DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/18/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it lists a noncompliant item therein. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a). Specifically, US Patent No. 62277030, the fifth cited US patent document, does not exist. All other cited references have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because the following reference characters have been used to designate multiple parts: “212” for the distal end of first horizontal surface 214, the second edge of jaw mouth 170, and a curved edge or lip portion; “211” for the first edge of jaw mouth 170 and a curved edge or lip portion; “214” for the first horizontal surface and the first curved edge or lip portion; “216” for the second horizontal surface and the second curved edge or lip portion; and “230” for the die face of movable die 200 and the length LHS of the horizontal surfaces 214 and 216. Examiner notes that in paragraph [34] length LHS is also designated with reference character “232”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character not mentioned in the description: “DHS 230” in Figure 6. Examiner notes that elsewhere in the drawings, this element appears to be labeled “LHS 230”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description: body length LSCD 270 (paragraph [27]). Examiner notes that this feature appears to be labeled with “LTP” in Figure 2.
The drawings are further objected to because in Figure 6, the crimp groove 236 is mistakenly labeled with reference character “230”, and the label for element 222, which is defined in the specification as the distal end of second horizontal surface 216, appears to be in the wrong location.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in paragraph [18] line 11, “move die 200 and the stationary die 200” should read “movable die 200 and the stationary die 250”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7, “when first die” should read “when the first die”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 19 recites “The method of claim 18, and further comprising aligning a third alignment feature of the head frame with the second alignment feature.” Claim 18 already recites a step of aligning a third alignment feature with the second alignment feature. The third alignment feature recited in Claim 19 appears to be different from the third alignment feature of Claims 17 and 18, as it is located on the head frame as opposed to the second die head. Accordingly, the third alignment feature of Claim 19 is interpreted as being an additional alignment feature, located on the head frame and separate from the third alignment feature of Claims 17 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rzasa et al., hereinafter Rzasa (US 2017/0063014, provided by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Rzasa discloses (Figures 1-2) a working head (head 160) for a power tool (crimping tool 150) operated by a user on a workpiece (connector 132 around wire 133), the working head comprising: a head frame (see Annotated Figure 2 below); a first die head (member 102) coupled to the head frame; and a first die (die 122) coupled to the first die head, the first die including a first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111 mounted at base of die 122) extending outside of the first die head to be visible to the user when the first die is seated within the first die head ([0034] lns 3-7: light 134 extends outside member 102 when die 122 is seated therein), the first alignment feature forming a line visible to the user to help achieve a crimp or cut at a target location on the workpiece ([0016] lns 1-5, [0034] lns 8-14, [0032] lns 5-9: light 134 forms a line visible to the user to position the workpiece to perform a crimping operation).
Rzasa Annotated Figure 2
Regarding Claim 2, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) the first die head (member 102) includes a second alignment feature (see Annotated Figure 2 above) extending along a direction of movement of the first die head ([0031] lns 9-12: member 102 moves along the direction of track 131, which is the same direction in which the second alignment feature indicated in Annotated Figure 2 extends), the first alignment feature and the second alignment feature forming a line visible to the user to help achieve a crimp or cut at the target location on the workpiece (Annotated Figure 2 clearly shows the laser 111 projecting light 134 into a plane which aligns with the second alignment feature, thereby forming a line visible to the user).
Regarding Claim 3, Rzasa discloses (Figures 1-2 and 4) a second die head (member 101) including a third alignment feature (feature 141 on die 121: [0041] lns 4-5: die 121 is identical to die 122 and therefore has the features shown in Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Rzasa discloses (Figures 1-2 and 4) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111), the second alignment feature (see Annotated Figure 2 above), and the third alignment feature (feature 141 on die 121) align with one other (alignment between light 134 and the second alignment feature indicated in Annotated Figure 2 above clearly seen in Annotated Figure 2; [0038] lns 5-8: light 134 illuminates a plane through which feature 141 passes, therefore the third alignment feature is also aligned with the first and second alignment features).
Regarding Claim 5, Rzasa discloses (Figures 2-3) the head frame (see Annotated Figure 2 above) includes a third alignment feature (track 131) that aligns with the second alignment feature (see Annotated Figure 2 above; Figure 3 clearly shows the center of the track 131 aligning with that of the feature indicated as the second alignment feature).
Regarding Claim 6, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) comprises a straight line ([0034] lns 3-10: laser 111 generates light 134 in the form of a narrow beam within a plane; i.e. light 134 comprises a straight line).
Regarding Claim 7, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) comprises a constant width ([0034] lns 3-10: laser 111 generates light 134 in the form of a narrow beam within a plane; i.e. light 134 comprises a constant width).
Regarding Claim 8, Rzasa discloses (Figures 2-3) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) comprises at least one groove ([0034] lns 1-3: laser 111 is embedded into track 131; Figures 2 and 3 appear to show laser 111 mounted within a circular groove in track 131).
Regarding Claim 9, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) at least a portion of the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) is provided along an end face of the first die (die 122; [0038] lns 5-8: the end face of die 122, indicated in Annotated Figure 2 above, passes through light 134, at which point light 134 is provided along the end face of the die).
Regarding Claim 12, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) is at least one of colored, painted, laser etched, and coated; or labeled with a sticker ([0016] lns 1-5: light 134 is visible to the user, and thus will inherently be colored).
Regarding Claim 13, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) is a dashed line or a continuous line of constant width ([0034] lns 3-10: laser 111 generates light 134 in the form of a narrow beam within a plane; i.e. light 134 is a continuous line of constant width).
Regarding Claim 14, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) extends along an entire length of the first die (die 122; clearly seen in Annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 15, Rzasa discloses (Figures 1-2 and 7) a method of operating a power tool (crimping tool 150) by a user to perform a crimp or cut on a workpiece (connector 132 around wire 133; [0003] lns 1-2), the method comprising: providing a first die head (member 102) in a head frame (see Annotated Figure 2 above) of the power tool; coupling a first die (die 122) to the first die head; viewing a first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) on the first die, the first alignment feature extending outside of the first die head to be visible to the user (step 710; [0045] lns 3-5, [0016] lns 1-5: light 134 is visible to the user); and aligning the first alignment feature with a target location on the workpiece to help achieve a crimp or cut at the target location (step 720; [0045] lns 5-7).
Regarding Claim 16, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) providing a second alignment feature (see Annotated Figure 2 above) extending along a direction of movement of the first die head (member 102; [0031] lns 9-12: member 102 moves along the direction of track 131, which is the same direction in which the second alignment feature indicated in Annotated Figure 2 extends), the first alignment feature and the second alignment feature forming a line visible to the user to help achieve a crimp or cut at the target location on the workpiece (Annotated Figure 2 clearly shows the laser 111 projecting light 134 into a plane which aligns with the second alignment feature, thereby forming a line visible to the user).
Regarding Claim 17, Rzasa discloses (Figures 1-2 and 4) providing a second die head (member 101) including a third alignment feature (feature 141 on die 121: [0041] lns 4-5: die 121 is identical to die 122 and therefore has the features shown in Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Rzasa discloses (Figures 1-2 and 4) aligning the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111), the second alignment feature (see Annotated Figure 2 above), and the third alignment feature (feature 141 on die 121) with one other (alignment between light 134 and the second alignment feature indicated in Annotated Figure 2 above clearly seen in Annotated Figure 2; [0038] lns 5-8: light 134 illuminates a plane through which feature 141 passes, therefore the third alignment feature is also aligned with the first and second alignment features).
Regarding Claim 19, Rzasa discloses (Figures 2-3) aligning a third alignment feature (track 131) of the head frame (see Annotated Figure 2 above) with the second alignment feature (Figure 3 clearly shows the center of the track 131 aligning with that of the feature indicated as the second alignment feature indicated in Annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 20, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) providing at least a portion of the first alignment feature (light 134 generated by laser 111) along an end face of the first die (die 122; [0038] lns 5-8: the end face of die 122, indicated in Annotated Figure 2 above, passes through light 134, at which point light 134 is provided along the end face of the die).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rzasa as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Doornbos (US 9,166,353).
Regarding Claim 10, Rzasa discloses (Figure 2) a second die head (member 101) and a second die (die 121), wherein in some embodiments the first die and the second die are different from each other ([0035] lns 6-7), but is silent to the lengths of the first and second dies being different in said embodiments. In the same field of endeavor, Doornbos teaches (Figures 1 and 9) a working head (tool head 54) for a power tool (crimping tool 50) operated by a user on a workpiece (ferrule 60 around cables 62), the working head comprising a first die (female die 150) and a second die (male die 110), wherein a first body length of the first die is different than a second body length of the second die (clearly seen in Figure 9). The first and second dies having different lengths and shapes are used to crimp a large ferrule into a desired shape (col. 3 lns 23-31). As this is a known design for crimping dies of a crimping tool, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second dies of the working head disclosed by Rzasa such that a first body length of the first die is different than a second body length of the second die, as taught by Doornbos, for crimping operations which require differently-shaped dies.
Regarding Claim 11, with reference to the aforementioned combination of Rzasa and Doornbos, Doornbos teaches (Figure 9) the first body length of the first die (female die 150) is greater than the second body length of the second die (male die 110; difference in body lengths clearly seen in Figure 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hensley et al. (US 5,775,158) discloses a working head for a power tool which performs a crimp or cut on a workpiece comprising a first die and a second die, wherein the first die includes a first alignment feature visible to the user when the first die is seated within the working head frame, wherein the lengths of the first and second dies are different from one another.
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725