DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12146609. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the present claims are found in the claims of the subject patent.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7, “supporting art” should be “supporting arm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7,12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gull(US5201234) in view of Oddsen Jr.(US6409134).
[claim 1] Gull teaches a load-stabilizing apparatus comprising: a base(10); a load-connecting member(lower hole in 18, fig 1) configured to carry a load; a connecting assembly(11) connected to the load-connecting member; a stabilizing motor(12) connected to the base and configured to drive the connecting assembly to move; an elastic member(39) connected to at least one of the connecting assembly or the load-connecting member, and configured to provide an elastic force to the at least one of the connecting assembly or the load-connecting member. Gull however may not teach an adjustment member configured to adjust at least one of a direction or a magnitude of the elastic force provided by the elastic member before a relative movement between the load-connecting member and the base. Oddsen teaches a similar load stabilizing apparatus, which comprises an elastic member(122) connected to an adjustment member(120,124) configured to adjust at least one of a direction or magnitude of the elastic force provided by the elastic member before a relative movement between the load connecting member and the base, the adjustment member allowing the elastic force provided by the elastic member to be adjusted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the adjustment member of Oddsen with the apparatus of Gull, as this would allow the elastic force of the elastic member of Gull to be adjusted as taught by Oddsen.
[claim 2] wherein: an end of the elastic member is connected to the base(fig 8, 10A of Oddsen) or the load-connecting member, the adjustment member is further configured to adjust a mounting position of the end of the elastic member such that the at least one of the direction or the magnitude of the elastic force provided by the elastic member is capable of changing.
[claim 3] wherein: the adjustment member is connected to the end of the elastic member(fig 8 Oddsen), and is further configured to adjust the mounting position of the end of the elastic member to adjust a degree of deformation of the elastic member.
[claim 4] wherein: the adjustment member is further configured to adjust the mounting position of the end of the elastic member along a first direction or a second direction opposite to the first direction, the first direction and/or the second direction being a direction of gravity(fig 8,9 Oddsen).
[claim 5] wherein: the adjustment member includes an adjusting portion(124) and a mounting portion(120), the adjusting portion is connected to the base or the connecting assembly, and the mounting portion is connected to the end of the elastic member; and the mounting portion is movably connected to the adjusting portion, to drive the end of the elastic member to perform translational movement relative to the adjustment portion.
[claim 6] wherein the adjusting portion includes an adjusting lever(124), the adjusting lever is rotatably connected to the base or the connecting assembly, and the adjusting lever is configured to rotate to drive the mounting portion to perform translational movement.
[claim 7] wherein: the adjusting lever includes a lead screw(124), and the mounting portion is sleeved on the lead screw and is configured to form a threaded connection with the lead screw(fig 8 Oddsen).
[claim 12] wherein: the mounting position of the end of the elastic member includes a first mounting position(mounting portion 120 located at the lower end of screw 124) and a second mounting position(mounting portion 120 located at the upper end of screw 124); the load-stabilizing apparatus is in a first stabilization state in response to the end of the elastic member being at the first mounting position; the load-stabilizing apparatus is in a second stabilization state in response to the end of the elastic member being at the second mounting position; and the direction of the elastic force provided by the elastic member in the second stabilization state is different from the direction of the elastic force provided by the elastic member in the first stabilization state.
[claim 13] wherein an orientation of the load-connecting member in the first stabilization state is opposite an orientation of the load-connecting member in the second stabilization state.
[claim 14] wherein: the connecting assembly includes a deformation mechanism(11) drivingly connected to the stabilizing motor; and the stabilizing motor is configured to drive the deformation mechanism to deform.
[claim 15] wherein: the deformation mechanism includes: a first connecting arm(16); a second connecting arm(17); and a supporting arm(18) rotatably connected to the first connecting arm and the second connecting arm; the load-connecting member is connected to the supporting arm; and the stabilizing motor is drivingly connected to at least one of the first connecting arm or the second connecting arm.
[claim 16] wherein the stabilizing motor is rotatably connected(at pivot 26) to the at least one of the first connecting arm or the second connecting arm.
[claim 17] Gull in view of Oddsen teaches an apparatus as detailed above, with the stabilizing motor(12) being a first stabilizing motor. Gull may not teach the use of a second stabilizing motor that along with the first stabilizing motor, drives the connecting assembly to move. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use a second stabilizing motor along with the first stabilizing motor, as this would be the mere duplication of parts essential to the practice of the invention, and would have the predictable effect of providing an increased driving force for apparatus.
[claim 18] when arranged as above, the connecting assembly includes a deformation mechanism(11) and the first stabilizing motor and the second stabilizing motor together drive the deformation mechanism to deform.
Claim(s) 8-11,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gull in view of Oddsen Jr. as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Stachowski et al.(US20070080275).
[claim 8] Gull in view of Oddsen teaches an apparatus as detailed above, however neither Gull not Oddsen teach a position adjustment motor configured to drive the adjustment member, to automatically adjust the mounting position of the end of the elastic member. Stachowski teaches a similar apparatus, and further teaches position adjustment motors(401,402) configured to drive adjustment members(405,406) to automatically adjust the mounting position of the end of an elastic member(403,404). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the position adjustment motors of Stachowski with the apparatus of Gull in view of Oddsen, as this would provide an automated means for driving the adjustment member, as taught by Stachowski.
[claim 9] Stachowski further teaches one or more sensors(para[0054]) configured to obtain information of a position of the load-connecting member; and a processor(inherently disclosed as the “Servo control… by signals generated by force sensors associated with payload 410” (see para[0054]) which would require a processor) configured to, based on the information of the position of the load-connecting member, control the position adjustment motor to drive the end of the elastic member to move, to cause the load to be maintained at a preset position.
[claim 10] wherein: the one or more sensors include an angle sensor(802,803,804,805), the angle sensor is configured to detect information of an angle of the connecting assembly relative to the base; and the processor is configured to, based on the information of the angle of the connecting assembly relative to the base, control the position adjustment motor to drive the end of the elastic member to move, to cause the angle of the connecting assembly relative to the base to be maintained at a preset angle.
[claim 11] further comprising a processor(inherently disclosed as the “Servo control… by signals generated by force sensors associated with payload 410” (see para[0054]) which would require a processor) configured to recognize the load and control the position adjustment motor to drive the end of the elastic member to move, to cause the end of the elastic member to be adjusted to a preset mounting position corresponding to the load.
[claim 19] Gull teaches a system comprising: a base(10); a load-connecting member(lower hole in 18, fig 1) configured to carry a load; a connecting assembly(11) connected to the load-connecting member; a stabilizing motor(12) connected to the base and configured to drive the connecting assembly to move; an elastic member(39) connected to at least one of the connecting assembly or the load-connecting member, and configured to provide an elastic force to the at least one of the connecting assembly or the load-connecting member. Gull however may not teach a gimbal configured to carry a load, the gimbal including at least one axis driver, and the at least one axis driver being connected to the load and configured to adjust an angle of the load, or an adjustment member configured to adjust at least one of a direction or a magnitude of the elastic force provided by the elastic member before a relative movement between the load-connecting member and the base. With regards to the adjustment member, Oddsen teaches a similar load stabilizing apparatus, which comprises an elastic member(122) connected to an adjustment member(120,124) configured to adjust at least one of a direction or magnitude of the elastic force provided by the elastic member before a relative movement between the load connecting member and the base, the adjustment member allowing the elastic force provided by the elastic member to be adjusted. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the adjustment member of Oddsen with the apparatus of Gull, as this would allow the elastic force of the elastic member of Gull to be adjusted as taught by Oddsen.
With regards to the gimbal, Stachowski teaches a similar system with a gimbal(801) configured to carry a load, the gimbal including at least one axis driver(708), and the at least one axis driver being connected to the load and configured to adjust an angle of the load. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the gimbal and axis driver of Stachowski with the system of Gull in view of Oddsen, as this would provide a means of attaching and controlling a load, as taught by Stachowski.
[claim 20] Gull in view of Oddsen in view of Stachowski teaches a system as detailed above, with Stachowski further teaching that the mounts can be used with photographing apparatuses(para[0013]).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632