DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over , Johnson et al.,.: US 20070145180 A1 in view of McLevige et al., Patent No.: US 5048394 A.
Regarding claim 1, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit ([0013] FIG. 1-2, “actuator control unit”) for actuating at least two components of an aircraft ([0021] “the flight control surface actuation system 110 preferably includes two multi-channel actuator control units 124-1, 124-2. The actuator control units 124 are configured such that one of the actuator control units 124-1 controls the flap and slat actuators 112, 114 on one wing 101-1, and the other actuator control unit 124-2 controls the flap and slat actuators 112, 114 on the other wing 101-2. … each actuator control unit 124 includes five independent actuator control channels 126 (e.g., 126-1, 126-2, 126-3, 126-4, 126-5).”), comprising
a control part ([0021] “actuator control units 124”) and a switching part ([0021] “actuator control unit 124 includes five independent actuator control channels 126 (e.g., 126-1, 126-2, 126-3, 126-4, 126-5),
wherein the control part and the switching part are configured such that the components can be actuated sequentially ([0029]-[0030] “The actuator control channels 126 … supply actuator position commands to either a flap actuator 112 or a slat actuator 114, to either move either a flap 102 or a slat 104. … If, however, the flight control surface position commands include both flap and slat position commands, then the motor controllers 202 in the appropriate control channels will generate the appropriate inverter commands 212, brake release commands 213, and switch commands 214, to sequentially release the flap brakes 117 and slat brakes 119, and to sequentially supply actuator position commands to the flaps 102 and slats 104. For example, the motor controllers 202 in each channel could be configured such that the leading edge surfaces 104 (e.g., the slats) are positioned first, followed by the trailing edge surfaces 102 (e.g., the flaps), or vice-versa.”).
Johnson et al., is not explicit on “at one timepoint just one of the components can be actuated, or in that at least two components cannot be actuated simultaneously”, however McLevige et al., US 5048394 A, teaches Multiplexed Hydraulic Control System With Oscillator For Multiplexer Drive and discloses;
wherein at one timepoint just one of the components can be actuated, or in that at least two components cannot be actuated simultaneously (Note: Valve multiplexer design mechanically (explicitly) requires sequenced/selective output and therefore discloses claim elements. See (col. 1-2 lines 60-5 (8) “using a single pilot valve multiplexed among a plurality of actuators. In substance, the pilot valve has a spool which is rotated for multiplexing … the vertical control position of the valve combined with a plurality of angular multiplex positions could be used to sequentially deliver hydraulic fluid to a plurality of actuators. A position sensor on the rotary multiplexer would be used to coordinate multiplexed electrical signals for the pilot valve with the time slots of the multiplexer.” & col.6 lines 15-65 (9) “the mechanical connection causes the multiplexer 20 to also oscillate, causing the sequential coupling of the inlet 40 to individual ones of the output ports 27, 41, 42, 43, 28, 43, etc.” & (10) “the identity of the channel being serviced at that point in time, such that the modulating signals on the bus 33 are coordinated with the position of the multiplexer 20.” & (11) “the direction and rate of movement of the multiplexer is controlled… the hydraulically operable oscillator control valve 31 which feeds the double-acting cylinder 30 to translate a piston 70 within a cylinder 71 and, by means of the mechanical connection 72, to thereby translate the multiplexer 20 to sequentially connect the single inlet with individual ones of the output ports.” & (12) “sequentially connecting the multiplexer inlet 40 to the ports 43, 42, 41 and 27 in sequence.” & (14) “selectively to a plurality of channels 22 by means of a multiplexer valve 20 driven by a hydraulic oscillator.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use these above mentioned features disclosed by McLevige et al. with the system disclosed by Johnson et al., in order to provide multiplexed hydraulic control systems having an input port and a plurality of output ports, with an operator in the cylinder for individually connecting the input port to the output ports. The hydraulic oscillator is mechanically coupled to the multiplexer operator, and oscillation of the former causes oscillation of the latter to sequentially connect the input to each of the outputs (see Abstract & col.3 lines 1-35, (14)-(17) ).
Regarding claims 2, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is an electrical, pneumatic and/or hydraulic control unit and/or comprises or constitutes a control valve block and/or power and/or signal electronics ([0019] “the actuator drive units 116, 118 may be implemented as any one of numerous types of drive units including, for example, hydraulic motors, pneumatic motors, or electric motors. In the preferred embodiment, however, the actuator drive units 116, 118 are electric motors” & [0021] “the power drive units 116, 118 are implemented as electric motors, and that the architecture of the actuator control units 124 will vary when the power drive units 116, 118 are implemented as hydraulic motors or pneumatic motors.” & [0022] “The motor controllers 202 are each coupled to receive flight control surface position commands from, and to supply position feedback signals to, the flight computer 122 and to the other actuator controller 124 via, for example, a communication and power bus 208.” & [0023] “power switches 209 …DC power signals” & [0025] “the switches 206 may be implemented as relays or various types of electronic switches”).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 2, wherein the control part is an electrical, pneumatic and/or hydraulic control part and/or comprises or constitutes a pneumatic and/or hydraulic valve and/or a power output stage ([0023] “the inverters 204 each include a plurality of drivers 207 and power switches 209. The drivers 207, in response to the inverter commands 212, control the power switches 209 in such a manner that the inverter 204 converts DC power, which is supplied to the actuator control units 124 via the communication and power bus 208, to AC power. … the power drive units 116, 118 are hydraulically powered or pneumatically powered.).
Regarding claims 4, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 1, wherein the switching part is an electrical, pneumatic and/or hydraulic switching part and/or comprises or constitutes a changeover valve and/or an electric switch and/or commutator ([0022] “each control channel 126 … includes a switch 206. ... The motor controllers 202 … supply … actuator switch commands 214.” & [0023] “The drivers 207, in response to the inverter commands 212, control the power switches 209” & [0025] “The switches 206 are responsive to the switch commands 214 supplied from its associated motor controller 202 to selectively couple the actuator position commands 216 or 218, and brake release signals 217 or 219, to either a flap actuator 112 or a slat actuator 114, respectively. … the switches 206 may be implemented using any one of numerous types of switch elements. For example, the switches 206 may be implemented as relays or various types of electronic switches”).
Regarding claims 5 & 11, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 1, (claim 5) wherein one, a plurality of or all of the components comprise or constitute an electric, pneumatic and/or hydraulic drive, (claim 11) wherein the electric, pneumatic and/or hydraulic drive is in each case for moving an actuator and/or a flap of the aircraft ([0019] “The actuators 112, 114 are each driven by one or more actuator drive units 116, 118, respectively” & …the actuator drive units 116, 118 may be implemented as any one of numerous types of drive units including, for example, hydraulic motors, pneumatic motors, or electric motors. In the preferred embodiment, however, the actuator drive units 116, 118 are electric motors,”).
Regarding claims 6 & 12, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 1, (claim 6) wherein the control unit comprises an evaluation part, wherein the evaluation part is configured such that sensor signals of one, a plurality of or all of the components can be received and/or evaluated, wherein at one timepoint only sensor signals of one of the components can be received and/or evaluated using the evaluation part, or in that at least sensor signals of two components cannot be received and/or evaluated simultaneously, (claim 12) wherein the control unit in each case comprises in each case two control parts and/or switching parts ([0020]-[0021] “The flight control surface actuation system 110 additionally includes one or more flight computers 122 (only one shown), and a plurality of actuator control units 124. The flight computer 122 receives commands, from either the pilot or an autopilot, and, in response, supplies flight control surface position commands to the actuator control units 124. In response to the flight control surface position commands, the actuator control units 124 selectively supply actuator position commands to the actuator drive units 116, 118. The actuator drive units 116, 118, in response to the actuator position commands, drive the flap and slat actuators 112, 114 to the commanded flap and slat positions, respectively.” & Note: This is a typical evaluation process of the actuator control unit for a person ordinary skilled in the art.).
Regarding claims 7-8, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 1, (claim 7) wherein the control unit comprises a central controller, wherein the central controller is configured so as to actuate the control part and/or the switching part, (claim 8) wherein the control unit in each case comprises a plurality of control parts and/or switching parts ([0004] “the flap actuators and the slat actuators are each driven via a central power drive unit and mechanical drive trains. … many flight control surface actuation systems include a central flap power drive unit that drives each of the flap actuators via a plurality of gears and either torque tubes or flexible shafts. Some flight control surface actuation systems similarly include a central slat power drive unit” & [0024] The motor controllers 202 additionally supply the brake release commands 213 to the brake drivers 205 in the same channel 126. The brake drivers 205 in turn supply suitable brake release signals 217, 219 to the brakes 117, 119, respectively, depending on the position of the switch 206.” & [0025]-[0026] “each of the independent control channels 126 that are coupled to both a flap actuator 112 and a slat actuator 114, includes a switch 206. The switches 206 are responsive to the switch commands 214 supplied from its associated motor controller 202 to selectively couple the actuator position commands 216 or 218, and brake release signals 217 or 219, to either a flap actuator 112 or a slat actuator 114, respectively. … the switches 206 may be implemented using any one of numerous types of switch elements. For example, the switches 206 may be implemented as relays or various types of electronic switches”).
Regarding claims 8, Johnson et al., discloses Control unit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit in each case comprises a plurality of control parts and/or switching parts ([0023] The motor controllers 202 supply the inverter commands 212 to the inverters 204 in the same channel 126. … the inverters 204 each include a plurality of drivers 207 and power switches 209. The drivers 207, in response to the inverter commands 212, control the power switches 209 in such a manner that the inverter 204 converts DC power, which is supplied to the actuator control units 124 via the communication and power bus 208, to AC power. The AC power is in turn supplied as actuator position commands 216, 218, to the actuator drive units 116, 118, respectively. It will be appreciated that this is merely exemplary, and that the actuator position commands supplied to the actuator drive units 116, 118 could be DC power signals, rather than AC power signals. Thus, the actuator control units 124 could be implemented, in some embodiments, without the inverters 204. It will additionally be appreciated that the inverters 204 would not be included in those embodiments in which the power drive units 116, 118 are hydraulically powered or pneumatically powered.).
Regarding claims 9, Johnson et al., discloses System comprising a plurality of components of an aircraft and a control unit according to claim 1 ([0016] “FIGS. 1A and 1B, … a flight control surface actuation system 110 for aircraft flaps and slats is provided. The aircraft 100 includes a plurality of trailing edge flight control surfaces 102 and a plurality of leading edge flight control surfaces 104 on each wing 101 (101-1, 101-2). In particular, a plurality of flaps 102 are disposed the trailing edge of each wing 101, and a plurality of slats 104 are disposed on the leading edge of each wing 101.” & [0020] The flight control surface actuation system 110 additionally includes one or more flight computers 122 (only one shown), and a plurality of actuator control units 124.”).
Regarding claims 10 & 13, Johnson et al., discloses Method, using a control unit according to claim 1, (claim 10) comprising the step of: - sequentially actuating components of an aircraft by means of fewer control units than actuated components, (claim 13) wherein few control units than actuated components is exactly one control unit ([0029] “the flight control surface position commands include both flap and slat position commands, then the motor controllers 202 in the appropriate control channels will generate the appropriate inverter commands 212, brake release commands 213, and switch commands 214, to sequentially release the flap brakes 117 and slat brakes 119, and to sequentially supply actuator position commands to the flaps 102 and slats 104. For example, the motor controllers 202 in each channel could be configured such that the leading edge surfaces 104 (e.g., the slats) are positioned first, followed by the trailing edge surfaces 102 (e.g., the flaps), or vice-versa.” & [0030] “the actuator control units 124 could be configured such that, when the flight control surface position commands include both flap and slat position commands, the actuator controllers 124 simultaneously move selected pairs of flap actuators and slat actuator 102, 104. More specifically, the motor controllers 202 in the appropriate control channels 126 will generate the appropriate inverter commands 212 and switch commands 214 to sequentially supply actuator position commands such that the inboard flaps 102 and slats 104 are simultaneously positioned first, and the outboard flaps 102 and slats 104 are positioned last. ).
NOTE: As cited in referred para., one motor controller actuates flaps and slats (fewer control units than actuated components).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of The References Cited.
/Jalal C CODUROGLU/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665