DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 07/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 8, 12, 15 are 17 are amended. Claims 5, 7, 16, 21 and 22 are canceled. Claims 23-25 are new. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-15, 17-20 and 23-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Remarks - 35 USC § 103 – Claims 1 and 12
The examiner notes that the applicant has amended each independent claim to include the feature(s) of, “ sending, by an electric vehicle (EV) charger, an encrypted EV charger access credential to a user's mobile device and receiving, at an electric vehicle (EV) the EV charger, a first input from the user's mobile device in response to the encrypted EV charger access credential”. In view of the claim amendment(s) the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Outwater et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0130630) to the record. The examiner notes that prior art reference Outwater teaches sending and receiving data between a smart device and charger during a login charging session. See rejection below.
Examiner’s remarks - 35 USC § 103 – Claims 2-4, 6 and 8-22
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Examiner’s remarks - 35 USC § 103 – New Claims 23- 25
The examiner notes for the record that applicant’s newly added claims 23-25 have been rejected under 35 USC § 103. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 12-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI (US Patent Publication No. 2011/0144844 and ISHIBASHI hereinafter) in view of CHOI (WO 2017192005 A1) and further in view of Outwater et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2015/0130630 and Outwater hereinafter).
As to claims 1 and 12, ISHIBASHI teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle, comprising:
a. receiving, at an electric vehicle (EV) charger, a first input from a mobile device, wherein the first input comprises a digital token comprising a command (i.e. …teaches in pars. 0175 & 0176 the following: “Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a random number R.sub.EV (S156). Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a ciphertext E.sub.EV using the random number R.sub.EV, the random number R.sub.C, and the identification information ID.sub.C (S158). Then, the electric vehicle 50 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.EV to the charging apparatus 40 (S160). Then, the charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).[0176] Next, the charging apparatus 40 checks whether the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C obtained by the decryption processing in step S162 are the same as the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C that the charging apparatus 40 holds (S164). ” …teaches in par. 0083 the following: “the user of the electric vehicle 50 brings his/her security token 80 into proximity or in contact with the reader/writer 70 installed in the store, parking lot, or the like. At this time, the reader/writer 70 reads identification information from the security token 80.”),
executing the command of the digital token (i.e. …teaches in pars. 0175 & 0176 the following: “Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a random number R.sub.EV (S156). Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a ciphertext E.sub.EV using the random number R.sub.EV, the random number R.sub.C, and the identification information ID.sub.C (S158). Then, the electric vehicle 50 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.EV to the charging apparatus 40 (S160). Then, the charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).[0176] Next, the charging apparatus 40 checks whether the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C obtained by the decryption processing in step S162 are the same as the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C that the charging apparatus 40 holds (S164). ”),
wherein executing the command of the digital token comprises using the EV charger to start a charging session (i.e., …teaches in pars. 0176 & 0177 the following: “In a case the check result is positive, the charging apparatus 40 generates a session key K (S166). Then, the charging apparatus 40 generates a ciphertext E.sub.C by encrypting the random numbers R.sub.C and R.sub.EV and the session key K (S168). Then, the charging apparatus 40 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.C to the electric vehicle 50 (S170). [0177] Next, the electric vehicle 50 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.C received from the charging apparatus 40 (S172). Then, the electric vehicle 50 checks whether the random numbers R.sub.C and R.sub.EV obtained by the decryption processing in step S172 are the same as the random numbers R.sub.C and R.sub.EV that the electric vehicle 50 holds (S174). In a case the check result is positive, the mutual authentication between the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40 is successful. Then, a secure communication path based on the session key K is established between the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40.”).
The system of ISHIBASHI does not expressly teach:
c. receiving, at the EV charger, a second command related to ending the charging session, wherein the EV charger ends the charging session in response to the second command,
and
d. transferring, by the EV charger, data of the charging session to the user’s mobile device.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference CHOI.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “receiving, at the EV charger a second command related to ending the charging session”, CHOI teaches in figure 4 the following: “the information receiver 210 may receive a message requesting to stop charging from the charger user terminal 10”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “wherein the EV charger ends the charging session in response to the second command”, CHOI in figure 4 the following: “during the operation S320, the information receiver 210 may receive a message requesting to stop charging from the charger user terminal 10. In this case, the information receiving unit 210 may receive a charge stop request message. the information receiving unit 210 may refer to a step of receiving, from the charger user terminal 10, a charge stop request message that is a message for requesting a stop of charging of the charge target 20.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “transferring, by the EV charger, data of the charging session to the user’s mobile device”, CHOI teaches in figure 4 the following: “In step S430, the information transmitting unit 230 may refer to a step of transmitting the refund point information to the charger user terminal 10.”. The examiner notes that the refund points are remaining points from the charging session that goes from the charger to the user related device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of CHOI by having their system comprises an enhanced electric vehicle charging data handling process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a more comprehensive data handling process, wherein the enhanced electric vehicle charging data handling process helps facilitate data security within the electric vehicle charging networks and will make it easier to maintain charging data.
The system of ISHIBASHI and CHOI do not expressly teach:
a) sending, by an electric vehicle (EV) charger, an encrypted EV charger access credential to a user's mobile device;
b) receiving, at the EV charger, a first input from the user's mobile device in response to the encrypted EV charger access credential,
transferring, by the user’s mobile device, the data of the charging session to a server configured to store the data of the charging session.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Outwater.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “a) sending, by an electric vehicle (EV) charger, an encrypted EV charger access credential to a user's mobile device”, Outwater illustrates/teaches in fig. 3 figure element(s) 330 secure cryptographic data message exchange (i.e., ….receive and sending) between a charger and a user smart phone device during a login access process.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “b) receiving, at the EV charger, a first input from the user's mobile device in response to the encrypted EV charger access credential”, Outwater illustrates/teaches in fig. 3 figure element(s) 330 secure cryptographic data message exchange (i.e., ….receive and sending) between a charger and a user smart phone device during a login access process.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “transferring, by the user’s mobile device, the data of the charging session to a server configured to store the data of the charging session”, teaches in par. 0063 the following: “smart phone 132 is able to send message 351 containing data pack D to server 305. Likewise, if available, message 352 containing receipt E may be sent.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI and CHOI with the teachings of Outwater by having their system comprises an enhanced EV charger and user communication process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a secure data sharing process, wherein the enhanced EV charger and user communication process helps facilitate robust vehicle charging and will make it easier to track charging session data.
As to claims 2 and 13, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising decrypting one or more components of the digital token (i.e. …teaches in pars. 0175 & 0176 the following: “Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a random number R.sub.EV (S156). Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a ciphertext E.sub.EV using the random number R.sub.EV, the random number R.sub.C, and the identification information ID.sub.C (S158). Then, the electric vehicle 50 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.EV to the charging apparatus 40 (S160). Then, the charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).[0176] Next, the charging apparatus 40 checks whether the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C obtained by the decryption processing in step S162 are the same as the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C that the charging apparatus 40 holds (S164).”).
As to claims 3 and 14, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI teaches method of claim 1, further comprising verifying the digital token from the user’s mobile device prior to starting the charging session (i.e. …teaches in pars. 0175 & 0176 the following: “Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a random number R.sub.EV (S156). Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a ciphertext E.sub.EV using the random number R.sub.EV, the random number R.sub.C, and the identification information ID.sub.C (S158). Then, the electric vehicle 50 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.EV to the charging apparatus 40 (S160). Then, the charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).[0176] Next, the charging apparatus 40 checks whether the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C obtained by the decryption processing in step S162 are the same as the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C that the charging apparatus 40 holds (S164). ”).
5. (Canceled)
As to claims 6 and 16, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI does not expressly teach a method of claim 1, wherein the second user input command is received from the user’s mobile device comprises an encrypted message.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference CHOI.
CHOI teaches in figure 4 the following: “the information receiver 210 may receive a message requesting to stop charging from the charger user terminal 10…during the operation S320, the information receiver 210 may receive a message requesting to stop charging from the charger user terminal 10. In this case, the information receiving unit 210 may receive a charge stop request message. the information receiving unit 210 may refer to a step of receiving, from the charger user terminal 10, a charge stop request message that is a message for requesting a stop of charging of the charge target 20.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of CHOI by having their system comprises an enhanced electric vehicle charging data handling process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a more comprehensive data handling process, wherein the enhanced electric vehicle charging data handling process helps facilitate data security within the electric vehicle charging networks and will make it easier to maintain charging data.
7. (Canceled)
As to claims 9 and 18, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI does not expressly teach a method of claim 1, further comprising transferring the data of the charging session to a second user’s mobile device.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference CHOI.
CHOI teaches in figure 4 the following: “In step S430, the information transmitting unit 230 may refer to a step of transmitting the refund point information to the charger user terminal 10.”. The examiner notes that the refund points are remaining points from the charging session that goes from the charger to the user related device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of CHOI by having their system comprises an enhanced electric vehicle charging data handling process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a more comprehensive data handling process, wherein the enhanced electric vehicle charging data handling process helps facilitate data security within the electric vehicle charging networks and will make it easier to maintain charging data.
Claim(s) 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI and CHOI in view of Outwater as applied to claims 1 and 12 above and further in view of BADIC et al. (KR 20200095474).
As to claims 4 and 15, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically neither reference expressly teaches method of claim 1, wherein the data of charging session comprises a duration of the charging session, energy used during the charging session, a plug-in status, a status of the EV charger, diagnostics data, temperature data and humidity data.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference BADIC.
BADIC teaches on page 94 the following: “local network 8002 may generate raw data for storage or processing. For example, the terminal device 8004a-8004f may include sensing data (e.g., temperature, humidity, camera/video, audio, image, or any other data generally used for monitoring, sensing or surveillance purposes) and/ Or it can generate raw data, including operational data (eg, location, battery power, current task/path, diagnostic or communication data). In some aspects, the terminal device 8004a-8004f generates an IoT device configured to perform sensing in the operating area, such as temperature, humidity, camera/video, audio, image, radar, light, or any other similar type of data. It may be an IoT sensing device configured to be. These IoT devices also have their location, battery power, current task/path, diagnostic status, current communication status (e.g., current serving cell, active bearer, current data requirements and resource usage, current radio conditions) and past communication history.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater with the teachings of BADIC by having their system comprises an enhanced operation sensing process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide operational data management, wherein the enhanced operation sensing process helps facilitate better system performance and will make it easier to track specific charging session data types.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI and CHOI in view of Outwater as applied to claims 1 and 12 above and further in view of Donnelly et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2011/0106329 and Donnelly hereinafter).
As to claims 8 and 17, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically neither of the references expressly teaches a method of claim 1, wherein: the EV charger further comprises a locking mechanism, and wherein the method further comprises releasing, by the EV charger, the locking mechanism upon ending the charging session.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Donnelly.
Donnelly teaches in pars. 103 & 104 the following: “A sensor or circuit is used to detect when an EV is plugged in to the charging port. Another circuit detects the power fail condition. Logic implemented in either hardware or software determines when an EV is plugged in and the power fails and energizes the solenoid. [0104] Additionally, this circuit is energy efficient since the solenoid is only energized briefly when the door is to be unlocked and only consumes power when recharging after an unlock event.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater with the teachings of Donnelly by having their system comprises an enhanced electric vehicle charging support process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a more comprehensive electric vehicle charging process, wherein the enhanced electric vehicle charging support process helps facilitate alternative charging configurations within the electric vehicle charging networks and will make it easier to charge electric vehicles.
Claim(s) 10, 11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI and CHOI in view of Outwater as applied to claims 1 and 12 above and further in view of, SHUMAKER (WO 2016/089925)
As to claims 10 and 19, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically neither of the references expressly teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising: a. receiving one or more pieces of firmware from the mobile device or the vehicle; and b. performing, by the EV charger, a firmware update using the one or more pieces of firmware.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference SHUMAKER.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “a. receiving one or more pieces of firmware from the mobile device or the vehicle”, SHUMAKER teaches in par. 0035 the following: “In addition to providing charging authorization and charging related data between the home office 227 and the EVSE 200, via the EVSE mobile application 225 on the phone 204, additional information can be sent that is not seen by the user. This additional information may include software updates, settings, diagnostics, information to show on a display on the EVSE 200, such as pricing, advertising, user feedback, etc. This information can be sent not just to the EVSE 200 that the user is using or intends to use, but also to all EVSEs within range of the wireless connection from the phone 204.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater with the teachings of SHUMAKER by having their system comprises an enhanced communication network. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a more comprehensive system configuring process, wherein the enhanced communication network helps facilitate alternative data communication and will make it easier to configure the EV charging system.
As to claims 11 and 20, the system of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater as applied to claim 1 above teaches EV charging, specifically neither of the references expressly teaches a method of claim 1, further comprising: a. receiving a first piece of firmware from the mobile device or the vehicle; b. receiving a second piece of firmware from a second mobile device or second vehicle; and c. performing a firmware update of the EV charger using the first piece of firmware and the second piece of firmware.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference SHUMAKER.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “receiving a first piece of firmware from the mobile device or the vehicle”, SHUMAKER teaches in par. 0035 the following: “In addition to providing charging authorization and charging related data between the home office 227 and the EVSE 200, via the EVSE mobile application 225 on the phone 204, additional information can be sent that is not seen by the user. This additional information may include software updates, settings, diagnostics, information to show on a display on the EVSE 200, such as pricing, advertising, user feedback, etc. This information can be sent not just to the EVSE 200 that the user is using or intends to use, but also to all EVSEs within range of the wireless connection from the phone 204.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “…receiving a second piece of firmware from a second mobile device or second vehicle”, SHUMAKER teaches in par. 0035 the following: “In addition to providing charging authorization and charging related data between the home office 227 and the EVSE 200, via the EVSE mobile application 225 on the phone 204, additional information can be sent that is not seen by the user. This additional information may include software updates, settings, diagnostics, information to show on a display on the EVSE 200, such as pricing, advertising, user feedback, etc. This information can be sent not just to the EVSE 200 that the user is using or intends to use, but also to all EVSEs within range of the wireless connection from the phone 204.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “performing a firmware update of the EV charger using the first piece of firmware and the second piece of firmware”, SHUMAKER teaches in par. 0035 the following: “In addition to providing charging authorization and charging related data between the home office 227 and the EVSE 200, via the EVSE mobile application 225 on the phone 204, additional information can be sent that is not seen by the user. This additional information may include software updates, settings, diagnostics, information to show on a display on the EVSE 200, such as pricing, advertising, user feedback, etc. This information can be sent not just to the EVSE 200 that the user is using or intends to use, but also to all EVSEs within range of the wireless connection from the phone 204.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater with the teachings of SHUMAKER by having their system comprises an enhanced communication network. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a more comprehensive system configuring process, wherein the enhanced communication network helps facilitate alternative data communication and will make it easier to configure the EV charging system.
As to claim 21, (Canceled).
As to claim 22, (Canceled).
Claim(s) 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI in view of Outwater.
As to claim 23, ISHIBASHI teaches a method of charging an electric vehicle, comprising:
a) receiving, at an electric vehicle (EV) charger, a first input from a user's mobile device, wherein the first input comprises a digital token comprising a command (i.e. …teaches in pars. 0175 & 0176 the following: “Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a random number R.sub.EV (S156). Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a ciphertext E.sub.EV using the random number R.sub.EV, the random number R.sub.C, and the identification information ID.sub.C (S158). Then, the electric vehicle 50 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.EV to the charging apparatus 40 (S160). Then, the charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).[0176] Next, the charging apparatus 40 checks whether the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C obtained by the decryption processing in step S162 are the same as the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C that the charging apparatus 40 holds (S164). ” …teaches in par. 0083 the following: “the user of the electric vehicle 50 brings his/her security token 80 into proximity or in contact with the reader/writer 70 installed in the store, parking lot, or the like. At this time, the reader/writer 70 reads identification information from the security token 80.”);
b) executing the command of the digital token (i.e. …teaches in pars. 0175 & 0176 the following: “Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a random number R.sub.EV (S156). Then, the electric vehicle 50 generates a ciphertext E.sub.EV using the random number R.sub.EV, the random number R.sub.C, and the identification information ID.sub.C (S158). Then, the electric vehicle 50 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.EV to the charging apparatus 40 (S160). Then, the charging apparatus 40 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.EV received from the electric vehicle 50 (S162).[0176] Next, the charging apparatus 40 checks whether the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C obtained by the decryption processing in step S162 are the same as the random number R.sub.C and the identification information ID.sub.C that the charging apparatus 40 holds (S164). ”),
wherein executing the command of the digital token comprises using the EV charger to start a charging session (i.e., …teaches in pars. 0176 & 0177 the following: “In a case the check result is positive, the charging apparatus 40 generates a session key K (S166). Then, the charging apparatus 40 generates a ciphertext E.sub.C by encrypting the random numbers R.sub.C and R.sub.EV and the session key K (S168). Then, the charging apparatus 40 transmits the ciphertext E.sub.C to the electric vehicle 50 (S170). [0177] Next, the electric vehicle 50 decrypts the ciphertext E.sub.C received from the charging apparatus 40 (S172). Then, the electric vehicle 50 checks whether the random numbers R.sub.C and R.sub.EV obtained by the decryption processing in step S172 are the same as the random numbers R.sub.C and R.sub.EV that the electric vehicle 50 holds (S174). In a case the check result is positive, the mutual authentication between the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40 is successful. Then, a secure communication path based on the session key K is established between the electric vehicle 50 and the charging apparatus 40.”).
The system of ISHIBASHI does not expressly teach:
c) collecting, by the EV charger, data of the charging session during the charging session, wherein the data comprises a duration of the charging session and energy used during the charging session;
d) receiving, at the EV charger, a second command related to ending the charging session, wherein the EV charger ends the charging session in response to the second command;
e) transferring, by the EV charger, the data of the charging session to the user's mobile device; and
(f) transferring, by the user's mobile device, the data of the charging session to a server configured to store the data of the charging session.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Outwater.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “collecting, by the EV charger, data of the charging session during the charging session, wherein the data comprises a duration of the charging session and energy used during the charging session”, teaches in par. 0065 the following: “data representative of the transaction and usage”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “d) receiving, at the EV charger, a second command related to ending the charging session, wherein the EV charger ends the charging session in response to the second command”, teaches in par. 0062 the following: “ Typically, patron 131 will leave the proximity of vehicle 130 for a substantial portion of the charging interval. Upon return, the closeout phase 340 begins, comprising at least the disconnection of vehicle 130 from charger 111. Optionally, patron 131 may use smart phone 132 and resume application 133 to send a close out message 342 to charger A (111), to which charger A may respond with message 343 containing receipt E. In some embodiments, the receipt may be replaced with or be a portion of an updated data pack, similar to that in message 334, but including details of the patron's just-concluded charging session.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “e) transferring, by the EV charger, the data of the charging session to the user's mobile device”, teaches in par. 0062 the following: “ Typically, patron 131 will leave the proximity of vehicle 130 for a substantial portion of the charging interval. Upon return, the closeout phase 340 begins, comprising at least the disconnection of vehicle 130 from charger 111. Optionally, patron 131 may use smart phone 132 and resume application 133 to send a close out message 342 to charger A (111), to which charger A may respond with message 343 containing receipt E. In some embodiments, the receipt may be replaced with or be a portion of an updated data pack, similar to that in message 334, but including details of the patron's just-concluded charging session.”.
With regards to applicant’s claim limitation element of, “ and (f) transferring, by the user's mobile device, the data of the charging session to a server configured to store the data of the charging session”, teaches in par. 0063 the following: “] Subsequently, smart phone 132 is able to send message 351 containing data pack D to server 305. Likewise, if available, message 352 containing receipt E may be sent. In some embodiments, smart phone 132 may send messages 351…”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of Outwater by having their system comprises an enhanced EV charger and user communication process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a secure data sharing process, wherein the enhanced EV charger and user communication process helps facilitate robust vehicle charging and will make it easier to track charging session data.
As to claim 25, the system of ISHIBASHI and Outwater as applied to claim 23 teaches EV charging, specifically ISHIBASHI does not expressly teaches a method of claim 23, further comprising sending, by the EV charger, an encrypted EV charger access credential to a user's mobile device.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference Outwater.
Outwater illustrates/teaches in fig. 3 figure element(s) 330 secure cryptographic data message exchange (i.e., ….receive and sending) between a charger and a user smart phone device during a login access process.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI with the teachings of Outwater by having their system comprises an enhanced EV charger and user communication process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide a secure data sharing process, wherein the enhanced EV charger and user communication process helps facilitate robust vehicle charging and will make it easier to track charging session data.
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHIBASHI in view of Outwater as applied to claim 23 above and further in view of BADIC.
As to claim 24, the system of ISHIBASHI and Outwater as applied to claim 23 teaches EV charging, specifically neither reference expressly teaches a method of claim 23, wherein the data of the charging session further comprises a plug-in status, a status of the EV charger, diagnostics data, temperature data, and humidity data.
In this instance the examiner notes the teachings of prior art reference BADIC.
BADIC teaches on page 94 the following: “local network 8002 may generate raw data for storage or processing. For example, the terminal device 8004a-8004f may include sensing data (e.g., temperature, humidity, camera/video, audio, image, or any other data generally used for monitoring, sensing or surveillance purposes) and/ Or it can generate raw data, including operational data (eg, location, battery power, current task/path, diagnostic or communication data). In some aspects, the terminal device 8004a-8004f generates an IoT device configured to perform sensing in the operating area, such as temperature, humidity, camera/video, audio, image, radar, light, or any other similar type of data. It may be an IoT sensing device configured to be. These IoT devices also have their location, battery power, current task/path, diagnostic status, current communication status (e.g., current serving cell, active bearer, current data requirements and resource usage, current radio conditions) and past communication history.”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the claimed invention was made to implement the teachings of ISHIBASHI, CHOI and Outwater with the teachings of BADIC by having their system comprises an enhanced operation sensing process. One would have been motivated to do so to provide a simple and effective means to provide operational data management, wherein the enhanced operation sensing process helps facilitate better system performance and will make it easier to track specific charging session data types.
Contact Information
/BRYAN F WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 2497