DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) (20-39) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Avalos (10106342, prior art submitted by applicant) .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 20: Avalos discloses a docking bay for servicing a truck trailer, the docking bay comprising:
Avalos shows docking bay in fig. 2 and fig. 3 for serving a truck trailer (see associated descriptions for details).
a programmable logic controller system configured to operate the docking bay;
Avalos discloses programmable logic controller (PLC) in col. 2, lines 8-31 of Avalos).
one or more sensors configured to detect an orientation of a truck trailer with respect to the docking bay;
Avalos discloses sensors respected to the bay in col. 2, lines 12-14 of Avalos.
and a lighting system configured to provide feedback to a truck driver during moving the truck trailer into the docking bay.
Avalos discloses lighting for docking bay in col. 2, lines 16-18 and col. 2, lines 29-31 of Avalos.
Hence, Avalos discloses a programmable truck trailer docking bay control.
Regarding claim 21: wherein the one or more sensors are configured to recognize and assess objects in an interior of the docking bay are disclosed in col. 8, lines 32-46 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 22: wherein the one or more sensors are further configured to determine whether a height of the truck trailer is proper based on communications with the programmable logic controller system are disclosed in col. 5, lines 32-37 and fig. 1 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 23: wherein the one or more sensors are further configured to detect a presence of improperly opened truck trailer doors are disclosed in col. 6, lines 27-39 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 24: further comprising: a vehicle restraint system configured to fixate the truck trailer within the docking bay, wherein the vehicle restraint system engages the truck trailer after the truck trailer is properly positioned within the docking bay are disclosed in col. 6, lines 15-39 and fig. 3 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 25: further comprising: an overhead door configured to open once the truck trailer is fixated by the vehicle restraint system; and a dock leveler configured to deploy after the overhead door opens, wherein the dock leveler is deployed after the overhead door is opened and doors of the truck trailer are detected to be properly opened are disclosed in col. 6, lines 15-39 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 26: wherein the overhead door may be opened and the dock leveler may be deployed after the vehicle restraint system successfully engages the truck trailer are disclosed in col. 3, lines 20-34 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 27: wherein the one or more sensors are further configured to detect obstructions located near or on the dock leveler during lifting and lowering of the overhead door are disclosed in col. 9, lines 16-34 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 28: further comprising: a human machine interface system in communication with the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors, wherein the human machine interface system is configured to enable an authorized user to switch an operation of the docking bay between an automation mode and a manual mode are disclosed in col. 7, lines 11-23 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 29: wherein the manual mode allows the authorized user to manually operate the docking bay to receive a truck trailer, and wherein the automation mode allows the authorized user to automate the docking bay to release the truck trailer are disclosed in col. 7, lines 19-23 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 30: wherein the automation mode includes automatically opening the overhead door, automatically engaging the vehicle restraint system, and automatically extending the dock leveler in a correct sequence are disclosed in col. 7, lines 23-32 and fig 4 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 31: further comprising: a human machine interface system in communication with the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors, wherein the human machine interface system is configured to enable an authorized user to operate the docking bay based on information flow to and from the one or more sensors are disclosed in col. 7, lines 11-14 and col. 7, line 63 to col. 8, line 5 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 32: further comprising: a human machine interface system in communication with the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors, wherein the human machine interface system includes a touch screen configured to visually represent docking bay functions are disclosed in col. 7, lines 39-46 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 33: wherein the touch screen is configured to display docking bay status information based on data provided by the one or more sensors are disclosed in (col. 7, lines 33-52 and col. 7, lines 63-65 of Avalos where Avalos describes docking bay status via touch screen interface).
Regarding claim 34: wherein the human machine interface system is configured to enable an authorized user to operate the docking bay by way of the touch screen according to the docking bay status information are disclosed in col. 7, lines 33-52 and col. 7, lines 43-46 of Avalos where human machine interface via touch screen.
Regarding claim 35: further comprising: a human machine interface system in communication with the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors, wherein the human machine interface system is configured to provide an interface whereby calibration and testing tasks may be performed are considered inherently disclosed in col. 7, lines 19-22; col. 7, lines 43-50 and col. 8, lines 1-19 of Avalos when operator prepares the docking equipment into automation mode, i.e.: system reset and boot-up and re-alignment.
Regarding claim 36: further comprising: a human machine interface system in communication with the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors, wherein the human machine interface system is configured to display sensor raw data whereby calibration and testing tasks may be performed are considered inherent system reset and preparedness (col. 7, lines 11-22 of Avalos).
Regarding claim 37: further comprising: a human machine interface system in communication with the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors, wherein the human machine interface system is separate and distinct from the programmable logic controller system and the one or more sensors are disclosed in col. 9, lines 35-49 of Avalos.
Regarding claim 38: Avalos disclosed a device comprising: a memory; and an electronic processor in communication with the memory, the electronic processor configured to: control one or more sensors to detect an orientation of a truck trailer with respect to a docking bay, and control a lighting system to provide feedback to a truck driver during moving the truck trailer into the docking bay (in col. 7, lines 11-22 of Avalos).
Regarding claim 39: Avalos disclosed a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by an electronic processor, cause the electronic processor to perform a set of operations comprising: controlling one or more sensors to detect an orientation of a truck trailer with respect to a docking bay; and controlling a lighting system to provide feedback to a truck driver during moving the truck trailer into the docking bay (in col 7, lines 11-22 of Avalos).
Avalos disclosed a PLC in col. 7, lines 11-12 of Avalos includes element feature for store instructions (software). Thus, non-transitory computer-readable medium is an inherent element feature in a controller/processor.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Duvernell et al (7274300) and Reynard et al (6781516) are cited for truck trail docking bay controller.
/K. WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689