DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 13, 17 are rejected in the Instant Application. Claims 4 and 8 are objected to.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant Elects Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13, 17 for prosecution.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of PCT/CN2022/109051 filed 7/29/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024, 9/22/2205, 4/17/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Martini (US Pub. 2019/0384580) in view of Wu (US Pub. 2023/0125058), and further in view of Dec (US Pub. 2017/0078158).
With respect to Claim 1, Martini teaches a method comprising: creating a specification data type using yet another next generation (YANG) language for indicating device specification data associated with a network device; (para. 48; YANG language may be used to model configuration and state of network elements. para. 31, 72; YANG can be used to identify its capabilities such as bandwidth.)
creating a YANG based device specification data model using the specification data type; (para. 31; YANG model that identifies capabilities.)
But Martini does not explicitly teach a constraint model.
Wu, however, does teach creating a YANG based device specification constraint model; (paras. 36-43; defining QoS parameters such as bandwidth needed in YANG format.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Martini with the constraint model in order to provide configuration requirements between networks in an agnostic format.
But modified Martini does not explicitly teach sharing models with a network management system.
Dec, however, does teach and sharing the device specification data model and the device specification constraint model with a network management system and the network device. (para. 19; Network manager stores YANG models and sends the YANG models to configure a network device. para. 31; Request of YANG model stored in network device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of modified Martini with the sharing of the models in order to use the models to configure devices.
With respect to Claim 2, modified Martini teaches the method of claim 1, and Martini also teaches wherein the device specification data includes mixed characteristics of configuration data and state data associated with the device specification model. (para. 48; YANG models both configuration and state data.)
With respect to Claim 5, modified Martini teaches the method of claim 1, and Martini also teaches wherein the device specification data model defines device specifications associated with the network device. (para. 31, 72; YANG can be used to identify its capabilities such as bandwidth.)
With respect to Claim 6, modified Martini teaches the method of claim 1, and Wu also teaches wherein the device specification constraint model defines constraints rules in accordance with which the network management system configures the network device. (paras. 36-43; defining QoS parameters such as bandwidth for providing a service.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 7, modified Martini teaches the method of claim 2, and Dec also teaches wherein the device specification data assists the network management system and the network device in validating the configuration data. (paras. 37-38; validation of YANG model.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 9, Martini teaches a method comprising: wherein: the device specification data is filled in a yet another next generation (YANG) based device specification data model using a specification data type, the specification data type indicating device specifications associated with the network device; (para. 48; YANG language may be used to model configuration and state of network elements. para. 31, 72; YANG can be used to identify its capabilities such as bandwidth.)
But Martini does not explicitly teach confirming a connection.
Wu, however, does teach confirming, by the network management system, a connection to the network device; (A network device and management system will be taught later. para. 112; confirming establishment of a channel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Martini with the confirmation of a connection in order to verify a mechanism for transmitting data to another device.
But modified Martini does not explicitly teach sharing models with a network management system.
Dec, however, does teach creating, by a network management system, a connection request to a network device; (Fig. 1, para. 31; management device connects to network device.)
receiving, by the network management system, device specification data associated with the network device, (para. 31; management device requests device’s YANG models, and stores the received models. Storage in a confirmation that the connection existed.)
and storing the device specification data in a datastore. (paras. 19, 31, 39; storage of YANG models in a cache.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of modified Martini with the sharing of the models in order to use the models to configure devices.
With respect to Claim 13, modified Martini teaches the method of claim 9, and Dec also teaches further comprising updating the datastore with an updated device specification data received from the network device. (paras. 2-3, 39; updating of a YANG model.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim applies here.
With respect to Claim 17, Martini teaches a method comprising: including, in a network device, a yet another next generation (YANG) based device specification data model wherein: the device specification data model includes a specification data type that defines device specifications associated with the network device, (para. 48; YANG language may be used to model configuration and state of network elements. para. 31, 72; YANG can be used to identify its capabilities such as bandwidth. See also Dec, para. 31; Request of YANG model stored in network device.)
filling, by the network device, a device specification data in the specification data model using the specification data type; (para. 31; YANG model that identifies capabilities.)
But Martini does not explicitly teach a constraint model.
Wu, however, does teach and a YANG based device specification constraint model, and the device specification constraint model defines constraints rules (paras. 36-43; defining QoS parameters such as bandwidth needed in YANG format.)
confirming, by the network device, a connection to the network management system; (A network device and management system will be taught later. para. 112; confirming establishment of a channel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of Martini with the constraint model in order to provide configuration requirements between networks in an agnostic format.
But modified Martini does not explicitly teach sharing models with a network management system.
Dec, however, does teach in accordance with which a network management system configures the network device with a configuration; (para. 19; Network manager stores YANG models and sends the YANG models to configure a network device. para. 31; Request of YANG model stored in network device.)
receiving, by the network device, a connection request from the network management system; (Fig. 1, para. 31; management device connects to network device.)
and sending, by the network device, the device specification data to the network management system. (para. 31; management device requests device’s YANG models, and stores the received models.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the method of modified Martini with the sharing of the models in order to use the models to configure devices.
Remarks
Applicant elects Group I with traverse only inasmuch as Applicant also seeks to have Claim 17 examined. Examiner will treat Claim 17 with Group I.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449