DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Epple (US 20080002265).
Regarding claim 8, Epple discloses an imaging lens system (fig. 3) comprising:
a first lens comprising positive refractive power (LG1 has five lenses, ¶0084, second one has a concave shape on the second surface toward imaging side, fig. 3. Concave shape is understood providing positive refractive power, - ¶0009.
first lens group LG1 immediately following the object surface having positive refractive power provided by five lenses acts as an imaging subsystem to form the first intermediate image IMI1. – ¶0084);
a second lens comprising a refractive power (third lens in LG1, fig. 3, ¶0084);
a third lens comprising a refractive power (fourth lens in LG1, fig. 3, ¶0084);
a fourth lens comprising a refractive power (fifth lens in LG1, fig. 3, ¶0084);
a first reflective surface (M1, fig. 3);
a second reflective surface (M2, fig. 3); and
a third reflective surface (M3, fig. 3);
wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the second reflective surface, and the third reflective surface are disposed in this order from an object side along an optical axis (evident form fig. 3, OS is object side and IS is image side in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Epple discloses the imaging lens system of claim 8, wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface (evident from fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Epple discloses the imaging lens system of claim 8, wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface (evident from fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Epple discloses the imaging lens system of claim 8, wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (evident from fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Epple discloses the imaging lens system of claim 8, wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (evident from fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Epple discloses the imaging lens system of claim 8, wherein the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface (evident from fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, Epple discloses an imaging lens system (fig. 3) comprising:
a first lens comprising positive refractive power (LG1 has five lenses, ¶0084, second one has a concave shape on the second surface toward imaging side, fig. 3. Concave shape is understood providing positive refractive power, - ¶0009.
first lens group LG1 immediately following the object surface having positive refractive power provided by five lenses acts as an imaging subsystem to form the first intermediate image IMI1. – ¶0084);
a second lens comprising a refractive power (third lens in LG1, fig. 3, ¶0084);
a third lens comprising a refractive power (fourth lens in LG1, fig. 3, ¶0084);
a first reflective surface (M1, fig. 3);
a second reflective surface (M2, fig. 3); and
a third reflective surface (M3, fig. 3);
wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the second reflective surface, and the third reflective surface are disposed in this order from an object side along an optical axis (evident form fig. 3, OS is object side and IS is image side in fig. 3).
However, Epple is not found disclosing the limitation of, wherein 15 mm < TTL < 26 mm, where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane.
Claims 2-7 are allowed for being dependent on allowable claim 1
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fails to reasonably disclose or suggest,
Regarding claim 12, wherein the second lens has a concave image-side surface.
Conclusion
The prior and/or pertinent art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, are –Dodoc et al. (US 8913316 B2), Shafer et al. (US 8199400 B2), Hudyma et al. (US 20060109559 A1), Hatakeyama (US 20040174611 A1), Kamo (US 6643062 B1), Kamo (US 20020176175 A1), Kato (US 5323264 A), Kato (US 5231534 A), and Kato et al. (US 5144349 A) – who disclose different lens systems of interest.
/SHAHBAZ NAZRUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638