DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 6/10/2026, in which claim(s) 1-30 is/are pending.
Response to Arguments
Drawing Objection:
Applicants argue with respect to the drawing object have been considered and found not persuasive. The Applicant’s argues it was intended; however, failed to point towards any paragraph to support the arguments. Furthermore, It make no sense especially to one with ordinary skill in the art to after determine that it is an image 98, to send it to text 102, and then send it to 132 to OCR the text to create text 134, or text at 102 to send to an image analyzer 180 to analyzed the image when it is, as suggested by The Applicant, a text at 102.
At 160, if it is determined text data, it would go straight to confidentiality detection 166. If determined document, and it is a text in the document it would go to text 102, then down to confidentiality detection 166, and lastly, if images detected in document, it would go to image 98, then to OCR engine 132 to OCR the image to find text within image at text 134, then to confidentiality detection 166. Clearly, images 98 should not got to text 102, as text 102 cannot find the text in the images without first OCR the image.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112:
Applicants’ arguments with respect to 112 2nd paragraph with rejection of claim(s) 1-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 112 2nd paragraph have been withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figure 7, the line out of box 98, is behind box 102. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beveridge et al. (US 20180260734 A1; hereinafter Beveridge) in view of SATISH PADMANABHAN et al. (US 20230195933 A1; hereinafter Satish).
Regarding claim 1, Beveridge discloses a computer-implemented method for identifying and anonymizing confidential information in input data, the method performed by at least one computer processor executing computer-readable instructions tangibly stored on at least one computer-readable medium, the method comprising the steps of:
extracting one or more of textual data or document data from the input data, wherein the document data includes one or more of second textual data and image data (inputting unredacted document comprises a plurality of objects arranged, unredacted document containing text in fig. 3A, and unredacted document containing both text and an image in fig. 6 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
processing the textual data or the second textual data to identify the confidential information therein, using machine learning (The unredacted document is parsed to identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule set, redacted document containing text in fig. 3B, and redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 and determining whether a document contains malicious information. Data comprising a plurality of redacted documents having a score and objects arranged in a topology with one or more objects having malicious information is received, by at least one AI model based on a statistical model. Whether each document comprises malicious information is determined a degree of confidence [Beveridge; ¶46-47, 50; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
anonymizing the confidential information (The user sensitive information within the unredacted document is substituted with placeholder information to generate a redacted document, in this instance, redacted document containing text in fig. 3B [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]), and
anonymizing the image-based confidential information (The user sensitive information within the unredacted document is substituted with placeholder information to generate a redacted document, in this instance, redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]).
Beveridge discloses redaction of artificial intelligence (AI) training to remove user sensitive information. Beveridge does not explicitly discloses the following limitations; however, in a related and analogous art, Satish teaches these features.
In particular, Satish teaches wherein the extracting step comprises determining whether the input data comprises textual data, document data, or both, and routing the textual data and the document data to corresponding processing pipelines based on the determining (determined the input data such as image, pdf, email, Excel™ spreadsheet, databases, etc., and processes the input based on the types of input data [Satish; 41, 60-77, 81; Figs. 2-3, 5 and associated texts]), and
processing the textual data or the second textual data to identify the confidential information therein, including detecting and identifying, with a first machine learning model, the confidential information in the textual data or the second textual data (using machine learning to extract, detect and redact/mask information [Satish; 51-71; Figs. 1-2, 6 and associated texts]),
when the document data is present in the input data, processing the image data to identify image-based confidential information therein (detecting sensitive information in image and masking the sensitive information in real time [Satish; 81-83; Figs. 8 and associated texts]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge in view of Satish machine learning to detect and replace sensitive information from various sources with the motivation for faster and accurately detecting and preventing of leaking sensitive information in real time.
Regarding claim 2, Beveridge discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the step of extracting comprises determining whether the textual data or the document data forms part of the input data, and parsing with a parsing engine the document data into the second textual data and the image data (parsing the documents to obtain text and image [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 3, Beveridge discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the step of processing the textual data and the document data comprises detecting and identifying the confidential information in the textual data and the second textual data, and anonymizing the confidential information (identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule set based. The user sensitive information within the unredacted document is substituted [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 4, Beveridge discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the confidential information includes identifiable confidential information and contextually hidden confidential information, wherein the step of detecting and identifying comprises applying a first machine learning model to the confidential information to identify the identifiable confidential information (allows for an AI/machine learning model to be trained on a substantially similar redacted document absent user sensitive information [Beveridge; ¶12]).
machine learning model to the textual data or the second textual data, the first machine learning model being configured to identify the confidential information based on contextual relationships within the data (using machine learning to extract, detect and redact/mask sensitive information [Satish; 51-71; Figs. 1-2, 6 and associated texts]). The motivation for faster and accurately detecting and preventing of leaking sensitive information in real time.
Regarding claim 23, Beveridge discloses a non-transitory, computer readable medium comprising computer program instructions tangibly stored on the computer readable medium, wherein the computer program instructions are executable by at least one computer processor to perform a method for anonymizing confidential information in input data, the method comprising:
extracting one or more of textual data and document data from the input data, wherein the document data includes one or more of second textual data and image data, including determining whether the textual data or the document data forms part of the input data (inputting unredacted document comprises a plurality of objects arranged, unredacted document containing text in fig. 3A, and unredacted document containing both text and an image in fig. 6 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]), and
parsing with a parsing engine the document data into the second textual data and the image data (The unredacted document is parsed to identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule set, which includes both texts and image in fig. 6 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
processing the textual data and the second textual data to identify the confidential information therein, including detecting and identifying, with a transformer-type machine learning model, the confidential information in the textual data and the second textual data (The unredacted document is parsed to identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule set, redacted document containing text in fig. 3B, and redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]), and
anonymizing the confidential information (The user sensitive information within the unredacted document is substituted with placeholder information to generate a redacted document, in this instance, redacted document containing text in fig. 3B [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
processing the image data to identify image-based confidential information therein (The unredacted document is parsed to identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule set, which includes both texts and image in fig. 6 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]), and
anonymizing the image-based confidential information (The user sensitive information within the unredacted document is substituted with placeholder information to generate a redacted document, in this instance, redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]).
Claim(s) 5, 14-22 and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beveridge-Satish combination in view of Zakour (US 20200110902 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Beveridge-Satish combination does not explicitly discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the step of detecting further comprises applying a second machine learning model to the textual data and the second textual data for identifying the contextually hidden confidential information therein, wherein the second machine learning model generates second model data that includes the contextually hidden confidential information; however, in a related and analogous art, Zakour teaches this feature.
In particular, Zakour teaches automate redaction of data and metadata based on heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge-Satish combination in view of Zakour redacting files using metadata parameters using heuristic rules or machine learning techniques with the motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 14, Beveridge discloses a system for identifying and anonymizing confidential information in input data, comprising
a data extraction unit for extracting one or more of the textual data and the document data from the input data, wherein the document data includes one or more of second textual data and image data (machine learning system receiving inputting unredacted document comprises a plurality of objects arranged, unredacted document containing text in fig. 3A, and unredacted document containing both text and an image in fig. 6 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
wherein the data extraction unit includes a determination unit for determining whether the textual data or the document data forms part of the input data, and a parsing unit having a parsing engine for parsing the document data into the second textual data and the image data (unredacted document containing text in fig. 3A, and unredacted document containing both text and an image in fig. 6 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
a text processing unit having a text processing engine for processing one or more of the textual data and the second textual data and for identifying confidential information therein and for anonymizing the confidential information (machine learning system processing unredacted document is parsed to identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule set, redacted document containing text in fig. 3B, and redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
wherein the text processing unit includes a confidential information detection unit employing a first machine learning model configured for detecting and identifying confidential information in the textual data and the second textual data (detected and redacted document containing text in fig. 3B, and redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]),
wherein the confidential information includes identifiable confidential information [[and contextually hidden confidential information]] (identify objects either directly or relationally containing user sensitive information using a predetermined rule [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]). Beveridge discloses redaction of artificial intelligence (AI) training to remove user sensitive information. Beveridge does not explicitly discloses the following limitations; however, in a related and analogous art, Satish teaches these features.
In particular, Satish teaches extracting one or more of the textual data and the document data from the input data, wherein the document data includes one or more of second textual data and image data, wherein the extracting step comprises determining whether the input data comprises textual data, document data, or both, and routing the textual data and the document data to corresponding processing pipelines based on the determining (determined the input data such as image, pdf, email, Excel™ spreadsheet, databases, etc., and processes the input based on the types of input data [Satish; 41, 60-77, 81; Figs. 2-3, 5 and associated texts]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge in view of Satish machine learning to detect and replace sensitive information from various sources with the motivation for faster and accurately detecting and preventing of leaking sensitive information in real time.
Beveridge-Satish combination does not disclose contextually hidden confidential information; however, in a related and analogous art, Zakour teaches this feature.
In particular, Zakour teaches automate redaction of data and metadata based on heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge in view of Zakour redacting files using metadata parameters using heuristic rules or machine learning techniques with the motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
an anonymization unit for selectively anonymizing the confidential information (machine learning system redacting sensitive information in text and image [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts]), and
an image processing unit for processing the image data and for identifying image-based confidential information therein (AI system that can analyze text, images, metadata, and/or graphic operations [Beveridge; ¶32; Fig. 2, 6-7 and associated texts], image exploitation tool that may analyze and process images. Image exploitation tools may perform object recognition on images, motion tracking on objects, as well as other types of image analysis [Zakour; ¶23, 55]).
Regarding claim 15, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 14, wherein the first machine learning model comprises a transformer-type model, including a natural language processing model (machine learning with a natural language processing (NLP) for detection [Zakour; ¶50]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 16, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the confidential information detection unit applies a second machine learning model to the textual data and the second textual data for identifying the contextually hidden confidential information therein, wherein the second machine learning model generates second model data that includes the contextually hidden confidential information (automate redaction of data and metadata based on heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge in view of Zakour redacting files using metadata parameters using heuristic rules or machine learning techniques with the motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 17, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the confidential information detection unit further applies a hierarchical recursive segment analysis technique to the second model data for identifying in the contextually hidden confidential information data that contributes the most to the decisions of the second machine learning model (heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 18, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the image processing unit comprises a text recognition unit employing an optical character recognition engine for extracting third textual data from the image data, and then processing the third textual data with the confidential information detection unit to identify confidential information in the third textual data (AI system that can analyze text, images, metadata, and/or graphic operations [Beveridge; ¶32; Fig. 2, 6-7 and associated texts], image exploitation tool that may analyze and process images. Image exploitation tools may perform object recognition on images, motion tracking on objects, as well as other types of image analysis [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 19, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the image processing unit further comprises a fingerprint detection unit for detecting fingerprint data in the image data, or a signature detection unit for detecting signature data in the image data, wherein the signature data and the fingerprint data form part of the image-based confidential information (a specialized template built on a set of pre-defined rules entered by a user, may redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 20, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 19, further comprising a redaction unit for anonymizing the image-based confidential information (redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts], redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 21, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the redaction unit is configured to redact the image-based confidential information (redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts], redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 22, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the anonymization unit or the redaction unit can be configured to replace at least portions of the confidential information and the image-based confidential information with synthetic data (Images can be redacted through the substitution of a placeholder image. When substituting in a placeholder image, instructions and/or parameters around that image can be left intact. Streams of the image can be padded such that the size of the object containing the image remains the same. Redacted component is an example output of a graphics operator stream redaction. A mask has been relocated and resized in redacted document using the techniques previously described [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts], redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 24, Beveridge discloses the computer readable medium of claim 23, wherein the confidential information includes identifiable confidential information and contextually hidden confidential information, wherein the step of detecting and identifying comprises applying a first machine learning model to the confidential information in the textual data and the second textual data for identifying the identifiable confidential information therein (allows for an AI/machine learning model to be trained on a substantially similar redacted document absent user sensitive information [Beveridge; ¶12]),
applying a second machine learning model to the textual data and the second textual data for identifying [[the contextually hidden confidential information therein]], wherein the second machine learning model generates second model data that includes the contextually hidden confidential information (allows for an AI/machine learning model to be trained on a substantially similar redacted document absent user sensitive information [Beveridge; ¶12]). Beveridge does not disclose contextually hidden confidential information; however, in a related and analogous art, Zakour teaches this feature.
In particular, Zakour teaches automate redaction of data and metadata based on heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge in view of Zakour redacting files using metadata parameters using heuristic rules or machine learning techniques with the motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
applying a hierarchical recursive segment analysis technique to the second model data for identifying in the contextually hidden confidential information data that contributes the most to the decisions of the second machine learning model (heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 25, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the computer readable medium of claim 24, wherein anonymizing the confidential information comprises applying a third machine learning model to the confidential information to anonymize the confidential information (using heuristic rules or machine learning technique for redaction sensitive information [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 26, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the computer readable medium of claim 25, wherein the third machine learning model includes a named entity recognition (NER) model, a regular expression (Regex) model, or a text classification model (a particular model, to facilitate automation of redaction flows that generate different work products with different information that is redacted, including named [Zakour; ¶41-44, 49-50]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 27, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the computer readable medium of claim 26, wherein anonymizing the confidential information comprises highlighting the confidential information (Using at least one AI model trained using a plurality of redacted documents, it is determined whether each document comprises malicious information based on the score and a degree of confidence associated with the score. Data identifying those documents determined to comprise malicious information is provided [Beveridge; ¶9, 34, 50], redact electronic information associated with blacklisted terms (e.g., confidential, sensitive, secret, top secret, classified, privileged, etc.), or rules to not redact electronic information associated with whitelisted terms [Zakour; ¶44]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 28, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the computer readable medium of claim 27, wherein processing the image data comprises processing the image data with an optical character recognition engine for extracting third textual data from the image data and identifying confidential information therein (AI system that can analyze text, images, metadata, and/or graphic operations [Beveridge; ¶32; Fig. 2, 6-7 and associated texts], image exploitation tool that may analyze and process images. Image exploitation tools may perform object recognition on images, motion tracking on objects, as well as other types of image analysis [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 29, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the computer readable medium of claim 28, wherein processing the image data further comprises detecting fingerprint data in the image data, or detecting signature data in the image data, wherein the signature data and the fingerprint data form part of the image-based confidential information (a specialized template built on a set of pre-defined rules entered by a user, may redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 30, Beveridge-Zakour combination discloses the computer readable medium of claim 29, further comprising anonymizing the confidential information or the image-based confidential information by replacing one or more portions thereof with synthetic data (Images can be redacted through the substitution of a placeholder image. When substituting in a placeholder image, instructions and/or parameters around that image can be left intact. Streams of the image can be padded such that the size of the object containing the image remains the same. Redacted component is an example output of a graphics operator stream redaction. A mask has been relocated and resized in redacted document using the techniques previously described [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts], redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Claim(s) 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beveridge-Satish combination in view of Zakour (US 20200110902 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour combination discloses heuristic rules or machine learning techniques that utilize statistical models [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]. Beveridge-Satish-Zakour combination does not explicilty disclsoes discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the step of detecting further comprises applying a segment analysis technique to the second model data for identifying portions of the textual data corresponding to the contextually hidden confidential information based on outputs generated by the second machine learning model; however, in a related and analogous art, Jayaraman teaches this feature.
In particular, Jayaraman teaches techniques to perform a segment classification analysis to generate segment data that characterizes the segments of transfer data and other content, using a machine learning program may be configured to implement stored processing, such as decision tree learning, association rule learning, … k-nearest neighbor, to enhance security of transfer instrument processing and help conceal sensitive elements of the transfer data (“KNN”), and the like [Jayaraman; ¶63, 114, 131-132]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Beveridge-Satish-Zakour combination in view of Jayaraman segment classification analysis technique to help conceal sensitive elements.
Regarding claim 7, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein the step of anonymizing the confidential information comprises applying a third machine learning model to the confidential information to anonymize the confidential information (using heuristic rules or machine learning technique for redaction sensitive information [Zakour; ¶50-55; Fig. 2 and associated texts]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 8, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the third machine learning model comprises a named entity recognition (NER) model, a regular expression (Regex) model, or a text classification model (a particular model, to facilitate automation of redaction flows that generate different work products with different information that is redacted, including named [Zakour; ¶41-44, 49-50]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 9, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the step of anonymizing comprises highlighting the confidential information (Using at least one AI model trained using a plurality of redacted documents, it is determined whether each document comprises malicious information based on the score and a degree of confidence associated with the score. Data identifying those documents determined to comprise malicious information is provided [Beveridge; ¶9, 34, 50], redact electronic information associated with blacklisted terms (e.g., confidential, sensitive, secret, top secret, classified, privileged, etc.), or rules to not redact electronic information associated with whitelisted terms [Zakour; ¶44]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 10, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the step of processing the image data comprises processing the image data with an optical character recognition engine for extracting third textual data from the image data and identifying confidential information therein (AI system that can analyze text, images, metadata, and/or graphic operations [Beveridge; ¶32; Fig. 2, 6-7 and associated texts], image exploitation tool that may analyze and process images. Image exploitation tools may perform object recognition on images, motion tracking on objects, as well as other types of image analysis [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 11, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 10, wherein the step of processing the image data further comprises detecting fingerprint data in the image data, or detecting signature data in the image data, wherein the signature data and the fingerprint data form part of the image-based confidential information (a specialized template built on a set of pre-defined rules entered by a user, may redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 12, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein the step of anonymizing the image-based confidential information comprises redacting the image-based confidential information (redacted documents containing both text and an image in fig. 7 [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts], redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Regarding claim 13, Beveridge-Satish-Zakour-Jayaraman combination discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 12, further comprising anonymizing the confidential information or the image-based confidential information by replacing one or more portions thereof with synthetic data (Images can be redacted through the substitution of a placeholder image. When substituting in a placeholder image, instructions and/or parameters around that image can be left intact. Streams of the image can be padded such that the size of the object containing the image remains the same. Redacted component is an example output of a graphics operator stream redaction. A mask has been relocated and resized in redacted document using the techniques previously described [Beveridge; ¶46-47; Figs. 3s, 6-8 and associated texts], redact specific key words, phrases, objects associated with embedded images, and corresponding metadata from source artifacts stored in electronic format (e.g., images 110, images metadata 115, video 120, video metadata 125, documents 130, documents, metadata 135), including but not limited to, names, locations, titles, personally identifying information, dates, phrases, objects associated with an image or with frames of a video [Zakour; ¶23, 55]). The motivation to identify hidden sensitive information.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432