Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1, 4-11 and 14-17 is considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
Upon further review of the prior art Schutz (US 2004/0164081) in view of Snegelin et al. (US 2016/0376059), the claims have been rejected in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schutz (US 2004/0164081) in view of Snegelin et al. (US 2016/0376059).
Claims 1, 4, 6. Schutz discloses a pallet container for storing and transporting fluid or flowable filling materials, the pallet container comprising:
a container 13 including an upper base that defines a first plane;
a frame 21 surrounding at least a portion of the container, the frame including horizontal tubular rods 23 and vertical tubular rods 22, the horizontal tubular rods being joined to the vertical tubular rods to form a pair of opposing walls and an upper region that is adjacent to the upper base of the container (fig. 2);
a base pallet 24 connected to the frame opposite the upper region of the frame and configured to support the container [0016]; and
a cross-member 39 detachably attached to the pair of opposing walls, the cross-member extending across the upper region when attached to the pair of opposing walls [0019-0020]; and
wherein the cross-member is oriented on a second plane that is parallel to the first plane of the upper base (fig. 1-2).
Schutz discloses a cross-member that is greater than a distance between the pair of opposing walls fails to disclose a cross-member extending across the upper region and defining a length along a line of curvature. Sengelin represents evidence of a hollow cross-member defining a length along a line of curvature ([0034]; fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cross-members of Schutz to include the curved cross-members having extended lengths as seen in Sengelin to assist in further reinforcing the upper portion of the frame.
Claim 5. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 1, wherein the cross-member is detachably attached to the pair of opposing walls via a first threaded fastener attached to a first end face of the cross-member and a second threaded fastener attached to a second end face of the cross-member (Schutz; [0019]).
Claim 7. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 6, wherein the second cross-member 39 is detachably attached to the pair of opposing walls (Schutz; [0019]).
Claim 8. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 6, wherein a first concave portion of the first cross-member 39 (side edge) faces a center point (10; 2 center drain connections) of the frame that is on the second plane and a second concave portion of the second cross-member faces the center point of the frame that is on the second plane (Schutz; fig. 1-2).
Claim 9. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 6, wherein:
a first end of the first cross-member is attached to a first wall of the pair of opposing walls at a first position along the first wall that is offset from a first midpoint of the first wall (Schutz; fig. 2);
a second end of the first cross-member is attached to a second wall of the pair of opposing walls at a second position along the second wall that is offset from a second midpoint of the second wall (Schutz; fig. 2);
a first end of the second cross-member is attached to the first wall at a third position along the first wall that is offset from the first midpoint (Schutz; fig. 2); and
a second end of the second cross-member is attached to the second wall at a fourth position that is offset from the second midpoint (Schutz; fig. 2).
Claim 10. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 9, wherein:
a first distance between the first position and the first midpoint is approximately equal to a second distance between the second position and the first midpoint (Schutz; fig. 3); and
a third distance between the third position and the second midpoint is approximately equal to a fourth distance between the fourth position and the second midpoint (Schutz; fig. 3).
Claims 11, 14, 16. Schutz discloses a pallet container for storing and transporting fluid or flowable filling materials, the pallet container comprising:
a container 13 including an upper base that defines a first plane (fig. 2);
a frame 21 including horizontal rods 23 joined to vertical rods 22, the frame surrounding at least a portion of the container and including a pair of opposing walls and an upper region that is adjacent to the upper base of the container ([0016]; fig. 1);
a base pallet 24/25 connected to the frame opposite the upper region of the frame and configured to support the container [0017]; and
a cross-member 39 extending across the upper region (fig. 3).
Schutz discloses a cross-member that is greater than a distance between the pair of opposing walls fails to disclose a cross-member extending across the upper region and defining a length along a line of curvature. Sengelin represents evidence of a hollow cross-member defining a length along a line of curvature ([0034]; fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cross-members of Schutz to include the curved cross-members having extended lengths as seen in Sengelin to assist in further reinforcing the upper portion of the frame.
Claim 15. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 11, wherein the cross-member is detachably attached to the pair of opposing walls (Schutz; [0019]).
Claim 17. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 16, wherein the second cross-member is detachably attached to the pair of opposing walls (Schutz; [0019]).
Claim 18. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 16, wherein a first concave portion of the first cross-member faces a center point of the frame that is on the second plane and a second concave portion of the second cross-member faces the center point of the frame that is on the second plane (Sengelin; fig. 5).
Claims 19-20. Schutz-Sengelin discloses the pallet container of claim 16, wherein:
a first end of the first cross-member is attached to a first wall of the pair of opposing walls at a first position along the first wall that is offset from a first midpoint of the first wall;
a second end of the first cross-member is attached to a second wall of the pair of opposing walls at a second position along the second wall that is offset from a second midpoint of the second wall;
a first end of the second cross-member is attached to the first wall at a third position along the first wall that is offset from the first midpoint; and
a second end of the second cross-member is attached to the second wall at a fourth position that is offset from the second midpoint (Sengelin; fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 allowed.
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735