), and are thus themselves judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As to the additional element g., i.e., notifying or sending the result of the assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the performance issue, if any (see, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064]), is necessary precursor, i.e., outputting the result, for the use of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element g. is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 32 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 32 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Even when the additional element g. is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another insignificant post-solution activity, claim 32 as whole still does not integrate the recited judicial exception to a practical application nor does it provide the alleged technological improvement. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element g., i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is also recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
Even when the additional element g. is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another well‐understood, routine, and conventional function, claim 32 as whole still does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 32 is ineligible.
Claim 33
Claim 33 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the controller is configured to:
cause a corrective action if a calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level.
The additional element, i.e., notifying or sending the result of the assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the performance issue, if any (see, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064]), is necessary precursor, i.e., outputting the result, for the use of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 33 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 33 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Even when the additional element is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another insignificant post-solution activity, claim 33 as whole still does not integrate the recited judicial exception to a practical application nor does it provide the alleged technological improvement. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element, i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is also recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
Even when the additional element is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another well‐understood, routine, and conventional function, claim 33 as whole still does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 33 is ineligible.
Claim 34
Claim 34 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the controller is configured to:
compare subsequent calculated overall network performance effectiveness levels to the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level,
calculate a subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison, and
cause an overall network effectiveness improvement control event that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness based on the calculated subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison.
The additional elements e. and f. are abstract ideas, i.e., a mathematical calculation and a mental process (can be done in the human mind), and are thus themselves judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As to the additional element g., i.e., notifying or sending the result of the assessment to the network operator who then, based on the assessment result, determines the appropriate action to address the performance issue, if any (see, e.g., Specification at ¶¶[0045] and [0064]), is necessary precursor, i.e., outputting the result, for the use of the recited exception. It is thus extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).c. Accordingly, the additional element g. is merely a necessary post-solution activity that neither integrates the subject matter of claim 34 into a practical application, nor does it provide a nexus between the subject matter recited in claim 34 and the purported improvement or technological advancement alleged in the disclosure of Applicant.
Even when the additional element g. is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another insignificant post-solution activity, claim 34 as whole still does not integrate the recited judicial exception to a practical application nor does it provide the alleged technological improvement. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element g., i.e., the notifying the network operator of the result of the assessment, e.g., by sending a message, i.e., sending an e-mail, SMS, MMS or a phone call (see, Specification at ¶[0064]), is also recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine conventional function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II (The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network)”. See. also, MPEP §2106.05(g)(3).
Even when the additional element g. is considered in combination with all of the previously evaluated additional elements, as such combination simply adds another well‐understood, routine, and conventional function, claim 34 as whole still does not amount to significantly more than the exception (there is no inventive concept in the claim)”. (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 34 is ineligible.
Claim 35
Claim 35 depends from claim 17, and further recites that the corrective action comprises improving a connection, setting, switch, node, link, configuration, and/or state of the network that are each configured to improve network availability, capacity, and/or quality respectively
As discussed above in analyzing claim 17, which recites “causing” the corrective action, and under BRI, such causing encompasses notifying a network operator. This includes the situation that the network operator taking the actual corrective action deemed appropriate based on his judgement. For example, the network operator may decide to repair a downed network connection or change the network setting based on the assessed performance status as indicated in the notification, but not necessarily based on how such assessment is made, i.e., how the “overall network performance effectiveness level” was calculated. The added element of claim 35 thus does not “meaningfully limit[s] the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment,” and thus does not “transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2).
Because claim 35 (and claims 17) as currently presented encompasses in its scope the above situation, there is no clear connection between the above identified judicial exception (in claim 17 analysis) and the additional recitation of improving a network connection or setting, etc.
Accordingly, the additional element of claim 35 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and does not provide a clear nexus between claim 35 as a whole and the alleged technological improvement of “providing effective feedback for improving network effectiveness when needed.” See, Specification at ¶[0005]. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
The additional element, i.e., “improving” the connections, setting, etc., conventional and known in the art, for which no detailed descriptions are provided in the Specification. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).I.2, “The analysis as to whether an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use is the same as the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as to whether an element is so well-known that it need not be described in detail in the patent specification.” The additional element of claim 35 is a well-understood, routine and conventional activity that is “merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim,” and is thus an insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP §2106.05(g). (The answer to the Step 2B inquiry is NO.).
Claim 35 is ineligible.
Claim 36
Claim 36 is an independent claim, and recites:
A device comprising a controller configured to:
receive AF data, CF data and QF data;
calculate AF, CF and QF based on the data;
calculate “an overall network performance effectiveness level” based on the AF, CF and QF;
determine whether the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a threshold; and
cause a corrective action when the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined threshold.
Claim 36 recites all elements of claim 17, with the omission of the definitional wherein clauses regarding the AF, CF and QF, and is broader in scope. Each and every element of claim 36 is already analyzed above in claim 17 analysis. Claim 36 is ineligible for the same reason claim 17 was found ineligible. See, claim 17 analysis above.
Claim 36 is ineligible.
Claim 37
Claim 37 depends from claim 36, and recites that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher.
The added element of selecting a specific value for the threshold, which is also a mental process, and is thus a judicial exception. See, MPEP §2106.05.I, citing RecogniCorp, LLC v. Nintendo Co., 855 F.3d 1322, 1327, 122 USPQ2d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2017) ("Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract").
As there is no other additional element, claim 37 is ineligible. See, MPEP §2106.04.II.A.2 (“For a claim reciting a judicial exception to be eligible, the additional elements (if any) in the claim must "transform the nature of the claim" into a patent-eligible application of the judicial exception, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 217, 110 USPQ2d at 1981, either at Prong Two or in Step 2B. If there are no additional elements in the claim, then it cannot be eligible.”).
Claim 37 is ineligible.
Claim 38
Claim 38 depends from claim 36, and further recites the respective definitions for the AF, CF and QF.
These definitional limitations were evaluated above in the claim 17 analysis. For the same reason claim 17 was found to be ineligible, claim 38 is ineligible.
Claim 38 is ineligible.
Claim 39
Claim 39 depends from claim 36, and further recites that:
the controller includes a program instruction stored in a memory device; and
the overall threshold is indicative of enhanced level > calculated level.
The additional element f. was evaluated above in the analysis of claim 19, and was found not to satisfy the Step 2A, prong 2 and Step 2B inquiries. See, claim 19 analysis above.
As to the additional element g., because the calculated level is a variable, regardless of whatever level the threshold is set, this limitation would be met whenever the variable level falls below the threshold. That is, this limitation is equivalent to simply setting a threshold above 0.
This setting a threshold value for the overall performance level does not “meaningfully limit[s] the claim by going beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, and thus transforms a claim into patent-eligible subject matter.” See, MPEP §2106.04(d)(2). (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
Further, the courts have found the setting a threshold value is well‐understood, routine, and conventional computer function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II.ii (“The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity..…ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims."). (The answer to the Step 2B is NO.).
Even when all of the elements (a.-e of claim 36 and the e. and f. in this claim 39) are considered together in combination, no additional element is found to transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 39 is ineligible.
Claim 40
Claim 40 depends from claim 36, and further recites that: the controller is configured to repeat steps a, b, c and e (as identified in the above claim 36 analysis) after the corrective action has taken place.
While in claim 40, for the limitation corresponding to the repletion of the corrective action uses the term “generate” (whereas claim 36 used the term “cause’), the term “generate” may have a broader scope than the term “cause”. That is, to “generate” may be even less limiting than to “cause”. As found above (claim 36 analysis), the elements a, b, c and e do not individually or in combination integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or tie the judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged in the Specification. A simple repetition of such elements does not transform these elements, and the claim as a whole, into meaningful restrictions that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or tie the judicial exception to the technological improvement alleged in the Specification.
Even when combined with all of the additional elements including those earlier evaluated, this conclusion remains the same. (The answer to the Step 2A, prong 2 inquiry is NO.).
Repeating the assessment steps is well‐understood, routine, and conventional computer function. See, MPEP §2106.05(d).II.ii (“The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity..…ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims."). (The answer to the Step 2B is NO.).
Claim 40 is ineligible.
Claim 41
Claim 41 depends from claim 36, and further recites:
determine whether AF < AF specific threshold; and
cause corrective action if AF < AF specific threshold,
wherein the AF specific threshold indicates an enhanced AF level.
All recited elements of claim 41 were evaluated above in the claim 24 analysis. For the same reason claim 24 was found to be ineligible, claim 41 is ineligible.
Claim 41 is ineligible.
Claim 42
Claim 42 depends from claim 41, and further recites that the AF specific threshold is 98%.
All recited elements of claim 42 were evaluated above in the claim 25 analysis. For the same reason claim 25 was found to be ineligible, claim 42 is ineligible.
Claim 42 is ineligible.
Claim 43
Claim 43 depends from claim 36, and further recites:
determine whether CF < CF specific threshold; and
cause a corrective action if CF < CF specific threshold.
wherein the CF specific threshold indicates an enhanced CF level.
All recited elements of claim 43 were evaluated above in the claim 27 analysis. For the same reason claim 27 was found to be ineligible, claim 43 is ineligible.
Claim 43 is ineligible.
Claim 44
Claim 44 depends from claim 43, and further recites that the CF specific threshold is 90%.
All recited elements of claim 44 were evaluated above in the claim 28 analysis. For the same reason claim 28 was found to be ineligible, claim 44 is ineligible.
Claim 44 is ineligible.
Claim 45
Claim 45 depends from claim 36, and further recites:
determine whether QF < QF specific threshold; and
cause a corrective action if QF < QF specific threshold.
wherein the QF specific threshold indicates an enhanced QF level.
All recited elements of claim 45 were evaluated above in the claim 30 analysis. For the same reason claim 30 was found to be ineligible, claim 45 is ineligible.
Claim 45 is ineligible.
Claim 46
Claim 46 depends from claim 45, and further recites that the QF specific threshold is 90%.
All recited elements of claim 44 were evaluated above in the claim 31 analysis. For the same reason claim 31 was found to be ineligible, claim 44 is ineligible.
Claim 46 is ineligible.
Claim 47
Claim 47 depends from claim 36, and further recites:
calculate successive overall network performance effectiveness levels over time;
calculate an average overall network performance effectiveness level based on the calculated successive overall network performance effectiveness levels; and
cause a corrective action based on the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level.
All recited elements of claim 47 were evaluated above in the claim 32 analysis. For the same reason claim 32 was found to be ineligible, claim 47 is ineligible.
Claim 47 is ineligible.
Claim 48
Claim 48 depends from claim 36, and further recites that the controller is configured to:
cause a corrective action if a calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level.
All recited elements of claim 48 were evaluated above in the claim 33 analysis. For the same reason claim 33 was found to be ineligible, claim 48 is ineligible.
Claim 48 is ineligible.
Claim 49
Claim 49 depends from claim 36, and further recites that the controller is configured to:
compare subsequent calculated overall network performance effectiveness levels to the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level,
calculate a subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison, and
cause an overall network effectiveness improvement control event that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness based on the calculated subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison.
All recited elements of claim 49 were evaluated above in the claim 34 analysis. For the same reason claim 34 was found to be ineligible, claim 49 is ineligible.
Claim 49 is ineligible.
Claim 50
Claim 50 depends from claim 36, and further recites that the corrective action comprises improving a connection, setting, switch, node, link, configuration, and/or state of the network that are each configured to improve network availability, capacity, and/or quality respectively
All recited elements of claim 50 were evaluated above in the claim 35 analysis. For the same reason claim 35 was found to be ineligible, claim 50 is ineligible.
Claim 50 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2024/0373491)(“Choi”) in view of Wolff et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2009/0112809)(“Wolff”), Crowley et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2022/0137845)(“ Crowley”) and Reddy (US Published Patent Application No. US 2023/0101314), and in further view of Coutinho (US Published Patent Application No. US 2019/0379587).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches an overall network performance effectiveness improvement device (See, e.g., Fig. 1, #s 106 and 108) for improving overall network performance (See, ¶[0045], “The configuration recommendations are then sent from the A.I. core 108 to the network controller 106. The recommendations received can trigger the initiation of RRM operations to improve the overall network performance of one or more of the WLCs monitored by the network controller 106.”) based on key performance indicators (KPI) (See, ¶[0039], “the initiation of aggressive convergence RRM modes upon being triggered based on KPIs, allowing for improved performance.”), comprising:
an overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller (Fig. 8, #s804 and 814) having overall network performance effectiveness improvement program instructions stored in a memory device (See, ¶[0109], “Processor 804 can include any general-purpose processor and a hardware service or software service, such as services 816, 818, and 820 stored in storage device 814, configured to control processor 804”);
wherein the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
receive KPI data regarding a network (See, Fig. 6, #606, ¶[0095] “receiving first telemetry from the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”) and
calculate KPIs based on such KPI data (See, ¶[0044] “the A.I. core 108 can receive information such as telemetry data collected on the wireless network 200 by the network controller 106. … processes the received information to generate configuration recommendations for the wireless network 200. The configuration recommendations can further be generated based on interference, interrupts, and KPIs”.);
calculate an overall network performance effectiveness level of the network (See, switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance.) based on the calculated KPIs (See, ¶[0026], “the reconfiguration threshold is based on an aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network;” and ¶[0039], “the initiation of aggressive convergence RRM modes upon being triggered based on KPIs, allowing for improved performance.”);
cause a network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #504, “switch to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness of the network (See, ¶[0024], “triggering a reconfiguration of a Wi-Fi network using an aggressive convergence RRM mode …. the reconfiguration threshold indicating that configurations of a significant number of access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network could be improved.”) if the overall network performance effectiveness level (i.e., the aggregated health score) is below a first predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network …. switching to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode based on the detection of the reconfiguration threshold;” and ¶[0087], “the reconfiguration threshold is a percentage reduction in the aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”.);
wherein the first predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “the reconfiguration threshold”) comprises an overall network performance effectiveness level indicative of an enhanced network performance level that is greater than the calculated overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “the reconfiguration threshold indicating that configurations of a significant number of access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network could be improved.”);
receive updated KPI data regarding the network as a result of the network improvement control event (See, ¶[0050], “The A.I. core 108 can be used to perform radio resource management (RRM). RRM allows the wireless network 200 to continuously analyze the existing RF environment”. One can deduce that in order to “continuously analyze the RF environment, the network controller 106 needs to continue receiving the telemetry data from the APs even after switching to the “aggressive convergence mode.”), and
calculate updated KPIs based on the updated KPI data (See, ¶[0050], “RRM allows the wireless network 200 to continuously analyze the existing RF environment;” and Abstract, “The ability to switch between network state modes …based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance.” The network controller 106 (and the A.I. Core 108) continues to receive telemetry data and calculates the KPIs in order to determine whether to switch back to the conservative convergence mode. See below.);
calculate an updated overall network performance effectiveness level of the network based on the updated KPIs (See, Abstract, “switch between network state modes …based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance;” and Fig. 5, #510 “returning to a conservative convergence RRM mode”. In order to switch between the network state modes “based on the monitoring of a health score,” the network controller 106 (and the A.I. Core 108) continues to monitor and analyze the KPIs and continue to calculate the health score.); and
cause an updated network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #510, returning to the conservative convergence RRM mode.) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness of the network if the updated overall network performance effectiveness level is below a second predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0090], “returning to a conservative convergence RRM mode when … the network controller 106 can determine based on the number of configuration recommendations received from the A.I. core 108, that the number of changes is below a threshold;” ¶[0086], “The WLAN RRM supports two modes of optimization, aggressive convergence RRM mode, and a conservative convergence RRM mode. The aggressive convergence RRM mode can be implemented in order to perform a quick convergence that uses more updates in a minimal amount of time. The conservative convergence RRM mode can be implemented to perform a post-convergence RRM operation that introduces less updates to the network than during an aggressive convergence RRM mode. The updates made during the conservative convergence RRM mode can be considered refinements to local areas of the network.” As discussed above, the A.I. core 108 recommends switching to the aggressive mode when the health score reaches the reconfiguration threshold, resulting in an improvement of the aggregated health score, i.e., an improvement in the overall health/performance of the network. While in the aggressive mode, if the number of changes recommended by the A.I. core 108, based on the KPIs (and the health score based on the KPIs) is less than a threshold, the network state mode is switched back to the conservative mode where the health score has not sufficiently deteriorated and thus remains at a level below the reconfiguration threshold, i.e., a second predetermined threshold that is at a level below the first predetermined threshold (i.e., the reconfiguration threshold). Moreover, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) reading of the second predetermined threshold does not preclude the same being the same level as the first predetermined threshold.).
Choi, while suggesting that the KPIs relating the channel quality (see, e.g., ¶[0038], “The KPIs can include channel quality intended to measure interference, duty cycle, channel width, and AP load.”), does not explicitly teach that the KPIs comprises a network availability level, a network capacity level, and a network quality level;
wherein the calculated network availability level comprises an available time link level that is configured to be available for use by the network during operation divided by an expected time link level that is expected to be available for use by the network during operation1;
wherein the calculated network capacity level comprises an unutilized network port utilization percentage of an unutilized port level of the network relative to a utilized network port level of the network;
wherein the calculated network quality level comprises functional network packets received divided by total network packets received; and
wherein the overall network effectiveness level is determined based on the calculated network availability level times the calculated network capacity level times the calculated network quality level.
Wolff teaches the KPIs (See, e.g., Fig. 2, #201, “health determining metrics”.) comprise a network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the second portion of the determinant value”. See below.);
wherein the calculated network availability level comprises an available time link level that is configured to be available for use by the network during operation divided by an expected time link level that is expected to be available for use by the network during operation (See, ¶[0031], After receiving the health determining metrics, computing system 110 may use the information to determine a health determinant value (Step 202). …. A second portion of the determinant value may be calculated by dividing the number of database connections available in system architecture 100 by the total number of database connections in system architecture 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Crowley teaches the KPIs comprise a network capacity level (See, ¶[0149], “The health score may be based on any of a variety of criteria, including, for example: port utilization”.);
wherein the calculated network capacity level comprises an unutilized network port utilization percentage of an unutilized port level of the network relative to a utilized network port level of the network (While this definitional claim phrase appears to define the percentage of unused ports “relative” to the used ports, under BRI, the phrase is construed to mean the percentage of the ports remaining unused out of all available ports, which can be readily obtained from the port utilization, i.e., the percentage of the ports in-use out of the available ports.” See, also, Applicant’s specification (published application no. US 20250168660), ¶[0033], “the Capacity Factor CF may be determined as the unutilized Network Port Utilization percentage %”. Compare, e.g., claim 38 of the instant application. See, also, paragraph 6 of this Office Action (rejection under 35 USC §112).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Crowley, i.e., the selection of the port utilization as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to identify and take remedial measure against a failed I/O path by monitoring the health score of the target port (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶¶[0029]-[0030], “so that the host system may take this information into account when redirecting failed I/O communications.”).
Reddy teaches the KPIs comprise a network quality level (See, e.g., Title, “Packet Loss Based Real-Time Network Path Health Scoring”);
wherein the calculated network quality level comprises functional network packets received divided by total network packets received (See, e.g., Fig. 2, “Loss %;” and ¶[0018], “the lower threshold for packet loss is 0.23% and the upper threshold for packet loss is 0.46%,” which, for example, indicates that 9954 packets are “functional” out of 10,000 total packets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, however, fails to teach explicitly that the overall network effectiveness level (i.e., the health score taught by Choi, and each of the other references) is determined based on the calculated network availability level times the calculated network capacity level times the calculated network quality level.
Coutinho teaches that the overall network effectiveness level is determined based on the calculated network availability level times the calculated network capacity level times the calculated network quality level (See, e.g., Fig. 12, #1212, “generate the health score by multiplying all of the total feature scores with each other;” and ¶[0190], “Equation 1, which models the translation of the different input features and data in a health score. ….
Health Score=((Feature A+α)/(1+α))*((Feature B+β)/(1+β))* . . . *((Feature C+γ)/(1+γ)) Equation 1.” Coutinho thus teaches calculating a health score by multiplying together the KPIs, i.e., the network availability level, the calculated network capacity level and the calculated network quality level.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Coutinho, i.e., the calculation of the health score by multiplying together the KPIs, in order to provide a health score system accommodating multiple input features that is flexible and extensible to new features (See, e.g., Coutinho, ¶[0192]).
Regarding claim 3/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Wolff further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network availability level is below a predetermined threshold network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the determinant value may be calculated by dividing the number of database connections available in system architecture 100 by the total number of database connections in system architecture 100;” and ¶[0042], “a user may define a threshold health value of 60, and store this threshold in computing system 110 for use during health monitoring of system architecture 100. Accordingly, health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert”.) and
cause a network availability improvement control event (¶[0042], “trigger a heath alert”) that is configured to improve network availability performance effectiveness if the calculated network availability level is below the predetermined threshold network availability level (See, ¶[0037], If, on the other hand, the health determinant value is less than the threshold health determinant value, computing system 110 may notify at least one system administrator of the current health determinant value;” and ¶[0041], “problems associated with one or more executable threads and/or databases may be identified shortly after the problem arises, which may enable system administrators to proactively solve the problem without excessive productivity loss or computing system downtime.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Regarding claim 4/3, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Wolff further teaches that the predetermined threshold network availability level comprises a threshold enhanced network availability level that is indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level (See, ¶[0042], “health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert, while health determinant values greater than 60 may be indicative of normal operation of system architecture 100.” The threshold, e.g., 60, is indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level that is below 60.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Regarding claim 6/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network capacity level is below a predetermined threshold network capacity level (See, Fig. 14; and ¶[0161], “if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined, only Paths C and D have target port health scores (10 and 9.7) that satisfies the threshold.”) and
cause a network capacity improvement control event (See, ¶[0160], “redirection of an I/O communication”.) that is configured to improve network capacity performance effectiveness if the calculated network capacity level is below the predetermined threshold network capacity level (¶[0160], “if a health score of a target port is below a certain threshold, an I/O path having the next least amount of path components in common with the failed I/O path, and whose target port health score satisfies the threshold, may be selected for redirection of an I/O communication.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 7/6, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 6 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the predetermined threshold network capacity level (See, e.g., ¶[0161], “if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined”.) comprises a threshold enhanced network performance capacity level that is indicative of a network with an enhanced network performance capacity level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level (See, ¶[0163], It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.” Thus, satisfying the predefined threshold indicates a network with an enhanced network performance capacity level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level, i.e., when the calculated target port health score is lower that the threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 8/6, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 6 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the predetermined threshold network capacity level is 90% (See, ¶[0150], “The health score may be expressed as a numerical value within a predefined range, for example, a number between 0 and 10, e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 14;” and ¶[0161] “ if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 9/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network quality factor is below a predetermined threshold network quality level (See, Reddy, ¶[0036], “a threshold can be defined at 20. If a score falls below the threshold (or is less than or equal to the threshold)”.) and
cause a network quality improvement control event (See, ¶[0036], “then a notification can be generated (e.g., text message sent, graphical display updated with an indication of a low score, etc.) and/or an alarm triggered.”) that is configured to improve network quality performance effectiveness (See, ¶[0024], “These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue.” One can deduce that upon the investigation, a remedial action is necessary, such action(s) would be taken to improve the network performance.) if the calculated network quality level is below the predetermined threshold network quality level (See, ¶[0036], “If a score falls below the threshold (or is less than or equal to the threshold), then a notification can be generated … and/or an alarm triggered.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 10/9, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the predetermined threshold network quality level comprises a threshold enhanced network performance quality level (See, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored.”) that is indicative of a network having an enhanced network performance quality level that is greater than the calculated network quality level (See, Fig. 2, showing various packet loss rate thresholds for different load levels; and ¶[0018], “Experts and/or people with relevant domain knowledge identify packet loss percentages across the different loads of circuits corresponding to network paths considered as having good performance. As an example, packet loss data can be evaluated for “good” network paths”. As the “dynamic packet loss threshold” is selected for ensuring a “good” packet loss behavior, such threshold is indicative of a network having an enhanced network performance quality level that is greater than the calculated network quality level, i.e., the calculated packet loss rate when lower than the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 12/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
calculate successive overall network performance effectiveness levels regarding the network over time (See, e.g., Figs. 3, #301; ¶[0024], “The graph 301 includes scoring per minute over a 7 day period from March 13 to March 20;” Fig. 4, #401; and ¶[0025], The graph 401 includes scoring per minute over a 7 day period from August 8 to August 13.”); and
calculate an average overall network performance effectiveness level based on the calculated successive overall network performance effectiveness levels (See, Fig. 1, “C;” ¶[0019], “The edge device 105 calculates the dynamic packet loss upper threshold as a sum of the lower threshold defined for the load of the current interval and the packet loss moving average as updated for the current time interval. The edge device 105 maintains a packet loss moving average over time;” and ¶[0030], “The scoring system reads the packet loss moving average of the bucket corresponding to the current circuit load and updates the moving average to incorporate current packet loss (i.e., packet loss of the most recently elapsed time interval).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 13/12, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
cause a network quality improvement control event (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.”) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness (The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness) if the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level is below the predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 14/12, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 12 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
compare subsequent calculated overall network performance effectiveness levels to the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT [nearly real-time] scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes comparing the current score with the moving average score in deciding whether to trigger the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 15/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #504, “switch to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode) comprises improving a network connection (See, e.g., Fig. 7, “Channel Change,” “Channel Width Change,” and “Tx Power Change;” and ¶[0031], “the number of changes in the second configuration recommendations is a number of channel changes, channel width changes, or transmission power changes.”) or setting (See, e.g., ¶[0023], “switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance;” and ¶[0022], Generally, the conservative convergence RRM mode is desired because it changes network settings infrequently. Since many types of network setting changes will cause client devices to temporarily drop their connections to access points, it is generally desired to make less changes to network configurations. However, when large-scale reconfigurations are needed in a network, such as after a significant interference, power outage, or other condition, the conservative convergence RRM mode can take longer than desired for access points to be sufficiently configured for the network to operate near an acceptable level. The present technology can address this problem by returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.”).
Regarding claim 16/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #504, “switch to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode) comprises improving a network availability, capacity and/or quality connection (See, e.g., Fig. 7, “Channel Change,” “Channel Width Change,” and “Tx Power Change;” and ¶[0031], “the number of changes in the second configuration recommendations is a number of channel changes, channel width changes, or transmission power changes.”), setting (See, e.g., ¶[0023], “switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance;” and ¶[0022], Generally, the conservative convergence RRM mode is desired because it changes network settings infrequently. Since many types of network setting changes will cause client devices to temporarily drop their connections to access points, it is generally desired to make less changes to network configurations. However, when large-scale reconfigurations are needed in a network, such as after a significant interference, power outage, or other condition, the conservative convergence RRM mode can take longer than desired for access points to be sufficiently configured for the network to operate near an acceptable level. The present technology can address this problem by returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.”), node, or link that are each configured to improve network availability, capacity, and/or quality respectively2 (See, ¶[0022], “many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Coutinho, and even further view of Kottapalli et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2025/0117265)(“ Kottapalli”).
Regarding claim 2/1, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho, however, fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher.
Kottapalli teaches that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher (See, e.g., Kottapalli, Fig. 8, #830, “Network-related health information,” for the “Network Score” S2 with the “Site Threshold” of 75% for US; and ¶[0078], “For simplicity, threshold=75% for S1(US), S2(US) and S3(US).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Kottapalli, i.e., setting the threshold for the health score at 75%, in order to allow dynamic site selection according to a given policy (See, e.g., Kottapalli, ¶[0080]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Coutinho, and even further view of Sadovsky et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2015/0200824)(“ Sadovsky”).
Regarding claim 5/3, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 3 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho, while suggesting that the threshold is user definable (See, Wolff, ¶[0042], “a user may define a threshold health value”.), fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98%.
Sadovsky teaches that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98% (See, Sadovsky, Fig. 1, “C2 Health Score 98%;” ¶[0050], “a health threshold is set. The health threshold is a value that is used in determining when there is a health problem with a component and/or the system. For example, when the health threshold is set to 98% then whenever the overall system health score drops below 98%, a health problem for the system is determined;” and ¶[0004], “a health alert may be received at the system level when the overall system health score drops below a predetermined health threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Sadovsky, i.e., setting the network health threshold at 98%, in order to provide an early detection of a health problem, i.e., the health score remaining below 100% for a period of time (See, e.g., Sadovsky, ¶[0020], “A health alert may also be sent when the overall health score remains between 100% and the predetermined health threshold for some period of time.”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Coutinho, and even further view of Leske et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2015/0237305)(“ Leske”).
Regarding claim 11/9, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 9 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho, while suggesting various packet loss thresholds (See, e.g., Reddy, Fig.2), fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold network quality level is 85%.
Leske teaches that the predetermined threshold network quality level is 85% (See, Fig. 2, #104, “comparing the performance characteristic to a defined audio performance threshold;” ¶[0042], “the above-referenced performance characteristic is based upon a packet loss statistic and the defined audio performance threshold is 15% packet loss;” and ¶[0044], “when comparing 104 this performance characteristic (i.e., 16.1% packet loss) to the above-referenced defined audio performance threshold (i.e., 15% packet loss), video conference process 10 will determine that the performance characteristic does not meet the defined audio performance threshold.” It should be noted that the packet loss rate threshold of 15% is equivalent to having 85% threshold for the claimed predetermined threshold network quality level, which is the percentage of successful packets over the total packets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Leske i.e., the selection packet loss rate threshold to 15%, in order to ensure the minimum level of performance for an AV synchronous communication session (See, e.g., Leske, ¶[0042], “the defined audio performance threshold is 15% packet loss (which is deemed to be the point at which audio performance has degraded to the point that the AV synchronous communication session (e.g., video conference 152) is not providing the requisite level of performance to e.g., user 36.”).
Claims 17, 19, 23, 24, 26-30, 32-36, 38, 39, 41 and 43-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy.
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches an overall network performance effectiveness improvement device (See, e.g., Fig. 1, #s 106 and 108) for improving overall network performance (See, ¶[0045], “The configuration recommendations are then sent from the A.I. core 108 to the network controller 106. The recommendations received can trigger the initiation of RRM operations to improve the overall network performance of one or more of the WLCs monitored by the network controller 106.”) based on key performance indicators (KPI) (See, ¶[0039], “the initiation of aggressive convergence RRM modes upon being triggered based on KPIs, allowing for improved performance.”), comprising:
an overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller (Fig. 8, #s804 and 814) configured to
receive KPI data regarding a network (See, Fig. 6, #606, ¶[0095] “receiving first telemetry from the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”) and
calculate KPIs based on such KPI data (See, ¶[0044] “the A.I. core 108 can receive information such as telemetry data collected on the wireless network 200 by the network controller 106. … processes the received information to generate configuration recommendations for the wireless network 200. The configuration recommendations can further be generated based on interference, interrupts, and KPIs”.);
calculate an overall network performance effectiveness level of the network (See, switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance.) based on the calculated KPIs (See, ¶[0026], “the reconfiguration threshold is based on an aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network;” and ¶[0039], “the initiation of aggressive convergence RRM modes upon being triggered based on KPIs, allowing for improved performance.”);
determine whether the calculated overall network effectiveness level is below a predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network …. switching to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode based on the detection of the reconfiguration threshold;” and ¶[0087], “the reconfiguration threshold is a percentage reduction in the aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”.);
cause a network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #504, “switch to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness of the network (See, ¶[0024], “triggering a reconfiguration of a Wi-Fi network using an aggressive convergence RRM mode …. the reconfiguration threshold indicating that configurations of a significant number of access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network could be improved.”) if the overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network …. switching to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode based on the detection of the reconfiguration threshold;” and ¶[0087], “the reconfiguration threshold is a percentage reduction in the aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”.).
Choi, while suggesting that the KPIs relating the channel quality (see, e.g., ¶[0038], “The KPIs can include channel quality intended to measure interference, duty cycle, channel width, and AP load.”), does not explicitly teach that the KPIs comprises a network availability level, a network capacity level, and a network quality level;
wherein the calculated network availability level comprises an available time link level3 that is configured to be available for use by the network during operation divided by an expected time link level that is expected to be available for use by the network during operation;
wherein the calculated network capacity level comprises an unutilized network port utilization percentage of an unutilized port level of the network relative to a utilized network port level of the network; and
wherein the calculated network quality level comprises functional network packets received divided by total network packets received.
Wolff teaches the KPIs (See, e.g., Fig. 2, #201, “health determining metrics”.) comprise a network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the second portion of the determinant value”. See below.);
wherein the calculated network availability level comprises an available time link level that is configured to be available for use by the network during operation divided by an expected time link level that is expected to be available for use by the network during operation (See, ¶[0031], After receiving the health determining metrics, computing system 110 may use the information to determine a health determinant value (Step 202). …. A second portion of the determinant value may be calculated by dividing the number of database connections available in system architecture 100 by the total number of database connections in system architecture 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Crowley teaches the KPIs comprise a network capacity level (See, ¶[0149], “The health score may be based on any of a variety of criteria, including, for example: port utilization”.);
wherein the calculated network capacity level comprises an unutilized network port utilization percentage of an unutilized port level of the network relative to a utilized network port level of the network (While this definitional claim phrase appears to define the percentage of unused ports “relative” to the used ports, under BRI, the phrase is construed to mean the percentage of the ports remaining unused out of all available ports, which can be readily obtained from the port utilization, i.e., the percentage of the ports in-use out of the available ports.” See, also, Applicant’s specification (published application no. US 20250168660), ¶[0033], “the Capacity Factor CF may be determined as the unutilized Network Port Utilization percentage %”. Compare, e.g., claim 38 of the instant application. See, also, paragraph 6 of this Office Action (rejection under 35 USC §112).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Crowley, i.e., the selection of the port utilization as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to identify and take remedial measure against a failed I/O path by monitoring the health score of the target port (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶¶[0029]-[0030], “so that the host system may take this information into account when redirecting failed I/O communications.”).
Reddy teaches the KPIs comprise a network quality level (See, e.g., Title, “Packet Loss Based Real-Time Network Path Health Scoring”);
wherein the calculated network quality level comprises functional network packets received divided by total network packets received (See, e.g., Fig. 2, “Loss %;” and ¶[0018], “the lower threshold for packet loss is 0.23% and the upper threshold for packet loss is 0.46%,” which, for example, indicates that 9954 packets are “functional” out of 10,000 total packets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 19/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller includes overall network performance effectiveness improvement program instructions stored in a memory device( See, ¶[0109], “Processor 804 can include any general-purpose processor and a hardware service or software service, such as services 816, 818, and 820 stored in storage device 814, configured to control processor 804”).
Regarding claim 23/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Wolff further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network availability level is below a predetermined threshold network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the determinant value may be calculated by dividing the number of database connections available in system architecture 100 by the total number of database connections in system architecture 100;” and ¶[0042], “a user may define a threshold health value of 60, and store this threshold in computing system 110 for use during health monitoring of system architecture 100. Accordingly, health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert”.) and
cause a network availability improvement control event (¶[0042], “trigger a heath alert”) that is configured to improve network availability performance effectiveness if the calculated network availability level is below the predetermined threshold network availability level (See, ¶[0037], If, on the other hand, the health determinant value is less than the threshold health determinant value, computing system 110 may notify at least one system administrator of the current health determinant value;” and ¶[0041], “problems associated with one or more executable threads and/or databases may be identified shortly after the problem arises, which may enable system administrators to proactively solve the problem without excessive productivity loss or computing system downtime.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Regarding claim 24/23, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Wolff further teaches that the predetermined threshold network availability level comprises a threshold enhanced network availability level that is indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level (See, ¶[0042], “health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert, while health determinant values greater than 60 may be indicative of normal operation of system architecture 100.” The threshold, e.g., 60, is indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level that is below 60.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Regarding claim 26/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network capacity level is below a predetermined threshold network capacity level (See, Fig. 14; and ¶[0161], “if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined, only Paths C and D have target port health scores (10 and 9.7) that satisfies the threshold.”) and
cause a network capacity improvement control event (See, ¶[0160], “redirection of an I/O communication”.) that is configured to improve network capacity performance effectiveness if the calculated network capacity level is below the predetermined threshold network capacity level (¶[0160], “if a health score of a target port is below a certain threshold, an I/O path having the next least amount of path components in common with the failed I/O path, and whose target port health score satisfies the threshold, may be selected for redirection of an I/O communication.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 27/26, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 26 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the predetermined threshold network capacity level (See, e.g., ¶[0161], “if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined”.) comprises an enhanced threshold network performance capacity level indicative of a network with an enhanced network performance capacity level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level (See, ¶[0163], It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.” Thus, satisfying the predefined threshold indicates a network with an enhanced network performance capacity level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level, i.e., when the calculated target port health score is lower that the threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 28/26, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 26 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the predetermined threshold network capacity level is 90% (See, ¶[0150], “The health score may be expressed as a numerical value within a predefined range, for example, a number between 0 and 10, e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 14;” and ¶[0161] “ if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 29/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network quality factor is below a predetermined threshold network quality level (See, Reddy, ¶[0036], “a threshold can be defined at 20. If a score falls below the threshold (or is less than or equal to the threshold)”.) and
cause a network quality improvement control event (See, ¶[0036], “then a notification can be generated (e.g., text message sent, graphical display updated with an indication of a low score, etc.) and/or an alarm triggered.”) that is configured to improve network quality performance effectiveness (See, ¶[0024], “These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue.” One can deduce that upon the investigation, a remedial action is necessary, such action(s) would be taken to improve the network performance.) if the calculated network quality level is below the predetermined threshold network quality level (See, ¶[0036], “If a score falls below the threshold (or is less than or equal to the threshold), then a notification can be generated … and/or an alarm triggered.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley and in further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 30/29, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 29 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the predetermined threshold network quality level comprises an enhanced threshold network performance quality level (See, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored.”) indicative of a network having an enhanced network performance quality level that is greater than the calculated network quality level (See, Fig. 2, showing various packet loss rate thresholds for different load levels; and ¶[0018], “Experts and/or people with relevant domain knowledge identify packet loss percentages across the different loads of circuits corresponding to network paths considered as having good performance. As an example, packet loss data can be evaluated for “good” network paths”. As the “dynamic packet loss threshold” is selected for ensuring a “good” packet loss behavior, such threshold is indicative of a network having an enhanced network performance quality level that is greater than the calculated network quality level, i.e., the calculated packet loss rate when lower than the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 32/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
calculate successive overall network performance effectiveness levels regarding the network over time (See, e.g., Figs. 3, #301; ¶[0024], “The graph 301 includes scoring per minute over a 7 day period from March 13 to March 20;” Fig. 4, #401; and ¶[0025], The graph 401 includes scoring per minute over a 7 day period from August 8 to August 13.”),
calculate an average overall network performance effectiveness level based on the calculated successive overall network performance effectiveness levels (See, Fig. 1, “C;” ¶[0019], “The edge device 105 calculates the dynamic packet loss upper threshold as a sum of the lower threshold defined for the load of the current interval and the packet loss moving average as updated for the current time interval. The edge device 105 maintains a packet loss moving average over time;” and ¶[0030], “The scoring system reads the packet loss moving average of the bucket corresponding to the current circuit load and updates the moving average to incorporate current packet loss (i.e., packet loss of the most recently elapsed time interval).”), and
cause a network performance improvement event (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.”) that is configured to improve the overall performance of the network (The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness) based on the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 33/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
cause an overall network effectiveness improvement control event (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.”) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness (The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness) if the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level is below the predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 34/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
compare subsequent calculated overall network performance effectiveness levels to the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT [nearly real-time] scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes comparing the current score with the moving average score in deciding whether to trigger the alert.),
calculate a subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison(See, Fig. 1, “C;” ¶[0019], “The edge device 105 calculates the dynamic packet loss upper threshold as a sum of the lower threshold defined for the load of the current interval and the packet loss moving average as updated for the current time interval. The edge device 105 maintains a packet loss moving average over time;” and ¶[0030], “The scoring system reads the packet loss moving average of the bucket corresponding to the current circuit load and updates the moving average to incorporate current packet loss (i.e., packet loss of the most recently elapsed time interval).”), and
cause an overall network effectiveness improvement control event (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.”) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness (The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness) based on the calculated subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 35/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the network improvement control event comprises improving a connection (See, e.g., Fig. 7, “Channel Change,” “Channel Width Change,” and “Tx Power Change;” and ¶[0031], “the number of changes in the second configuration recommendations is a number of channel changes, channel width changes, or transmission power changes.”), setting(See, e.g., ¶[0023], “switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance;” and ¶[0022], Generally, the conservative convergence RRM mode is desired because it changes network settings infrequently. Since many types of network setting changes will cause client devices to temporarily drop their connections to access points, it is generally desired to make less changes to network configurations. However, when large-scale reconfigurations are needed in a network, such as after a significant interference, power outage, or other condition, the conservative convergence RRM mode can take longer than desired for access points to be sufficiently configured for the network to operate near an acceptable level. The present technology can address this problem by returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.”), switch, node, link, configuration (See, ¶[0022], “it is generally desired to make less changes to network configurations. However, when large-scale reconfigurations are needed in a network, … returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.)”.), and/or state of the network (See, e.g., Abstract, “switch between network state modes seamlessly upon determining when a startup mode is necessary to improve performance based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance.”) that that [sic] are each configured to improve network availability, capacity, and/or quality respectively (See, ¶[0022], “returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.)”.).
Regarding claim 36, Choi teaches an overall network performance effectiveness improvement device (See, e.g., Fig. 1, #s 106 and 108) for improving overall network performance based on a network availability level, a network capacity level, and a network quality level (See, ¶[0045], “The configuration recommendations are then sent from the A.I. core 108 to the network controller 106. The recommendations received can trigger the initiation of RRM operations to improve the overall network performance of one or more of the WLCs monitored by the network controller 106.”) based on key performance indicators (KPI) (See, ¶[0039], “the initiation of aggressive convergence RRM modes upon being triggered based on KPIs, allowing for improved performance.”), comprising:
an overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller (Fig. 8, #s804 and 814) configured to
receive KPI data regarding a network (See, Fig. 6, #606, ¶[0095] “receiving first telemetry from the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”) and
calculate KPIs based on such KPI data (See, ¶[0044] “the A.I. core 108 can receive information such as telemetry data collected on the wireless network 200 by the network controller 106. … processes the received information to generate configuration recommendations for the wireless network 200. The configuration recommendations can further be generated based on interference, interrupts, and KPIs”.);
calculate an overall network performance effectiveness level of the network (See, switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance.) based on the calculated KPIs (See, ¶[0026], “the reconfiguration threshold is based on an aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network;” and ¶[0039], “the initiation of aggressive convergence RRM modes upon being triggered based on KPIs, allowing for improved performance.”);
determine whether the calculated overall network performance effectiveness level is below a predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network”.); and
cause a network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #504, “switch to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness of the network (See, ¶[0024], “triggering a reconfiguration of a Wi-Fi network using an aggressive convergence RRM mode …. the reconfiguration threshold indicating that configurations of a significant number of access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network could be improved.”) if the overall network performance effectiveness level (i.e., the aggregated health score) is below a predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network …. switching to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode based on the detection of the reconfiguration threshold;” and ¶[0087], “the reconfiguration threshold is a percentage reduction in the aggregate health score for the access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network”.).
Choi, while suggesting that the KPIs relating the channel quality (see, e.g., ¶[0038], “The KPIs can include channel quality intended to measure interference, duty cycle, channel width, and AP load.”), does not explicitly teach that the KPIs comprises a network availability level, a network capacity level, and a network quality level.
Wolff teaches the KPIs (See, e.g., Fig. 2, #201, “health determining metrics”.) comprise a network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the second portion of the determinant value”. See below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Crowley teaches the KPIs comprise a network capacity level (See, ¶[0149], “The health score may be based on any of a variety of criteria, including, for example: port utilization”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Crowley, i.e., the selection of the port utilization as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to identify and take remedial measure against a failed I/O path by monitoring the health score of the target port (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶¶[0029]-[0030], “so that the host system may take this information into account when redirecting failed I/O communications.”).
Reddy teaches the KPIs comprise a network quality level (See, e.g., Title, “Packet Loss Based Real-Time Network Path Health Scoring”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 38/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Wolff further teaches the calculated network availability level comprises time links available for the network divided by time links expected to be available for the network4(See, ¶[0031], After receiving the health determining metrics, computing system 110 may use the information to determine a health determinant value (Step 202). …. A second portion of the determinant value may be calculated by dividing the number of database connections available in system architecture 100 by the total number of database connections in system architecture 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Crowley further teaches that the calculated network capacity level comprises unutilized network port utilization percentage, (See, ¶[0149], “The health score may be based on any of a variety of criteria, including, for example: port utilization”. While the claim language, “unutilized network port utilization percentage,” appear to recite the percentage of the total ports that are unused, such “un-utilization” is only a flip-side of the port utilization, i.e., un-utilization = 100% - utilization. Crowley discloses the limitation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Crowley, i.e., the selection of the port utilization as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to identify and take remedial measure against a failed I/O path by monitoring the health score of the target port (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶¶[0029]-[0030], “so that the host system may take this information into account when redirecting failed I/O communications.”).
Reddy further teaches that the calculated network quality level comprises functional network packets received divided by total network packets received(See, e.g., Title, “Packet Loss Based Real-Time Network Path Health Scoring;” Fig. 2, “Loss %;” and ¶[0018], “the lower threshold for packet loss is 0.23% and the upper threshold for packet loss is 0.46%,” which, for example, indicates that 9954 packets are “functional” out of 10,000 total packets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 39/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller includes overall network performance effectiveness improvement program instructions stored in a memory device (See, ¶[0109], “Processor 804 can include any general-purpose processor and a hardware service or software service, such as services 816, 818, and 820 stored in storage device 814, configured to control processor 804”), and
wherein the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “the reconfiguration threshold”) comprises an overall network performance effectiveness level indicative of network that is configured to perform at an enhanced network performance level that is greater than the calculated overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “the reconfiguration threshold indicating that configurations of a significant number of access points in the portion of Wi-Fi network could be improved.”).
Regarding claim 41/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Wolff further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network availability level is below a predetermined threshold network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the determinant value may be calculated by dividing the number of database connections available in system architecture 100 by the total number of database connections in system architecture 100;” and ¶[0042], “a user may define a threshold health value of 60, and store this threshold in computing system 110 for use during health monitoring of system architecture 100. Accordingly, health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert”.), and
generate a network availability improvement control action (¶[0042], “trigger a heath alert”) to improve network availability performance effectiveness if the calculated network availability level is below the predetermined threshold network availability level (See, ¶[0037], If, on the other hand, the health determinant value is less than the threshold health determinant value, computing system 110 may notify at least one system administrator of the current health determinant value;” and ¶[0041], “problems associated with one or more executable threads and/or databases may be identified shortly after the problem arises, which may enable system administrators to proactively solve the problem without excessive productivity loss or computing system downtime.”), and
wherein the predetermined threshold network availability level comprises an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level (See, ¶[0042], “health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert, while health determinant values greater than 60 may be indicative of normal operation of system architecture 100.” The threshold, e.g., 60, is indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level that is below 60.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Regarding claim 43/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network capacity level is below a predetermined threshold network capacity level (See, Fig. 14; and ¶[0161], “if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined, only Paths C and D have target port health scores (10 and 9.7) that satisfies the threshold.”), and
generate a network capacity improvement control action (See, ¶[0160], “redirection of an I/O communication”.) to improve network capacity performance effectiveness if the calculated network capacity level is below the predetermined threshold network capacity level (¶[0160], “if a health score of a target port is below a certain threshold, an I/O path having the next least amount of path components in common with the failed I/O path, and whose target port health score satisfies the threshold, may be selected for redirection of an I/O communication.”), and wherein the predetermined threshold network capacity level comprises an enhanced network capacity level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level (See, ¶[0163], It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.” Thus, satisfying the predefined threshold indicates a network with an enhanced network performance capacity level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level, i.e., when the calculated target port health score is lower that the threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”)..
Regarding claim 44/43, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 43 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the predetermined threshold network capacity level is 90% (See, ¶[0150], “The health score may be expressed as a numerical value within a predefined range, for example, a number between 0 and 10, e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 14;” and ¶[0161] “ if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 45/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
determine whether the calculated network quality factor is below a predetermined threshold network quality level (See, Reddy, ¶[0036], “a threshold can be defined at 20. If a score falls below the threshold (or is less than or equal to the threshold)”.), and
generate a network quality improvement control action (See, ¶[0036], “then a notification can be generated (e.g., text message sent, graphical display updated with an indication of a low score, etc.) and/or an alarm triggered.”) to improve network quality performance effectiveness (See, ¶[0024], “These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue.” One can deduce that upon the investigation, a remedial action is necessary, such action(s) would be taken to improve the network performance.) if the calculated network quality level is below the predetermined threshold network quality level (See, ¶[0036], “If a score falls below the threshold (or is less than or equal to the threshold), then a notification can be generated … and/or an alarm triggered.), and
wherein the predetermined threshold network quality level comprises an enhanced network quality level that is greater than the calculated network capacity level (See, Fig. 2, showing various packet loss rate thresholds for different load levels; ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored.” and ¶[0018], “Experts and/or people with relevant domain knowledge identify packet loss percentages across the different loads of circuits corresponding to network paths considered as having good performance. As an example, packet loss data can be evaluated for “good” network paths”. As the “dynamic packet loss threshold” is selected for ensuring a “good” packet loss behavior, such threshold is indicative of a network having an enhanced network performance quality level that is greater than the calculated network quality level, i.e., the calculated packet loss rate when lower than the threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 46/45, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 45 as discussed above.
Crowley further teaches that the predetermined threshold network capacity level is 90% (See, ¶[0150], “The health score may be expressed as a numerical value within a predefined range, for example, a number between 0 and 10, e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 14;” and ¶[0161] “ if a target port health score threshold of 9 is defined”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Crowley, i.e., the redirection of an I/O communication path based on the health score of a target port, in order to reduce performance degradation and potential communication failures (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶[0163], “It may be desirable to redirect an I/O communication on an I/O path whose target port is healthy (e.g., whose health satisfies a predefined threshold) to reduce a likelihood of a reduced performance, or even another communication failure, as a result of poor target port health.”).
Regarding claim 47/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
calculate successive overall network performance effectiveness levels regarding the network over time (See, e.g., Figs. 3, #301; ¶[0024], “The graph 301 includes scoring per minute over a 7 day period from March 13 to March 20;” Fig. 4, #401; and ¶[0025], The graph 401 includes scoring per minute over a 7 day period from August 8 to August 13.”),
calculate an average overall network performance effectiveness level based on the calculated successive overall network performance effectiveness levels (See, Fig. 1, “C;” ¶[0019], “The edge device 105 calculates the dynamic packet loss upper threshold as a sum of the lower threshold defined for the load of the current interval and the packet loss moving average as updated for the current time interval. The edge device 105 maintains a packet loss moving average over time;” and ¶[0030], “The scoring system reads the packet loss moving average of the bucket corresponding to the current circuit load and updates the moving average to incorporate current packet loss (i.e., packet loss of the most recently elapsed time interval).”) and
cause a network performance improvement event (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.”) that is configured to improve the overall performance of the network (The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness) based on the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 48/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
generate an overall network effectiveness improvement control action to improve overall network performance effectiveness (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.” The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness.) if the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level is below the predetermined average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 49/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Reddy further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
compare subsequent calculated overall network performance effectiveness levels to the calculated average overall network performance effectiveness level (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT [nearly real-time] scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes comparing the current score with the moving average score in deciding whether to trigger the alert.),
calculate a subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison (See, Fig. 1, “C;” ¶[0019], “The edge device 105 calculates the dynamic packet loss upper threshold as a sum of the lower threshold defined for the load of the current interval and the packet loss moving average as updated for the current time interval. The edge device 105 maintains a packet loss moving average over time;” and ¶[0030], “The scoring system reads the packet loss moving average of the bucket corresponding to the current circuit load and updates the moving average to incorporate current packet loss (i.e., packet loss of the most recently elapsed time interval).”), and
cause an overall network effectiveness improvement control event (See, ¶[0024], These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue;” and ¶[0036], “compare each score against a configurable threshold for alarm or notification.”) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness (The investigation is directed to solving any potential transient issues, and thus is for improving the overall network performance effectiveness) based on the calculated subsequent-to-calculated-average overall network performance effective level comparison (See, Fig. 3; and ¶[0024], “a performance impacting issue was indicated on March 15 that yielded NRT scores of 0. These low scores would have triggered an alarm or notification to facilitate investigation of the transient issue. Another condition or state occurs on March 17. On March 17th, the moving average score didn't fall to 0 which indicates that there were enough samples greater than 0 interleaved with samples at 0 to pull up the moving average score. This is in contrast to March 15 where the samples were almost continuously close to 0 and the moving average score held close to 0. Depending on the thresholds defined for alerts, the March 17th incident may not raise an alert but the March 15th incident will raise an alert.” The above passage describes the triggering of alert based on the moving average score, and that the threshold can be set such that the moving average score is the deciding factor for the triggering of the alert.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff and Crowley to incorporate the above teaching of Reddy, i.e., incorporation of the moving average packet loss score in the calculation of the alert threshold, in order to account for the recent network behavior in detecting anomalous events (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0013], “The scoring uses a “dynamic packet loss threshold” that is based on benchmarks of “good” packet loss behavior of network paths associated with circuits of different bandwidths and recent behavior of the path being scored. … The moving averages represent recent behavior of the path by load bucket.”).
Regarding claim 50/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the network improvement control event comprises improving a connection (See, e.g., Fig. 7, “Channel Change,” “Channel Width Change,” and “Tx Power Change;” and ¶[0031], “the number of changes in the second configuration recommendations is a number of channel changes, channel width changes, or transmission power changes.”), setting (See, e.g., ¶[0023], “switch between conservative convergence RRM mode and aggressive convergence RRM modes based on the monitoring of a health score, which is a way of monitoring and tracking the overall network health and performance;” and ¶[0022], Generally, the conservative convergence RRM mode is desired because it changes network settings infrequently. Since many types of network setting changes will cause client devices to temporarily drop their connections to access points, it is generally desired to make less changes to network configurations. However, when large-scale reconfigurations are needed in a network, such as after a significant interference, power outage, or other condition, the conservative convergence RRM mode can take longer than desired for access points to be sufficiently configured for the network to operate near an acceptable level. The present technology can address this problem by returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.”), switch, node, link, configuration (See, ¶[0022], “it is generally desired to make less changes to network configurations. However, when large-scale reconfigurations are needed in a network, … returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.)”.), and/or state of the network (See, e.g., Abstract, “switch between network state modes seamlessly upon determining when a startup mode is necessary to improve performance based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance.”) that that are each configured to improve network availability, capacity, and/or quality respectively (See, ¶[0022], “returning the network to aggressive convergence RRM mode (frequently used when a network starts up) where many configuration cycles can be made more quickly in an effort to return the network to a healthy state as quickly as possible.)”.).
Claims 18, 20, 21 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Kottapalli.
Regarding claim 18/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, however, fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher.
Kottapalli teaches that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher (See, e.g., Kottapalli, Fig. 8, #830, “Network-related health information,” for the “Network Score” S2 with the “Site Threshold” of 75% for US; and ¶[0078], “For simplicity, threshold=75% for S1(US), S2(US) and S3(US).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Kottapalli, i.e., setting the threshold for the health score at 75%, in order to allow dynamic site selection according to a given policy (See, e.g., Kottapalli, ¶[0080]).
Regarding claim 20/18, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy in further view of Kottapalli teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 18 as discussed above.
Wollf further teaches that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level comprises a threshold network availability level indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability performance level (See, ¶[0042], “health determinant values less than 60 may trigger a heath alert, while health determinant values greater than 60 may be indicative of normal operation of system architecture 100.” The threshold, e.g., 60, is indicative of a network with an enhanced network availability level that is greater than the calculated network availability level that is below 60.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Kottapalli to incorporate the above teaching of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Regarding claim 21/20, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and in further view of Kottapalli teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 20 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
receive updated KPI data regarding the network as a result of the network improvement control action (See, ¶[0050], “The A.I. core 108 can be used to perform radio resource management (RRM). RRM allows the wireless network 200 to continuously analyze the existing RF environment”. One can deduce that in order to “continuously analyze the RF environment, the network controller 106 needs to continue receiving the telemetry data from the APs even after switching to the “aggressive convergence mode.”), and
calculate updated KPIs based on the updated KPI data (See, ¶[0050], “RRM allows the wireless network 200 to continuously analyze the existing RF environment;” and Abstract, “The ability to switch between network state modes …based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance.” The network controller 106 (and the A.I. Core 108) continues to receive telemetry data and calculates the KPIs in order to determine whether to switch back to the conservative convergence mode. See below.),
calculate an updated overall network performance effectiveness level of the network (See, Abstract, “switch between network state modes …based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance;” and Fig. 5, #510 “returning to a conservative convergence RRM mode”. In order to switch between the network state modes “based on the monitoring of a health score,” the network controller 106 (and the A.I. Core 108) continues to monitor and analyze the KPIs and continue to calculate the health score.),
wherein the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “the reconfiguration threshold”) comprises a first predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network …. switching to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode based on the detection of the reconfiguration threshold”. The first predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level corresponds to the threshold that triggers the switching from the conservative mode to the aggressive mode.), and
cause an updated network improvement control event (See, Fig. 5, #510, returning to the conservative convergence RRM mode.) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness of the network if the updated overall network performance effectiveness level is below a second predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0090], “returning to a conservative convergence RRM mode when … the network controller 106 can determine based on the number of configuration recommendations received from the A.I. core 108, that the number of changes is below a threshold;” ¶[0086], “The WLAN RRM supports two modes of optimization, aggressive convergence RRM mode, and a conservative convergence RRM mode. The aggressive convergence RRM mode can be implemented in order to perform a quick convergence that uses more updates in a minimal amount of time. The conservative convergence RRM mode can be implemented to perform a post-convergence RRM operation that introduces less updates to the network than during an aggressive convergence RRM mode. The updates made during the conservative convergence RRM mode can be considered refinements to local areas of the network.” As discussed above, the A.I. core 108 recommends switching to the aggressive mode when the health score reaches the reconfiguration threshold, resulting in an improvement of the aggregated health score, i.e., an improvement in the overall health/performance of the network. While in the aggressive mode, if the number of changes recommended by the A.I. core 108, based on the KPIs (and the health score based on the KPIs) is less than a threshold, the network state mode is switched back to the conservative mode where the health score has not sufficiently deteriorated and thus remains at a level below the reconfiguration threshold, i.e., a second predetermined threshold that is at a level below the first predetermined threshold (i.e., the reconfiguration threshold). Moreover, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) reading of the second predetermined threshold does not preclude the same being the same level as the first predetermined threshold.).
Wolff teaches the KPIs (See, e.g., Fig. 2, #201, “health determining metrics”.) comprise a network availability level (See, ¶[0031], “the second portion of the determinant value”. See below.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Wolff, i.e., the selection of a network availability level as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to provide a real-time detection and remedial of connection problems (See, e.g., Wolff, ¶[0005], “may not become aware of potential connection problems until the user tries to access the resource.”).
Crowley teaches the KPIs comprise a network capacity level (See, ¶[0149], “The health score may be based on any of a variety of criteria, including, for example: port utilization”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Crowley, i.e., the selection of the port utilization as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to identify and take remedial measure against a failed I/O path by monitoring the health score of the target port (See, e.g., Crowley, ¶¶[0029]-[0030], “so that the host system may take this information into account when redirecting failed I/O communications.”).
Reddy teaches the KPIs comprise a network quality level (See, e.g., Title, “Packet Loss Based Real-Time Network Path Health Scoring”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi to incorporate the above teaching
of Reddy, i.e., the selection of the packet loss rate as a KPI indicative of the network health, in order to aid with detection of network problems in near real-time (See, e.g., Reddy, ¶[0012], “The scoring is done for the ingress and egress packet loss and occurs in nearly real-time to aid with detection of network problems, including transient or ephemeral problems which can impact application performance and possibly violate a service level agreement.”).
Regarding claim 37/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, however, fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher.
Kottapalli teaches that the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level is 75% or higher (See, e.g., Kottapalli, Fig. 8, #830, “Network-related health information,” for the “Network Score” S2 with the “Site Threshold” of 75% for US; and ¶[0078], “For simplicity, threshold=75% for S1(US), S2(US) and S3(US).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy and further view of Coutinho to incorporate the above teaching of Kottapalli, i.e., setting the threshold for the health score at 75%, in order to allow dynamic site selection according to a given policy (See, e.g., Kottapalli, ¶[0080]).
Claims 22 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Coutinho.
Regarding claim 22/17, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 17 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, however, fails to teach explicitly that the overall network performance effectiveness level (i.e., the health score taught by Choi, and each of the other references) is calculated based on the network availability factor times the network capacity factor times the network quality factor.
Coutinho teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on the network availability factor times the network capacity factor times the network quality factor (See, e.g., Fig. 12, #1212, “generate the health score by multiplying all of the total feature scores with each other;” and ¶[0190], “Equation 1, which models the translation of the different input features and data in a health score. ….Health Score=((Feature A+α)/(1+α))*((Feature B+β)/(1+β))* . . . *((Feature C+γ)/(1+γ)) Equation 1.” Coutinho thus teaches calculating a health score by multiplying together the KPIs, i.e., the network availability level, the calculated network capacity level and the calculated network quality level.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Coutinho, i.e., the calculation of the health score by multiplying together the KPIs, in order to provide a health score system accommodating multiple input features that is flexible and extensible to new features (See, e.g., Coutinho, ¶[0192]).
Regarding claim 40/36, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 36 as discussed above.
Choi further teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness improvement controller is configured to
receive updated KPI data regarding the network as a result of the network improvement control action (See, ¶[0050], “The A.I. core 108 can be used to perform radio resource management (RRM). RRM allows the wireless network 200 to continuously analyze the existing RF environment”. One can deduce that in order to “continuously analyze the RF environment, the network controller 106 needs to continue receiving the telemetry data from the APs even after switching to the “aggressive convergence mode.”), and
calculate an updated KPIs based on the updated KPI data (See, ¶[0050], “RRM allows the wireless network 200 to continuously analyze the existing RF environment;” and Abstract, “The ability to switch between network state modes …based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance.” The network controller 106 (and the A.I. Core 108) continues to receive telemetry data and calculates the KPIs in order to determine whether to switch back to the conservative convergence mode. See below.),
calculate an updated overall network performance effectiveness level of the network (See, Abstract, “switch between network state modes …based on the monitoring of a health score, through the monitoring and tracking of the overall network health and performance;” and Fig. 5, #510 “returning to a conservative convergence RRM mode”. In order to switch between the network state modes “based on the monitoring of a health score,” the network controller 106 (and the A.I. Core 108) continues to monitor and analyze the KPIs and continue to calculate the health score.), wherein the predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “the reconfiguration threshold”) comprises a first predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0024], “detecting that a reconfiguration threshold has been reached for at least a portion of the Wi-Fi network …. switching to the aggressive convergence RRM mode from a conservative convergence RRM mode based on the detection of the reconfiguration threshold”. The first predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level corresponds to the threshold that triggers the switching from the conservative mode to the aggressive mode.),
generate an updated network improvement control action (See, Fig. 5, #510, returning to the conservative convergence RRM mode.) that is configured to improve overall network performance effectiveness of the network if the updated overall network performance effectiveness level is below a second predetermined threshold overall network performance effectiveness level (See, ¶[0090], “returning to a conservative convergence RRM mode when … the network controller 106 can determine based on the number of configuration recommendations received from the A.I. core 108, that the number of changes is below a threshold;” ¶[0086], “The WLAN RRM supports two modes of optimization, aggressive convergence RRM mode, and a conservative convergence RRM mode. The aggressive convergence RRM mode can be implemented in order to perform a quick convergence that uses more updates in a minimal amount of time. The conservative convergence RRM mode can be implemented to perform a post-convergence RRM operation that introduces less updates to the network than during an aggressive convergence RRM mode. The updates made during the conservative convergence RRM mode can be considered refinements to local areas of the network.” As discussed above, the A.I. core 108 recommends switching to the aggressive mode when the health score reaches the reconfiguration threshold, resulting in an improvement of the aggregated health score, i.e., an improvement in the overall health/performance of the network. While in the aggressive mode, if the number of changes recommended by the A.I. core 108, based on the KPIs (and the health score based on the KPIs) is less than a threshold, the network state mode is switched back to the conservative mode where the health score has not sufficiently deteriorated and thus remains at a level below the reconfiguration threshold, i.e., a second predetermined threshold that is at a level below the first predetermined threshold (i.e., the reconfiguration threshold). Moreover, the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) reading of the second predetermined threshold does not preclude the same being the same level as the first predetermined threshold.), and
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, however, fails to teach explicitly that the overall network performance effectiveness level (i.e., the health score taught by Choi, and each of the other references) is calculated based on the network availability level times the network capacity level times the network quality level.
Coutinho teaches that the overall network performance effectiveness level is calculated based on the network availability level times the network capacity level times the network quality level (See, e.g., Fig. 12, #1212, “generate the health score by multiplying all of the total feature scores with each other;” and ¶[0190], “Equation 1, which models the translation of the different input features and data in a health score. ….Health Score=((Feature A+α)/(1+α))*((Feature B+β)/(1+β))* . . . *((Feature C+γ)/(1+γ)) Equation 1.” Coutinho thus teaches calculating a health score by multiplying together the KPIs, i.e., the network availability level, the calculated network capacity level and the calculated network quality level.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Coutinho, i.e., the calculation of the health score by multiplying together the KPIs, in order to provide a health score system accommodating multiple input features that is flexible and extensible to new features (See, e.g., Coutinho, ¶[0192]).
Claims 25 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Sadovsky.
Regarding claim 25/23, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 23 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, while suggesting that the threshold is user definable (See, Wolff, ¶[0042], “a user may define a threshold health value”.), fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98%.
Sadovsky teaches that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98% (See, Sadovsky, Fig. 1, “C2 Health Score 98%;” ¶[0050], “a health threshold is set. The health threshold is a value that is used in determining when there is a health problem with a component and/or the system. For example, when the health threshold is set to 98% then whenever the overall system health score drops below 98%, a health problem for the system is determined;” and ¶[0004], “a health alert may be received at the system level when the overall system health score drops below a predetermined health threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Sadovsky, i.e., setting the network health threshold at 98%, in order to provide an early detection of a health problem, i.e., the health score remaining below 100% for a period of time (See, e.g., Sadovsky, ¶[0020], “A health alert may also be sent when the overall health score remains between 100% and the predetermined health threshold for some period of time.”).
Regarding claim 42/41, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 41 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, while suggesting that the threshold is user definable (See, Wolff, ¶[0042], “a user may define a threshold health value”.), fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98%.
Sadovsky teaches that the predetermined threshold network availability level is 98% (See, Sadovsky, Fig. 1, “C2 Health Score 98%;” ¶[0050], “a health threshold is set. The health threshold is a value that is used in determining when there is a health problem with a component and/or the system. For example, when the health threshold is set to 98% then whenever the overall system health score drops below 98%, a health problem for the system is determined;” and ¶[0004], “a health alert may be received at the system level when the overall system health score drops below a predetermined health threshold.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Sadovsky, i.e., setting the network health threshold at 98%, in order to provide an early detection of a health problem, i.e., the health score remaining below 100% for a period of time (See, e.g., Sadovsky, ¶[0020], “A health alert may also be sent when the overall health score remains between 100% and the predetermined health threshold for some period of time.”).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, in further view of Leske.
Regarding claim 31/29, Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy teach a device comprising all elements recited in claim 29 as discussed above.
Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy, while suggesting various packet loss thresholds (See, e.g., Reddy, Fig.2), fails to teach explicitly that the predetermined threshold network quality level is 85%.
Leske teaches that the predetermined threshold network quality level is 85% (See, Fig. 2, #104, “comparing the performance characteristic to a defined audio performance threshold;” ¶[0042], “the above-referenced performance characteristic is based upon a packet loss statistic and the defined audio performance threshold is 15% packet loss;” and ¶[0044], “when comparing 104 this performance characteristic (i.e., 16.1% packet loss) to the above-referenced defined audio performance threshold (i.e., 15% packet loss), video conference process 10 will determine that the performance characteristic does not meet the defined audio performance threshold.” It should be noted that the packet loss rate threshold of 15% is equivalent to having 85% threshold for the claimed predetermined threshold network quality level, which is the percentage of successful packets over the total packets.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the above teachings of Choi in view of Wolff, Crowley and Reddy to incorporate the above teaching of Leske i.e., the selection packet loss rate threshold to 15%, in order to ensure the minimum level of performance for an AV synchronous communication session (See, e.g., Leske, ¶[0042], “the defined audio performance threshold is 15% packet loss (which is deemed to be the point at which audio performance has degraded to the point that the AV synchronous communication session (e.g., video conference 152) is not providing the requisite level of performance to e.g., user 36.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
1) Ma et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2022/0225126) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention. (See, e.g., ¶¶[0091]-[0099], [0270]-[0275]);
2) Louca et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2020/0228430) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention, including the availability level (See, e.g., ¶[0022]); and
3) Means et al. (US Published Patent Application No. US 2023/0353482) teaches various aspects pertinent to the claimed invention, including the packet loss rate threshold of 15% (See, e.g., ¶[0078]).
/K.S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 October 6, 2026
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418
1 These claim terms, “available time link level” and “expected time link level,” do not appear to be terms of art, for which the Applicant’s disclosure provides no definitional description. As it is unclear from the terms themselves, the levels are construed, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) principle, see MPEP §2173.01, as encompassing the temporal and/or numerical levels, i.e., the time duration during which the link(s) were actually available/expected to be available and/or the number of the link(s) were actually available/expected to be available. See, paragraph 6 of this Office Action (rejection under 35 USC §112).
2 See footnote 1 above.
3 See footnote 1 above.
4 See footnote 1 above.