DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on March 23 of 2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on March 23 of 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 9-13, 15, 16, 18, 21 and 22 have been amended. Claims 3, 14, 17, 20 and 23 have been cancelled. Claim 25 has been added. Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24 and 25 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 21 and 25 being independent.
Applicant’s amendment to the specification have overcome the objections detailed in sections 2 and 3 of the previous Office Action (mailed September 24, 2025).
Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome the objections and claim rejections under 35 USC 112, as detailed in sections 4-11 of the previous Office Action (mailed September 24, 2025). Therefore, the cited objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
The indicated allowability of previous dependent claim 17 (subject matter now incorporated into independent claim 1 by applicant’s amendment) is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to SAITO (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2008/0211429). Rejections based on the newly cited reference follow.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cavity” with a center offset from a center of the “optical element” in the direction toward the “LEEs” (as defined in claims 1 and 18), the “indentations” (as defined in claims 5 and 9), and the “phosphor elements” (as defined in claims 8, 10 and 11) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Section (b)
Claims 18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor, or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 18 is indefinite as it depends from cancelled claim 14. The applicant is advised that, in comparing the claimed invention with the Prior Art, the Examiner assumed, based on the originally filed description and drawings, claim 18 to be dependent from claim 1.
Independent claim 25 is indefinite as it fails to provide proper antecedent basis for the limitation “the section of the cavity” (see line 11). The applicant is advised that, in comparing the claimed invention with the Prior Art, the Examiner assumed, based on the originally filed description and drawings, independent claim 25 as attempting to define a section of the “cavity” being offset from a section of the “optical element” in a direction including an angle other than zero relative to a direction toward the “LEEs”.
Section (d)
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Dependent claim 13 defines the “optical element” and the “cavity” as being concentric. However, independent claim 1 (from which claim 13 directly depends) defined the “optical element” and the “cavity” as being eccentric (see line 10). Claim 13 not only fails to include all the limitation of the claim from which it depends, but appears to contradict the independent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Dependent claim 18 defines a center of the “cavity” as being offset from a center of the “optical element” in a direction from the center of the “optical element relative to a direction toward the “LEEs”; however, independent claim 1, from which claim 18 directly depends, already define such relationship between the centers of the “cavity” and “optical element” (see lines 11 and 12 of claim1). The “illumination device” of dependent claim 18 appears to be substantially identical to that of independent claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Proposed Claim Amendments
The Examiner respectfully suggests amending the claims as indicated below. The applicant is advised that, if the proposed amendments are accepted, all claims must be carefully reviewed to reflect and/or accommodate the new language.
CLAIM 13.
CLAIM 18. The illumination device of claim [[14]]1, wherein a center of the cavity is offset from a center of the optical element in a direction from the center of the optical element
CLAIM 25. An illumination device comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements (LEEs); and
a transparent elongated optical element including one or more cavities arranged along an elongation direction of the optical element,
wherein the optical element is arranged to receive light from the LEEs through a surface extending along the elongation direction,
wherein the optical element has a tubular shape with one cavity of the one or more cavities extending along a full elongated extension of the optical element,
wherein in planes perpendicular to the elongate extension of the optical element,
the optical element and the cavity are eccentric, and
wherein [[the]]a section of the cavity is offset from a section of the optical element in a direction including an angle other than zero relative to a direction toward the LEEs.
Claim Rejections Based on Prior Art
35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAITO (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2008/0211429).
Regarding independent claim 1, SAITO discloses an illumination device 1 (as seen in Figure 1) including a plurality of light-emitting elements (LEEs) 5 (as seen in Figure 1); and a transparent elongated optical element 7 (as seen in Figure 1) including one or more cavities 7e (as seen in Figure 1) arranged along an elongation direction of the optical element 7 (as seen in Figure 1), wherein the optical element 7 is arranged to receive light from the LEEs 5 through a surface 7e extending along the elongation direction (as seen in Figure 1), wherein the optical element 7 has a tubular shape (as seen in Figure 1) with one cavity 7e of the one or more cavities 7e extending along a full elongated extension of the optical element 7 (as seen in Figure 2), wherein in planes perpendicular to the elongate extension of the optical element 7, the optical element 7 and the cavity 7e are eccentric (as seen in Figure 1), and wherein a center of the cavity 7e is offset from a center of the optical element 7 in a direction from the center of the optical element 7 toward the LEEs 5 (as seen in Figure 1).
Figure 1 of U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2008/0211429 (SAITO), modified and annotated to clearly referenced claimed structural elements and features.
Regarding dependent claim 2, SAITO further discloses the optical element 7 has a curvilinear shape (the shape of element 7 is substantially circular, as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding dependent claim 7, SAITO further discloses a planar substrate 3 (as seen in Figure 1), the plurality of LEEs 5 operatively arranged on the planar substrate 3 (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding dependent claim 12, SAITO further discloses both the optical element 7 and cavity 7e have circular sections (the shape of both elements 7 and 7e is substantially circular, as seen in Figure 1) in planes perpendicular to the elongation direction of the optical element 7 (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding dependent claim 15, SAITO further discloses the optical element 7 has a circular cross section (the cross section of element 7 is substantially circular, as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding dependent claim 16, SAITO further discloses the cavity 7e has a circular cross section (the cross section of element 7e is substantially circular, as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding dependent claim 18 (as best understood), SAITO further discloses a center of the cavity 7e is offset from a center of the optical element 7 in a direction from the center of the optical element 7 relative to a direction toward the LEEs 5 (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding dependent claim 19, SAITO further discloses the LEEs 5 are spaced apart from the optical element 7 (as seen in Figure 1).
35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAITO (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2008/0211429) in view of FUKUI (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2009/0295264).
Regarding dependent claim 4, SAITO discloses all the limitations of the claim (as previously detailed), except the optical element 7 having a closed annular shape.
However, FUKUI discloses an illumination device A1 (as seen in Figure 2) including a plurality of light-emitting elements (LEEs) 40 (as seen in Figure 2); and a transparent elongated optical element 10 (as seen in Figure 2) including one or more cavities (inner space of element 10, as seen in Figure 2) arranged along an elongation direction of the optical element 10 (as seen in Figure 2), the optical element 10 having a closed annular shape (as seen in Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the optical element 7 of SAITO to have the closed annular shape of the patented optical element 10 of FUKUI, according to the known methods taught by FUKUI, to yield the predictable result of providing an annular illumination device, as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397).
Regarding dependent claim 6, SAITO further discloses the optical element 7 including a groove 7e (element 7e is configured as a groove, as seen in Figure 1) arranged along the extension direction of the optical element 7 (as seen in Figure 1) and optically coupled to the LEEs 5 (as seen in Figure 1).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deng (U.S. Pat. 7,635,201), Huang et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2011/0292652), Osawa (U.S. Pat. 8,425,081), Broitzman et al. (U.S. Pat. 8,471,494), and Ye et al. (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. 2014/0198496) disclose illumination devices including a plurality of light emitting elements (LEEs) optically coupled to a transparent elongated optical element including at least one cavity extending fully along the longitudinal direction of the optical element. Some further disclose optical elements having a closed annular shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 22 and 24 are allowed.
Claim 25 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 5 and 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant teaches illumination devices including a plurality of light emitting elements (LEEs) optically coupled to a transparent elongated optical element including at least one cavity extending fully along the longitudinal direction of the optical element. The optical element has a tubular shape. The cavity and the optical element are eccentric, with the center of the cavity offset from the center of the optical element in a direction towards the LEEs.
In a first embodiment, a plurality of indentations are optically coupled to the LEEs.
In a second embodiment, at least one phosphor configured to convert light from the LEEs from a first spectral distribution to a second spectral power distribution are also provided.
Conclusion
/ISMAEL NEGRON/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875