Objections to the claims
Claims 25; 48;56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Statement regarding the previous restriction
The claims of this application were previously restricted in three groups. The applicant elected group I with claims 21-25 without traverse. And Claims 26-41 associated with group II and group III are cancelled. The applicant adds claims 42-56. This action is made non-final.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 21-23; 42-44; 50-51; 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunn(US.Pub.No.20070271588) in view of Baey(US.Pub.No.20050220047) and Chapman(US.Pub.No.20110185263).
Regarding claim 21, BUNN et al disclose Computerized wireless access node apparatus, comprising: at least one first packet data interface for interface with a radio frequency modulation/demodulation apparatus(see fig.1 to fig.3; fig.23 for delivering packets on DOCSIS RF link,0128;0130;0193)
at least one wireless interface for interface with one or more wireless user devices(the system provides wireless communications; 0284);
processor apparatus in data communication with the at least one first packet data interface(see fig.1 to fig.3; fig.23; 0286-0287; 0281) and the at least one wireless interface(a wireless LAN (local area network) interface;0284); and
storage apparatus in data communication with the processor apparatus, the storage apparatus comprising at least one computer program configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the computerized wireless access node apparatus to(see fig.1 to fig.3; fig.23 with main memory 2305; 0282;0286);
receive first data packets in at least one buffer via the at least one first packet data interface(the system provides buffers for holding or saving packets being received; 0238-0241);
monitor at least one parameter associated with the at least one buffer(the system is able to control characteristic associated with buffers; 0238-0241).
But did not explicitly disclose based at least in part on the at least one parameter meeting a prescribed criterion, cause evaluation of first data relating to a configuration of a downstream channel used by the radio frequency modulation/demodulation apparatus to receive the first data packets prior to transmission over the at least one first packet data interface relative to second data relating to a configuration of the at least one wireless interface; and based at least on the evaluation, cause modification to the at least one wireless interface to effect a change in effective data throughput on at least one downlink channel thereof.
However, Baey et al disclose based at least in part on the at least one parameter meeting a prescribed criterion, cause evaluation of first data relating to a configuration of a downstream channel used by the radio frequency modulation/demodulation apparatus to receive the first data packets prior to transmission over the at least one first packet data interface relative to second data relating to a configuration of the at least one wireless interface(the system is able to calculate the quality of the network in order to adjust bitrates of contents to be transmitted and the system can provides optimization of the resources of the network by balancing transmission powers with respect to predefined sizes; 0074-0075; abstract; 0042; transport quality measurement on each transport channel and fast inner loop SIR target adjustment,0089).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Baey to modify BUNN by determining optimization of resources to adjust quality of transmission of data for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
And Chapman et al disclose based at least on the evaluation, cause modification to the at least one wireless interface to effect a change in effective data throughput on at least one downlink channel thereof(the system is able to reduce or adjust the number of upstream carriers during periods of relatively low data throughput; 0058-0059;0072-0073; 0079-0081).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Chapman to modify BUNN and Baey by providing options to adjust configuration of the network according to characteristic data throughput for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 22, Bunn et al disclose wherein: the radio frequency modulation/demodulation apparatus comprises a cable modem within a hybrid fiber coax (HFC) network(the system provides HFC network; 0010; 0058;0060);
the at least one parameter comprises a QAM modulation order(16 Quadrature Amplitude Modulation (QAM) technique to recover the underlying information signals,0068;0071).
But did not explicitly disclose the computerized wireless access node apparatus comprises a 3GPP-compliant CBSD (Citizens Broadband Service Device) operative within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz.
However, Baey et al disclose the computerized wireless access node apparatus comprises a 3GPP-compliant CBSD (Citizens Broadband Service Device) operative within a frequency band of 3.550 to 3.700 GHz(the system provides 3rd Generation Partnership Project;0003;0012; 0014;0028-0029).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Baey to modify BUNN and Chapman by determining optimization of resources to adjust quality of transmission of data for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 23, Bunn and Baey et al did not explicitly disclose wherein the modification to the at least one wireless interface to effect the change in the effective data throughput on the at least one downlink channel thereof comprises: identification of a spatial diversity mode that increases data throughput on the at least one downlink channel over a current data throughput of the at least one downlink channel; and implementation of the spatial diversity mode on the at least one downlink channel.
However, Chapman et al disclose wherein the modification to the at least one wireless interface to effect the change in the effective data throughput on the at least one downlink channel thereof comprises: identification of a spatial diversity mode that increases data throughput on the at least one downlink channel over a current data throughput of the at least one downlink channel; and implementation of the spatial diversity mode on the at least one downlink channel(the system can increase data throughput as needed and the system can apply different modes to process requests related downlink channels; 0031-0032;0093;0027;0049).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Chapman to modify BUNN and Baey by providing options to adjust configuration of the network according to characteristic data throughput for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 42, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 21.
Regarding claim 43, Bunn et al disclose wherein the prescribed criterion comprises a threshold associated with at least one of: (i) instantaneous buffer fill level, (ii) buffer fill rate, (iii) an average buffer fill level, (iv) an average buffer fill rate, or (v) packet delay(the system is able to determine delay or loss associated with packets and the system provides options to store data in buffer; 0138; 0147-0148).
Regarding claim 44, Bunn et al disclose wherein the at least one buffer comprises a plurality of differentiated buffers including at least one user-device-specific buffer associated with a respective one of the one or more wireless user devices(the system is able assign or buffer to each receiver; 0147-0148).
Regarding claim 50, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 21
Regarding claim 51, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 22
Regarding claim 55, BUNN and Baey did not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions further cause the computerized wireless access node apparatus to selectively bypass at least one active queue management or packet drop protocol for packets queued in a user-device-specific buffer.
However, Chapman et al disclose wherein the instructions further cause the computerized wireless access node apparatus to selectively bypass at least one active queue management or packet drop protocol for packets queued in a user-device-specific buffer(with Chapman, the system is able to make determination in how to access or retrieve packets in the transmission queue; 0070;0062;0060).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Chapman to modify BUNN and Baey by introducing of Chapman to the system of BUNN and Baey resulting in “ wherein the instructions further cause the computerized wireless access node apparatus to selectively bypass at least one active queue management or packet drop protocol for packets queued in a user-device-specific buffer” for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Claim(s) 24; 45-47; 49; 52-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunn(US.Pub.No.20070271588) in view of Baey(US.Pub.No.20050220047) and Chapman(US.Pub.No.20110185263) and Manolakos(US.Pub.No.20210242913).
Regarding claim 24, BUNN and Baey and Chapman did not explicitly disclose wherein the implementation of the spatial diversity mode on the at least one downlink channel further comprises: causing issuance of a request to a spectrum allocation system to enable activation of an antenna sector not then currently operating; and based at least on receipt of data indicating that the request has been granted, cause the activation of the antenna sector using a prescribed PCI (physical cell identifier) value.
However, Manolakos et al disclose wherein the implementation of the spatial diversity mode on the at least one downlink channel further comprises: causing issuance of a request to a spectrum allocation system to enable activation of an antenna sector not then currently operating; and based at least on receipt of data indicating that the request has been granted, cause the activation of the antenna sector using a prescribed PCI (physical cell identifier) value(the system provides options to activate or deactivate antennas based on request and the system provides function physical cell identifier(PCI); 0133; 0074).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos to modify BUNN and Baey and Chapman by providing options to change operations of antennas for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 45, BUNN and Baey and Chapman did not explicitly disclose wherein the modifying comprises enabling or changing a spatial multiplexing mode on the at least one downlink channel based at least in part on computing an expected throughput for each of a plurality of spatial multiplexing configurations and selecting a configuration that yields a higher expected throughput.
However, Manolakos et al disclose wherein the modifying comprises enabling or changing a spatial multiplexing mode on the at least one downlink channel based at least in part on computing an expected throughput for each of a plurality of spatial multiplexing configurations and selecting a configuration that yields a higher expected throughput(the system is capable of using spatial multiplexing for processing data; 0080; 0045).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos to modify BUNN and Baey and Chapman by introducing spatial multiplexing technique for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 46, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 24.
Regarding claim 47, BUNN and Baey and Chapman did not explicitly disclose further comprising: after operating for a period of time using a spatial multiplexing mode, re-assessing the prescribed criterion, and when the prescribed criterion remains satisfied, invoking beamforming on the at least one downlink channel.
However, Manolakos et al disclose further comprising: after operating for a period of time using a spatial multiplexing mode(including spatial multiplexing,0045;0080), re-assessing the prescribed criterion, and when the prescribed criterion remains satisfied, invoking beamforming on the at least one downlink channel(the system is capable of using beamforming technique; 0045; 0048-0050).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos to modify BUNN and Baey and Chapman by introducing spatial multiplexing technique for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 49, BUNN and Baey and Chapman did not explicitly disclose wherein the beamforming comprises applying a precoding matrix that is at least one of: (i) dynamically calculated, or (ii) selected from a predefined codebook stored in memory.
However, Manolakos et al disclose wherein the beamforming comprises applying a precoding matrix (the system can apply spatial processing or precoding; 0063;0065) that is at least one of: (i) dynamically calculated, or (ii) selected from a predefined codebook stored in memory(the system is able to apply codebook technique or process;0102).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos to modify BUNN and Baey and Chapman by introducing spatial multiplexing technique for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 52, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 24
Regarding claim 53, BUNN and Baey and Chapman did not explicitly disclose wherein the modifying comprises activating only a subset of available antenna elements or transmit chains so as to at least one of reduce power consumption or reduce interference.
However, Manolakos et al disclose wherein the modifying comprises activating only a subset of available antenna elements or transmit chains so as to at least one of reduce power consumption(the system can use specific technique to save power or reduce power consumption; 0088; 0090-0092; 0103);or reduce interference(the system can reduce or avoid interferences; 0073-0074).
It would have been obvious for any person of ordinary skill in the art at that time the invention was filed to incorporate the teachings of Manolakos to modify BUNN and Baey and Chapman by introducing spatial multiplexing technique for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 54, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 47
Conclusion
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425